09 Jan, 08:49PM in sunny Singapore!

Punched and hit but police won't be taking action

Subscribe to Punched and hit but police won't be taking action 106 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    4,468 posts since Dec '00
    • April 4, 2007

ON THE night of March 13 I chanced upon a kitten at Block 506 along Bishan Street 11. It was tied to a fence so tightly that it looked as if it was having difficulty breathing so I decided to try to release it. Suddenly, a man shouted at me, claiming I was trying to steal his kitten.
      Before I could utter a word, he punched me in the face. As I staggered backwards I tried to explain but he punched me a second time. Fearing for my life, I picked myself up and ran. The man chased after me, hurling abuse along the way.

I ran into a nearby shop to seek refuge as well as to call the police. The man followed me in, proclaiming that he wasn't scared of the authorities. He grabbed my bag and used it to strike me.

The shopkeeper told the man to back off as he did not want trouble inside his shop.

After calling the police a few times, two officers finally arrived about 20 minutes later. One took down my particulars as well as my account of what had happened while the other appeared to do the same with my assailant.

An ambulance was called and I was taken to hospital for a checkup. Upon being discharged, I immediately filed a police report.

Three days later, when I managed to speak to the officer-in-charge on the phone, I was told that the police would not be taking any action as it was a 'civil case'. I was told to file a magistrate's complaint, which I did.

What is the role of the police in such cases, where hurt has been caused?

What kind of message is the police sending to people such as the individual who assaulted me?

Kong Lai Meng (Ms)

29,805 posts since Oct '03
    • I believe the police spokesman already stated in the previous case of the doctor getting bashed up, that cases of assault are none of their business and victims need to do all the work by filing complain to magistrate's court? Laughing
      unless of course you are a minister, mp, or related to one of the two. I believe anyone assaultuing our president can even kena life imprisonment or death? Laughing

Unless someone high up initiates the process of changing that particular law, the police also lan lan cannot do anything.

Perhaps after the fat pay rise, they will feel motivated to do so? Laughing

Edited by av98m 04 Apr `07, 11:34AM
    • This must surely take the cake. After the Geylang incident when a passer-by was assaulted by a group of thugs who promptly escaped on their bikes, it seems the police actually allow lawlessness, unable to draw a distinction as to when action should be taken and deferment to the magistrate's courts.

Have our boys in blue started to 'outsource' their direct responsibility? Does assault and battery now fall under a re-structuring plan that prevents our shameless law enforcement officers from performing their role?

There appears to be no consequences for street bullies and thugs who can openly and violently assault others with impunity.

What's next?

No wonder the assailant made the audacious claim that he wasn't scared of the authorities.

3,339 posts since Oct '05
    • well that sounds really funny Laughing but too bad the lazy police isnt doing anything, that man should be charged for 2 crimes, animal abuse and assault.

29,805 posts since Oct '03
    • Originally posted by av98m:
      I believe the police spokesman already stated in the previous case of the doctor getting bashed up, that cases of assault are none of their business and victims need to do all the work by filing complain to magistrate's court? Laughing
      unless of course you are a minister, mp, or related to one of the two. I believe anyone assaultuing our president can even kena life imprisonment or death? Laughing

Unless someone high up initiates the process of changing that particular law, the police also lan lan cannot do anything.

Which only means i can retaliate and the police will not arrest me either. Maybe i should land a few well-placed blows to earn the aggressor a ticket to the hospital...should at least make it worth my while. Cool

Let's all return to the days of gangsterism and triads where anarchy rules. Cool

Don't blame the policemen, who can only enforce the law.

Blame the lawmakers.

I find it sad. Gone are the days where failure to discharge one's duty by a civil servant is punishable by law. Shocked

Now civil servants get the good life... Rolling Eyes

53,347 posts since Aug '05
    • The laws must change. If not, we will see more of these cases. What's the use of having police officers when they can do nothing much? Rolling Eyes

Do we need to see such civil cases ending in death before changes to the laws are made? Just like how a falling window killed someone?

6,568 posts since Jul '06
    • If wad you allege is true, den this is serious! For the good of the whole society, I suggest you go to see your Member of Parliament to lodge a formal complaint. Wink

Reporting animal abuse or suspected animal abuse is the responsibility of every citizen. How can the police expect citizens to discharge this responsibility if citizens are not provided reasonable protection....? Evil or Very Mad

Something is just not right.......... Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

33,594 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by BillyBong:
      Which only means i can retaliate and the police will not arrest me either. Maybe i should land a few well-placed blows to earn the aggressor a ticket to the hospital...should at least make it worth my while. Cool

Let's all return to the days of gangsterism and triads where anarchy rules. Cool

thing is, the police can arrest for fighting, but not for beating Laughing Laughing Laughing

I find it sad. Gone are the days where failure to discharge one's duty by a civil servant is punishable by law. Shocked

As per usual, power is still the main issue. The police have enough powers to handle certain cases, but not enough powers to handle civil cases.

It's hard to strike a balance. If too much power is given to them, we will be another Thailand. Too little powers, this is what we get.

4,891 posts since May '04
    • Originally posted by hisoka:
      thing is, the police can arrest for fighting, but not for beating Laughing Laughing Laughing

Both will be charged... Laughing

Better still, the one who assaults you counter-charge, meaning you become the assaulter. The power of our laws. Neutral

25,155 posts since Aug '06
      April 4, 2007

ON THE night of March 13 I chanced upon a kitten at Block 506 along Bishan Street 11. It was tied to a fence so tightly that it looked as if it was having difficulty breathing so I decided to try to release it. Suddenly, a man shouted at me, claiming I was trying to steal his kitten.
      Before I could utter a word, he punched me in the face. As I staggered backwards I tried to explain but he punched me a second time. Fearing for my life, I picked myself up and ran. The man chased after me, hurling abuse along the way.

