Propaganda is used as a weapon to control public opinion. In a single party government , it becomes more pronounced.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:...considering how much propaganda goes on in the mainstream press....
Seriously I am waiting for the market to crash and recession to come. In the next 2 years , it is too risky for me to dabble with the current market . I already pulled out at the right time when Rio Tinto shares went up.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:...like I said a few pages back, the markets (stocks) will stabilize because of expected FED interest rate cuts... but the action will then go to the currency markets...
... if the 3rd world coolie economies does not come in and support the dollar... then the plunge in US $ against the coolie economies will cause another stock market merry go round....
That is why some people are naiveOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:...let's say rice costs 100 points (for the seller)... so with the increase it is 102 point... (for the seller)
... and chicken costs 200 points (for the seller)... so with the increase it is 204 points... (for the seller)
... and ingredients cost 50 points ... so with the increase it is 51 points... (for the seller)
Chicken + Rice + Ingredients used to cost 350 points and with the increase it is 357 points... (2% increase > 350x2% = 7)
The seller makes a profit of 200 pints and so previously he sold for 350+200=550 and now he sells for 357+200=557
Assuming he collects GST, he will collect, instead of 550x2%, he collects 557x2%
... so when there is an increase of 2%, it is not just 550x2% (increase) it is 557x2% (increase)...
maybe you didn't read what I wrote since July of this year and on page 4 of this thread almost 3 weeks ago...Originally posted by fymk:So my advice to you Andrew , since I think you are a fairly decent fellow - save like there is no tomorrow because once US and the other countries goes into recession - you only have yourself to depend on.
I already smell it in Australia's air - a big one is coming soon.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap: 15 November 2007 · 01:24 PM... as for you personally, try to keep your job.... and be mentally prepared... and follow the weekly trends....
Clear all your credit cards debts and any debts that you can clear....
If you have savings, convert some of your money into Thai Baht... because Thailand is the second biggest economy in SEA... and you can go to Thailand by bus...
Don't be fooled by people telling you to cash in through speculating... like casino gambling, you imagine you will make lots of money but lose everything instead...
B . term deposit at the bank . Alot of bank give nice term deposit interestsOriginally posted by Gazelle:19)
Andrew there is no point telling us you are smart by reporting DowJones and yesterday news because my notebook and internet connection is already capable for feeding me more accurate and timely information.
If you want to show us how smart an investor you are, let me ask you.
a) Suppose if your running a investment company that manage $100m worth of fund. Am I right to say that since July 2007 (as you claim is the time have predicted the market will crash)you would have already exit the stock market?
b) Suppose if Yes. What will you be doing with the $100m worth of funds?
c) Suppose your answer is NO, will you be able to tell us which are the stock which you will continue to hold starting from today (reason I asking starting from today is because I know you will dig out the best performing stocks from the last 3 months and say thats your prediction)
Over to you Andrew!!
thats no investment. thats saving. furthermore, will the term deposit returns cover the cost of inflation?Originally posted by fymk:B . term deposit at the bank . Alot of bank give nice term deposit interests.
yup, over to you andrew.....1Over to you Andrew!!

I am still laughing at your 16th Nov 12.20pm post which prediction that mother of all black mondays will strike on 19th Nov 2007. (see below for original version)Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:... yesterday you had a big laugh telling everyone that I was wrong... meaning? You are laughing at my analytical skills... meaning? ... when I am right, it is due to my superior analytical skills... PWNED!
I am not sure what anal skill you are talking about.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:WATCH OUT PEOPLE!
This coming Monday might the mother of Black Mondays - hope it doesn't happen!
So am i to say that you predict both volatility AND stability. If it goes either way, you called it first?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:...like I said a few pages back, the markets (stocks) will stabilize because of expected FED interest rate cuts... but the action will then go to the currency markets...
... if the 3rd world coolie economies does not come in and support the dollar... then the plunge in US $ against the coolie economies will cause another stock market merry go round....
Ai ya who cares as long as I get mo mo money!Originally posted by Gazelle:thats no investment. thats saving. furthermore, will the term deposit returns cover the cost of inflation?
Well, takes no genius to see if the market has the greater possibility of going south further. Takes abit of knowledge and instinct.Originally posted by deathbait:So am i to say that you predict both volatility AND stability. If it goes either way, you called it first?
wow i can be an investment genius too
Originally posted by Gazelle:Ai ya , Andrew didn't know about how wall street works but some of the stuff he is saying , albeit not as eloquently as some here, may happen.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
[b] ... yesterday you had a big laugh telling everyone that I was wrong... meaning? You are laughing at my analytical skills... meaning? ... when I am right, it is due to my superior analytical skills... PWNED!
__________________________________________________-
I am still laughing at your 16th Nov 12.20pm post which prediction that mother of all black mondays will strike on 19th Nov 2007. (see below for original version)
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=290788&page=4
fymk, how can you have more money if your time deposit returns is below the inflation rate?Originally posted by fymk:Ai ya who cares as long as I get mo mo money!
I don't care lah . I ask parents lor - they know how to play market shares . I dunno. I got abit of beginners luck with my savings in Australia. Go up happy Go down ...not so happy - hold and hope since Market looks good. Then when BHP say want to buy rio tinto - I release the shares when the price is good lor. Right now money sitting in bank earning interest. Don't want pain , only want gain - so little bit can already happy. Just transfer to the next bank giving a good interest rate.Originally posted by Gazelle:fymk, how can you have more money if your time deposit returns is below the inflation rate?
your comments and knowledge about investment sort of contradict what you say about how well your parents invest your money leh...lying again?
It is 6.6% in Australia if you got the right amount and the right bank.Originally posted by sunny3510:REITs gotta b popular in a bear market...
wat is 2-3% for bank deposits? waahahahahahaha
risk involved when convert to A$ and back to S$... note tat MAS is leting the S$ appreciate 'graudually'...Originally posted by fymk:It is 6.6% in Australia if you got the right amount and the right bank.![]()
you can keep all that fairytale to yourself.Originally posted by fymk:I don't care lah . I ask parents lor - they know how to play market shares . I dunno. I got abit of beginners luck with my savings in Australia. Go up happy Go down ...not so happy - hold and hope since Market looks good. Then when BHP say want to buy rio tinto - I release the shares when the price is good lor. Right now money sitting in bank earning interest. Don't want pain , only want gain - so little bit can already happy. Just transfer to the next bank giving a good interest rate.
You dunno meh? ASX got game - can play with fake money - practice practice and then jump into reality lor.
Urm I am working in Australia.Originally posted by sunny3510:risk involved when convert to A$ and back to S$... note tat MAS is leting the S$ appreciate 'graudually'...
whatever .Originally posted by Gazelle:you can keep all that fairytale to yourself.