u know last time got 1 Harbans Singh, secretary-general of Singapore United Front. A former RI student and a lawyer. Always talk a lot of sense in legal circles but nonsense during elections.Originally posted by Rock^Star:U joking or what?
Have u read his books before?
How can I research more about this Harbans Singh?Originally posted by PoRen:u know last time got 1 Harbans Singh, secretary-general of Singapore United Front. A former RI student and a lawyer. Always talk a lot of sense in legal circles but nonsense during elections.
He never cooperate with other opp parties.
Always vowed to field candidates for all constituencies but in the end, field a token few.
He always beging his rally speech: "We are here not to talk about the Opposition in Singapore. We are here to talk about forming the next government of Singapore."
He talk about re-unification with M'sia, etc.
He was known as the PAP spy. out to discredit the Opposition.
dunno Internet got info on Harbans Singh or not.Originally posted by Rock^Star:How can I research more about this Harbans Singh?
Pls read Gomez's books if you have the time. Can find them in the library.
May be it is time for the ED to update / review their procedure.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:Let me try to answer Lionnoisy :
My answers are in blue
Quote:
u are a laundry boss and a client walk in to
claim an expensive jacket his wife gave to u.
But u checked no such records.The client raised his voice and
a crowd gather.Every body looked at u.
Later,the wife of the client came in and told him
he went to a wrong laundry!!
HOW could such a SILLY thing happen in the first place ? In any business transaction there is this thing called receipt. Will you leave something valuable in a shop without asking for an acknowledgement or receipt ? Even a client who has a receipt but loses it will rightly not be entitled to a claim. The business on its part will definitely want to issue a receipt, to protect itself from such potentially scandalous incidents. Of course, unless the business is not straight to start with.
Quote :
How if the wife never turned up and how the crowd would
think??
The crowd would think that the "client" was a liar, trying to pull a farce one because he did not have a receipt. If the laundry did not issue any receipt, then the crowd would wonder what kind of business this fella was running.
They would never want to patronise such a shop.
Quote :
justice??Gomez,ask yourself,what have u done?
A Ph D candidate could make mistakes twice just on a form.
Fansatic lah.
EXACTLY. If this fella is punished, it is not because he has committed any crime (absent minded is not a crime) but because he is so dumb as to let the Ruling Party has an excuse to find fault with him during elections time.
Quote :
Do u beleive that when Gomez went to ELD on 26 Apr
at about 9.30am and asked for the Minority form,
he truthly thought that he DID submit on 24 April?
Only Gomez can give the ancwer.
U,as a thinking citizen,pl read all the info.from
Since only Gomez can give the answer, why are we still articulating and speculating, as if we know all ? There are plenty of such actions, dialogues and "wayangs" going on. It happens everyday in business transactions, in schools and even at home. Who cares who is right or wrong ? They can continue bluffing each other. But the fact that the Gomez case happened during elections times made him stand up, for the wrong reason of course.
He was accused of lying to the Government, the Nation and hence all the citizens including you and me (if you are also a Singaporean). This is the best ammunition for any party during elections time to whack its rival, is it not ??? Out of curiosity, let me ask one simple question - why did he need to do what he had done on that fateful day, KNOWING FULL WELL that there was a camera recording ?
Freedom of speech may be curbed
But freedom of thoughts cannot be curtailled.
I submitted something to the HDB branch office and they never gave me a receipt. So I told them I want to photocopy the doc and let them endorsed on the copy. She did the photocopy and endorsed it. Some civil servants very good one.Originally posted by PatrickLTH:May be it is time for the ED to update / review their procedure.
A receipt to be issued for any forms collected by ED.
This is common practice in most business organization.
Why first world ED do not put this good practice in place and subject himself to this nonsense now?
Internet has nothing on any S'porean Harbans Singh leh....Originally posted by PoRen:dunno Internet got info on Harbans Singh or not.
For Gomez part, I am kidding only.
What I want to say is his actions (if he really din submit his form and then go to tell Inderjit Singh it is wayang), it really does seem that he wan to discredit Opp than Elections Dept
correct me if i am wrong..Originally posted by PatrickLTH:For that matter if ED is serious, they can put the CCTV cameras conspicuously like those in the bankÂ’s counter. Why use hidden CCTV camera? All wayang? All have ulterior motives?
u sure govt depts use hidden cctvs?Originally posted by PatrickLTH:If you have any dealing with government over-the-counter, please bear in mind the presence of the hidden CCTV camera/s?
Then maybe ED really independant dept after all.Originally posted by PoRen:u sure govt depts use hidden cctvs?
my fren's company deal in this area, and he said never done any hidden ones for govt depts b4
yeah nothing much..Originally posted by Rock^Star:Internet has nothing on any S'porean Harbans Singh leh....
Aiyo, the CCTV is not hidden lah. If you look at the CNA newsclip showing CNA cameramen filming our dear friend filling up the form. You can see a CCTV sticking out of the ceiling. That little black semi-circle thingy is the CCTV loh...Originally posted by ditzy:Then maybe ED really independant dept after all.![]()
Like the majority of us would put it:"too bad lor..."Originally posted by qst_08:Before he was stopped at the airport, I sided PAP. After he was stopped at the airport, I sided him.
He was not yet a convict, and yet being treated like a criminal at the airport. What happen if the incident costed his company billion $ deal and his career?
This was due to an incident arising from an administrative foul-up in his dealings with the department, which was “blown out of proportion” by Singapore’s mainstream media and made into an election issue by the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP).---Thursday, May 18, 2006
Originally posted by lionnoisy:In a legal suit, there is usually one right and one wrong. This is too simplistic. In real life, there is often no absolutes but a mixture of right and wrong with both parties contributing one part of the problem.
[b][url=http://jamesgomeznews.blogspot.com/]---Thursday, May 18, 2006
2.Not a foul-up,but a set up.Gomez u really have face and asking for foreign
support!![/b]