<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/308493</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by eagle @ Fri, 25 Apr 2008 23:14:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by PRP:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Eagle,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The quote mechanism can't work, so no auto quote.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think what the article mean is:&amp;nbsp; When u see the red
traffic light,u lift your right foot and transfer to the brake
pedal.For mannual car,u will&amp;nbsp; step on the clutch and then
change the gear to free.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yup I knew what you were saying... I'm saying that your method
would spoil your brakes and wear out your tyres faster because no
engine brake was used...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 25 Apr 2008 23:14:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8039355</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by caleb_chiang @ Fri, 25 Apr 2008 23:00:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;For the good of the environment,try to&amp;nbsp;fill
less&amp;nbsp;pertrol to your car.Perhaps u can&amp;nbsp;pump pertrol 3
days a week.The benefits are reduction of &amp;nbsp;pertrol
consumption,reduction of&amp;nbsp;wear &amp;amp; tear to the tyres and
other parts of the car and most importantly good for the protection
of the enviroment.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Erm... i dun think pumping oil got anything to do with fuel
consumption, rather... stepping on the accerlator... You sound like
you never drove before...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 25 Apr 2008 23:00:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8039323</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by PRP @ Fri, 25 Apr 2008 21:53:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Continuing from my last msg:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For auto gear cars,u can also switch to free gear too.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 25 Apr 2008 21:53:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8039140</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by PRP @ Fri, 18 Apr 2008 20:38:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Eagle,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The quote mechanism can't work, so no auto quote.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think what the article mean is:&amp;nbsp; When u see the red
traffic light,u lift your right foot and transfer to the brake
pedal.For mannual car,u will&amp;nbsp; step on the clutch and then
change the gear to free.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 18 Apr 2008 20:38:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8022294</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by mancha @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:42:39 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The focus should be on reduction of fossil fuel consumption and
its emmisions, easing of traffic congestion..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But transport policies are drafted by people who do not take
buses, drive goods vehicles, ride motocycles, take taxis, drive
buses, drive lorries, why they do not even ride bicycles. Their
focus is on the motorcar. The Electronic Parking System is
introduced for the convenience of the car drivers. To be fairer
to&amp;nbsp;car owners&amp;nbsp;by charging parking by smaller blocks of
time. For motorcycles it is 65 cents per entry vs one 65 cents
coupon valid parking the&amp;nbsp; whole day at any URA/HDB parking
lot. Road infrastructure are made for motorist in mind, all others,
riders and workers,&amp;nbsp;benefit incidentally.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Transport policy makers are all car drivers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Will they encourage motorcycles? To save the earth.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nah! Their mothers forbid them to ride motocycles, bicycles
even.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:42:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8017626</guid>
      <author>mancha</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by PRP @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:35:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Some m/cyles are very noisy and the exhausting gas is very
smelly.Don't know how they make it?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:35:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8017359</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by redDUST @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 15:44:12 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by sgdiehard:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
A pool of water on the road will also send a biker bed ridden for a
long while. car drivers are protected by thin can, motorcycle
riders are protected by their jacket and helmet. Problem is that
most riders think they are armor plated and&amp;nbsp;fly their bike
like a plane. &amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: x-small;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p2sQAH2DTQ" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: x-small; color: #0000ff;"&gt;http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p2sQAH2DTQ&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;from our mat bros in the north.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 15:44:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8004785</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Love Supreme @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:21:32 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by FirePig:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
The fuel consumption rate for both 95 and 98 should be about the
same. The chemical&amp;nbsp;formula i think is similar but the
structure is different and hence they are isomers of one another.
