Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:He is a worthy leader of JI i would say. heh.
lol, that sneaky bastard right? u'd think they would put metal grillings in the toilet windows.
u'd think..
lol.
February 28, 2008 Thursday
Escape of JI leader: How can this happen in S'pore?
MANY Singaporeans reacted to news of f the escape of JI leader Mas Selamat Kastari from a high-security detention centre with disbelief and incredulity.
This posting from Jordan Tan in the straitstimes.com aptly summed up the reaction of many others: 'Hello, this is Singapore. How can this happen?'
Added cc1034: 'How can a highly dangerous person escape from a highly secured prison?'
Another disbelieving reader, who goes by the monicker howaiyee, said: 'Security at the detention centre is 'tight'. He walks with a limp. Yet he managed to escape. What a shame!'
'How can we feel safe anymore?' said a worried Lim Boon Hee.
Mas Selamat, 47, who heads the Singapore Jemaahy Islamiah terror network, escaped from the Whitley Road Detention Centre at 4.05 pm on Wednesday, sparking an island-wide manhunt involving thousands of police, SAF, Gurkha and Special Operations Command forces.
The Straits Times online discussion board has also been buzzing with readers' comments, with postings coming in at 3 am in the morning. As at 2.15 pm, there were 186 postings on this issue, with 16,528 views.
Many readers expressed concern about the breach of security which allowed the terror leader to slip away.
Said raymond_lo: 'I feel throughly let down by our security men.'
A user who signed off as a 'terrified student from SCGS', said she would not be going to school on Thursday.
Several also urged the authorities to provide more information about the escape.
Said shean777: 'Please, Home Affairs Minister, say something or more importantly, DO something!'
Indeed, a user who went by the name lib27 put it bluntly: 'The whole Singapore is waiting for an answer.'
Many readers also offered tips and advice to catch the JI leader.
Suggested mr.speakersir: 'Perhaps the authorities might seriously warn Singaporeans and whoever else in Singapore about the cosequences of sheltering him.. and whoever provides leads to his whereabouts and subsequent capture should be rewarded ... Singaporeans just love rewards!' He also suggested plastering his picture island-wide, terming it the 'great Singapore terrorist hunt.'
A reader readi suggested a CCTV system that could hook up images of all passengers in taxis that could be beamed to a centralised system.
Many also rallied Singaporeans to pitch in the search for the wanted man.
Reader jchlee urged 'all to keep a lookout for this damn fella, and help the SPF nab him before he really wreaks havoc in Singapore.'
Selamat can mean welcome or Saved in Malay and Thanks in Tagalog.
In this case he welcome the guards for saving his ass and would like to say thank you from a distance shore.![]()
Statement from Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng on escaped JI leader Mas Selamat Kastari in Parliament on Thursday.
I thank the members who have spoken on the Ministry's Head for their questions, observations and suggestions and also their criticisms. Members have spoken of the escape of the JI detainee, Mas Selamat, yesterday. Let me give an update.
There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road detention centre which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. Mas Selamat at the time was taken out of his individual cell where he was confined to go to the family visit room to wait for the arrival of his family. He asked to go to the toilet where he escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has. An independent investigation is underway and we should not speculate now as to what and how it happened. Security at the centre has been stepped up.
Mas Selamat is a security threat which is why he was placed under preventive detention. However, there is no information that he has any plans that threaten public security at this time. Nevertheless, we are not taking any chances.
Mr Teo asked why the public was only informed about four hours later. Our security agencies assessed at the time of Mas Selamat's escape, there was no imminent danger to the public. The plan was to lock down the Whitley Road detention centre and then start a systematic operation to find and arrest him.
The priority is to arrest him. No efforts will be spared to track him down. Security at all our land, sea and air checkpoints have been tightened, including areas where there is possibility that he may leave our shores not, from the normal immigration clearance areas.
In the meantime, I urge the public to stay calm and to report any suspicious sighting to the police immediately. Anyone who renders assistance to him is committing a grave offence.
Clarifications
Dr Teo Ho Pin: I just want to check with Minister when will the independent investigation panel finish the investigation and whether the panel will report its findings or recommendations to this House.
Wong Kan Seng: Sir, I will have to ask the investigators to do a thorough job, so let us not rush them. And when it is completed, yes, it will, the House will be kept informed as to what took place.
Singapore is not big , but might not be easy to find him too..
Why?
because he know singapore well also..
I cant imagine if he manage to get hold of a M16 machine gun
Someone must be provided him food and water , or else
will he able to survive long?
