<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE!' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/304642</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://politics.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by mistyblue @ Wed, 30 Jan 2008 11:54:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;please lah. Some SIA stewardess scold me for accidentally
pressing the alert button. Cause I sat beside some big fat China
person who shove themselves at me.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Jan 2008 11:54:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7824047</guid>
      <author>mistyblue</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by HyperFocal @ Wed, 30 Jan 2008 09:59:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;SIA&lt;/span&gt; says sorry for cabin crew&#8217;s
behaviour&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;I REFER&lt;/span&gt; to the letter by Ms Tan Ai Ching,
Serene (my paper, Jan 23).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;We apologise for Ms Tan&#8217;s unpleasant experience. We have looked
into this issue following her feedback.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Demand for The Straits Times was higher than usual during Ms
Tan&#8217;s flight, and our crew, therefore, asked customers who were
travelling together to share copies.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;We have stressed the need for our cabin crew staff to be mindful
of the manner in which they communicate with our customers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I would like to assure Ms Tan that no offence was meant.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Mr William Koh&lt;br /&gt;
Divisional Vice-President,&lt;br /&gt;
Cabin Crew Operations&lt;br /&gt;
Singapore Airlines&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Jan 2008 09:59:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7823867</guid>
      <author>HyperFocal</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by onlooker123 @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 20:55:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;at least you got newspaper.. how come i never even get offered
newspaper&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 20:55:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7801715</guid>
      <author>onlooker123</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by Seven_Dragon @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 19:56:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;don't take SQ la&lt;br /&gt;
take jetair asia, tiger airways, silkair, cathay...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 19:56:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7801519</guid>
      <author>Seven_Dragon</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by PRP @ Thu, 24 Jan 2008 19:51:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The air hotess was right to tell the passenger to share
newspaper.The problem was how to say it politely.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 24 Jan 2008 19:51:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7801498</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by dumbdumb! @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:44:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i think, for every service oriented job, there must be a few
bouncers involved.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
the bouncers can take care of aggressive and ill mannered customers
so those in the service line can just concentrate on being nice to
good mannered customers.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
i mean, some customers are really one kind. need to be taught a
lesson&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:44:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7796032</guid>
      <author>dumbdumb!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by HyperFocal @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:15:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
... I see that Service Standards have really gone to seed here in
SG...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
... because, no matter how obnoxious a customer/passenger is, one
must ALWAYS remain professionally courteous... regardless...!&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:15:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795914</guid>
      <author>HyperFocal</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by de_middle @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:12:17 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by mhcampboy:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;Cannot speak english but can read Straits
Times... well done...&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;
&lt;img title="Laughing" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="Laughing" /&gt; &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:12:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795897</guid>
      <author>de_middle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by 798 @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:04:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: blue;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;So well-educated yet SO
RUDE&lt;br /&gt;
People in positions of authority must show some tact&lt;br /&gt;
By Sylvia Toh Paik Choo&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
tnp Jan 23 2008&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
FIRST, a too straight-talking principal. Now, a tactless
doctor.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
When Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew reflected in a dialogue on 11 Jan
about how far away Singapore is from being a gracious society,
surely he wasn't thinking in light years?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
He might as well have.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
We are hardly heading in gracious-society direction any time soon,
especially not if principals and doctors are throwing stumbling
blocks along the path.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
To quote one of my elders, 'Study until so high, can be so
rude!'.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Of late, characters who should, in the normal course of day, set
exemplary roles for us to follow, have shown their true colours.
