-
-
Name : RAdm(NS) Lui Tuck Yew (Member of Parliament)
Constituency : Tanjung Pagar GRC
Party Affiliation
eoples
Action Party
Place of Birth : Singapore
Date of Birth : 16.08.1961
Marital Status : Married
No of Children : 2
Religion : Christianity
Educational Qualifications
1967-1973 PSLE (Anglo-Chinese Primary School)
1974-1977 GCE 'O' Level (Anglo-Chinese School)
1978-1979 GCE 'A' Level (Anglo-Chinese Junior College)
1983-1983 CLII (Trinity College, Cambridge University)
1994-1994 Master of Arts (Int'l Relations) (Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University)
2003-2003 Advanced Management Programme Harvard Business School, US
Present Occupation
30.05.2006 Minister of State, Ministry of Education
Member of Parliament
27.04.2006 Tanjong Pagar GRC
Career
1999-2003 Chief of Navy, SAF
2003-2005 Chief Executive, MPA
2005-2006 Chief Executive Officer, HDB
Awards and Decorations
1985 SAF Good Service Medal
1991 SAF Long Service & Good Conduct Medal
1993 Public Admin Medal (Bronze)(Military)
1995 SAF Long Service Award
2000 Public Admin Medal (Gold)/Military)
2005 National Day Honours - Long Service Medal
Interests
Travelling, Reading, Cricket, Baseball, Football

-
-
-
Educational Qualifications
1967-1973 PSLE (Anglo-Chinese Primary School)
1974-1977 GCE 'O' Level (Anglo-Chinese School)
1978-1979 GCE 'A' Level (Anglo-Chinese Junior College)
1983-1983 CLII (Trinity College, Cambridge University)
1994-1994 Master of Arts (Int'l Relations) (Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University)
2003-2003 Advanced Management Programme Harvard Business School, USLast time O and A levels 3 and 1 years respectively ar??
What kind of degree and masters he took that only takes 1 year to complete??
-
-
-
I agree with him.
ITE isn't a second class education institute. Whether or not Sec 5 students do well and move on to polytechnic is another matter.
Why don't a lot of people understand? What's so bad?
Nobody is implying that your results are bad. If it creates a dent in your confidence, it's because you believe that ITE is a second class institute. If you never hold the view, you won't be affected.
Just wake up. Going there isn't bad, not learning is. Learning is a lifelong process, where you go doesn't matter. Does one need to have prestigious schooling to do well?
-
-
-
If something ain't broken, don't fix it, that dick is trying too hard to change something that isn't broken, sec 5 should have the optional to choose whatever they want, instead of trying too hard to implement changes, he himself, have not suffer hardship before, and furthermore, ite environment is not as good as what polytechnic has to offer.
If that dick try too hard to change something, he will be a public enemy, his actions only tell me that, he is trying too hard to increase the student studying in ite, thats all, and mayi, since you are in polytechnic, don't comment so much when you have not even study in a classroom of ite before! You have no idea what is it like in there!
How about you exchange your diploma cert for a ite cert, since you said that it isn't as bad as what you think.
Nobody want to spend 2 years in ite, then move on to polytechinc, think of the time, you could have spend out there in the society earning MONEY, and furthermore, ite studies should be optional for sec 5 students instead of making an end route for sec 5 students! Time is money, think about spending 2 years in ite, then 3 years in polytechinc, then 2 years of NS, imagine how much time, will be spend when you can earn more money out there with the 2 years that you have spend in ite.
You however, never consider, time is a key factor in this!Edited by allentyb_v2.01 17 Jan `08, 1:44PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by mhcampboy:Where got count like that....

74-75 =1 year
75-76 = 1year
76-77= 1year
total = 3 years...

Then how you explain the A levels?Where got count like that ?
what it meant was 1974 (1 year = jan - dec)
1975 (1 year = jan - dec)
So on and forth ...
Same logic applies to everyone , even his A levels 1978 and 1979 = 2 yearsEdited by Trump_Card 17 Jan `08, 1:46PM
-
-
-
This is what happen when kids trying too hard to comment in speaker corner when they never even bother to think of the various factor involved,
imagine, when you graduate from ite, then move on to poly, then 2 year of ns, how old will you be already!
24 years old! and if you are sec 5 and spend 3 years in poly and then 2 years of ns, you will only be 22 years old
and 2 years of income for a fresh diploma student
1600 X 12 = 32k per annual
32 k X 2 years = 64 k
mayi, can you even understand at all!
-
-
-
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I agree with him.
ITE isn't a second class education institute. Whether or not Sec 5 students do well and move on to polytechnic is another matter.
Nobody is implying that your results are bad. If it creates a dent in your confidence, it's because you believe that ITE is a second class institute. If you never hold the view, you won't be affected.
Just wake up. Going there isn't bad, not learning is. Learning is a lifelong process, where you go doesn't matter. Does one need to have prestigious schooling to do well?
ITE is bad.... if it isn't you would have opted for it instead of Uni/poly. Why is that? Cause blue collar workers don't earn much in Singapore.
Dun kid yerself that it's not.
Yes one needs prestigious schooling to do well.... cause white collar jobs take into account your "paper". It's the system SG adopts.
-
-
-
Nobody saying that it is bad
Just the way the principal put it to the students
-
-
-
Originally posted by eagle:Nobody saying that it is bad
Just the way the principal put it to the studentsActually i think ITE and Poly are almost the same la , is how the way both school organised themself made people think themself as high or low class
When one academic grades are not good , the school alway recomend them ITE , poly only say: no ''O'' , no go. Thus most of the ''not study type'' are pushed into ITE.
If one day , they change that O level can only go ITE , and those not so good result ones go to poly , i think few year down the road , all elites are fighting for ITE
The school or MOE draw out clearly themself that ITE is low grade school , and people aiming for high grade school , they keep claiming that student are looking down on ITE.
-
-
-
ITE education is not in this thread.
This thread is on the Elite man, the one who knows what is best for ALL the children in Singapore. The one who decides who goes for higher education.
The one who has all the loving consciencious school principals at his feet, obeying all orders as all civil servants should, disregarding their own performance appraisals and bonuses.
The one who has more say over a child's destiny than his own parents.
He is your Minister
Hail..... I salute him with my hand. I put his divine mark on my forehead.
er....sorry hor, I donno his divine number........
-
-
-
Originally posted by genie99:ITE is bad.... if it isn't you would have opted for it instead of Uni/poly. Why is that? Cause blue collar workers don't earn much in Singapore.
Yes one needs prestigious schooling to do well.... cause white collar jobs take into account your "paper". It's the system SG adopts.Actually you shouldn't look that way , if everyone aspire to be lawer or doctor , then who will be the one in the hawker
High pay job must have rare good people , if the whole street are lawyer and doctor , then their salary i suppose to be lower than blue collar.
Got to admit also la , if the white collar you refering is gov job , then is really high pay , i dont see blue collar salary got any raise at all for the past few year
-
-
-
I agree whole heartedly with you and tha'ts the reason I asked my son to go ITE. BUT now the Ministry endored that ITE is "second " class !!!!
-
-
-
Originally posted by genie99:ITE is bad.... if it isn't you would have opted for it instead of Uni/poly. Why is that? Cause blue collar workers don't earn much in Singapore.
Yes one needs prestigious schooling to do well.... cause white collar jobs take into account your "paper". It's the system SG adopts.Don't say that. I have living proof that there are people making it good from ITE education. ITE was his stepping stone and he went on to get his degree. He is now a Manager in one of the Singapore GIC earning high pay . . . .
-