if you want to go, then be decisive and go further. Going to anywhere in australia is half-hearted. To think that your children will have a better prospect in australia is a joke.Originally posted by reyes:I am migrating to W .australia perth soon.
i guess i will have a smoother path because i study there b4. my wife is aussie, their family is there. My kids are duo citizenship (<3 yrs old).
nevertheless, i will miss singapore vast varity of hawker food at cheap price.
friends, relative, memories which can never migrate with me.
i know some friends who migrated but suffer from minor depression due to problems mention by fellow forumers. such as jobs expectation, culture, ppl relationship, food, money and etc. In perth, nothing is as convienient as singapore.
But my mind is made up for the better future of my kids, happiness of my wife, i am willing to sacrfice my homeland in search of another( but not necessary greener). the choice is never easy, think hard and twice.
You are too biased , one-sided, propagandating.Originally posted by Daddy!!:if you want to go, then be decisive and go further. Going to anywhere in australia is half-hearted. To think that your children will have a better prospect in australia is a joke.
and what happened to your rich doctors' children? are they emigrating for themselves or for their children?Originally posted by reddressman:You are too biased , one-sided, propagandating.
so many sg people have migrated there.
could you tell me the figures.
Everyone knows that many many have migrated there.
recently, as I posted in another thread, a family of at least 8 exited sg for good, taking their many children (rich doctor family). Now, ask yourself why.
The couple who migrated are both Doctors, highly edicated and earning lots of money.
Why did they bring all their children out of sg?
Are 2 doctors' decisions wrong? And you are right? Is that what you trying to impress?
come on lah. you know, your unker and unty also know.
many have migrated. not just to aus. to many many other places.
They also successful. Now, tell me the why?
hmm...who are you talking to?Originally posted by reddressman:If emigration to say Australia for sg'reans is made easier, would you apply for backup plan membership?
Altho I am not saying I will for sure, what I am convinced is :
1. planning for a backup plan is wise.
2. more membership more goodies. our FTs have shown us that they are smart by applying for more membership. Going to places where you earn more. Loyalty is Mobile? wa, so solid wan leh.
Hi Reyes, just wanted to know more about the duo citizenship.Originally posted by reyes:I am migrating to W .australia perth soon.
i guess i will have a smoother path because i study there b4. my wife is aussie, their family is there. My kids are duo citizenship (<3 yrs old).
i know some friends who migrated but suffer from minor depression due to problems mention by fellow forumers. such as jobs expectation, culture, ppl relationship, food, money and etc. In perth, nothing is as convienient as singapore.
But my mind is made up for the better future of my kids, happiness of my wife, i am willing to sacrfice my homeland in search of another( but not necessary greener). the choice is never easy, think hard and twice.
Originally posted by fymk:Hi, could you please provide me with evidence that Singapore pratice racial quotas when it comes to HDB flat allocation? I would really like to know more...
Sumatra nearby but they also have artefacts found in the Malay Peninsula about 2000 years old. So that makes the Malays the ethnic people who inhabit the geograpgical region that has the earliest historical connection - they are therefore indigenous aka native to the area. [b]Comprende?
Hey if you want to criticise, fine with me . But fact is there- they are considered indigenous aka native to Singapore really by that definitional term. Are you laying claim for the Singaporean Chinese as the indigenous natives? Try Australia - they have ancient chinese burial grounds in broome too. See if you can argue your logic there.
As well for the Singapore's constitution, all races are equal in constitution as well. So ask yourself why are there HDB quotas for how many Singaporean chinese and how many Singaporean malays and Singaporean indians can be in allocated flats? If it is absolute equality in truth, there should not be a quota allocated even not for the reason of making sure social integration happens.
And I can safely tell you - racism happens on the grassroots level, even in Singapore. In Singapore there are some blacksheep in the majority who thinks the other races are 'lower' than they are . Ever heard of people making fun of how some other person of a different ethnicity smells? Heard of the expression "ah pu nei nei", "ki ling" and "mangali"? Yup pretty much heard people using it in Singapore. Those slangs are the equivalent of "chink" (chinese) and "wog" (greek,italians, arabs of darker complexions) in Australia. Even in this forum , you have occasional idiots slinging mud on another race or people with a certain religion.
In Australia, asians don't make the majority so some Singaporean chinese think that it is all racist compared to their Singapore . Well look at it this way....racism happens everywhere to the minority groups whether one likes it or not because some pathetic loser human being decides that a different appearance should acquire some insults.
Oh wait...I am not supposed to know EVEN that much about a country I left and the country I now adopted as my home.....HAHAHAHAHAH. Shall I bring up the history of the racial riots which still make some older Singaporeans of Chinese ethnicity bitter against the Malays and vice versa? After the riots, that was when the Singaporean pledge was penned down to support unity and equality. The Sedition Act just made some blacksheep individuals go underground with their racist attitudes in Singapore. If Singapore was truly equal in terms of the attitudes towards all ethnicities and all religion, you don't need the Sedition Act at all. Try harder with your insults ...after all ...we all studied the same state sanctioned history books in Singapore. How could I not know?
http://www.mnd.gov.sg/newsroom/Speeches/speeches_2006_M_17082006.htmOriginally posted by xjxjxj:Hi, could you please provide me with evidence that Singapore pratice racial quotas when it comes to HDB flat allocation? I would really like to know more...
