19 Nov, 04:09PM in sunny Singapore!

Lee Hsien Loong - Launch of kindness movement.

Subscribe to Lee Hsien Loong - Launch of kindness movement. 72 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,902 posts since Apr '06
    • Sunday May 20, 8:17 PM
      PM Lee launches Singapore Kindness Week
      ADVERTISEMENT

SINGAPORE : All the efforts put in to transform Singapore into a vibrant global city will be in vain if there is no social development, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
      Launching the 10th Singapore Kindness Week on Saturday, Mr Lee also shared findings from a survey on what constitute kind and courteous behaviour.

The courtesy jingle and the Singa mascot would be familiar to many people.

And this year, the Singapore Kindness Movement is putting a new spin to an old message by jazzing up the song.

It has also conducted a survey of 1,000 Singaporeans and expatriates to find out what being kind and courteous mean.

Speaking at the event, PM Lee said one of three key findings is the simple act of greeting one another.

And minding your please and thank you's.

Another is to be considerate, like giving way to others or giving up seats to those who need them more.

Acts like clearing the table and returning food trays after a meal are also appreciated.

Mr Lee said: "As we grow and globalise, the values of care, compassion and neighbourliness will become even more important. No society can survive, let alone prosper, if its people are only concerned with pursuing material wealth. Kindness is the thread that runs through our social fabric, making it stronger and more cohesive."

And although the Kindness Movement has made good progress over the last 10 years, everyone must continue to do their part to work towards a more gracious society.

PM Lee said: "We can't legislate courtesy and kindness by law. You must smile, otherwise $5 fine. You must laugh, otherwise $10 fine. The government can encourage and promote but the people have to respond and to practise, and so set the right general tenor of behaviour in society."

More than 100 examples of such kind behaviour were published in the second edition of a book of kindness stories.

The Prime Minister himself contributed a story as well.

Mr Lee shared how he and his wife were touched by the thoughtfulness of a satay man in Malacca.

They had ordered 40 sticks of satay but the experienced hawker only served them 25 sticks, as he knew that would be enough.

Over 400 kindness-related activities and programmes will be held across the island throughout the week to encourage people to make kindness a habit and put a smile on someone's face. - CNA/ch

Ha ha ha, kindness also means to be considerate and not greedy. Is he a good/excellent choice to speak for kindness movement/week?

12,033 posts since Jan '07
    • Originally posted by allentyb:
      is that dickhead going to take this chance to raise future taxes?

Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

that "jiak liao bee" will continue to raise GST. In July it is going to be 7% and I believe the next raise will be 9%.

How kind do we think he is? What a bad choice, getting him to speak for the kindness movement. He is a bad representative for kindness movement. Mr. Green

We don't need to look far, just look at Taiwan - Ma Ying Jiu, who is a friend of his. Mr Ma is practising kindness as a politician, see the way he carries himself and the way he speaks, tells us that Lee Ah Loong is no where to be compared to him. What a shame, Lee Ah Loong!!! Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

I wanna say again, the one and only thing about him is he is born lucky.

2,158 posts since Mar '04
    • Funny - to think of it !!!

Here is a guy who say he need to spend time to "fix people" and he is lauching kindness movement !!!

Maybe he did spend less time to fix people !!! -as he go spare time to do kindness movement

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    166,029 posts since Dec '99
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      so this is how u all address our PM.......... Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

yes, miss, becos he is our very "dear" PM, a very lucky man indeed!!!

• Originally posted by storywolf:
      Funny - to think of it !!!

Here is a guy who say he need to spend time to "fix people" and he is lauching kindness movement !!!

Maybe he did spend less time to fix people !!! -as he go spare time to do kindness movement

Laughing Laughing Laughing

3,882 posts since Jul '05
  • August Band - Sunshine
    90,078 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by laurence82:
      leech our money and want us to smile?

Rolling Eyes

Laughing Laughing Laughing Hey, he can smile as much as he wants to with his $3.1 m salary!!!!

How to respect this sort of person??

222 posts since May '07
  • I are serious cat
    49,835 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by Your_Father:
      how is this different from all the other movements

"Technically, it doesn't involve money." Laughing

73 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by rane:
      Mr Lee shared how he and his wife were touched by the thoughtfulness of a satay man in Malacca.

They had ordered 40 sticks of satay but the experienced hawker only served them 25 sticks, as he knew that would be enough.

Over 400 kindness-related activities and programmes will be held across the island throughout the week to encourage people to make kindness a habit and put a smile on someone's face. - CNA/ch

Pls be kind to Lee when he is greedy- by criticising him... he'll appreciate it. ... hopefully Wink

(early criticism better then late.)

Edited by bic_cherry 21 May `07, 12:39AM
    • Originally posted by bic_cherry:
      Pls be kind to Lee (when he is greedy) by criticising him... he'll appreciate it. Wink

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Laughing Laughing Laughing Mr. Green Mr. Green Mr. Green

How can he be kind when he spoke so cold bloodedly when he stated more than once about him not going to make Singapore a welfare state!!! KNS now talks about kindness movement, what a contradiction!!!

He does not need welfare with his filthy unreasonably high pay of $3.1m, and so he can just ignore there are many people who are not earning well. So what the gahmen is helping these people, how much can they help? Mr. Green Evil or Very Mad Twisted Evil

4,426 posts since Apr '07
    • Originally posted by Trump_Card:
      He can be kind by not raising tax to 7%...

But he is going to raise to 7%, this is a fact we can't change. And you know the next raise will be 9% (saw this from a very reliable source, from a company that deals in taxes).

