<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Singapore is the best place to live?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/313053</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 11:12:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by sgdiehard:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Money you have to depart with is not your money. if you don't
decide how the money would be spent for the future, then that is
not your investment. Tax payment is different from your CPF
investment. Government's revenue is not your money. you can
influence the way money is to be spent only via your vote to select
the right government to handle the money. Even then, you don't
always have what you wish. Not all american agree with the
government's policy on iraq, not only money is spent, their young
men are sent to fight other people's war!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the budget debate is just over, how government gets their
revenue and how the money would be spent are all there. you may not
like it, don't have to agree with it, what is good use to you may
not be good use to others, you may even want to think that they
were not telling the truth, there are ways through which you can
question, but you are not likely to get any answer here in this
forum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;MNC are free to recruit anybody, in Singapore and in many other
countries, will stopping recruitment of foreigners help the locals?
think again.&amp;nbsp;The only organisations I believe MUST employ
singaporeans are the government and related organizations, the
civil service, the SAF....then the heads will know the problem of
and with&amp;nbsp;the locals. and in that way the government would be
looking after its people, especially those who can't find jobs
among the MNC. Prepared to sing the same song?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Perhaps so.. if I can just force myself to believe that my taxes
is just a fee I pay to live in SG.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And yes.. we vote to choose who governs our life.. but I'd also
like to have the right to impeach/fire lousy leaders ? Fair right
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And.. if the government's revenue is not her people's money..
then who does it belong to ? LHL ? Lee family ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why is there no propositions for the people to choose how they
want the money to be spent ? Shouldn't they let the public decide
what the public want ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't know what kind of song you want to me sing. but your
tune is out of wack !..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;A great civilization is not conquered from without
until it has destroyed itself from within.-W.Durant&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 11:12:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995516</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 10:23:20 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you have been influenced by the people critical of PAP in
this forum?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not influenced.. rather.. in agreement..I do have my own eyes to
see and own brain to think.. ya know ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not that.. they've been perfect before.. just that I have a
limit to the amount of shyt I can take from the gahmen.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 10:23:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995445</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 10:16:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;div class=""&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: medium; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 14pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Public
Accountability&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=""&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: x-small; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Leong Sze
Hian&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;In all the Parliamentary
Debates, Singaporeans have never been told what the amount of our
reserves is, by way of the Government Investment Corporation (GIC)
and Temasek&#8217;s assets.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;In the ChannelNewsAsia
&lt;a href=
"http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/335162/1/.html"
title=
"http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/335162/1/.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;report&lt;/a&gt;,&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&#8220;Young NTUC members ask
wide range of questions at forum&#8221; (15 March 2008), it states that
:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"margin-bottom: 14.15pt; margin-left: 0.5in; margin-right: 0in;"&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&#8220;The audience also got the
answer to perhaps one of the biggest money question of them
all.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Mrs Lim (Hwee Hua,
Minister of State for Finance) said: &#8220;You asked how much reserves
we have. I&#8217;m sorry &#8211; I am not able to give you that answer. There
are many, many people who are interested in how much we have. It
has nothing to do with not wanting Singaporeans to know. It&#8217;s only
if we go public with you, a lot of other people will
know.&#8221;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;What harm can there be to
disclose this information to Singaporeans? Wouldn&#8217;t it cause
greater harm to Singapore&#8217;s reputation and standing by not
disclosing?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Perhaps one possible
reason I can think of may be that if we know the total assets, then
it may have to continue to be disclosed every year. Then, we may be
able to track the ups and downs of our investments and
assets.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Are Budget surpluses and
CPF added to the funds of GIC or Temasek? This is perhaps
reminiscent of our late President Ong teng Cheong&#8217;s remarks, that
when he asked for a listing of the nation&#8217;s assets, he was told it
