Originally posted by dumbdumb!:how the minister cope with the stress ah?
i think the minister spend like $5000, go spa, relax abit, then maybe buy a new merc or bmw, drive around abit, then have a good 10 course dinner at an exclusive country club.
That's so stressful! Have to plan where to eat, which spa to visit, etc... ![]()
Originally posted by 333225520:
I am very sure some unlucky small flies will get the blame and then case closed.
Isn't that the case with Singapore politicians, find a scape goat to shoulder all the blame, while our highly competent continues collecting his few million dollar paycheck.
I doubt he has the balls, honour or responsibility to own up his incompetence in the security breach. Just look at the honour of the Japanese Ministers, if something goes wrong, they will take responsibility for the management of their Ministry and not play football (pass the blame to someone else). I think honour is something really lacking in the attributes of most of our Ministers.
I only pray that Mas Selamat Kastari goes into hiding elsewhere and not continue with his terrorism activities, because from hence on all future terrorism deaths will be the result of Singapore's incompetence.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:forget the SOC etc....most of the soldiers (excluding the cops) are mainly NSFs.....see their faces on TV i know liao.....all go there wayang a bit, serve for sake of serving, 7 pm, all fark off and book-out.
my question is how come he can escape?
is it inside job (bribe 1 of the gurkha guard and thus escape)?
also, how come it's gurkha soldiers guarding this important prision??!!!!!!! shouldn't it be singapore's own police force? is changi prison guarded by gurkhas or some outsourced cisco / private security firm as well???!!!
with immediate effect, we should all avoid:
1) changi airport (especially T3)
2) CBD area and gahmen buildings
anyway, terrorists very likely won't bomb our HDB, so we're quite safe.
i also hope and plead with them not to bomb MRT stations, because there's not much people also (i take MRT to work everyday).
want to bomb, bomb elsewhere. maybe some place where there's lots of planes or VIPs.
LEAVE US HDB-DWELLERS ALONE!!!!!!
having gurkha guarding is a good idea. our singapore police majority are malays. they might not be bribed, but they could be symphatetic to the cause. or maybe he brainwashed them with his extremist preaching.
gurkha firstly, aren't muslim, they're neutral, and they are fiercely loyal to whoever pays them. they're like.. merceneries.
its a good idea to have them to guard the prison instead of SPF. we all know how useless they are.
AP - Friday, February 29
SINGAPORE - The Singapore government apologized Thursday for a rare security lapse after an alleged Islamic terror leader escaped from jail, triggering a massive manhunt across the island nation for a man who walks with a limp.
Authorities said Mas Selamat Kastari, who once allegedly plotted to hijack a plane and crash it into Singapore's international Changi airport, slipped away from a detention center Wednesday. Mas Selamat is said to be commander of the al-Qaida-linked Jemaah Islamiyah's Singapore arm.
Minister of Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng said Mas Selamat escaped after being taken from his cell to go to a room to wait for his family who were scheduled for a visit.
Mas Selamat, 47, was granted permission to visit the washroom and then escaped, Wong said in Parliament.
"This should never have happened," said Wong, who is also the deputy prime minister. "I am sorry that it had. An independent investigation is under way and we should not speculate on what and how it happened."
Security breaches are virtually unheard of in Singapore, a small and densely populated island whose sophisticated intelligence system has been liberally used to ensure order and safety.
Among its biggest success was pre-empting alleged plots to bomb the U.S. Embassy, the American Club and government buildings in 2001 _ schemes in which Mas Selamat allegedly had a hand.
Singapore, a close ally of the United States, was named an al-Qaida target in a transcript from alleged al-Qaida operative Khalid Sheikh Mohamed's Combatant Status Review Tribunal, held last year at the U.S. military detention center in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.
The Home Affairs Ministry said in a statement that Mas Selamat fled the Whitley Road Detention Center in a wooded residential area in central Singapore. It said he walks with a limp.
"Extensive police resources have been deployed to track him down," the statement said. Mas Selamat was not known to be armed, but Wong said he was a security threat.
A security blockade spread out around the detention center. The facility _ guarded by elite Nepalese Gurkha guards _ is enclosed by high fences topped with barbed wire. It has closed-circuit television surveillance cameras around its perimeter.