It is true that racism is everywhere in this world. But not a single race can be as racist as the White supremacists. Decades after hitler's death, his legacy still lives on in many white man dominated countries under different group names and variable beliefs about Racial purity and the White men's burden issue.
Are you based in Australia? Have u not heard of the Australian Nationalist Movement, pauline hanson and the occasion racial motivated crimes? As an Asian living in Australia, you will definetely at some point of time get racial abuse hurled at you. I have experienced a few myself.
I have stayed in Australia for prolonged periods and i've met plenty of wonderful and friendly caucasians. It's just those rednecks who always blame the colored immigrants for stealing their jobs, when they themselves are not efficient enough and therefore displaced. They like to tell us to "go back to your country", and they fail to realise that when immigrants come to Australia, we pay taxes, and generate additional supply and demand which all contribute to their economic growth.
You generalise Singaporean chinese as primarily racist. This is not true in general. I have plenty of malay friends and i really enjoy hanging out with my malay buddies. I have also yet to see any racial motivated groups or crimes in Singapore.
Please do not portray the Australian government in such high regard when it comes to aborigines issues. Since day one, they have been voting against the UN's declaration for aboriginal rights along side with Canada and the US. The affirmative actions these countries offer their indigenous people are mostly to compensate them for the past mis-treatment and also to make themselves look good to the world.
Lastly, i would like to find out from you in what ways are our history textbook state sanctioned?
Please advise with evidence.
Building Communities & the Singaporean IdentityHDB racial quota ^ there you go, out of the government's mouth. Evidence presented
21 Public housing also plays an important role in building up the Singaporean identity and social cohesion. HDB policies promote the mixing of households of different races and income groups in our estates. There are racial quotas to ensure a balanced mix of households of different ethnic groups in each HDB block. Each precinct is built with flats of different sizes so that households of different income and social profiles live together. Common spaces and shared facilities such as playgrounds and fitness corners facilitate interaction among neighbours. Residents participate in managing their own HDB estate through local Town Councils, CitizensÂ’ Consultative Committees or ResidentsÂ’ Committees
The Approved Textbook List (ATL) for Primary and Secondary schools has been drawn up primarily to assist principals, heads of departments, level heads and subject heads who have to select suitable texts for their students. The books in the list have been approved by the Ministry of Education for use in schools. Schools should use as basic texts only those books which have been listed here.Evidence ^ once again.
I am not surprised that you are also migrating. In my small circle alone, I personally have witnessed many singaporeans , now ex-singaporeans who migrated to Australia.Originally posted by reyes:I am migrating to W .australia perth soon.
Article 26 of the UN declaration states: "Indigenous peoples have the right to the lands, territories and resources which they have traditionally owned, occupied or otherwise used or acquired."IF the aboriginal people acquire back their traditionally owned land - what happens to the other landowners who honestly have nothing to do with the suffering of their ancestors? Any good solution to solve that issue?
Originally posted by fymk:U do not work for the MOE. How ,in the world, can you tell if they did try to "white-wash" Singapore's History? You are just playing around with words to ur own perspective. Afterall no media has ever complained that Singapore censor its History books.
Evidence ^ once again.
MOE approved textbooks = state sanctioned textbooks if you take the definitional term of sanctioning and apply it to authoritative approval. There you go. If it was not sanctioned - then the words will be " Schools may use as these books which have been listed here" [b]NOT " Schools should use as basic texts only those books which have been listed here." That implies in itself there is no other choice but to use the given approved textbooks.
Are you happy with the evidence cited now?
Anyways as a final word, you will be surprised that racism seldom exist when you have money ....elitism does .....when you have money, the world is color blind.Facts of life.[/b]
There is no need to prove that the white Australian stole the land from the indigenous people. It is already proven from the fact that the Indigenous people, like its name suggest, are the original inhabitant of Australia. In the process of building their red neck farms and cities, they dispossess the indigenous people of their land and traditions, and like u mentioned, conned them into selling their land for pittance! That's absurd!Originally posted by fymk:To xjxjxj
Do you know anything else other than Canada/USA/Australia voting against aboriginal rights set by the UN? It might not be binding but it opens a can of worms.
An example of an implication:
IF the aboriginal people acquire back their traditionally owned land - what happens to the other landowners who honestly have nothing to do with the suffering of their ancestors? Any good solution to solve that issue?
Some actually sold their land in exchange for some goods - how do you prove that their land was not stolen ? In Melbourne, a piece of land was historically bought unfairly (I think for a sack of sugar and some other provisions) but legally at the indigenous people's expense. A contract is a contract - just like paying 700k dollars for a 99 year lease when you can get a freehold 999 year lease apartment for the same price. Not fair but who asked your ancestors to buy/sell?
Any tribe can claim that a piece of prime land is theirs. How do you solve the problem of proving which tribe actually owns the land?
And if the lands are returned - who is going to compensate the current day landowners? TAXPAYERS for the sins of the British Empire?