And it ain't pretty.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Could the school principal who admonished the N-levels students to
go to ITE instead of opting for O levels have been more
tactful?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Could the doctor who told off a parent in front of her child have
been more polite?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;span style="color: red;"&gt;Could such highly-educated people have
been less of what our grandparents used to call 'kurang ajar' and
'bo ka si' (no manners and no respect)?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Teachers and doctors are people you can count on, ordinarily. What
more the head of a learning institution, and one who took a vow to
administer to the sick?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Where do you get off being cavalier with students' self-esteem and
patients' feelings?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If professionals can exhibit such behaviour, what are they telling
the generation after?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Certainly, some of us lesser mortals are at the mercy of such
professionals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the US, such people are wont to be described as 'Nazi', perhaps
too liberally, and worse by people with no sense of history.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The belligerent soup chef in Seinfeld was dubbed 'Soup Nazi' by
Jerry Seinfeld who's entitled by way of Jewish jokes.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The curmudgeon proprietor of rental videos here who suffered no
fools was named 'Video Nazi'.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
There's a 'Doc Nazi' I know who runs a clinic at an HDB block. He's
so called because of his seriously wanting bedside manner.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
There'd been complaints that this doctor is unreasonably strict,
stroppy and impatient with patients.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Oh, stuff such as no talking in the clinic, how he will refuse to
see anyone without an identity card, and he only treats regulars on
Sundays.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
DR HOUSE NO 2&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The doctor is a terse man; over the telephone I could hear him
unsmiling. To consult him, I'd have to bring documentation of my
medical history, 'otherwise we'd have to start from the very
beginning' he said shortly. Oh-kay.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A white-haired gent, he is a Chinese from the US. He moved to
Singapore 16 years ago, to save lives.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'If I'd wanted to just make money I'd have stayed in
America.'&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
At the other end of his block is a bakery manned by an estate
old-timer.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'This area got many clever doctors, all very good one,' she
endorsed. (There are five on that street alone.)&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'This doctor, people call him 'seow' but he is good. Cannot get
better, see him, can cure.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'Only his style is strict lah.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
'When see him, you cannot speak. Don't talk first, after he finish
everything, then you can ask.'&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Question is, with all the talk of bedside manners, can't a doctor
be good and gracious?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
As our grandparents would say, 'Goodness gracious me, what have we
become?'&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:04:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795853</guid>
      <author>798</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by charlize @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 17:40:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;How come my Caucasian friends never have problems with
SIA?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
How come? &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 17:40:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795756</guid>
      <author>charlize</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by &amp;lt;Precious&amp;gt; @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 16:54:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;TS claims that she had asked for another set of papers
"politely". How true is this nobody knows ma.......&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The flight stewardess' rudeness could be a mirror
reaction/response....... Most people in the service industry will
not bo tai bo ji behave poorly towards the people they are serving
one. Who wants to break their own rice bowl? &lt;img title="Surprised"
src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_surprised.gif" alt=
"Surprised" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So in this instance, NVNT! &lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_evil.gif" alt="Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;
&lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad" src=
Case closed! &lt;img title="Smile" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_smile.gif" alt="Smile" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 16:54:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795537</guid>
      <author>&lt;Precious&gt;</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by sgdiehard @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 16:45:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;From flying business and first class to economy and budget, i
have been out of grace for a while now. &lt;img title="Embarassed"
src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_redface.gif" alt=
"Embarassed" /&gt; &lt;img title="Crying or Very sad" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_cry.gif" alt=
"Crying or Very sad" /&gt; but thanks to SIA, so far ever since, on
SIA, I have not encountered services that are different from what I
was used to, except that the stewardess don't address me by my
first name anymore.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
My only complaint about SIA is that they charge more!! always have
to look out for tickets for 2 or 4 to go.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 16:45:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795500</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by Chin Eng @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:37:13 +0800</title>
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;
&lt;img title="Laughing" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="Laughing" /&gt; &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt; maybe
see picture....&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
i travel very often and in economy class too.... never had a bad
experience from the service crew.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
...except for one time when one stewardess accidentally spilled
water on me... not really her fault, turbulence....&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
the chief steward immediately observed that I like one particular
brand of wine and he came to me with a bottle with my name on
it.....&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
as far as i am concern.... they can spill water on me anytime they
want &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:37:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795203</guid>
      <author>Chin Eng</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by pwnz0r @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:20:21 +0800</title>
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u so cleber&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:20:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795144</guid>
      <author>pwnz0r</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by phil30k @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:13:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Yes it was because you were in economy class. So you got the
economic stewardess.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
That's why she wanted you to share.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
More economic that way.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
(joking)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 15:13:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7795118</guid>
      <author>phil30k</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by mhcampboy @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 14:22:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Cannot speak english but can read Straits Times&#8230; well done&#8230;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 14:22:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:304642:7794877</guid>
      <author>mhcampboy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Goodness Gracious Me, We're All Out of GRACE! replied by HyperFocal @ Wed, 23 Jan 2008 14:01:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Shocked by behaviour of SQ leading
stewardess&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
MY PARENTS and I were on flight SQ865 on Jan 13, from Hong Kong to
Singapore.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Leading Stewardess was giving out The Straits Times and I
requested a copy. I also asked her politely to pass another set of
newspapers to my father, who was seated in another row.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
To my surprise, she told me loudly to share the newspapers since we
are one family and that there were still many other passengers