11 Oct, 10:26AM in sunny Singapore!

There is ZERO justification for raising minister salaries

Subscribe to There is ZERO justification for raising minister salaries 43 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    314 posts since Sep '05
    • Firstly, I will admit Im not a very political knowledgable person on deep politics, but better than average.

But the 1mil increase of minister salaries from 1.2mil to 2.2 is madness. Come on, the justification for the ministers salary increase is benchmarked by parliment, which is ironically made up of ministers? this makes no sense.

Are we paying them more to continuously benchmark their salaries 1 mil higher after every election???

Plus dont forget there are 88 ministers. So that is +$88 mil for the ministers alone.

The other sad thing is that money should be one of the last things on a minister mind. Serving the country should be his number one priority. If the pay is not good enough for the minister, he is free to leave, (and why should he in the first place when the pay in sg of our ministers is one of the highest in the world.)

if he does leave, it shows he has no loyalty to the country in the first place.

And I thought the justification of the gst hike of taxing the poor to help the poor was bad enough.

11,388 posts since May '04
    12,033 posts since Jan '07
    3,012 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by allentyb:
      Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

there is already two topic going on this already

yar +1 b4 close Mr. Green Mr. Green

5 posts since Mar '07
    • haha u remind me of last yr wht tt PM LEE say at e parliment. sayin that we citizen pick on job cause of the pay. An E.g he said, A $1,000 job is already enuff. Wonder wht if we give the minister each n every $1,000 see they can survive not.

1,642 posts since Dec '06
    • Originally posted by Jungkwek:
      haha u remind me of last yr wht tt PM LEE say at e parliment. sayin that we citizen pick on job cause of the pay. An E.g he said, A $1,000 job is already enuff. Wonder wht if we give the minister each n every $1,000 see they can survive not.

The ministers only assumes they know about the people's plight and suffering. But those idiots keep wanting to pay themselves more and more. I am freaking irked by their irresponsible actions...

They have made so many hideous errors and decisions and yet chooses to reward themselves time and time again... enough is enough.

haha u remind me of last yr wht tt PM LEE say at e parliment. sayin that we citizen pick on job cause of the pay. An E.g he said, A $1,000 job is already enuff. Wonder wht if we give the minister each n every $1,000 see they can survive not.

precisely!!

who is a worst person? a commoner who wants to pick a job with pay to support his family (pay house instalment, etc..etc..? or a minister who's already paid a million (not including all the government tax breaks and benefits) and resigns for a private sector who 'might pay him twice the amount?' Laughing Laughing

see the clearer picture?

5 posts since Mar '07
    • goverment are full of politics. tis wanna care tt wanan care. but minaly overall they r CARING over their own pocket. "caring" abt citizens life means concerning n protecting their own wages. tis is call legalise corruption. say tings nice. give u money every yr for wht ERS shares. but leh. end of e yr income tax come then all go back to them.

so many ppl say.. every kind of tings will raise in price in Sg.
      But nv our wages.!!!
      Our effort put in to tis nation have become else 1 credit!

so tts y PAP is the Pay n Pay.
      we citizen Pay until Perish.

86 posts since Jan '06

LOL i think he meant those people who are living in a 1 room HDB flat or maybe living with their parents/frens and no kids and wife at all Laughing Laughing Laughing

Edited by tim482 23 Mar `07, 9:29PM
    5 posts since Mar '07
    • haha tim i tink u can go watch tt again. try rewindin it n hear. it applies to all. ha

86 posts since Jan '06
      haha tim i tink u can go watch tt again. try rewindin it n hear. it applies to all. ha

applies to all
      if thats a case,
      i wonder when the some people will go outside LHL house and protest i hope that day come it shown that people cannot stand it anymore Twisted Evil
      or
      maybe the peaceful way elections but is like another 4 to 5 years Mad

6,655 posts since Aug '05
    • firstly he said that foreign country are trying to headhunt our top civil servants top their country and money is not a matter to them because their are trying to learn from our success stories. then he gave an example thet a foreign country sent out feelers trying to buy JTC. If we do not pay them the rates, the top civil servants will jump ship when headhunted.

then in today news, headhunters said that top civil servants were never in their headhunting list.

so, how can there be 2 side of a story?
      Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

• Originally posted by LinYu:
      firstly he said that foreign country are trying to headhunt our top civil servants top their country and money is not a matter to them because their are trying to learn from our success stories. then he gave an example thet a foreign country sent out feelers trying to buy JTC. If we do not pay them the rates, the top civil servants will jump ship when headhunted.

then in today news, headhunters said that top civil servants were never in their headhunting list.

so, how can there be 2 side of a story?
      Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

i think its more of a gahmen's of self 'inflated' praise or EGO? Rolling Eyes

1,377 posts since Feb '07
    • hiya.. dun expect those headhunters to say that they actually looking for talent in our public sector rite?
      anyway, our civil servents pay so high here.. where else can u find better pay?

