Every now and then, between the letters about Ah Meng's corpse poisoning the water supplies and swimming coaches touching the shoulders of their female charges, a real gem slips through ......
I'm reproducing a letter from a local university graduate .... which really touched a spot with me ...
HELP GRADS WHO DO AS WELL AS FOREIGN TALENT
Recently, I befriended a group of scholars from China studying at my alma mater, Nayang Technological University (NTU). They were in their late teens and were attending foundation courses in English and Maths before starting their undergraduate studies. In their five-year sojourn at NTU, they will be given free lodging and a month allowance of $500 each. Needless to say, they do not have to pay for their tuition fees. When they graduate, they must work in Singapore for six years as part of their "payback" bond.
A highly conservative calculation of their five-year tenure at NTU suggests that each will cost the Goverment or NTU some $70,000. That is, $30,000 for their five-year tuition fees, including the charges for their foundation courses, and some $40,000 for hostel accommodation and their montly stipends. I graduated from NTU five years ago, with a good honours degree.
I was in the top 15 per cent of my cohort - and performed better than some of these scholars. While studying at NTU, I had to work as a pizza delivery boy to earn my allowance. Upon graduation, I had to start paying off a $24,000 - student loan.
Why are Singaporeans like me not treated as considerately as scholars ? My study loan took five years to pay off after I started working. The China scholars receive financial support, a free education, and start their working lives debt free. Their six-year bond is seen as a contribution to Singapore.
Am I not contributing as much, if not more? Non-scholar Singaporeans are not treated in quite the same way as foreign tale, regardless of how well we perform. The disparity is disheartening.
Don't Singaporeans like me who have done well deserve some relief ? True, Local scholarships are available, but not ever Singaporean who graduated well, gets one.
Can the NTU or the Education Ministry tell me why graduates like myself don't deserve some relief or reward for doing as well, or better than, some of the foreign talent ?
Zhou Zhiqiang ....
Judging from the name, I gather that the letter writer is a chap, which makes him an NS man as well ....
this letter really touched a spot with me ... right after recent announcements of university fee hikes (again !) .... from relations working at NTU, I hear that very often, these scholars would "chabot" from Singapore long before their bonds are fulfilled, running off to the states or some other western countries .....
But even if they don't, I don't see why our tax dollars should be prioritized to these "foreign talents" while born and breed Singaporean undergraduates (roughly half of whom would spent 2 years of the best period of their lives defending this country too), have to take out student loans and work part time and squeeze out their parent's hard-earned CPF money to meet their tuition fees ! .... is it because it's taken for granted that Singaporeans would work in Singapore regardless, saddled with debts and loans ? ... or is it because the pink IC is really a handicap in Singapore ? ...
A country, or rather, a goverment, that treats it's own native born as second class citizens, does not deserve the respect nor the support of it's people .... I am sorry men-in-whites ... after being forced to swallow endless rounds of warm brown cream, after the annuity scheme, after endless price hikes, after years of gerrymandering, hubris .... I won't even spoil my votes anymore .... not that my previous support really mattered anyways .... I have never voted once in my life before, ironically .....
Frankly speaking? Some of these so-called foreign talents have really dubious talents.... some of them can barely make third-class honours, much less 2nd upper.
Like I said before.... I can agree that we need some foreign talent.... but I balk at giving out subsidies freely to every Tom, Dick and Jane who claims to be a foreign talent. It freakin' hurts me that some foreign kids who don't do as well get pretty much a free pass, while I have to work as a part-time tutor and scrape by on $350 a month.
And on top of that I have to give up 2 1/2 years of my life and two weeks of my time every year just to risk my neck defending them.
And what do I get for it? A $25K debt awaits me after I graduate in July.
The very least that I ask for is for their subsidies to commensurate with their performance..... say, if they fail to get at least a 2nd lower point average for two consecutive semesters, then by all means reduce or withdraw their subsidies.
And seriously, that's not much of a criterion to meet.... If they're really that talented, 2nd lower is really not a difficult standard to achieve.
no wonder many chinese "scholars" look down on us and laugh at us ..... a society that treats foreigners better than it's own citizens doesn't get, nor deserve much respect ....
and this is not just happening in the universities as well .... I remember foreign chaps in poly getting subsidies for their studies as well, their bond is around 3 years I think ......
top 15% of his cohort - should he be getting some form of scholarship to assist in his study.
Why is it that FTs are always better then locals in what ever ways?
If i am not wrong, those china scholars need a minimum cap of 3.5. Otherwise, their contracts may be terminated.
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:If i am not wrong, those china scholars need a minimum cap of 3.5. Otherwise, their contracts may be terminated.
that's not quite the issue here ... what about Singaporean students having to work in Mcdonalds to pay off their study loans ... with 3.5 average too ? .... is it fair ? ....
why is the goverment selectively recognizing foreign "talents" while neglecting our own home grown talents ? ....
and the living God wonders why we are loosing "1000 top talents a year" ? ...... when locals graduate with a backside full of debts ... we are already not fighting on a level playing field ..... and when your own home ground is stacked against you, what's stopping you to leave instead ? ....
it is time for a change .... remember this letter when you cast your votes (if you even get to vote at all) in 2011 ....
