<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/311605</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://politics.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by whiskers @ Thu, 01 May 2008 23:03:17 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;maybe we shld have hamsters instead&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 23:03:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8054168</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by eagle @ Thu, 01 May 2008 16:34:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by oxford mushroom:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
It will be a cold day in hell if maurizio knows what he is talking
about&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You seriously demean yourself when you side with someone (TCH05)
who had the wrong idea about covariance to pass similar kind of
remarks about others on the same subject.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 16:34:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8053294</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by maurizio13 @ Thu, 01 May 2008 16:11:58 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by oxford mushroom:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;haha...your ignorance exposed&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
i suppose you know about S.D., covariances and variances?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe you should explain your reason instead of passing snide
remarks.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but seriously, i doubt you have the aptitude even with&amp;nbsp;the
google search.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;for someone who&amp;nbsp;claims that as interest rates rise, bonds
prices increase in tandem,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;you don't have much to be desired in the intellectual
category.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 16:11:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8053246</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by oxford mushroom @ Thu, 01 May 2008 08:49:06 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by TCH05:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Please dont avoid my question. I am asking you how much do you
know about negative covariance in the context of our discussion,
just to make sure you know what exactly you are talking about.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
It will be a cold day in hell if maurizio knows what he is talking
about&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 08:49:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8052270</guid>
      <author>oxford mushroom</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by oxford mushroom @ Thu, 01 May 2008 08:47:27 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by maurizio13:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Shouldn't you know better?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What's the point of me explaining to you?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When I know very well that you will not accept my
explanation.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You being such an authority in correlations and statistics.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And you need me to explain S.D., variances and covariances to
you?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you have impromtu knowledge, go google it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ever heard the adage, "great minds think alike".&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;haha...your ignorance exposed&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 01 May 2008 08:47:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8052267</guid>
      <author>oxford mushroom</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Wed, 30 Apr 2008 17:56:38 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;... do you people recall Sentosa when it was new &amp;amp; entry
charges were so high? Well now it is so dirt cheap to go to
Sentosa...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... I believe one day, Singapore will become like Sentosa when
almost all locals have migrated and even foreigners hardly want to
set foot here...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... by then, our ALL WISE so called government, will be
advertising for people to populate this
"So-Expensive-And-Nothing-To-See-Anyway" island...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Apr 2008 17:56:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8050672</guid>
      <author>HyperFocal</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by reyes @ Wed, 30 Apr 2008 11:47:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;rising electricity bills is almost an&amp;nbsp;world phenomenon.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it only depends how much each govt is willing to subsidies it.
how well we can change to alternative energy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;singapore should allow singapore cars to use CNG, LPG&amp;nbsp;years
ago and not just start&amp;nbsp;recently for&amp;nbsp;private cars.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;with this govt you know what u will get!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when things go wrong, they blame the world.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when things go well , it their credit!&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Apr 2008 11:47:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8049878</guid>
      <author>reyes</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by sunnytv @ Wed, 30 Apr 2008 08:06:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Oil price is dropping recently.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You have to see wherther you can vote. Your constituency is
contested then you can vote or else they win by default.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Apr 2008 08:06:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8049599</guid>
      <author>sunnytv</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by Ed11790 @ Wed, 30 Apr 2008 05:31:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;oil still going up?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Apr 2008 05:31:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8049552</guid>
      <author>Ed11790</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by kilua @ Wed, 30 Apr 2008 02:40:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hong Kongs Charges&amp;nbsp; 0.96HKD&amp;nbsp; Per Kwh (0.167SGD)
(&lt;a href=
"http://www.hec.com.hk/hehWeb/DomesticServices/BillingPaymentAndElectricityTariff/TariffTable/Index_en.htm"
rel="nofollow"&gt;link&lt;/a&gt;) and Hong Kong Power companies makes&amp;nbsp;
about &lt;strong&gt;10% Returns on Equity&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore Power charges 23.88kwh and makes &lt;strong&gt;20% Returns
on Equity&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If a family consumes 300KWH/ month, they would pay $188 more per
year due to overcharging.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Growth dividend is only given once a year, but the additional
$188 is paid every year.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singaporeans would be better off with no growth dividends but
more opposition to check on the Govt., or better still, take the
money and still vote for opposition&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 30 Apr 2008 02:40:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8049443</guid>
      <author>kilua</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by escadaraindrops @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 20:06:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;singapore is pretty awesome at raising everything, expect
people's salary...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 20:06:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8048182</guid>
      <author>escadaraindrops</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by Lin Yu @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 19:16:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;ha! ha!, they are trying to cushion the rise by asking the
people to enter the save energy contest. You get to win a car if
you are lucky&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/cat.png" alt=
"cat.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/cat.png" alt=
"cat.png" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/cat.png" alt="cat.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 19:16:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8048086</guid>
      <author>Lin Yu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 19:04:15 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Focors:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nothing ever comes down in singapore, except CPF rates&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... well, if nothing ever goes down in SIngapore, then one day they
will be the only thing that will go down - in history that