I ran into a nearby shop to seek refuge as well as to call the police. The man followed me in, proclaiming that he wasn't scared of the authorities. He grabbed my bag and used it to strike me.

The shopkeeper told the man to back off as he did not want trouble inside his shop.

After calling the police a few times, two officers finally arrived about 20 minutes later. One took down my particulars as well as my account of what had happened while the other appeared to do the same with my assailant.

An ambulance was called and I was taken to hospital for a checkup. Upon being discharged, I immediately filed a police report.

Three days later, when I managed to speak to the officer-in-charge on the phone, I was told that the police would not be taking any action as it was a 'civil case'. I was told to file a magistrate's complaint, which I did.

What is the role of the police in such cases, where hurt has been caused?

What kind of message is the police sending to people such as the individual who assaulted me?

Kong Lai Meng (Ms)

Yup, police will not do anything until this person file a magistrate claim. If the magistrate approves that there is a case.. then he'll order the police to carry out investigation... but the time the police takes action.. duno when already..

hire lawyer if u want to get things moving lor..

• santa bear
    127,569 posts since Feb '01
    • you'll be surprised what the rank and file civil serpents have to endure... it is not for the faint-hearted...

however, the higher level civil serpents... they don't know their ass from their elbows Laughing

actually, i think the failure to act by the police fellas is tantamount to neglecting their duties..

however, that being said, through personal experience the police rank and file fellas are sometimes hamstrung by their own high ones.. who are more afraid of complaints by the public than anything else...

imagine the kitten abuser complaining? God forbid! that's one item against them in their Key Performance Indicators!!

Originally posted by BillyBong:

• santa bear
    • uhh.. what happened to arresting a person on suspicion of assault and battery, causing GHB?

Originally posted by bluejuice:
      Yup, police will not do anything until this person file a magistrate claim. If the magistrate approves that there is a case.. then he'll order the police to carry out investigation... but the time the police takes action.. duno when already..

hire lawyer if u want to get things moving lor..
    804 posts since Mar '03
    • Originally posted by the Bear:
      uhh.. what happened to arresting a person on suspicion of assault and battery, causing GHB?

no idea.. i had always thought the police will carry out investigations upon the victim making police report.. then subsequently if the accusations are found to be true.. then they arrest the person and charge the person in court..

it was onli until an actual case of something like the TS case happened to someone i know.. then i realise police will not take action even though victim file report..

Its best that victim hire lawyer to take care of the proceedings.. it'll be faster..

2,209 posts since Jan '05
      I believe the police spokesman already stated in the previous case of the doctor getting bashed up, that cases of assault are none of their business and victims need to do all the work by filing complain to magistrate's court? Laughing

Funny, if I remember correctly, a taxi driver hit an MP in AMK area and he was charged ... Evil or Very Mad

17,640 posts since Nov '03
    • To think that I was at my cousin's PNSF passing-out parade yesterday, where they recited this pledge:

We pledge to be loyal and true to the Police service and the Republic of Singapore.

We pledge to uphold the law, to protect life and property, to prevent and detect crime.

We pledge to discharge our responsibilities without fear or favour, regardless of race, language or religion.

We pledge to strive for excellence, to be proactive and to exercise initiative in our duties.

We pledge to serve our community and our country and to be courteous and humane in our dealings with every fellowman.

Perhaps it's time to amend it to include upholding KPIs?

• I think the problem is.. that not a lot of people know that there are so many procedures involved.. BEFORE the police can carry out investigations..

that's why when the victims actually know, most of them might withdraw their charges .... no wonder so many bullies out there.. Mad

• 淘汰郎
    36,012 posts since Aug '05
    25,198 posts since Aug '05

• so that's what singapore shall become in the future huh .....

where thugs and young punks run wild and violent with impunity ... where heartland schools for peasants become hotbeds of gangsterism ...

where the police are more afraid of complaints and paper work ....

where public events like orchard road count downs turn into free for all flesh parade for legions of foreign workers .... and "high society" ang mohs and people with peanut salaries can apply to the courts for "holidays overseas", even with drug and cheating cases hanging over their heads ..... god forbid that we should make foreigners unwelcome, or the elites leave ....

and of course ... the boys in blue shall always say ... "no problem ! ... "

• 淘汰郎
    36,012 posts since Aug '05
    • There is always 2 sides to the story.

Its easy to visualise what happened and say that the officers shld arrest the man. But they need proof.

If they arrest the man, he could have wrote a letter to ST and said, hey i didnt do anything man! I am innocent until proven guilty! where did that go? I was treated like i was guilty!

Its the the law makers. unhappy about it? want to help the police do their job?

go do something to make the lawmakers change the law.

If not you will see this happen more and more n more.

The officers clearly had an option to treat this as a civil case. so help make that option a non option. instead of saying they are not doing their job.

Of course if they have to make an arrest.. u will again see people saying.. everything also arrest.. gov trying to suppress the population!

cant impress everyone. Rolling Eyes

• santa bear
    • actually, as long as there is proof that there was violence, the cops should be able to arrest the perp..

and YES!! if i happen to see an animal being abused, i WILL kaypoh

and if the guy is going to attack me, GOD HELP HIM Mad

Please Login or Signup to reply.