<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! ....' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/308204</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://politics.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Panache1976 @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 14:05:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I find the last line of the article really funny. I hope when
LKY said "Swiss current standard of living", he meant after
adjustment for inflation.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 14:05:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7883083</guid>
      <author>Panache1976</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Panache1976 @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:59:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Here's an old article regarding our falling per capita GDP
ranking:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.littlespeck.com/content/economy/CTrendsEconomy-050711.htm"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.littlespeck.com/content/economy/CTrendsEconomy-050711.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:59:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7883067</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Panache1976 @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:56:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Ooops, sry! I meant the ranking. We are now at 28. Used to be 8
in 1997.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:56:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7883063</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:24:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Don't know leh... If you are talking about GDP per capita, this
is what I got from your website:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.indexmundi.com/singapore/gdp_per_capita_(ppp).html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Source&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="http://xs124.xs.to/xs124/08091/gdp916.jpg" alt=
"" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:24:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7882985</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Panache1976 @ Mon, 25 Feb 2008 12:34:38 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They no need to spend into the economy? Let's say $500 allowance
for 8 years, that's $48k (excludes sch fees and plane fares). Most
of this $48k will be spent in the Sg economy and the economy gets
stronger due to the multiplier effect, Eventually, the money still
lands in the government coffers through GST, income tax, petrol
tax,&amp;nbsp; ERP and COE if they buy a car, Airport tax when they fly
back... So many ways to get back. Not to mention that a large
portion of their salary also goes to renting or buying flats in Sg,
food, transport, utilities... A lot of money are still kept within
the Singapore economy, even though they might be working for MNCs
within Singapore. And if they do well, the Sg economy gets even
more money!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A economy functions best when people spend, not when people
save. Bringing in large numbers of foreigners thus do help the
economy, But this basically sums up what the government is
thinking. The poor and old are still largely ignored...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As my teacher said, "It is the nature of the capitalist beast to
exploit the poor for profits". How true...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;True, if by helping the economy, you mean GPD growth.
Unfornately, even though GDP has been rising, our per capita GDP
has been falling every year since 1997. This can be mostly
attributed to the government's policy of importing cheap FT to
undercut Singaporean wages - and subsidizing them to do so!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.indexmundi.com/g/r.aspx?c=mr&amp;amp;amp;v=67"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.indexmundi.com/g/r.aspx?c=mr&amp;amp;v=67&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it fair to use Singaporeans'&amp;nbsp;taxes to lower our living
standard, while providing freebies to encourage immigration?
Besides, it takes 4 years for these students to graduate. By that
time, we could be in another recession and more graduates won't be
able to find jobs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Basically, the government is treating Singaporeans like
expendable employees instead of the shareholders that we really
are...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 25 Feb 2008 12:34:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7882920</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 08:40:55 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Panache1976:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I wonder which highly paid minister(s) came up with this
scholarship scheme. Don't know how to count leh. Say you spend
$70,000 on each student. When they come out to work, their income
tax each year&amp;nbsp;is &lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;at most $2,000&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; per
year average over the six years of bond.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Meaning that we give $58,000 of tax money away for FREE! WTF?
Singapore really so short of graduates meh? Barely 5 years ago, 30%
of sg graduates couldn't land any jobs. I know coz I graduated
then!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They no need to spend into the economy? Let's say $500 allowance
for 8 years, that's $48k (excludes sch fees and plane fares). Most
of this $48k will be spent in the Sg economy and the economy gets
stronger due to the multiplier effect, Eventually, the money still
lands in the government coffers through GST, income tax, petrol
tax,&amp;nbsp; ERP and COE if they buy a car, Airport tax when they fly
back... So many ways to get back. Not to mention that a large
portion of their salary also goes to renting or buying flats in Sg,
food, transport, utilities... A lot of money are still kept within
the Singapore economy, even though they might be working for MNCs
within Singapore. And if they do well, the Sg economy gets even
more money!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A economy functions best when people spend, not when people
save. Bringing in large numbers of foreigners thus do help the
economy, But this basically sums up what the government is
thinking. The poor and old are still largely ignored...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As my teacher said, "It is the nature of the capitalist beast to
exploit the poor for profits". How true...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 08:40:55 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879746</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Panache1976 @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 04:16:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I wonder which highly paid minister(s) came up with this
scholarship scheme. Don't know how to count leh. Say you spend
$70,000 on each student. When they come out to work, their income
tax each year&amp;nbsp;is &lt;em&gt;&lt;strong&gt;at most $2,000&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt; per
year average over the six years of bond.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Meaning that we give $58,000 of tax money away for FREE! WTF?