is...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 19:04:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8048069</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by Focors @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 18:16:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;nothing ever comes down in singapore, except CPF rates&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 18:16:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047982</guid>
      <author>Focors</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 18:15:06 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by reyes:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;what we can do within our means is to reduce usage of
electricity.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;eg. watch premier league, dont watch la liga.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;buy smaller size TV.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;charge handphone in office.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;other than that we cant do much.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... no, there's MUCH we can all do come next GE...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... now till then, we can only count &amp;amp; fortify our reasons
for voting them out...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... they keep sticking to their lame excuse of keeping the
economy going...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... but keeping it going for who's benefits? The People?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... We are the PEOPLE in ACTION all the time, while they PARTY
all the way...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 18:15:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047979</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by reyes @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 17:19:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;what we can do within our means is to reduce usage of
electricity.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;eg. watch premier league, dont watch la liga.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;buy smaller size TV.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;charge handphone in office.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;other than that we cant do much.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 17:19:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047858</guid>
      <author>reyes</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 13:45:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;... people in SIngapore are too busy trying to survive to make
any noise in public over the way government does things, not just
because of strict laws in place on demonstrations..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... as such, the government now has a lot of rope to do what
comes naturally - and I need not say what...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 13:45:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047358</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 13:30:46 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by t_a_s:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They give impression that gahmen is helping the ppl. in actual
fact, they are sucking ur money&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... this is precisely their talent!&amp;nbsp; They merely SKIRT issues
people face by implementing half-assed solutions or reliefs which
is akin to giving you a glass of water to put out a forest
fire...!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.. just look at Medisave; they recently allow people to use it
to pay for common chronic ailments, but gives you $400 to last you
one whole year! Isn't that half-assed and a cup of water for your
forest fire???&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 13:30:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047325</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by t_a_s @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 11:20:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;They give impression that gahmen is helping the ppl. in actual
fact, they are sucking ur money&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 11:20:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8047055</guid>
      <author>t_a_s</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 09:35:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;... same farking trend all these so called 'good years'...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... whatever NSS, ERS, GST Rebates they give you, they take it
all back through all these increases..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... and WIS is a farking joke...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 09:35:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8046866</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by waverider2 @ Tue, 29 Apr 2008 07:28:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i just want to give some clarification,having worked in this
line a number of years:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the price of electricy in Singapore is primarily determined by
the gas agreements we've signed with Indonesia&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;(almost all our electricity is now gas fired) some years
back. The pricing mechanism is pegged directly to&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the price of oil in the spot market. very much like the A+B (oil
price) formula quoted above. there are some other&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;factors that go into the A and B parts, including US Fx rates,
but the run up in oil is the overwhelming factor in the&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;huge increase in rates we've seen the past year or so.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;for eg, USD has fallen about 20% (from ~1.6 to 1.35) compared to
a year ago. however oil now is almost 60% higher ($106 compared to
~$65 for the period used to determine the oil price when deciding
the rates) in the same period. so you can roughly expect rates to
be about ~ 0.8*1.6 =30 % higher compared to a year ago. its not
exact but roughly speaking if you want to know your rates in the
future, just keep track of the USD and NYMEX crude oil prices to
get a ball park figure for rate increases (or decrease if the oil
price goes down0.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;whether the pricing mechanism was a good deal or not, the
contract was signed a long time back, and is open for discussion
but do remember how difficult it will be to renegotiate contracts
especially when energy prices now are so high.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Apr 2008 07:28:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:8046759</guid>
      <author>waverider2</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by Uncle Ver SG @ Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:22:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Never mention government outlay.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:22:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:7971113</guid>
      <author>Uncle Ver SG</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by maurizio13 @ Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:13:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;2007 lah&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With stronger than expected economic growth in 2007, the
projected Budget outturn improved significantly. We expect the
Overall Budget Balance to be a surplus of $6.4 billion for
Financial Year (FY) 2007, compared to the deficit of $0.7 billion
that was originally projected.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/speech_p1/p1.html"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/speech_p1/p1.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:13:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:7971105</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by Uncle Ver SG @ Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:04:17 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Maybe 2010. To keep up with inflation.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;"we have $6 billions in surplus."&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Really Singapore government $6 billion in surplus 2008? Whats
the total revenue&amp;nbsp;and total expenditure btw?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 29 Mar 2008 12:04:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">politics.sgforums.com:10:311605:7971087</guid>
      <author>Uncle Ver SG</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Cost of electricity to go up from April as oil prices rise replied by maurizio13 @ Sat, 29 Mar 2008 11:39:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The P4P government is so efficient and good at maintaining our
budget that we have $6 billions in surplus.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Increase GST and you'll get more surplus, then the operating
surplus will go to the reserves.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The P4P government is so efficient that Temasek is making so
much money from&amp;nbsp;our local&amp;nbsp;investments.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Increase electricity tariffs and transport fares and you'll make
more money from local investments.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Perhaps we should raise the President,&amp;nbsp;MM, SM,