Please Login or Signup to reply.
    109 posts since May '05
    2,462 posts since Jul '07
    5,050 posts since Sep '06
    3,948 posts since Jul '05
    783 posts since Mar '06
    • Originally posted by Airforceone:
      Anyone feels that Singapore is [b]Over Crowded? or its just me. [/b]

Rest assured you are not the only one. There are many of us who feel its overcrowded here. That's why many of us have jumped ship. Add to it all the woes that the little red dot will face in years to come and the ungracious people(Heck even the old man MM has finally admitted that he doesn't think Sillypore will be gracious anytime soon...due to his overemphasis on economic & material success), Sillypore is indeed overcrowded....kekekeke

2,920 posts since Aug '07
    • overcrowded... so what? do you think the people up there care for us?

Money Money Money! Very Happy

15,250 posts since Aug '05
    639 posts since Aug '04
    783 posts since Mar '06
    • Originally posted by fishbuff:
      another 2 more millions to go!

2 million in about 5-10 years time....that's about 35,000 new immigrants from China and India every month for the next 5 years....kekekeke cool.....

2,920 posts since Aug '07
    11,231 posts since May '04
    • If Sg just change policy to allow 100% every single PRC and Indians into Singapore. We can hit the 6.5million mark overnight.

34,772 posts since Apr '03
    • Originally posted by mistyblue:
      If Sg just change policy to allow 100% every single PRC and Indians into Singapore. We can hit the 6.5million mark overnight.

and the chap who does so, will not be able to show his face in public. Twisted Evil

1,863 posts since Jul '07
    • ..hmmm... brings to mind lorries stacked with cages crammed full of cackling wide-eyed chickens destined for abatoirs, that I see some mornings while on the road...

oh and btw, it's been a week since I stopped eating rice...

Edited by HyperFocal 10 Jan `08, 11:33AM
    7,355 posts since Mar '05
    1,488 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:
      overcrowded... so what? do you think the people up there care for us? Mad Mad Mad

Just Say Lah V everything lor.

like oh, ft competition, rising cost, just say 'Globerlisashyone'.

no need to do anything.

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    19,186 posts since Dec '99
    363 posts since Apr '05
    • Originally posted by HyperFocal:
      ..hmmm... brings to mind lorries stacked with cages crammed full of cackling wide-eyed chickens destined for abatoirs, that I see some mornings while on the road...

oh and btw, it's been a week since I stopped eating rice...

Agree. Packed like crazy. We look like hens and duck in the cage. I can see from the MRT station when the train moved. Packet of Chicken and Duckling. Crazy Crowds!! Mad Mad Mad

805 posts since May '06
    • yup, i think sinkapore will rival hk in no time in terms of `sardine living'.
      somehow, one will have to adapt becos not everyone can be a `quitter', even you want to be.

was at a shop this afternoon and witness another all too familiar situation. china woman came with her little dragon and wanted to buy a pretty expensive toy for her son. retail person speaks no mandarin. they had a tough time communicating even the basic thing on price and a third person, who probably scored an E8 for chinese, try to be the interpretor. he did a f*ck up job interpreting at best. becos the little dragon was insistent of the toy, mum bought anyway. $380 paid in cash. retailer cursed becos of this language barrier. china mum sense tt he's not happy but she got no choice. paid and left, probably the only time she's gonna walk thru' the door again for this shop.

another incident at popular furniture chain in tampines was also `funny'. the indian boy was way passed his height limit to go to the kids play area. Dad was not happy about being denied. told the boy to remove his shoes, bend his legs, etc., just to qualify but the shop admin stand firm. Mama man created a ruckus, insisting on seeing the supervisor, and making loud complaints. meanwhile, a queue form.

i am not generalizing. ugly sinkaporeans are a many too, but increasingly i see more of these outsiders.

if the incremental population will be mainly thru' these uncouth foreigners, we are going to see polar end of singapore's society and a culturally intolerant ans insensitive society. imagine a chinese national and an indian national got into a spat. the MIW's overeagerness to appease these ppl and let them in so easily is baffling, given the fact that sinkapore gvt pride itself of being a first world country and a bit of a perceived snob.

sinkapore has got the be the most lenient country in granting PRs. It made it seemed almost cheap. a taiwanese colleague of mine got a posting to singapore in the company last year. wanted his daughter to pick up english. within 3 weeks of arrival, got singapore pr for his family of 3 approved just like tt, and bought a hdb within 3 months, paying top dollars. it even caught him by surprise. he was just `trying his luck', he says.

like it or not, if u cannot be a quitter, then adapt and shut up (unfortunately)

• Originally posted by Airforceone:
      Anyone feels that Singapore is [b]Over Crowded? or its just me. [/b]

they are targeting for as many tourists as possiber.

what do you think ?

• Originally posted by mistyblue:
      If Sg just change policy to allow 100% every single PRC and Indians into Singapore. We can hit the 6.5million mark overnight.

how to prevent importing of bad ideas, thinking and people ?

how to prevent importing diseases ?

1,678 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by reddressman:
      they are targeting for as many tourists as possiber.

what do you think ?

Singapore will be re-named as Sardines Can. 100% fresh sardine packed tightly into the small can.

12,882 posts since Feb '04
    363 posts since Apr '05
    4,307 posts since Jul '04
    • Like what Ngiam Tong Dow has pointed out, Singapore is too small to support a 6.5 million population.

However as encountered in the past, even if supported by facts, government will not change its decision once made.

May be they think they could make the rich richer as more people mean the developers and HDB, and URA will continue to enjoy making billions from sale of property.

130 posts since Dec '07
    • I feel that Singapore's situation is considered mild compared to Hong Kong

Other than the sardine-packed trains during rush hour

The situation looks okay...for nowEmbarassed

Please Login or Signup to reply.