<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/311013</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by powis123 @ Fri, 21 Mar 2008 13:17:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Heard there're many disgruntled ex-civil servants and
pensioners, who are getting monthly allowances,&amp;nbsp;not like MOST
citizens who dig into own CPF for survival... These disgruntled
people know the system and are now crying like babies at their
ex-bosses cuz not enough pocket money.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well, its all hearsay I admit lah.. I got no examples, I don't
dare to name names, I know 'somehow' got elite club 'somewhere'...
I got no guts to SAY IT TO THE WORLD....wait i kena deported to
North Pole...I got no one to hear me&amp;nbsp;cry cry cry...some
forummers here......seem to&amp;nbsp;promote hearsay too...throw MP
letter at CPF-type forummers...hmm...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 21 Mar 2008 13:17:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7951485</guid>
      <author>powis123</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Wed, 19 Mar 2008 23:42:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;To: MP Charles Chong&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have actually written this same email to nearly all MPs
because I feel that the matter raised concerns all of us as
citizens and MPs should be conscientious to look into all or any
such issues and problems and do something to correct them in
parliament&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The problems I have raised concern the many policies put up by the
government like "anti-welfarism", "meritocracy". "rule of law" etc
as listed in my email which have been wrongfully implemented only
to benefit certain elites and not the ordinary citizens. My
conclusion is that these past policies were put up merely as facade
to justify its narrow interest or hidden agenda of clinging onto
power or glorify themselves at the expense of the people.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Is there a need to revisit these policies in the long term interest
of the people? Is the past system of taxing and underspending tax
monies to hoard them as surpluses a correct policy? is raising of
GST at a time when we are having surpluses of some $6 billions
pretended not to know of it a right move? Who is answerable for the
raising of GST based on misrepresentation of the surplus almost
amounting to deceit causing untold misery and hardship and runaway
inflation of some 6% with no prospect of the government changing
its course of perpetually raising taxes, fees and charges and
hoarding tax monies as surpluses.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I sincerely feel that with so many highly educated elites and
scholars in our government paid the world's best salaries and other
reward they should be able to think out of the box and start
looking for a good, healthy and more sustainable solutions honestly
without all the same facade and hypocrisy.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I feel that we should be open with this topic and be prepared to
discuss such issues as listed openly and be not shy to put up our
views on websites and if necessary all the MPs' replies.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With due respect I feel that while I agree with you that we are not
the worse country politically, and we have come a long way since
independence, we could have been governed with greater compassion
and righteous morality over the past many years. We are not a
matured democracy and are too young a country to have realized the
full goodness of democracy much as democracy has its own particular
shortcomings.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The problem is today the government seems to believe it has all the
solutions preferring to compare with worse scenarios in other
younger democracies which suits them without being bothered to drop
its many wrongful policies as stated in my email.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I feel sincerely that if our government leaders do not understand
or bother with such problems preferring to&amp;nbsp; be obstriches
burying their heads in the sand our MPs as elected representatives
of the people should at least be more concerned and be courageous
to raise them for discussions in parliament. I have put up a
proposal to MPs to review our current constitution but have yet to
elicit any response. Obviously the MPs only sidestepped all the
main issues by pretending to by busy or away and to give an
appropriate reply after looking into the matter. This sadly has
been the standard replies received from other MPs.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I do hope the MPs will be as candid and forthcoming as yourself in
engaging me on my particular views and inputs on our current
political system which I regarded as full of pretentiousness and
hypocrisy. Many policies as I have described in my email were put
up as facade to serve only the narrow interest of the governing
elites and leaders. In actual implementation the citizens do not
benefit from such policies which have produced many unintended
fallout and consequences.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I do not intend to elaborate further on these wrong policies of the
government as many citizens have already done so including even the
ex-civil servant like Mr. Ngiam Tong Dow with the insight of being
part of government for many years who should therefore know what he
is talking about and civic people like Dr. Catherine Lim.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Therefore what I have mentioned in my email is not unsubstantiated
criticisms or problems caused by wrong policies of the government
as many people have expressed them better all these time.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I do hope other MPs will be able to engage citizens on such issues
and not avoid them like what they are now doing. Nearly all of them
except for a few are giving some excuses to the effect they are
outstation or away or busy and will look into my inputs as soon as
possible. Are they truthful or putting wool over my eyes or are
they complacent and becoming only yes-men because they have such a
large comfort zone due to largely over-generous reward of jobs,
monetary and other benefits cleverly put in store for them to keep
them quiet and well behaved. These are the kind of MPs which were
just thrown out by the people in the latest Malaysian elections
because people have suffered from inactions due to their large
comfort zone and complacency.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I pray that our MPs will act in the honest interest of the citizens
and not give some excuses like "outstation" or "away" and never
quite give a damn to reply or not.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
This state of affair has been called complacency by no less than MM
Lee. I look forward to more MPs being candid and will collectively
raise issues I have raised to parliament in the next sitting in the
interest of the country irrespective of the authoritarianism of the
higher echelons as they as MPs are truly the conscience keeper of
the people.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Yours faithfully&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Robert Teh&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 19 Mar 2008 23:42:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7948155</guid>
      <author>robertteh</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Mon, 17 Mar 2008 13:03:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Dear Forummers,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;MP's Mr. Charles Chong has replied to my post as reproduced
below for your information. Obviously he has not replied to the
main issues and has evaded the issues which is the government has
merely painted a good picture of itself using excuses like
Meritocracy, Danger of Welfarism etc to do what it wants at the
expense of the people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;He comes across as merely repeating what the government has
always been telling the people - we are lucky and we could have
been worse. Do you agree that he has dealt with the main issues
raised in my post?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;QUOTE:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Everything you listed below has been done and probably are still
being done&lt;br /&gt;
by corrupt, incompetent or unscrupulous Governments in many
countries. In&lt;br /&gt;
some ASEAN countries there isn't even an elected Government e.g.