The only difference it make is that more branched hydrocarbon can
burn faster and hence faster acceleration. However, the performance
of a 95 is already very good so a 98 dont make much of a difference
even at acceleration. Only sports cars like evo, wrx need to use 98
and also only when you are those who like to do fast acceleration
alot.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you are running a turbo&amp;nbsp;or supercharged car, you will
need 98&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:21:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8004465</guid>
      <author>Love Supreme</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by eagle @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:06:22 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
like a plane. &amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;happened to my fren.... He was making a right turn, then went
into a puddle of petrol on the road... Dunno why got petrol there
also... then like that lose traction and fell&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:06:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8004412</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by sgdiehard @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:00:23 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;no matter how safely you drive a motorcycle, it only takes an
errant driver to send you to heaven.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
like a plane. &amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 13:00:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8004394</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by eagle @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 10:51:08 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by mancha:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why the heavy emphasis on cars? Why are motorcycles not
promoted, it is not even mention in passing, as a possible
alternative.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look into cars that passes by, how many people are in each of
them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Those who always drive solo, could easily turn to motorcycles
for commuting.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is no prestige in motorcycles or no $$$?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;no matter how safely you drive a motorcycle, it only takes an
errant driver to send you to heaven.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 10:51:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8004133</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by mancha @ Fri, 11 Apr 2008 01:22:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Why the heavy emphasis on cars? Why are motorcycles not
promoted, it is not even mention in passing, as a possible
alternative.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look into cars that passes by, how many people are in each of
them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Those who always drive solo, could easily turn to motorcycles
for commuting.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is no prestige in motorcycles or no $$$?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 11 Apr 2008 01:22:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8003571</guid>
      <author>mancha</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by eagle @ Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:58:56 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;"When approaching red light,lift your foot off ....."&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it OK to free the gear when approaching a red light?However,
I often do that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you are using manual gear, you wear out your brakes faster
this way as compared to making full use of engine brake (if
braking)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I guess the article just means don't input extra energy into the
system when you are going to bring it to a stop anyway... So in
theory, free-ing the gear does have the same effect as just lifting
your foot off the accelerator on oil consumption&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:58:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8003128</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by BaByBoY @ Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:51:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i only pump in RESERVE TANK..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;no point going over the cuzway w any pertrol at all....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;get the max per trip.. best is i can just reach there zhun zhun
no gas, and pump til brim.. SHIOK!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:51:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8003102</guid>
      <author>BaByBoY</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by PRP @ Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:43:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Economy driving tips&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;The Straits Times, Saturday, March 15, 2008. Life Pg.
10&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;gt; Be as light on the accelerator as possible.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Choose the appropriate gear. Even in an automatic, it is
better to manually shift down than to kick down to
accelerate.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; When approaching a red light, lift your foot off and get in
gear for a gentle take-off once it turns green. Try to avoid coming
to a full stop.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not tailgate. You will find that you have to brake and
re-accelerate less. &#8226;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Be alert to road and traffic conditions. No point stepping on
the gas and then stomping on the brakes because there is a jam
ahead. Avoid talking on the phone, which distracts you from
observing traffic conditions.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Inflate your tyres regularly (when they are cold). You
can overinflate by 5 to 10 per cent.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Maintain your car regularly, and use good quality oil
and filters. Keep car body clean, as&lt;br /&gt;
dirt increases drag.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Turn off the air-con at night or on cool days and wind down
the windows. The so-called "parachute effect" is minimal below
lOOkmh.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not use your car as a storeroom. Every 25kg of weight
raises consumption by 1 per cent. Hence it might be best to fill
the tank to half full instead of full.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Plan your trips. Avoid congested roads.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not leave the engine idling for more than a minute.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Reverse into a parking lot. When you start off again, the
engine will be cold and fuel inefficient. If you can drive away
smoothly without having to reverse when the engine is cold, you
will save fuel. It is also safer.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Choose the right octane fuel. Most cars will do fine
with 95- or 92-octane petrol.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;"When approaching red light,lift your foot off ....."&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it OK to free the gear when approaching a red light?However,
I often do that.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 10 Apr 2008 22:43:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:8003082</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by eagle @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 21:17:28 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Every 25kg of weitgjt raises consumption by 1%.Is there anyone
know what&amp;nbsp; the weight of half-tank of pertrol is?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Depends on your petrol tank... Let's say for a 1800cc car with
40 litres petrol tank (Toyota Corolla Altis)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.simetric.co.uk/si_liquids.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.simetric.co.uk/si_liquids.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Density of petrol is 737.22 kg per cubic metre, which works out
to 0.73722g/cm3&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;half tank is 20 litres, which works out to 20000cm3, which works
out to 14.744kg&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For other cars, the petrol tank might be even smaller...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thus, as already said in the first post of this page,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Some calculations will tell you that the difference between half
a tank and a full tank (assume 40 litres tank) will, on average,
only affect less than 1% of fuel consumption&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 21:17:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7993849</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by PRP @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 20:28:48 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Economy driving tips&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;The Straits Times, Saturday, March 15, 2008. Life Pg.