Thousands of police officers and military personnel set up roadblocks to check passing cars. Dozens of riot police and military trucks parked along main roads.
The Gurkhas fanned out in the snake-infested forest nearby, checking vacant bungalows and peering down drains and back alleys of private housing estates.
Students arriving for class at a nearby girls' school were ushered through the gates by teachers and parents to an assembly hall where a school official told them "not to roam around."
Security was tightened at the city-state's land, air and sea entry ports, Wong said.
It takes less than an hour to drive from one end of Singapore to the other. The affluent, highly modernized Southeast Asian country is only a short boat ride from Indonesia and Malaysia.
Indonesian security officials said they would work with Singapore to prepare for the likelihood that Mas Selamat might attempt to come over.
Mas Selamat "would think Indonesia is the safest place" where it would likely be easier to hide, said Nasir Abbas, a former Jemaah Islamiyah operative who now works closely with Indonesian police.
Malaysia's police chief Musa Hassan said his forces were on the lookout and have informed border authorities, but have made no other special arrangements to tighten border security.
"We have not received any special request from Singapore as yet," Musa said. "We have not sighted him yet."
Singapore's Home Affairs ministry said Mas Selamat's plane hijack plot was in retaliation for the country's arrest and detention of some of his fellow Jemaah Islamiyah members in a crackdown on the militant group's operatives here.
The alleged schemes were never carried out.
Mas Selamat fled Singapore in December 2001 following the arrests of 13 other suspected Jemaah Islamiyah members.
The ministry's Web site said Indonesian authorities detained him in February 2003 on charges related to possession of falsified identification documents. They deported him to Singapore in February 2006, the ministry said.
Mas Selamat, said to be a father of four, had since been held in custody under Singapore's Internal Security Act that allows indefinite detention without trial.
Since 2002, Jemaah Islamiyah has been blamed for a series of terror attacks that have killed more than 250 people, most of them in Indonesia. Scores of its suspected operatives have been arrested across Southeast Asia since 2000.
Hahahah......
47 year old crippled father of four escapes maximum security detention centre managed by our DPM Hong Kan Seng.
This is hilarious!!!
please stop using the word "elite" and other awe inspiring terms to describe our SPF or any other uniformed personnels of singapore la. they don't deserve it.
and trying to make malaysia look bad because they don't seem to be taking extra precaution to "tighten" security?
that's a new low. what are you trying to hint? that if the terrorist escaped, it is most likely malaysia's fault for not coorperating to tighten border security?
please la. then who is at fault for letting that idiot escape in the first place?
i can't believe wong has the audacity to LAUGH in parliament about this.
was chuckling when he said "his pictures are splashed all over the country".
our DPM thinks this is a laughing matter.
Originally posted by Trump_Card:Wah knn ... have to shelve plans to go town with friends this weekend
no need scare la jus go.. if u destined to die, u will. If u are not, u kena bombed u won't die also
Originally posted by sir_peanuts:i can't believe wong has the audacity to LAUGH in parliament about this.
was chucking when he said "his pictures are splashed all over the country".
lol its a big joke what. he has gurkha guards guarding him. our lives are worth nothing to the men in white.
Channel NewsAsia - Friday, February 29
JAKARTA: Indonesia has stepped up security along its border with Singapore following the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari from Whitley Road Detention Centre in Singapore.
Mr Dino Pattu Djalal, Indonesia’s Presidential Spokesman, said Jakarta is coordinating very closely with Singapore’s security and intelligence agencies.
Detik.com an online news portal quoted Mr Dino as saying that the two neighbouring countries have always cooperated to maintain the border’s security. — CNA/so
Originally posted by sir_peanuts:i can't believe wong has the audacity to LAUGH in parliament about this.
was chucking when he said "his pictures are splashed all over the country".
Do you think he bothers?
It's not his security and safety at risk here.
His position and job is not at risk too, because P4P is an Iron Rice Bowl, maybe Iron Rice Bowl is a misnomer, should be Diamond Rice Bowl.
Originally posted by QX179R:Channel NewsAsia - Friday, February 29
Indonesia increases security along border with Singapore
JAKARTA: Indonesia has stepped up security along its border with Singapore following the escape of Mas Selamat Kastari from Whitley Road Detention Centre in Singapore.