Myanmar.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ultimately, what is important is a sophisticated electorate that is
able to&lt;br /&gt;
vote in capable leaders with integrity and empathy for the people.
And a&lt;br /&gt;
political system that permits the electorate to vote out the
corrupt,&lt;br /&gt;
incompetent and the unscrupulous and an opportunity to change its
Govt.&lt;br /&gt;
through the ballot box.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
An example would be the recent Malaysian elections where the
electorate in&lt;br /&gt;
some areas wanted change and voted out many incumbent veteran
leaders and&lt;br /&gt;
voted in new leaders instead. The ruling coalition was also denied
a two&lt;br /&gt;
thirds majority of seats in Parliament, thus denying them the
ability to&lt;br /&gt;
change the constitution without the support of the opposition
MPs.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It is still left to be seen if this new situation will bring about
a better&lt;br /&gt;
life for all Malaysians. However we wish the Malaysians well as
any&lt;br /&gt;
turmoil in Malaysia or any neighbouring country is likely to have
adverse&lt;br /&gt;
consequences in Singapore and the region.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In Singapore, although we have adopted the Westminister style
of&lt;br /&gt;
Government, we have also adapted it somewhat to introduce some
degree of&lt;br /&gt;
checks and balance for the Govt. The Elected President (EP) is one
such&lt;br /&gt;
institution. The EP has constitutional powers to check the Govt's
spending&lt;br /&gt;
of the country's reserves, over the appointment of key personnel in
the&lt;br /&gt;
Civil Service, military and judiciary and the protection of
minority&lt;br /&gt;
rights.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
However if the electorate fails to elect a good President, then
even the EP&lt;br /&gt;
will not be an effective check on a crooked Govt.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Our political system is by no means a perfect system and is still
evolving.&lt;br /&gt;
However it has served us not too badly over the years during
the&lt;br /&gt;
transformation of Singapore from an impovershed state with a much
higher&lt;br /&gt;
level of poverty and unemployment than what we have today (despite
the&lt;br /&gt;
rising inflation and cost of living).&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Can it be better? Of course it can. In my view what is missing from
our&lt;br /&gt;
local political scene is an opposition that can form a viable
alternative&lt;br /&gt;
to the present Government. In many developed countries, e.g. USA,
UK, etc.&lt;br /&gt;
the oppostion tries to win elections to take over the Govt. However
in&lt;br /&gt;
Singapore the opposition only aspire to serve as "a check on the
PAP Govt"&lt;br /&gt;
and at best to deny the Govt a two-thirds majority. What is the
benefit to&lt;br /&gt;
the people if the opposition merely wants to check or deny the PAP
Govt a&lt;br /&gt;
two-thirds majority? The Govt can govern the way it wants (short
of&lt;br /&gt;
amending the constitution), even with a simple majority. Only by
taking&lt;br /&gt;
over Govt. can a political party change policies and implement
better&lt;br /&gt;
alternatives.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Will we ever reach a situation where a viable alternative emerges?
Well,&lt;br /&gt;
again in my view, it is likely only if the present Govt. mismanages
badly&lt;br /&gt;
and the majority of the electorate feels there is a much
better&lt;br /&gt;
alternative.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Best Wishes&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Charles Chong&lt;br /&gt;
MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;UNQUOTE&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 17 Mar 2008 13:03:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7940692</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by mancha @ Mon, 17 Mar 2008 04:05:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Just last week saw a Bollywood movie in tv. It showcases
the&amp;nbsp;culture of corruption in India. The story is about a
family whose soldier son was killed in action. The government
compensated by giving the family the licence to operate a petrol
station. The bureaucratic nightmare then began for the family.