Singapore really so short of graduates meh? Barely 5 years ago, 30%
of sg graduates couldn't land any jobs. I know coz I graduated
then!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 04:16:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879604</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 02:04:04 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by fornax84:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well, I can only say that you got to know wad is really
happening behinds the scenes to know what sort of foreign talents
we are letting into SG.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am currently studying in a local uni and I have a fair share
of interactions with the PRC students and got to know some
intimate, seldom known facts about them. Nope, I am not
degenerating this into a PRC bashing thread, but I feel that it is
time to really let SGreans know what is really happening in our
local uni............&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Firstly, my forummers have already pointed out that these FTs
are not from their first line unis. I will elaborate more. I have
talked to this PRC guy before and he says that he comes to SG bcos
he wants to "escape from reality". I was surprised and I quized him
abt why he said so. He said back in PRC, even second tier unis are
very competitive and students have to study day and night just to
barely survive there. So being&amp;nbsp;just an average student, he
knows he cannot fight for better hons with the rest, so he
decided&amp;nbsp;to SG scholarship. Bcos, the branding&amp;nbsp;of being an
overseases scholar is gd enough to land u in any respectable white
collared job.&amp;nbsp;He told me that back in China, he was a third yr
student and he came to SG to&amp;nbsp;STUDY THE SAME COURSE BUT
STARTING FROM YR1 AGAIN!!!! No prize for guessing why he did so
well when u just left NS and is struggling to cope with civie live,
this guy is coming here to study something he has done b4, while
enjoying free education, food, lodging from our tax money. So I
asked him what was his GPA back in PRC and what was the entry test
to come here as a scholar. He said most coming here are 2nd lower
to 2nd upper and the entry test here is just seeing your transcript
and doing some basic IQ test, we oral English test. Then I asked
him, where did the 1st class go, he said those that could not
afford, stayed on, while those that are rich, left for western
countries. He told me also that the SG govt has also a recent
scheme that allows scholars to do PHD in SG unis as a form of
paying back the 6yr bonds.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Now you tell me seriously, after hereing these will you be super
duper du lan anot, tell me............&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If what you said is true, I'm surprised by the number of "smart"
PRCs here. Most aren't as smart as you think, especially when you
factor in the amount of time they took to prepare for a module as
compared to most Singaporeans. The main thing I can see is, they
are extremely hardworking, more hardworking than the average
Singaporean.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And for everyone's info, EU countries do hate PRCs coming into
their country too. They are just all over the world nowadays.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 02:04:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879491</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 01:40:54 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by will4:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is it true the Chinese national scholar given five hundred a month
for their expenses? It seemed in NUS more n more foreign nationals
studying in there.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NUS scholarships and any other local bonded scholarships all
give $500 allowance a month to their scholars too.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 01:40:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879461</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by will4 @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 01:39:05 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by fornax84:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well, I can only say that you got to know wad is really
duper du lan anot, tell me............&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is it true the Chinese national scholar given five hundred a month
for their expenses? It seemed in NUS more n more foreign nationals
studying in there.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 01:39:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879458</guid>
      <author>will4</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by fornax84 @ Sun, 24 Feb 2008 00:13:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Well, I can only say that you got to know wad is really
duper du lan anot, tell me............&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 24 Feb 2008 00:13:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879312</guid>
      <author>fornax84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Daddy!! @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 23:21:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;likewise, only people who are equally ignorant think that an
anti-PAP would not choose to remain in Singapore even if he could
afford to emigrate.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 23:21:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879135</guid>
      <author>Daddy!!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Daddy!! @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 23:18:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;only people with tunnel vision and lack of social circles think
that only anti-PAP emigrate.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 23:18:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7879120</guid>
      <author>Daddy!!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by fishbuff @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 15:08:46 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Not going... Too far, and got many things to do... which
includes projects, homeworks, sports, social life and
hobby/self-things. Not to say I'm too far from going... I can't
foresee holding up 85kg logs at all.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Since you are based in Australia, and likely to be permanently,
I might have some things to ask you about certain products there
after I do some more extensive research. Will pm u more details
when I finish my thesis write up, likely to take some time...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;no worries.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ask me about oz, i will see what i can do.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i send u another site, this one u can search for alot of stuffs
that u might be keen on. + another idea.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 15:08:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878300</guid>
      <author>fishbuff</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:10:53 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by fishbuff:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not bad. that is good enough. i remembered pulling my 400lb
deadlift after training for 1 year too.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;say, tmorrow is the sg strongman contest, why dont u pop in and
take a look?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;www.hometeamns.sg&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u perform much better than those weak hypocrites; on one hand
ask for emigration details, but publicly profess he is a pap
supporters. i dont direct my response to that kind of person with
such character flaw..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not going... Too far, and got many things to do... which
includes projects, homeworks, sports, social life and
hobby/self-things. Not to say I'm too far from going... I can't
foresee holding up 85kg logs at all.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Since you are based in Australia, and likely to be permanently,
I might have some things to ask you about certain products there
after I do some more extensive research. Will pm u more details
when I finish my thesis write up, likely to take some time...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:10:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878174</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by fishbuff @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:08:33 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I can only manage 286 lbs for 2~3 reps only &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_frown.gif" alt="icon_frown.gif" /&gt;
That's abt 1.7 times body weight though after 8 mths of
training.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not bad. that is good enough. i remembered pulling my 400lb