Mr Dino Pattu Djalal, Indonesia’s Presidential Spokesman, said Jakarta is coordinating very closely with Singapore’s security and intelligence agencies.
Detik.com an online news portal quoted Mr Dino as saying that the two neighbouring countries have always cooperated to maintain the border’s security. — CNA/so
If Indonesia manages to catch Mas Selamat Kastari, our million dollars salaried DPM Hong Kan Seng should go Geylang find a China FT pros and shove his head (not dickhead) into her cunt and never see the light of day again.
Hahaha.....
How to buy houses and stay close to Singapore Prisons because of the poor security. The
The toilet trick works everytime. Took Leng How used it. I have seen it many times in Holly, Bollywood movies, and even Ch 8 dramas. But it seems our Home Team has not caught on to it yet. It seems prisoners also realise their talents everyday, what do you think they are thinking of, when they bayrak.
Mas Selamat is smart, he just need to hole up and keep still, in some unlikely place. Drain or some secondary forest. The police action in Woodlands, Tuas, and Changi Airport is just wayang for political appearances. Its something the government must do. And Mas Selamat knows it.
Getting out of Singapore is easy. Indonesians burglars have done it countless of times.
Maybe he will sent the Police Chief a post card from Sumatra.
After reading the last few posts, my feelings are that;
1) people are discussing and coming to terms with the incident(normal de)
2) a few people from the opposition camp conveniently trying to kick up a political storm (wait till they release the investigation results goodness and let the matter be resolved first)
3) people with this attitude; huh? see what see? stare what stare? tomolo, i still got to work my azz out at work. selamat or no selamat. garmen or terrorist not my problem. maybe later can be a problem. but better things to do now...like sleep..yawn.Zzzzzzzz
Originally posted by Skye2:After reading the last few posts, my feelings are that;
1) people are discussing and coming to terms with the incident(normal de)
2) a few people from the opposition camp conveniently trying to kick up a political storm (wait till they release the investigation results goodness and let the matter be resolved first)
3) people with this attitude; huh? see what see? stare what stare? tomolo, i still got to work my azz out at work. selamat or no selamat. garmen or terrorist not my problem. maybe later can be a problem. but better things to do now...like sleep..yawn.Zzzzzzzz
There is nothing political about it. ![]()
It's just our highly paid Minister's incompetence at managing his Ministry.
if he manage to escape out of singapore, more heads are going to rolls.
what are the people in the check point doing? and what are the coast guard doing?
Originally posted by Skye2:ya who? you know is it? when? how many persons? local? overseas consultants?what is the hierarchy like? i also curious.
Huh?
Isn't that under the purview of our Minister of Home Affairs, I have no privy to such information.
If you are in a supervisory position, either in a big company or whatever, isn't it your duty to ensure the work of your juniors.
Are you trying to say that all he does is play golf and visit spa, leaving the strategic planning to his juniors?
I am not sure if overseas consultant was used, I have not made any mention of it in my post.
But being someone in a top position of managing the Ministry of Home Affairs, he is not aware the ongoings of his organisation?
Surely, a CEO must know how the department functions, where are the organisation's strengths and weaknesses.
Not really la.. he wait until the "red light" is turn off then escape.. its mroe easier.
hide with bangalas the best.. can disguise somemore
Originally posted by freedom4ever:if he manage to escape out of singapore, more heads are going to rolls.
what are the people in the check point doing? and what are the coast guard doing?
I seriously doubt that he is going to cross over from the checkpoint. ![]()
Originally posted by ^tamago^:almost 36 hours. if the next 12 hours cannot find, i think chance very slim liao.
just pray that he is still in sg. then still got chance to nab him. if he is out, he definitely join up with his members and start planning attack liao.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:almost 36 hours. if the next 12 hours cannot find, i think chance very slim liao.
then we can start playing the looney tunes songs liao
maybe he could be under one of our downstair kopitiam
drinking kopi also
better watch out sia
in case ........
In my humble opinion...
I would like to suggest to the government to start developing high-security prison
s.
Build a high security prison on an island. Like Sentosa is a specialized island for tourism, the government can select and develop an island to build a specialized military/ security island which
contain the high-security prison only.
In this case, there is a natural barrier, the sea, so escapees will never be able to go anywhere far.
Just make the development loh....still got some idling islands....
Build a proper high-security prison.....