I met some foreigners who come here, they are in full praise of Lee Kuan Yew, whom they agreed foreigners are sometimes treated better than locals. I asked him if them if they intend to stay Singapore and most says for short term. Once they gains enough experience they would head for western countries like Australia and USA.After all, thats where all the real talent goes. The cycle repeats itself with a new batch of foreigners.
I won't even spoil my votes anymore
Why did you spoil your vote? You should have voted against the PAP and teach them a lesson.
People like me who are desperate to vote against them don't even have a chance.
You have been hoodwinked by propaganda.
I am indeed saddled with 24k debt when I graduate. It makes me wonder why am I, a Singaporean, worth less than a foreigner talent?
I also have a CAP higer than 3.5
Originally posted by Spartans:I am indeed saddled with 24k debt when I graduate. It makes me wonder why am I, a Singaporean, worth less than a foreigner talent?
I also have a CAP higer than 3.5
time to move on, man.
look on the bright side; at least u earn your degree full time.
Let's put it this way: The scholars got the scholarship because they did well before entering uni, not after entering uni. The merits are based on "before" and not after. The same goes for local students; scholarship considerations are on achievements before entering the uni. Late bloomer = earn later.
Not to mention the number of scholarships available for uni students halfway for application
Or places like Cornell University (there are many US unis that do give scholarships) do offer foreign students uni scholarships; you only need to pay for your airfare there and any extra expenditure over your given allowance.
I also know for a fact that NUS and SMU gives students scholarships based on merit before matriculation; this is not foreign policy at all.
It is just like when you enter a new job; do you employers consider your past achievements or your possible future achievements? Of course, rewards do come when you do well in your new job; the same goes for uni students, jobs come easier with good results => that's the "reward"
... this is why, I prefer to recognize them as FAP.... Foreigners Action Party...
... you all are better off setting your minds on migrating else where... let the dumb money-minded FAP lead an empty land...
Originally posted by eagle:Let's put it this way: The scholars got the scholarship because they did well before entering uni, not after entering uni. The merits are based on "before" and not after. The same goes for local students; scholarship considerations are on achievements before entering the uni. Late bloomer = earn later.
Not to mention the number of scholarships available for uni students halfway for application
Or places like Cornell University (there are many US unis that do give scholarships) do offer foreign students uni scholarships; you only need to pay for your airfare there and any extra expenditure over your given allowance.
I also know for a fact that NUS and SMU gives students scholarships based on merit before matriculation; this is not foreign policy at all.
It is just like when you enter a new job; do you employers consider your past achievements or your possible future achievements? Of course, rewards do come when you do well in your new job; the same goes for uni students, jobs come easier with good results => that's the "reward"
if that is the case, then I'd say the goverment should make clear how they discern these "scholars" to be as such ... it gives me no great confidence that they have to be sponsored for foundation courses in Maths (maths !?!?! ... have you ever met a chinese who's bad at maths ? ), I'll bite for the English course perhaps, but Maths ? ... something is wrong with these "scholars" here ....
I am sure that not all 3 or 4 As at A levels students in Singapore are eligible for, or got, scholarships ... and the benchmark for these overseas "scholars" is not widely known ... are these really the "exceptional" students they are made out to be ? ... my point is ... wouldn't the money spent on these scholars be better spent on other subsidizing local students instead of giving a free cushioned ride for a growing number of "foreign talents" ? ...
you do bring in very compelling point about free rides being given out by US universities, but then again, most of these universities are private institutions with their own huge endowment funds, not publicly funded universities, like NTU ... these private universities do not use tax-payer's money for the free rides ... Harvard and stanford and cornell and MIT have their own respective pool of endownment funds, what they do with that money is up to them, but our universities are not just publicly funded institutions, for a small country like ours, they are also National Institutions, they do have an obligation to address their primary mission of nurturing OUR native talents before casting their nets further ... that's why I still find it entirely unacceptable that we have honours students like fudgie here giving tuition to earn his keep and bus fare while foreign students get a free ride through school ....
Singapore's circumstances are unique, we cannot play this talents game the way the west is playing it, as I see it, rather than addressing the hemorrhage of our own people overseas, we are in effect acclerating it, replacing those who left with transients who treat Singapore like a small, cramped hotel .... we are not building the foundations of the future here, we are eroding our national identity ! ........
I think that it is time for another party to take over rule of Singapore.
PAP had their fun for almost 50 years already.
I don't know what Singapore will become if PAP continues their style of rule.
Time to let go PAP.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I think that it is time for another party to take over rule of Singapore.
Time to let go PAP.
... I feel the same way too...
... except I think they have a problem letting go as they may be hard put to explain where has a large portion of the CPF monies went to...