10&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;gt; Be as light on the accelerator as possible.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Choose the appropriate gear. Even in an automatic, it is
better to manually shift down than to kick down to
accelerate.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; When approaching a red light, lift your foot off and get in
gear for a gentle take-off once it turns green. Try to avoid coming
to a full stop.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not tailgate. You will find that you have to brake and
re-accelerate less. &#8226;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Be alert to road and traffic conditions. No point stepping on
the gas and then stomping on the brakes because there is a jam
ahead. Avoid talking on the phone, which distracts you from
observing traffic conditions.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Inflate your tyres regularly (when they are cold). You
can overinflate by 5 to 10 per cent.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Maintain your car regularly, and use good quality oil
and filters. Keep car body clean, as&lt;br /&gt;
dirt increases drag.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Turn off the air-con at night or on cool days and wind down
the windows. The so-called "parachute effect" is minimal below
lOOkmh.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not use your car as a storeroom. Every 25kg of weight
raises consumption by 1 per cent. Hence it might be best to fill
the tank to half full instead of full.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Plan your trips. Avoid congested roads.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Do not leave the engine idling for more than a minute.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt; Reverse into a parking lot. When you start off again, the
engine will be cold and fuel inefficient. If you can drive away
smoothly without having to reverse when the engine is cold, you
will save fuel. It is also safer.&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp; Choose the right octane fuel. Most cars will do fine
with 95- or 92-octane petrol.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Every 25kg of weitgjt raises consumption by 1%.Is there anyone
know what&amp;nbsp; the weight of half-tank of pertrol is?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 20:28:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7993665</guid>
      <author>PRP</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Genie99a @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 15:24:50 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Your hypothetical calculation also wrong lah, "But I
have got (99-70)/99 x $10 = $2.93 .... I have lost $7 bcos my
parents bought a godam lease."&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;99 years lease is for 2 generations, if you can fully
pay up&amp;nbsp;in your lifetime,&amp;nbsp;your son just need to pay the
maintenance fee, what happen after that you think you can see from
the grave huh?&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Heya Buddy :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yar I'll agree that 99 year lease should last 2 generations.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But that means there is a depreciation factor lor &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/cry.png" alt=
"cry.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Haiz&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 15:24:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7993033</guid>
      <author>Genie99a</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by sgdiehard @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 11:08:02 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Genie99a:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm not sure if any of the HDB leases have expired and the lease
taken back.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But if none has occured whats the point in maing it a 99 year
lease then? ....why not make it freehold or 999?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore how old only? HDB how long only? how can any 99 year
lease expire?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lease hold or freehold all Britist system, finally the land
belong to the government. and at the expiry of the lease, the
government has the right to take back. Usually places around same
areas are same leasehold. Now mostly only 99 yrs cause government
need redevelopment.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Farrer Court, Braddell Heights, and the other one
along&amp;nbsp;Alexandra Road, all were HUDC flats, 99 years only. Then
sold en bloc, owners all laughing to the bank.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your hypothetical calculation also wrong lah, "But I have got
(99-70)/99 x $10 = $2.93 .... I have lost $7 bcos my parents bought
a godam lease."&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;99 years lease is for 2 generations, if you can fully pay
up&amp;nbsp;in your lifetime,&amp;nbsp;your son just need to pay the
maintenance fee, what happen after that you think you can see from
the grave huh?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 11:08:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7992609</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Genie99a @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 10:19:31 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by redDUST:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;LOL, you are (very) fond of hypothetical questions, aren't you?
As seen in your other posts.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not free petrol?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not subsidize all rice, petrol here in Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not give your money away?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why, why, why....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;(Wait...), I will give you half the answer. See below.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;For a government so obsessed with control........&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I do apologize for my hypothetical questions lol&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;However ...."For a government so obsessed with control...." That
is fundamentally wrong to do. I'm not saying its illegal to do
it... but I'm saying that's control gone out of control. I for one
do not wish to be "forced" to this and that.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 10:19:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7992531</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by redDUST @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 07:56:26 +0800</title>
taken back.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;LOL, you are (very) fond of hypothetical questions, aren't you?