I can't believe such a case will happen in Singapore
Originally posted by noahnoah:
Singapore is not big , but might not be easy to find him too..
Why?
because he know singapore well also..
I cant imagine if he manage to get hold of a M16 machine gun
Someone must be provided him food and water , or else
will he able to survive long?
lol, maybe the kid who smuggled out a rifle was in league with him. actually the plan was to smuggle out the SAR rifle, then hide it somewhere so that selamat can hv a weapon when he escaped.
... in Singapore, there are a lot of First Time for many many things...
Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:Statement from Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng on escaped JI leader Mas Selamat Kastari in Parliament on Thursday.
I thank the members who have spoken on the Ministry's Head for their questions, observations and suggestions and also their criticisms. Members have spoken of the escape of the JI detainee, Mas Selamat, yesterday. Let me give an update.
There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road detention centre which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. Mas Selamat at the time was taken out of his individual cell where he was confined to go to the family visit room to wait for the arrival of his family. He asked to go to the toilet where he escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has. An independent investigation is underway and we should not speculate now as to what and how it happened. Security at the centre has been stepped up.
Mas Selamat is a security threat which is why he was placed under preventive detention. However, there is no information that he has any plans that threaten public security at this time. Nevertheless, we are not taking any chances.
Mr Teo asked why the public was only informed about four hours later. Our security agencies assessed at the time of Mas Selamat's escape, there was no imminent danger to the public. The plan was to lock down the Whitley Road detention centre and then start a systematic operation to find and arrest him.
The priority is to arrest him. No efforts will be spared to track him down. Security at all our land, sea and air checkpoints have been tightened, including areas where there is possibility that he may leave our shores not, from the normal immigration clearance areas.
In the meantime, I urge the public to stay calm and to report any suspicious sighting to the police immediately. Anyone who renders assistance to him is committing a grave offence.
Clarifications
Dr Teo Ho Pin: I just want to check with Minister when will the independent investigation panel finish the investigation and whether the panel will report its findings or recommendations to this House.
Wong Kan Seng: Sir, I will have to ask the investigators to do a thorough job, so let us not rush them. And when it is completed, yes, it will, the House will be kept informed as to what took place.
lol. dude. he escaped from the toilet. you think guarding toilet easier or guarding the seas easier?
if he can escape through a toilet window in broad day light, he can very well escape in a boat at night.
ok, even if he got through the toilet. how he walk out of the main gate?
Originally posted by dangerboi:I can't believe such a case will happen in Singapore
ah boy...it happened liao...just yesterday loh
... by now, he may already be having drinks and a hearty meal with Osama...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... by now, he may already be having drinks and a hearty meal with Osama...
both of them got links meh
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:both of them got links meh
JI is suspected to have links with Al-Qaeda...
What ya think?
Anyway... this is very disappointing. No imminent danger - so can release news only after 4 hours? Freaking lame reasoning. If he has his ways, he can and has the ability to flatten Singapore in one hour after escape. With or without any weapons. Since nothing has happened yet... Mr Wong is just damn lucky. It probably means that he couldn't contact any member YET. Or may be just planning. So in the meantime, we are still safe.
Still not caught yet ah?Maybe i should go to Dunearn Road and take photos![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:
JI is suspected to have links with Al-Qaeda...What ya think?
Anyway... this is very disappointing. No imminent danger - so can release news only after 4 hours? Freaking lame reasoning. If he has his ways, he can and has the ability to flatten Singapore in one hour after escape. With or without any weapons. Since nothing has happened yet... Mr Wong is just damn lucky. It probably means that he couldn't contact any member YET. Or may be just planning. So in the meantime, we are still safe.
its called irresponsible.
well, sporeans like reward yet
maybe just give everyone a public holiday off and a reward of 1 million
all go around the island , searching high and low for him
I think thats a a pretty good idea
The government didnt notify the public through any media right?
Like that so dangerous, let the mvp escape... but i though the building is fenced up one...how he escaped 1?
that bldg is a old former primary school
dun think really got any high tech security also
singapore shld look into upgrading the detention facilities
... for farks sake, the "govt" has got money coming out of their ass & they used an old former Primary School building for detaining High Security Criminals???
... OMG, this is worse than I thought!!!
Zhai la he.
Can escape.
Hero. ![]()
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... for farks sake, the "govt" has got money coming out of their ass & they used an old former Primary School building for detaining High Security Criminals???
... OMG, this is worse than I thought!!!
reduce, reuse and recycle.
maybe that toilet he used , could be outside the bldg
too
haha
i wonder how many heads will roll just becos of his escape.
main head will not roll
only small heads will roll~~~