3,313 posts since Dec '04
    • er..... since when do we have 88 minister?

u confused between Members of Parliament and Ministers?

And yes...the pay rise have no justification

1,430 posts since Feb '07
    • Yes, they'd rather fatten up their own paychecks than to give our elderly citizens more welfare money. Sad, isn't it? Especially when you consider how those elder citzens have contributed to the current Singapore. They have given so much and the government have chucked them aside as if they were nothing more than a finished packet of chips.

So... what's going to happen to us in the next few decades? Are we going to be better off than our gramps, or worse off?

2,131 posts since Apr '05
    • Using the excuse of staving off corruption to justify ministerial pay rise is in essence tantamount to an admission that the ministers are so lacking in integrity that they would not be able to resist the temptation of bribe-taking if the amount is sufficiently comparable to their offical pay packet. Plainly any person with common sense will not buy this pathetic excuse. If the PAP wishes to justify its civil service pay policy, it is going to have to find a better excuse, or run a serious risk of losing its mandate 5 years later.

2,298 posts since Jan '06
    • Why do the minister dare to keep increasing the pay?

Ans: They know that they will always win in election

133 posts since Sep '05
    • As PM Lee mentioned, money is of no concern to those rich middle eastern countries. And his strategy to counter their huge piggy bank? Increase the pay of top civil servants of couse! But how much can their salary be increased? To 10m? 20m? The reason he gave for the pay increase doesn’t make sense.

2,133 posts since Jan '07
    • the source of headhunting these days come from the middle east. I am not too sure how many Singaporean in the mids and late 30's would willingly grab the jobs in middle east?

For middle level decision maker. Once you move your career don't bother to return to Singapore it is almost impossible to start a 2nd career in Singapore.

Labor market in the mid level mgt are very competitive.

3,803 posts since Sep '04
    • Originally posted by Arapahoe:
      the source of headhunting these days come from the middle east. I am not too sure how many Singaporean in the mids and late 30's would willingly grab the jobs in middle east?

For middle level decision maker. Once you move your career don't bother to return to Singapore it is almost impossible to start a 2nd career in Singapore.

Labor market in the mid level mgt are very competitive.

And if you do come back , come back as a foreign talent , not as a local idiot. I got offered a local idiot's pay for a job I applied in the name of fun while my dear Australian got offered the truly delicious expat pay even though she is not as qualified as I am .

6,078 posts since Feb '04
    • So long as they "managed" to remain VOTED every Election, they WILL continue to jack-up their salaries..

.. while we continue to tighten our belts...

The reasons behind every increment of ANYTHING, will also remain lame...

So, what can we do? Contnue voting??

Rolling Eyes

Edited by ShutterBug 25 Mar `07, 5:42AM
    104 posts since Jul '05
    • Honestly, I think that the ministers deserve a 66.6% increment in their pay. But for the PM, I think he deserved a 66.1% increase in his pay. The health minister should get a 72.5% increase in his pay. The foreign minister should get a 58.2% increase in his pay. If the increment excercise is conducted this way I think it is very fair. But I seriously have no idea how to increase ministers' pay who are "elected" by walkovers.

Don't you all agree? I know for sure that 66.6% of Singaporeans will agree? Right, the 66.6% out there?

2,204 posts since Dec '03
    • Tell the poodles: "There is no free lunch"

So far, the poodles do not NEED the salary increase as MOST of the expenses are paid for.

Furthermore, the peasants have forgotten the poodles are elected as wayang directorship for various company.

The pay increase was not justified with any performance, if any (wayang at Chingay parade ?) instead by a silly reason of head-hunting.

Therefore, it is so IRONICAL that the poodles were so EFFICIENT in giving themselves a rise, and so SLOW anf INEFFICIENT in solving simple peasants problems about rising cost.

6,655 posts since Aug '05
    • wt... just increase lah. so need to come out with reasons or at least come out with funnier reasons like "helping the poor"
      Mad Mad Mad

Please Login or Signup to reply.