Getting the land, the permit, the utilities, dealing with thugs,
police, and even the military, all gave not too subtle "what will I
get" whats in it for me". Complains to superiors get the response
that that is the system. The story is about the patriach that
refuses to pay a single cent in bribes. He succeeded in the end,
with the intercession of the Prime Minister Ragiv Ghandhi. It is
credited as a true story.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;One line in the dialogue struck me. A senior civil servant, told
the patriach in all honesty: &lt;strong&gt;That the employee who takes
bribes and does the job is an honest one. The one that takes a
bribes and does not do the job is the corrupt
one.&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I would rather corruption not be a way of life in Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 17 Mar 2008 04:05:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7940290</guid>
      <author>mancha</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by stupidissmart @ Mon, 17 Mar 2008 00:49:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I don't know wat information u have access to but my impression
is all these allegations r not founded on concrete evidence but on
your own thinking. R they in because they r relatives of some
people or they r in because of their results and other merits ? U
sure they did not go through any interview at all ? Someone just
write a note saying "Mr A is political secretary" then he become
political secretary ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think for such a big claim, u need to produce a big evidence.
Otherwise I find it hard to believe.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 17 Mar 2008 00:49:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7939872</guid>
      <author>stupidissmart</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by kramnave @ Mon, 17 Mar 2008 00:18:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;1) Are these elites elites because they are the relatives and
friends of the people in power and got their position even though
they are a total dunce ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) Are these elites elites because they had studied hard and
gained government scholarships through their own hard work and on
their own merit ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Are these elites elites because they worked hard and got to
where they are because they are capable ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 17 Mar 2008 00:18:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7939728</guid>
      <author>kramnave</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 23:26:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Stupidissmart,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I do not need to name names, many senior posts in government are
reserved for elites connected to the government. There is a
clandestine elite club somewhere which determines who get what
senior posts. Very often these senior posts were filled by party
insiders.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is no open system to determine the quality or ability of
such connected candidates and these connected elites were not even
interviewed by an independent panel to evaluate the real ability
and potential for such positions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;MPs and ministers may be politicians who may be selected from
their own internal system. However positions of ministers and
senior civil servants and senior positions in GLCs should be more
open as they are paid by public funds and should be people who are
independent so that they will by loyal to citizens and not to power
that be.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If senior chief justices, CEOs, permanent secretaries, and
certain senior civil servants were chosen based on political
loyalty it will bring about cronyism which is bad for the
country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Let all public positions like these be chosen by meritocracy by
an&amp;nbsp; independent panel unconnected to the party of leaders.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Talking about meritocracy, it is therefore up to now only a
facade or hypocrisy. There are many people outside the party with
higher qualifications and abilities. But senior positions like CEOs
and permanent secretaries are only limited. Without opening such
positions to all the thousand of good people outside the
connections are being bypassed so how can we claim such a system a
real meritocracy?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 23:26:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7939391</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by Uncle Ver SG @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 12:15:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;"Do u wanna let you company be handled by elites ..." such
as&amp;nbsp;Wong Kan Seng.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 12:15:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7937924</guid>
      <author>Uncle Ver SG</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 12:09:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I don'y agree with your observation tat general promotion in a
gov sector goes to the people who r relatives of someone (not
talking about lee), not in singapore at least. I think u really
have to give me some examples &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If u talk about giving to elites, which means&amp;nbsp;more
capable&amp;nbsp;people among the masses, then I think tat is the right
policy. Who wanna give commoners or average performer important and
critical roles ? Do u wanna let you company be handled by elites or
by tom dick and harry ?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 12:09:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7937909</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by kramnave @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 11:33:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by robertteh:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Hi Stupidissmart,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is nothing wrong with rewarding talents or meritocracy in
theory or concept. What is wrong is the selfishness in narrowly
implementing it to create protectionism or cronyism of all kinds.
This point has been made many times too by ex-civil servant an
insider of the ruling party who knew the facts. He called it
auto-piloting in the context that once the supreme made a policy of
such nature, no one can change it and it becomes auto-piloted until
big problems came to stare at his face. Yet with such glaring
errors - there are too many - he is too proud to admit mistakes and
keep giving excuses to postpone problems and refuses to change.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is why Singapore has been straitjacked by one man who is
too proud of his many concepts aimed at taxing the people to the
fullest and sucking monies for the government without creating
values to sustain the whole business environment for the
people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look at all the prime jobs in the government and civil service.
