06 Dec, 12:35AM in sunny Singapore!

Malaysia Bans Indians ! ...

Subscribe to Malaysia Bans Indians ! ... 58 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    24,573 posts since Aug '05
    • http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7176323.stm

Malaysia bans Indian recruitment

Malaysia has suspended the recruitment of workers from India amid growing domestic tensions.

An official told Reuters news agency that the ban came into effect two weeks ago and applied to all categories of workers, including professionals.

Indian workers already in Malaysia will not have their work visas renewed, the official said.

Ethnic Indians held a series of protests late last year over alleged social and economic discrimination.

The announcement came on the final day of a visit to Malaysia by Indian Defence Minister AK Antony.

Malaysian Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar said Mr Antony "did not raise the issue of ethnic Indians in Malaysia," reported the French news agency AFP.

44,716 posts since Jun '04
    • Wow I expect tensions to escalate
      Nice way of handling things with blatent discrimination Laughing
      Malaysia Boleh~

19,859 posts since Jun '04
    87,753 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by elindra:
      Wow I expect tensions to escalate
      Nice way of handling things with blatent discrimination Laughing
      Malaysia Boleh~

Hindraf ppl wanna send roses to Pak Lah on Feb 14 Laughing

• Originally posted by sbst275:
      Hindraf ppl wanna send roses to Pak Lah on Feb 14 Laughing

Ya I read
      Red rose to dunno represent what
      Yellow rose dunno what

Anyway the way they handle it they are like asking for a civil war

12,301 posts since Jan '03
    • Originally posted by Fatum:
      http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7176323.stm

Malaysia bans Indian recruitment

Malaysia has suspended the recruitment of workers from India amid growing domestic tensions.

An official told Reuters news agency that the ban came into effect two weeks ago and applied to all categories of workers, including professionals.

Indian workers already in Malaysia will not have their work visas renewed, the official said.

Ethnic Indians held a series of protests late last year over alleged social and economic discrimination.

The announcement came on the final day of a visit to Malaysia by Indian Defence Minister AK Antony.

Malaysian Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar said Mr Antony "did not raise the issue of ethnic Indians in Malaysia," reported the French news agency AFP.

they never said why right?

• Moo Haa Haa !
    36,524 posts since Jul '00
    • Originally posted by elindra:
      Ya I read
      Red rose to dunno represent what
      Yellow rose dunno what

Anyway the way they handle it they are like asking for a civil war

now somemore domestically tak ada minyak masak makanan Laughing

9,642 posts since May '04
    • Maybe we can,in return,close down all the shops operated by the other race hereLaughing

Edited by ceecookie 08 Jan `08, 6:36PM
  • Phoenix Fudge
    17,255 posts since Jan '04
    • Uh.... ok.....

So how the heck do they plan to solve the domestic unrest with this move?

And even if it somehow isn't linked to the recent domestic unrests..... why the heck would they want to implement this move all of a sudden?

• maybe they know something we don't ...

it's only Indians, not banglas, not sri lankans, not pakistanis ... so maybe it's not wholly an anti-south asian thingy .....

but then again, the northern chaps like to do funny stuff .... crocked bridges, sending space tourists up into the skies, banning singaporeans from buying oil in johor when there's a shortage across the country .....

funny chaps, them northerners ... Laughing

maybe they know something we don't ...

it's only Indians, not banglas, not sri lankans, not pakistanis ... so maybe it's not wholly an anti-south asian thingy .....

but then again, the northern chaps like to do funny stuff .... crocked bridges, sending space tourists up into the skies, banning singaporeans from buying oil in johor when there's a shortage across the country .....

funny chaps, them northerners ... Laughing

Eh.. actually those minyak, the bottle got label for use in Malaysia only wo

5,596 posts since Aug '07
      Eh.. actually those minyak, the bottle got label for use in Malaysia only wo

that's not the point, the point is, how much of a dent Singaporeans raiding johor for oil actually makes .... Laughing

In one view, we're not supposed to be buying bottles of their palm based oil tat's subsidised by KL govt

In another view, we go there and shop... they lugi next time

In one view, we're not supposed to be buying bottles of their palm based oil tat's subsidised by KL govt

In another view, we go there and shop... they lugi next time

banning singaporeans from buying cooking oil there is like shooting the deers and monkeys coming down to the reservoirs to to drink during a drought ....

it's actually doing something without affecting anything .... this is called "extra spray" ... and does nothing to really solve the problem ... Laughing

same thing as banning the Indians ... Laughing

• ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,684 posts since Apr '05
    • what the farking hell...

i was actually arranging for a horse trainer from india to work at a stable in johor... there goes my plan...

• Phoenix Fudge
    17,255 posts since Jan '04
    • In today's ST.... now there are conflicting reports on whether or not there is a ban.

Just click on the same BBC link.... http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7176323.stm

But Works Minister S Samy Vellu cast doubt on that assertion, saying his government had made no such order.

If the prohibition is put in place it will affect about 140,000 Indians currently working legally in Malaysia.

Speaking at a conference in the Indian city of Delhi, Mr Vellu, the only ethnic Indian member of the cabinet, initially said Malaysia had enough workers and did not want any more.

But he later appeared to take a different stance and denied the reports.

"There is no such thing as banning workers from India and Bangladesh," he told the BBC.

"I have talked to the minister of human resources. We have never made such a decision."

Sigh..... I suppose Vellu is now gonna claim that his earlier comments were taken out of context?

4,495 posts since Apr '06
    • maybe its smth which is spoke on the dinner table lahx.

PM : eh..so much indians, how 2 settle
      Foreign Minister : Sir, we stop more frm coming in, den contain de remaining can le.
      PM : Ahh, clever. But, dun remove my roti prata stall maker k?
      Foreign Minister : kk. =.=ll

i think smth liddat bahx.

• typical northern govermentspeak .... Laughing

it's like that "Allah vs Tuhan" fiasco ..... first they withheld the license, then they re-issued it without restrictions, then they say the word is exclusive to Muslims, then they say it's been taken out of context .....

so whose is the final word ? ... Laughing

banning singaporeans from buying cooking oil there is like shooting the deers and monkeys coming down to the reservoirs to to drink during a drought ....

it's actually doing something without affecting anything .... this is called "extra spray" ... and does nothing to really solve the problem ... Laughing

same thing as banning the Indians ... Laughing

I mean the oil shortage is their own problem
      I mean if you expect suppliers to sell the ppl at rock bottom prices when the palm oil market has sky rocketed to outer space?
      Get real man! Laughing
      The businesses are there to make money and not provide cheap oil to the country

Do you think they will actually sell cheap oil in the domestic market when they can make much much more anywhere else? Laughing

At least raise the damn domestic oil prices Laughing

• Originally posted by corebooster:
      maybe its smth which is spoke on the dinner table lahx.

PM : eh..so much indians, how 2 settle
      Foreign Minister : Sir, we stop more frm coming in, den contain de remaining can le.
      PM : Ahh, clever. But, dun remove my roti prata stall maker k?
      Foreign Minister : kk. =.=ll

i think smth liddat bahx.

The scary thing is that I wouldn't put the above scenerio past them Laughing Laughing Laughing

in today's papers they are backpedaling and playing with words ...... again .... Laughing

Of coz la
      If not that means they want bad ties with the country with the 2nd largest population Laughing

620 posts since Nov '07
Please Login or Signup to reply.