As seen in your other posts.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not free petrol?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not subsidize all rice, petrol here in Singapore?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why not give your money away?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why, why, why....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;(Wait...), I will give you half the answer. See below.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;For a government so obsessed with control........&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 07:56:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7992360</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Genie99a @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 07:10:16 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;fair point, but the reality we are in is, has the government
let&amp;nbsp;any of the hdb lease lapse? property price swing aside;
typically, at the 25-30 years level, the government will exercise
its redevelopment program in these estates. look at toa payoh,
queenstown, AMK or one of the older estates. I have not seen or
read that the `owners' of these flats gotten back a fraction of
what they paid for or left homeless because of the lease expiring.
The government always acquire these flats back for redevelopment,
apparently at market price. if your flats are 25-30 years old,
chances are you will still make a tidy sum of the flats because if
you purchase the flat new 30 years ago, it will probably cost a
fraction of what&amp;nbsp;you paid for.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there is also a political motive to this. PAP's will not let
this be a political issue. when it made its commitment of home
ownership to the majority of singaporeans in its early days. they
will need to keep to this promise, by hook or by crook. this is a
huge factor that could capitulate the PAP if they overlook the home
ownership matter.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;your&amp;nbsp;illustration is a theoratical exercise. it makes sense
in isolation but the reality is there are&amp;nbsp;socio-political
factors that comes into play that will alter the entire
premise&amp;nbsp;of what you said.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
taken back.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 07:10:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7992352</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by redDUST @ Fri, 04 Apr 2008 14:06:53 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I single Singapore out for only one reason the - 99 year
lease.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lets do some maths.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lets say your parents own freehold worth $10.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My parents own HDB worth $10.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Our parents are enjoying themselves in heaven and in their will
have left their properties to us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lets say they decided to enjoy themselves up there at age
70.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You have freehold of still $10 (lets not take into account of
appreciation.)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But I have got (99-70)/99 x $10 = $2.93 .... I have lost $7 bcos
my parents bought a godam lease.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then buy freehold lor...... but can the avg Joe afford
freehold?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So in other words .... 99 year lease holders.... you know what i
mean lar.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;fair point, but the reality we are in is, has the government
let&amp;nbsp;any of the hdb lease lapse? property price swing aside;
typically, at the 25-30 years level, the government will exercise
its redevelopment program in these estates. look at toa payoh,
queenstown, AMK or one of the older estates. I have not seen or
read that the `owners' of these flats gotten back a fraction of
what they paid for or left homeless because of the lease expiring.
The government always acquire these flats back for redevelopment,
apparently at market price. if your flats are 25-30 years old,
chances are you will still make a tidy sum of the flats because if
you purchase the flat new 30 years ago, it will probably cost a
fraction of what&amp;nbsp;you paid for.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there is also a political motive to this. PAP's will not let
this be a political issue. when it made its commitment of home
ownership to the majority of singaporeans in its early days. they
will need to keep to this promise, by hook or by crook. this is a
huge factor that could capitulate the PAP if they overlook the home
ownership matter.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;your&amp;nbsp;illustration is a theoratical exercise. it makes sense
in isolation but the reality is there are&amp;nbsp;socio-political
factors that comes into play that will alter the entire
premise&amp;nbsp;of what you said.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Apr 2008 14:06:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7985569</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Genie99a @ Fri, 04 Apr 2008 13:45:38 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Seldom will people think that there's too much money. It's
something inherent in most of us. The thing is, if you tax them to
the point where the risks are no longer worth taking, they can
easily just pack up and move to another country where the tax might
be lower and the risks more worthwhile. The influence could be
rather significant, and is especially so for the heavily foreign
talent based Singapore. The balance is indeed delicate.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Yea i suppose so I mean i dunno how big the implications really are
if the rich all left Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes balance is delicate .... meybe them million $ president
scholars can come up with something.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Apr 2008 13:45:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:308493:7985519</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Reduce the  load of  pertrol in your vehicle replied by Genie99a @ Fri, 04 Apr 2008 13:42:24 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;thanks for clarifying.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there is the average joe who earns quite a fair bit (say up to
S$6k/month)&amp;nbsp;and the average joe who is really `average in his
wages' (S$2-3k). the upper a-joe if he lives in a hdb flat, can let
his CPF takes care of the repayment. technically, his disposable
income is not affected as his CPF can take care of the payment,
more so if mrs average joe chips in with the flat repayment. hence,
he is&amp;nbsp;left with his&amp;nbsp;only other big ticket item, which is
the car. in the singapore context, this average&amp;nbsp;joe should be