They go to whom? Except for hypocrisy in admitting lower to middle
rung jobs all the senior positions are practically reserved for
their own elites and connections. There is even an inner circle or
some elite club who will be on the quiet preserve jobs for those in
the circle. Those who are not in the circle have no chance of
smelling the senior CEO posts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What about promotions they go to whom? Study the HR practices
adopted department by department you will find those with insider
connection getting these prime jobs? Is it not precisely some kind
of Bumiputra as practised by UMNO. On the surface it is good as it
assures the indigenious of opportunity to climb the economic
ladder. But when it comes to implementation who will get those
opportunities? The Malays as a whole are still not benefiting from
such policy like NEP.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;erm....so to whom the prime jobs in government and civil service
go to ?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 11:33:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7937862</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 00:38:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hi Stupidissmart,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is nothing wrong with rewarding talents or meritocracy in
theory or concept. What is wrong is the selfishness in narrowly
implementing it to create protectionism or cronyism of all kinds.
This point has been made many times too by ex-civil servant an
insider of the ruling party who knew the facts. He called it
auto-piloting in the context that once the supreme made a policy of
such nature, no one can change it and it becomes auto-piloted until
big problems came to stare at his face. Yet with such glaring
errors - there are too many - he is too proud to admit mistakes and
keep giving excuses to postpone problems and refuses to change.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That is why Singapore has been straitjacked by one man who is
too proud of his many concepts aimed at taxing the people to the
fullest and sucking monies for the government without creating
values to sustain the whole business environment for the
people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Look at all the prime jobs in the government and civil service.
They go to whom? Except for hypocrisy in admitting lower to middle
rung jobs all the senior positions are practically reserved for
their own elites and connections. There is even an inner circle or
some elite club who will be on the quiet preserve jobs for those in
the circle. Those who are not in the circle have no chance of
smelling the senior CEO posts.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What about promotions they go to whom? Study the HR practices
adopted department by department you will find those with insider
connection getting these prime jobs? Is it not precisely some kind
of Bumiputra as practised by UMNO. On the surface it is good as it
assures the indigenious of opportunity to climb the economic
ladder. But when it comes to implementation who will get those
opportunities? The Malays as a whole are still not benefiting from
such policy like NEP.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 00:38:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936948</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 16 Mar 2008 00:21:30 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Welfare is bad.&lt;br /&gt;
Corruption is bad,&lt;br /&gt;
Meritocracy is good,&lt;br /&gt;
Rule of law is good,&lt;br /&gt;
Talent is good,&lt;br /&gt;
We must reward talent,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is there anything wrong with the above rules ? If we do not
reward talent, they have better choices and will leave isn't it ?
Isn't tat wat every companies in the world is doing ? Wat
recommendation will u like to make to change rewarding talents ?
Don't reward them and give them peanuts ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 16 Mar 2008 00:21:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936905</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by kramnave @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 23:55:07 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by robertteh:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Okay, point noted. How to penetrate the numskull of our
unlistening and thick-skinned leaders to change their past
self-centred practices will remain a big problem for all of us
citizens to ponder over though.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Only way is to do what the Malaysians did - vote them out.
If&amp;nbsp; you get enough disgruntled Singaporeans, that can
happen.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 23:55:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936800</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 23:46:39 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Okay, point noted. How to penetrate the numskull of our
unlistening and thick-skinned leaders to change their past
self-centred practices will remain a big problem for all of us
citizens to ponder over though.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 23:46:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936766</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by TS Kan @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 20:18:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Every time u post it is always a whole host of negative
complaints. For once please tell us how&amp;nbsp;&lt;strong&gt;U&lt;/strong&gt; can
really help to 'make a difference' in this country of ours ....
Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 20:18:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936130</guid>
      <author>TS Kan</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by FirePig @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 19:49:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You should mention that talent in here meant foreign talent.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 19:49:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936078</guid>
      <author>FirePig</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 18:54:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Cloudy,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;No body forces you to read. You can also join a party why don't
you?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 18:54:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7936018</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by cloud210 @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 11:57:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;do u think of all these or u copied from some blog? seriously,
if you wan to make a difference in singapore or influence
singaporeans please join some political party or form yourself one.
no use come here make long post and expect us to read right? its so
NATO..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 15 Mar 2008 11:57:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:311013:7935307</guid>
      <author>cloud210</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>New Book: How to govern corruptly legally yet look good replied by robertteh @ Sat, 15 Mar 2008 09:03:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Corruption is bad, this is what our leaders tell the animals in
the Farm.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Welfare is bad.&lt;br /&gt;
Corruption is bad,&lt;br /&gt;
Meritocracy is good,&lt;br /&gt;
Rule of law is good,&lt;br /&gt;
Talent is good,&lt;br /&gt;
We must reward talent,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
How do you stop the government to promote his own cronies into
position of power to serve him and his own interest?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;