07 Sep, 04:00AM in sunny Singapore!

Mandarin speaking people sucks!!!

Subscribe to Mandarin speaking people sucks!!! 163 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    5,075 posts since Feb '04
    • according to this lady on straits time forum

'Hua Yu cool'? No, boorish Mandarin-speaking youths spoil the image

I can attest that Mr Peter Donkin's observations of young Singaporeans are true. I have many negative opinions of young Singaporeans too, despite being a youth myself.

My observations of inconsiderate behaviour among young Singaporeans almost always involve the Mandarin-speakers. While not implying that all Mandarin-speaking youths are rotten (nor are all English-speaking youth angels), an overwhelmingly large group of offenders are observed to be from this group.

This seems to stem from the Chinese school of thought which advocates 'If I don't take, I lose out' and 'If others can do it, so can I, otherwise I lose out', among other factors.

Before anyone takes offence at my discrimination, go on a MRT ride across the island first, and my theory will come to life.

On a train ride from Jurong East to City Hall last month, I saw three groups of Mandarin-speaking youths huddled with their handphones playing Chinese songs at full blast.

The three groups were in the same cabin. It was terrible. One couple left the cabin for another because they couldn't take the racket.

Many people glared at the youths. A girl from one of the groups declared in Mandarin and English 'Wa, wo men hen attract attention leh!', which translates to 'Wow, we are attracting a lot of attention!'.

Was she thinking that people saw her group as 'cool' just because her handphone played MP3 music and they were the latest Mandopop hits? I was outraged at the inconsiderate behavior.

The Mandarin-speaking Singaporean youths also seem to ignore rules that make the world an orderly place. For example, they ignore repeated reminders to keep to the left on escalators. They also ignore the markings that serve to allow passengers on trains to alight first.

A Malaysian classmate who recently visited Thailand spoke of how gracious the people there were, and their good etiquette on the train.

Step into a shop and you will notice that the Mandarin-speakers are rude to service staff and they never say 'please' or 'thank you'.

Based on their interactions with my peers, they take offence easily,

yet they have no qualms about being sarcastic and rude to foreign teachers.

Many young litterbugs are also Mandarin-speaking youths. When I visited Melbourne some months back, I was greatly impressed at the clean streets. I saw everyone putting their litter into bins, and there were no cleaners around.
      While many Mandarin-speaking youths are nice on a personal level, their mentality can manifest the antisocial behaviour that I have mentioned.

My friends and I belong to the minority English-speaking group and we are ashamed to speak in Mandarin in public. No, we are not elites, just normal teenagers.

Unless the association of bad behaviour with Mandarin-speaking youths can be negated, 'Hua Yu Cool' isn't going to work on us anytime soon.

Ang Lixing

da bi-tch is a fu-cking potato who thinks mandarin is a language spoken by low class people!!!

Edited by Marco_Simone 14 Dec `06, 9:55AM
    87,115 posts since Jun '04
  • Phoenix Fudge
    16,353 posts since Jan '04
    • *slaps forehead*

The problem with that young lady is that she can't see that boorish behaviour has totally nothing to do with speaking Mandarin. Rolling Eyes

34,776 posts since Apr '03
    • I would have to say that although it is not fair to lump all mandarin-speaking Chinese into a single noisy category, such situations do exist.

Let's just call it the Ah Beng and Ah Lian phenomenon.

Having said that, it's not exclusive to them either, because you will see some Malay youths blasting their music too.

I've not seen English-educated chaps doing so on the trains though.But these are my personal observations.

• ah yam bloo~
    29,925 posts since Apr '06
    • hmm....seems to me that there are a lot of people (esp teens) in singapore who think that mandarin is un-cool Rolling Eyes maybe im wrong...maybe its just the people that i happen to mix with...but most of the teens i know in singapore boast about their lousy mandarin Rolling Eyes
      as though failing or barely passing it is something to be proud about Rolling Eyes Neutral

oh right....and usually the same group also thinks that all 'ang-mo' countries and people are better Rolling Eyes

Edited by udontknowme 14 Dec `06, 10:00AM
    • Originally posted by fudgester:
      *slaps forehead*

The problem with that young lady is that she can't see that boorish behaviour has totally nothing to do with speaking Mandarin. Rolling Eyes

Precisely.

You'd see much more boorish behavior Down Under too.

Every group has it's teenage angst. Rolling Eyes

633 posts since Mar '06
    • Originally posted by udontknowme:
      oh right....and usually the same group also thinks that all 'ang-mo' countries and people are better Rolling Eyes

there is no big deal about ang mos,some come here think they are the sh-it and try to bully us,but if you show them you are not to be trifled with,they become like mice...

• Originally posted by toll123:
      that lady is a banana Laughing what's wrong in speaking our own mother tongue?

Ahem, no banana bashing here ah. Evil or Very Mad

There's nothing wrong. It's the antisocial behavior that's the problem, just that the writer fails to see that. However, I'd put her in the JC age group, where she still lacks the ability to draw a fair, comparative estimate based on her observations.

If I were to stretch this a bit further, maybe it's plausible to link a lack of good social mannerisms and upbringing with the education level of their families, so there is a statistical chance that it would skew such behavior to more mandarin-speaking households.

Now this is just an estimate, so please do not flame me. You'd have to get a sociologis t to do a study on this.