It is as good as me going back to China and claiming a whole village is owned by my great great grandfather so I might take the land back.
Of course Singapore is different because Temasek was bought by the British East Indies Company and they wanted it for trade . Australia was just a huge dumping ground for british and irish criminals in those days and of no strategic value. Trade VS Dumping ground. Singapore aka old Temasek - you appease the indigenous populations and make them happy so that they don't destroy your trade. Australia - you don't bother about the indigenous population because it's just a human dumping ground .
So should the British pay instead of the current day Australians for the atrocities committed by Imperial Britain?
So if you can solve the above problems , then I will say that yes Australia is not even trying.
Originally posted by xjxjxj:I think that you have some issues with comprehension. You have reached your full potential of engaging me . It has been amusing. Why are you even using english when english is one of the lingua franca of the whites?
U do not work for the MOE. How ,in the world, can you tell if they did try to "white-wash" Singapore's History? You are just playing around with words to ur own perspective. Afterall no media has ever complained that Singapore censor its History books.
Since when did I say white wash?If you cannot fight the evidence I presented - don't even bother using distractions. I will happily pull you back into focus. And DO NOT put words into my mouth.
As for the racial quotas, it could be that the government really thought that such a plan could enhance racial cohesivenes. And so far there has never been racial tension in heartland areas. Who are you to attack such a policy then?
LOL , if you have bother to comprehend what I said in context instead of jumping to your conclusion, you would not be saying alot of crap above now
I really cannot comprehend ur hatred for Singapore. The government may be a quite fucked up at times, but after all Singapore is safe place filled with opportunities if u work hard and whine less.
Did I say I hate Singapore? I have a tendency to criticise Singaporean government policies because it is what makes Singapore quite an unhappy place to be in and besides WHO ARE YOU TO TELL ME THAT? Singapore is not the Singaporean government . Once again you jump to another worthless conclusion. Do not put words into my mouth .
Like i said earlier, Racism is visible in every part of this world; primarily due to misunderstanding and mistrust against outsiders.
But the brand of racism the Whites devised, i find it extremely unforgiving and out of this world.
They are racist not because of the adversity or bad experience they faced when they interact with other races. They are racist simply because they think they are the pedigree and every other races is their "burden".
Way before the rise of Hitler, White supremacy was already extremely rampant in the West.
Racism actaully evolved into Science during the 19th century right up to Nazi Germany. Skulls were measured to determine intelligence among races; noses were measured to determine "aryaness"; nonsensical theories were developed to justify the slavery of Negroes; facial features, according to the racist scientist of that era, tells alot about how far a certain race has evolved from its apes acenstry. Caucasians with their light skin colour, sharp and angular features were considered the most evolved, while the Negroes with their dark skin, flat and broad facial features resembles an ape and therefore at the bottom of the racial hierarchy; many books, such as "The inequality of human race" were written to promote the superiority of the "Aryan" bloodline
It is beyond me why these white supremacist would go to such extent to prove their Racial superiority.
Can you now see how different the White's brand of racism is different from other races???
Once a long time ago in days of the silk road, Chinese called outsiders who looked different , barbarians. Don't keep using the past . Look towards the future.
Racism is still racism regardless of who commits it . It is still equally HEINOUS ( get it into your head) regardless of whether it is supported under Hitler , under some African dictator who wants to commit ethnic genocide or in indonesia where there were Chinese massacred.
Not all whites are racist.
Yes, when u have money people will show u some respect base on ur wealth. It's really sad if u have to buy respect
Way of the world . Money talk louder than words nowadays. Do you think that people will listen to LKY or LHL if they were poor? [/b]
"True patriotism hates injustice in its own land more than anywhere else." -- Clarence DarrowGo follow that .
Really, it just shows your ignorance of history and lack of comprehension. It got me laughing non stop. Please don't shame the fine education I got in Singapore . When I was in secondary school - I already known of the Australian history. I am indeed surprised at the DEPTH of understanding you displayed.Originally posted by xjxjxj:There is no need to prove that the white Australian stole the land from the indigenous people. It is already proven from the fact that the Indigenous people, like its name suggest, are the original inhabitant of Australia. In the process of building their red neck farms and cities, they dispossess the indigenous people of their land and traditions, and like u mentioned, conned them into selling their land for pittance! That's absurd!
This is not unique only in Australia, the same story plays out in USA , Canada and South America.
And oh, speaking of "claiming land anyhow". Is this not what the white Australians have been doing since they first set foot down under?
This is not a problem.Originally posted by sghomosapien:In the army, Malays are being discriminated. You won't see Malays in certain units and positions. When I was in the army, my unit had ZERO Malays - Only Chinese and Indians allowed. This is our country's way of being racist. If you're part of the 70% Chinese population, you won't feel like you're being discriminated.
If you plan to move to a non-Chinese dominated country, just suck it up and live with the minor discrimination. Most people are fine in Australia. However, if you are the type that only mixes with your fellow Asians, has bad manners and live a generally un-Australian way of life, then you absolutely deserve to get abuse there.
I smell them on both sides.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I smell a lot of sour grapes here.