06 Dec, 12:52AM in sunny Singapore!

Why JAPAN did not rely heavy on FT?

Subscribe to Why JAPAN did not rely heavy on FT? 62 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,488 posts since Jul '07
    • Hi,

When Japan became world power,

they did not rely on FT.

By the word 'rely' I do not mean ZERO reliance.

I mean you can characterise Japan's rise as not relying on FT.

It so SELF - RELIANT that foreigners could not break into the market.

Yes, there are some minority that are there now. But that is nothing.

So, Why JIPON aber to boleh while the rest wannabees not aber leh?

Did Jipon have a better system of producing their own talents and cultivated their own talents and placed their citizens 1st?

1,900 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by reddressman:
      Hi,

they did not rely on FT.

Did Jipon have a better system of producing their own talents and cultivated their own talents and placed their citizens 1st?

... Japan has a government... we only have Businessmen...

5,245 posts since Nov '03
    • My opinion?

Japan has a rich cultural heritage.... the issue with politeness, service, good attitude is deeply rooted.

They also have a large young labor market willing to work. Just go to any Japanese store, or even fast food restaurant. You'd fine a very polite, and possibly good looking young adult serving your food.

... and that the command of the English language is so poor that they cannot go elsewhere to work.

• Originally posted by Chin Eng:
      My opinion?

Japan has a rich cultural heritage.... the issue with politeness, service, good attitude is deeply rooted.

They also have a large young labor market willing to work. Just go to any Japanese store, or even fast food restaurant. You'd fine a very polite, and possibly good looking young adult serving your food.

... and that the command of the English language is so poor that they cannot go elsewhere to work.

... it still boils down to them, having a TRUE government who isn't just focussed on money money money...

• yah. i dare.
    32,132 posts since Apr '06
    6,316 posts since Jan '06
    • Originally posted by HyperFocal:
      ... Japan has a government... we only have Businessmen...

nice one!

Laughing Laughing Laughing

• Originally posted by Agenda:
      nice one!

Laughing Laughing Laughing

... not only nice one... it's also a true one...

• ★.
    51,117 posts since Sep '03
    • Originally posted by udontknowme:
      if u stardee the history of jipoon, u mite understand why.

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

70 posts since Jan '08
    2,441 posts since Jul '05
    • its all about the culture. and the values imposed by the early government and emperor.

13,712 posts since Jun '04
      Hi,

they did not rely on FT.

Thats because US donated millions of dollars to Jipoon after the world war and heavily invested in their country. US didnt donate millions of dollars to us.

70 posts since Jan '08
    • Originally posted by shade343:
      Thats because US donated millions of dollars to Jipoon after the world war and heavily invested in their country. US didnt donate millions of dollars to us

People's money?! Mr. Green

• even when jipoon no the england schlong,
      it became world power.

zero englond. (humans are humans and jiponese is tougher to learn than englondese, thus, its not jipoons no can learn england, its just a matter of if they give a hiu.

proven they have - no need england , no need FT , no need reliance ,

they became undisputed world power and not just a simple 1st world nation.

they are still world leader in many many aspects.

so , the fact of the world is that Jipoon nayber needed FT to reach world power status.

so, which schoolar wants to challenge this statement. come, i am here waiting. bring your prinston cert to wayang infront of me also. i no scare.

so many of technology you use comes from Jipoon.

Edited by reddressman 27 Jan `08, 1:44PM
    4,041 posts since Mar '07
    • Originally posted by dbowie:
      Because they do not need FT's, they export them ..

the question then is,

how the come

Jipoon boleh,

others boleh tak ?

323 posts since Jan '08
    • I thought Korea was Japan’s slave colony. Also a major contributor of comfort women during WWII.

Edited by onlooker123 27 Jan `08, 2:36PM
    437 posts since Jan '08
    • I don't remember that much about that time.

What I remember is that the Japanese business culture was alien to outsiders. And it was easy to make a mistep and offend people and this had a huge impact on doing or running businesses. Also there was a language problem and very different food.

That was probably the biggest obstacle, that of the FT fitting into the Japanese workplace. So they mostly didn't want to work there then.

5,245 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by HyperFocal:
      ... it still boils down to them, having a TRUE government who isn't just focussed on money money money...

i don't really think it's a governmental issue..... if that is the case, then the jap government is to be blamed for keeping their own people inside. most japs CANNOT speak English therefore they cannot go outside of japan to work, at the same time their AV industry is probably one of the biggest in the world.... many salarymen work too much anyway and we are aware that many work themselves to death...

governments need to be businessman too.... otherwise you'd end up with a huge foreign debt.

i am not here to argue with you about who's right and who's wrong. i am aware of you stance on the Singapore government... governmental issue is only one part of the equation.

domestically, the japs have their own set of problems... one of which is the greying population, especially outside of popular cities. many of the more traditional industries are being threatened because young people do not want to continue with these labour intensive sectors.

4,536 posts since May '05
      Hi,

they did not rely on FT.

hi can u quote some figures to support your statement.
      dunt just say somethings empty like uneducated uncle in
      coffee shops.

337 posts since Aug '07
    • Japanese economy can literally survive on the exports they produce...just look around yur house...or even @ yur car park...jap products everywhere! It is rich in natural resources...

Another reason is thier government...government takes care of thier people...people happy...thus people r willing to work like mad over there...

Moreover japan is rich in culture and social etiquettes...the japanese r fiercely proud and defensive about thier culture and thus do not want thier country polluted with FT...

Thats the reason y Japan is in a league of its own...its very difficult for a FT to break into japanese society...its xenophobic...

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • The Japanese have a deep sense of pride and honour. The surrender during WW2 was a blow to their dignity. Thus, the people were of one mind to build up the country up again.

Just think of Hitler and the German people after WW1.

302 posts since Aug '06
    2,815 posts since Jul '04
      Hi,

they did not rely on FT.

Japan was a superpower even before WW2!! Meiji Restoration began in 1968, they changed to western cloth, brought in many western engineers, teachers ....the FT doing jobs that nobody in Japan could do. You watch the movie Samurai? Who says they did not rely on foreigners?

Today, do you know how many PRC, Korean, Philippinos ....in China? the only different from Singapore is the absence of many Indians, due to cultural discrimination. They are there in restaurant business, entertainment business ...but because of the very strong Japanese cultural heritage, foreigners cannot penetrate into the society.

In the case of Singapore, the only difference is that singaporean don't have the strong cultural heritage to defend foreign culture, instead many leave to join another culture. Blame the government, blame other singaporeans, better blame your parents, why you not born in an FT family.

5,523 posts since May '07
    27 posts since Sep '07
    • They love their country a lot.
      Their interested are all for their country.

In other words, they are loyal.

All this will lead to that they relying on themselves.

Please Login or Signup to reply.