• ah yam bloo~
    • Originally posted by Marco_Simone:
      there is no big deal about ang mos,some come here think they are the sh-it and try to bully us,but if you show them you are not to be trifled with,they become like mice...

maybe its those that you have came across...all those whom ive met were nice people Razz
      aiyah...all are humans anyways...

• Phoenix Fudge
    16,353 posts since Jan '04
    • Originally posted by LazerLordz:
      Precisely.

You'd see much more boorish behavior Down Under too.

Every group has it's teenage angst. Rolling Eyes

Yeah...

Using that kid's twisted logic, we can attribute the boorish behaviour of those Aussie punks you saw to their use of Australian English. Rolling Eyes Laughing

Personally I'm also against the antics of Mats and Minahs who make a fool of themselves in public, screw up their own lives and smear the name of the Malay race while they're at it.

However, to attribute their antics to the usage of the Malay language is one huge fallacy which I'm not going to do.

This kid needs a lot of growing up to do.

• Originally posted by udontknowme:
      maybe its those that you have came across...all those whom ive met were nice people Razz
      aiyah...all are humans anyways...

Ya I know,actually most ang mos are quite friendly 1 especially those I encountered in their home countries.

In 2003 in the aftermath of England Rugby World Cup win,I almost picked up a fight with an unruly ang mo at boat quay,fu-cker backed down...

43,372 posts since Mar '05
    • what has mandarin-speaking got to do with one's behaviour? i am sure there are non-chinese-speaking people who exhibit inconsiderate behaviour too.

knn, i will really be ashamed if i were in any way related to her.

Mad Mad Mad

• Originally posted by LazerLordz:
      Ahem, no banana bashing here ah. Evil or Very Mad

There's nothing wrong. It's the antisocial behavior that's the problem, just that the writer fails to see that. However, I'd put her in the JC age group, where she still lacks the ability to draw a fair, comparative estimate based on her observations.

If I were to stretch this a bit further, maybe it's plausible to link a lack of good social mannerisms and upbringing with the education level of their families, so there is a statistical chance that it would skew such behavior to more mandarin-speaking households.

Now this is just an estimate, so please do not flame me. You'd have to get a sociologis t to do a study on this.

probably from an elite jc and an elite family to boot.Sometimes I really think these people are mountain tortoises or frog in the well... Rolling Eyes

• Dreams can turn into nightmares... lol
    20,361 posts since Apr '04
    • WTF! Mandarin speaking ppl sucks!?!

son of a b|itch insulting my parents! N NOT TO MENTION ME!

2,226 posts since Feb '06
  • ah yam bloo~
      probably from an elite jc and an elite family to boot.Sometimes I really think these people are mountain tortoises or frog in the well... Rolling Eyes

they need to go out and see the world...

then perhaps they will realize how impt it is to know their own mother tongue well...

and by going out to see the world, i dont mean going on tours and staying in 5 star hotels and such Rolling Eyes
      stay and live as the common locals do...

Edited by udontknowme 14 Dec `06, 10:11AM
    • Originally posted by dragg:
      what has mandarin-speaking got to do with one's behaviour? i am sure there are non-chinese-speaking people who exhibit inconsiderate behaviour too.

knn, i will really be ashamed if i were in any way related to her.

Mad Mad Mad

She will say the same thing about mats and Indian ah bengs if she come across them.

In her world view,she will think:"ENGLAND is the most powerful,other languages are spoken by lowly life forms..."

Nope, but if you hang out with your own kentang crowd most of your life, and you don't really mix around with the mando-crowd, you'd definitely mistake those noisy ones as a representation of the whole group.

I never did mix around with mandarin speaking people till I was in NS. And it took me a while to get around, but I managed to see that we are no different from each other, and that language is just a means of communication, and does not usually impact on behavior most of the time..

7,922 posts since May '05
    • Originally posted by Cenarious:
      mandarin isn't low class, singlish is.

Singlish isn't low class at all. It is our identity, a product of post-colonial resistance. Mai sng sng ah...

43,372 posts since Mar '05
    • Many young litterbugs are also Mandarin-speaking youths. When I visited Melbourne some months back, I was greatly impressed at the clean streets. I saw everyone putting their litter into bins, and there were no cleaners around.

read this again.

what has littering got to do with the language spoken? obviously she thinks that ang-mos dont litter.

so its about the skin colour and not the language.

17,332 posts since Aug '02
    28,809 posts since Jun '03
    • there is something i feel our education sys or modern days screw up the use of language. whoever coming wif wif the rojak shogun 'Hua Yu Cool!' (noticed the mixture of chinese n english) need to be shot!

nowaday mandarin songs is like 60% in chinese words whereas 40% mixture of hip-hop english lyrics.

for ABC singers like wang lihong n jay chou wrote songs wif mixture of lyrics will send wrong messages to fools dat make them believe dat is cool. ?

it's no wonder why the writer has dat kinda impression of these kids today. but i feel she is wrong making dat assume dat all chinese speaking pple are ah bengs/lians. Evil or Very Mad

• Originally posted by dragg:
      [b]Many young litterbugs are also Mandarin-speaking youths. When I visited Melbourne some months back, I was greatly impressed at the clean streets. I saw everyone putting their litter into bins, and there were no cleaners around.

read this again.

what has littering got to do with the language spoken? obviously she thinks that ang-mos dont litter.

so its about the skin colour and not the language.

Little kids are ignorant. And they think they know it all.

This is what I call a lack of intellect.

Please Login or Signup to reply.