TS really describe the current FT situation here, especially in schools, perfectly. i really feel sad that the country i WASTED 2 of my prime years defending, is actually treating me worse than a foreigner. every year have to risk ur job to defend the foreigners again. while they stay in office shake leg day in day out. i mean come on, in times of war, who will these FT defend? S'pore? wake up u Lees!! they will go running back to where they originate!! n mayb even assist to attack us damn it! i cant believe they actually can study for free here, get a job as so call bond (kiss my (_l_) bond), where so many graduates have to work part time to pay their school fees, or even hav to juggle between work n night time PT degrees and risk family tensions due to study stress, and put all family planning such as having kids on hold due to lack of $$$. my fellow s'poreans. this situation will only take a turn for the worse, dont expect any better, ie more FTs in, more locals out. i have witness incidents whereby local workers r fired in order to cut cost, as the employer can hire a foreigner who can do the same thing, but paid less, n no employer CPF of cos. locals r finding it hard to compete with foreigners for jobs. its not a level playing ground anymore. its really very disheartening that locals r not as appreciated as foreigners. only ur wallet is appreciated. locals r only appreciated every year come april, when income tax is paid to pay for foreigners' studies, food, lodgings, beer, cigarettes, clothing, condoms, undergarments, broadband, electricity, pool and all kinds of costs u can think of under the sun. not forgetting saving up to go back to their country once their bond is finished, n live a gd life. while locals like u n me r still struggling to pay loans aft loans aft loans + interests. or saving like crazy jus to ensure ur child can compete with future influx of foreigners. i can go on n on abt this FT issue. i have witnessed 1st hand on a number of occasion the impact of FT in s'pore on us locals. hopefully more n more locals can highlight this issue to media like ST or newpaper or mypaper, n pray that some MP will notice it n look into it. cos s'poreans r no longer living in a country we call our own. we r sharing our resources with foreigners, which r increasing by the minute, n we r paying while they r not.
Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:TS really describe the current FT situation here, especially in schools, perfectly. i really feel sad that the country i WASTED 2 of my prime years defending, is actually treating me worse than a foreigner. every year have to risk ur job to defend the foreigners again. while they stay in office shake leg day in day out. i mean come on, in times of war, who will these FT defend? S'pore? wake up u Lees!! they will go running back to where they originate!! n mayb even assist to attack us damn it! i cant believe they actually can study for free here, get a job as so call bond (kiss my (_l_) bond), where so many graduates have to work part time to pay their school fees, or even hav to juggle between work n night time PT degrees and risk family tensions due to study stress, and put all family planning such as having kids on hold due to lack of $$$. my fellow s'poreans. this situation will only take a turn for the worse, dont expect any better, ie more FTs in, more locals out. i have witness incidents whereby local workers r fired in order to cut cost, as the employer can hire a foreigner who can do the same thing, but paid less, n no employer CPF of cos. locals r finding it hard to compete with foreigners for jobs. its not a level playing ground anymore. its really very disheartening that locals r not as appreciated as foreigners. only ur wallet is appreciated. locals r only appreciated every year come april, when income tax is paid to pay for foreigners' studies, food, lodgings, beer, cigarettes, clothing, condoms, undergarments, broadband, electricity, pool and all kinds of costs u can think of under the sun. not forgetting saving up to go back to their country once their bond is finished, n live a gd life. while locals like u n me r still struggling to pay loans aft loans aft loans + interests. or saving like crazy jus to ensure ur child can compete with future influx of foreigners. i can go on n on abt this FT issue. i have witnessed 1st hand on a number of occasion the impact of FT in s'pore on us locals. hopefully more n more locals can highlight this issue to media like ST or newpaper or mypaper, n pray that some MP will notice it n look into it. cos s'poreans r no longer living in a country we call our own. we r sharing our resources with foreigners, which r increasing by the minute, n we r paying while they r not.
... you can forget about them ever listening to our feedback or protests...
... only way left is to abandon a ship - it's Titanic repeating itself again...
... eventually they will realize that true local citizens have dwindled to just a fraction of total population... and even then, they'd still not admit it's their own doing...
... I say, let them rule over an empty land in good time...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I think that it is time for another party to take over rule of Singapore.
Time to let go PAP.
What other more credible party is there?
... why not someone start a Poll on indicating how many percent voted for the infamous FAP & why, how many percent voted against FAP & why, & how many just simply want them to step down...
... this way, we know ahead of time, just how "popular" the FAP is... and what are their odds in the next GE...
Cos Gahmen do not appreciate local talents but foreign... Why? They know nuts about what they did in SG...![]()
Tell me a country which offers the same thing as SG and i'll be packing my bags soon.
Upon reaching there i'll -
1)Milk whatever i can
2)Find a way to escape the bond.
3)Say goodbye to that stepping stone and thank the idiots.
Our govt needs to wake up their bloody idea.
Foreigners > SG
Perhaps it's their way to garner more votes, from the foreigners, to offset the declining number from the locals.
Originally posted by pearlie27:Yes indeed this is a queer govt who scorns at its own people but treat every foreigner as talent. Sad!
Btw, anyway is never written or spoken as anyways.
"Anyways"
It's an overseas thing.
Really. ![]()
So much for out-sourcing.
Hell, it's so true...
But hor, S'pore govt is not the only govt who does this to their own people.
my son told me after his national service, he's going aboard to study and may decide to settle over there. Not only is Singapore losing a Singaporean, I'll losing my son too.