deadlift after training for 1 year too.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;say, tmorrow is the sg strongman contest, why dont u pop in and
take a look?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;www.hometeamns.sg&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u perform much better than those weak hypocrites; on one hand
ask for emigration details, but publicly profess he is a pap
supporters. i dont direct my response to that kind of person with
such character flaw..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:08:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878166</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by fishbuff @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:03:52 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I would be 7 years old at that time. But most people around your
age didn't have a uni education I believe. My parents didn't.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there are but not as many as today. back then, getting a degree
was a big deal. the govt then also practise elitism to allow only
the best of the best to have access to tertiary education. which
resulted in a lower population of graduates vs the non-technically
trained.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when the economy changed in the mid 90s, all were caught
off-guard, technology demands surge at astronomical rate and i
remembered that time around 97, there are very few indians
nationals here and we seemed to oooh-and-aaah at their
presence.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
There were two polys and NUS wasnt even offering degree in
information system yet. the whole past of elitism and population
segregation by IQ and school results, backfired. so near the 2000
millenium bugs, the SCS and NCS import huge number of FTs to
support the industry demands.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i was wondering why, if my peer and i are given the equivalent
opportunity to study at the local uni, we could support the
industry well. but for someone at the top's mistakes, the whole
population paid the price.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if your parents have access to tetiary education, i strongly
absolutely believe they will have no problem in becoming highly
qualified consultant or management by now. that is what really piss
me off.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 14:03:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878148</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:56:07 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
who cares...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if u cant deadlift 500lb, dont bother talk to me. ;-)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I can only manage 286 lbs for 2~3 reps only &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_frown.gif" alt="icon_frown.gif" /&gt;
That's abt 1.7 times body weight though after 8 mths of
training.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:56:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878113</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:55:25 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Daddy!!:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;while u are struggling with your 8 to 9% mortgage rates, i am
enjoying your 8 to 9% fixed deposit rates.&amp;nbsp; Within this
picture, i am the winner even though i dont deadlift 500lbs.&amp;nbsp;
So dont show off your run down house which only proves to the world
that you cannot afford a nicer and newer house given the current
situation of&amp;nbsp;high interest rates rates and high house
price.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ok la, you win and fishbuff lose. Everyone happy happy ok?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:55:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878108</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:52:53 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by shinta:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i noe some ppl from prc.. they had difficulties with the english
parts, but no such difficulties with their maths.. they were doin
an engineering diploma when i met them.. one of them was bagging As
n distinctions for maths-related modules... so the doin any
subjects in english was bullshyt lor.. note ar.. her english wasn
very good.. she came to sg after finishin her high school in
china... she went in to ngee ann poly straight.. and i think her
parents paid for her passage over here.. and she was doin part time
also..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I was still referring to the very young PRCs :(&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The secondary schools maths questions are so full of "essays"
that I know quite a number of people who do badly for maths because
they just don't understand the questions. It happens to some of my
ex-tuition students too, those whose English are not as good.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:52:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878096</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by eagle @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:50:01 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;that was around 1990. i think u are around 2-3 years old at that
time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and D-ddy!! wasnt born yet.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I would be 7 years old at that time. But most people around your
age didn't have a uni education I believe. My parents didn't.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:50:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7878080</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by HyuugaNeji @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:24:59 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by teraexa:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
july 2010.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
o.O i thought you are a girl but turned up you are a guy who needs
to serve NS.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But i thought NS is now 2 years. So i think you
can&amp;nbsp;starting&amp;nbsp;your course&amp;nbsp;in Jan 2010 instead.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 13:24:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7877977</guid>
      <author>HyuugaNeji</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by Daddy!! @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 12:47:48 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;while u are struggling with your 8 to 9% mortgage rates, i am
enjoying your 8 to 9% fixed deposit rates.&amp;nbsp; Within this
picture, i am the winner even though i dont deadlift 500lbs.&amp;nbsp;
So dont show off your run down house which only proves to the world
that you cannot afford a nicer and newer house given the current
situation of&amp;nbsp;high interest rates rates and high house
price.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 12:47:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7877830</guid>
      <author>Daddy!!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by shinta @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 12:16:04 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Have you ever tried studying any of your subjects in any other
language other than English? Say for example, in Chinese? Most
likely no right? And do you know all the basic technical maths
terms in chinese?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i noe some ppl from prc.. they had difficulties with the english
parts, but no such difficulties with their maths.. they were doin
an engineering diploma when i met them.. one of them was bagging As
n distinctions for maths-related modules... so the doin any
subjects in english was bullshyt lor.. note ar.. her english wasn
very good.. she came to sg after finishin her high school in
china... she went in to ngee ann poly straight.. and i think her
parents paid for her passage over here.. and she was doin part time
also..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 12:16:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7877762</guid>
      <author>shinta</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>A Letter to the Straits Times Forum ... Hear ! Hear ! .... replied by fishbuff @ Sat, 23 Feb 2008 11:04:35 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Daddy!!:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i was testing u, snakebluff.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;fyi, i am enjoying the high interest rates and currency
gains.&amp;nbsp; guess which one?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
who cares...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if u cant deadlift 500lb, dont bother talk to me. ;-)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 23 Feb 2008 11:04:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:308204:7877669</guid>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>