Well, he only thinks of himself and this is not kind. He still has the cheek to talk about kindness movement. Yucks!!!

4,426 posts since Apr '07
      But he is going to raise to 7%, this is a fact we can't change. And you know the next raise will be 9% (saw this from a very reliable source, from a company that deals in taxes).

Well, he only thinks of himself and this is not kind. He still has the cheek to talk about kindness movement. Yucks!!!

Yar lor...

1,861 posts since Apr '06
      Sunday May 20, 8:17 PM
      ADVERTISEMENT

SINGAPORE : All the efforts put in to transform Singapore into a vibrant global city will be in vain if there is no social development, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.
      Launching the 10th Singapore Kindness Week on Saturday, Mr Lee also shared findings from a survey on what constitute kind and courteous behaviour.

The courtesy jingle and the Singa mascot would be familiar to many people.

And this year, the Singapore Kindness Movement is putting a new spin to an old message by jazzing up the song.

It has also conducted a survey of 1,000 Singaporeans and expatriates to find out what being kind and courteous mean.

Speaking at the event, PM Lee said one of three key findings is the simple act of greeting one another.

And minding your please and thank you's.

Another is to be considerate, like giving way to others or giving up seats to those who need them more.

Acts like clearing the table and returning food trays after a meal are also appreciated.

Mr Lee said: "As we grow and globalise, the values of care, compassion and neighbourliness will become even more important. No society can survive, let alone prosper, if its people are only concerned with pursuing material wealth. Kindness is the thread that runs through our social fabric, making it stronger and more cohesive."

And although the Kindness Movement has made good progress over the last 10 years, everyone must continue to do their part to work towards a more gracious society.

PM Lee said: "We can't legislate courtesy and kindness by law. You must smile, otherwise $5 fine. You must laugh, otherwise $10 fine. The government can encourage and promote but the people have to respond and to practise, and so set the right general tenor of behaviour in society."

More than 100 examples of such kind behaviour were published in the second edition of a book of kindness stories.

The Prime Minister himself contributed a story as well.

Ha ha ha, kindness also means to be considerate and not greedy. Is he a good/excellent choice to speak for kindness movement/week?

In the entire lot of drivel, there's only one significant portion comprising 8 words. That, in essence, sums up what the whole mouthpiece - and the regime - is about... Laughing

2,222 posts since Jan '07
    • hate to say this, as much as I think he is a smart person but he is not suited as PM.

1,860 posts since Feb '06
    • PM lee contributed this story.

Once on a weekend trip in Malacca, my wife and I had dinner in a coffee shop. We ordered 40 sticks of satay from the stall. The satay man brought the satay, and we finished them off without counting the sticks.
      When we went to pay, he charged us much less than we had expected. Then the satay man explained to us that he had doubted that we could finish 40 sticks, and so only served us 25, thinking that if it was not enough, he could serve us some more later. As it turned out, he was right, and 25 sticks were enough.
      It was a small touch of thoughtfulness which we greatly appreciated, and have long remembered.'

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      The story best describes his nature, greed. 25 sticks were enough but he ordered 40 sticks.
      Then they finished them off without counting the sticks because it’s been paid for by the taxpayers money anyway.
      The satay man is not kind. He is honest.
      This story should be published in the book of Honesty and Integrity stories.

6,078 posts since Feb '04
    • Close Encounter of the GST 'Kind' ...

Sung to the tune of the movie's theme:

"Two-percent-increase...."

Laughing

Edited by ShutterBug 21 May `07, 6:20AM
    • Originally posted by googoomuck:
      [b]PM lee contributed this story.

Once on a weekend trip in Malacca, my wife and I had dinner in a coffee shop. We ordered 40 sticks of satay from the stall. The satay man brought the satay, and we finished them off without counting the sticks.
      When we went to pay, he charged us much less than we had expected. Then the satay man explained to us that he had doubted that we could finish 40 sticks, and so only served us 25, thinking that if it was not enough, he could serve us some more later. As it turned out, he was right, and 25 sticks were enough.
      It was a small touch of thoughtfulness which we greatly appreciated, and have long remembered.'

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      The story best describes his nature, greed. 25 sticks were enough but he ordered 40 sticks.
      Then they finished them off without counting the sticks because it’s been paid for by the taxpayers money anyway.
      The satay man is not kind. He is honest.
      This story should be published in the book of Honesty and Integrity stories.

Laughing Laughing Laughing Yes, it is greed. A person like him who is lucky and enjoying good life all his life will he ever be so kind? "You die your business". Even if he demonstrates kindness, he is doing it superficially not sincerely from his heart. Mr. Green

1,029 posts since Oct '03
    • Kindness is from the heart. Is it even a habit ?

Do we need such an 'artificial' campaign ?

More importantly, is this campaign designed to set our PM in a better light after the unpopular GST/Civil servants' salary increases ?

Originally posted by rane:
      Sunday May 20, 8:17 PM

Just a personal observation, those bloody FT(of all ages) i see on the MRT do not give up their seats for our local elderly at all.

8,238 posts since Mar '05
    • Wait a minute.

The PM goes on weekend trips to hawker centres in Malacca to eat satay? Laughing

• Fallen...
    125,931 posts since Feb '01
    • of course.. the PM and his husband are known here and the hawkers will probably poison him or something Laughing

or worse, they'll put hum in his mee siam Laughing

Originally posted by charlize:
      Wait a minute.

The PM goes on weekend trips to hawker centres in Malacca to eat satay? Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.