would take 54 man-years.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;The Bloomberg News report
(Mar 21),&#8220;Temasek Says It&#8217;s Not Affected by Paulson Pact on Wealth
Funds&#8221;, states that &#8220;An agreement by government-run funds of Abu
Dhabi and Singapore to increase transparency won&#8217;t shed more light
on &lt;a href=
"http://theonlinecitizen.wordpress.com/apps/quote?ticker=TMSK%3ASP"
title=
"http://theonlinecitizen.wordpress.com/apps/quote?ticker=TMSK%3ASP"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Temasek Holdings Pte&#8217;s&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;
&lt;span style="font-size: x-small; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;
$118 billion portfolio, because the company said it already meets
disclosure guidelines.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;U.S. Treasury Secretary
Henry Paulson said recently that funds, including the Government of
Singapore Investment Corp, agreed to adopt rules for greater
disclosure. Temasek, owned by Singapore&#8217;s finance ministry, said it
already provides more information than government-run
funds.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"margin-bottom: 6pt; margin-left: 0.5in; margin-right: 0in;"&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&#8220;Temasek is not a
sovereign wealth fund,&#8221; spokesman &lt;a href=
"http://search.bloomberg.com/search?q=Mark%0ALee&amp;amp;amp;site=wnews&amp;amp;amp;client=wnews&amp;amp;amp;proxystylesheet=wnews&amp;amp;amp;output=xml_no_dtd&amp;amp;amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;filter=p&amp;amp;amp;getfields=wnnis&amp;amp;amp;sort=date:D:S:d1"
title=
"http://search.bloomberg.com/search?q=Mark%0ALee&amp;amp;amp;site=wnews&amp;amp;amp;client=wnews&amp;amp;amp;proxystylesheet=wnews&amp;amp;amp;output=xml_no_dtd&amp;amp;amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;filter=p&amp;amp;amp;getfields=wnnis&amp;amp;amp;sort=date:D:S:d1"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Mark Lee&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;
"font-family: Times New Roman;"&gt;&lt;span&gt;said by telephone
today&#8230;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;. Temasek has to sell
assets to raise cash for new investments and doesn&#8217;t require the
government to give approvals.&#8221;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&#8220;Temasek discloses a lot
more than GIC and always has a strong sense of corporate
governance,&#8221; Lee said. Paulson&#8217;s statement &#8220;will not have any
impact,&#8221; he said.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;The company seeks approval
from a board consisting of independent directors and a
representative from the Ministry of Finance, its only shareholder,
Lee said.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Temasek in 2006 headed an
investor group that bought almost all of the stock in a Thai
telecommunications company from the family of then-Prime Minister
&lt;a href=
"http://search.bloomberg.com/search?q=Thaksin+Shinawatra&amp;amp;amp;site=wnews&amp;amp;amp;client=wnews&amp;amp;amp;proxystylesheet=wnews&amp;amp;amp;output=xml_no_dtd&amp;amp;amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;filter=p&amp;amp;amp;getfields=wnnis&amp;amp;amp;sort=date:D:S:d1"
title=
"http://search.bloomberg.com/search?q=Thaksin+Shinawatra&amp;amp;amp;site=wnews&amp;amp;amp;client=wnews&amp;amp;amp;proxystylesheet=wnews&amp;amp;amp;output=xml_no_dtd&amp;amp;amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;amp;amp;filter=p&amp;amp;amp;getfields=wnnis&amp;amp;amp;sort=date:D:S:d1"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Thaksin Shinawatra&lt;/a&gt;, triggering a chain of events
that led to the Thai premier&#8217;s ouster in a
coup.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;The company also faces
opposition in neighboring Indonesia, where the antitrust regulator
has accused it of using stakes in the nation&#8217;s two biggest
mobile-phone companies to fix
prices.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;&#8220;Temasek is ultimately
controlled by the government and it is not a private organization,&#8221;
said Cohen of Action Economics. &#8220;Temasek has many similarities to
GIC.&#8221;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;(&lt;a href=
"http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601014&amp;amp;amp;refer=funds&amp;amp;amp;sid=a31hmuebmfjQ"
title=
"http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601014&amp;amp;amp;refer=funds&amp;amp;amp;sid=a31hmuebmfjQ"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Bloomberg&lt;/a&gt;)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin-bottom: 6pt;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;So, &#8220;Temasek is not a
sovereign wealth fund&#8221;? A sovereign wealth fund is accountable to
the citizens of it&#8217;s country &#8211; is it or isn&#8217;t it?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Why is it that there is so
much information in Singapore that is secret?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;I attended the Human
Rights and Trade programme conducted by UNSW in March/April 2008,
and stumbled upon another &#8220;secret&#8221;.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Secret settlement - If all
money recovered, why so secret?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;I refer to the editorial
&#8220;Singapore&#8217;s great civil servants&#8221; (BT, Dec 12), the articles &#8220;UNSW
agrees to repay $32.3m&#8221; (ST, Dec 12), &#8220;Australian varsity agrees to
settlement&#8221; (BT, Dec 12), and media reports about the
settlement.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;The EDB would not reveal
the total amount or the repayment period. An EDB spokesman said,
&#8220;We are bound by the terms of the agreement which are
confidential&#8221;.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;As it involves about $32
million of loans and grants, which are taxpayers&#8217; money, shouldn&#8217;t
there be more disclosure and transparency, since the question had
been raised in Parliament ?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Since it has been reported
that the media &#8220;understands that UNSW has agreed to repay the full
$32.3 million worth of grants and loans&#8221;, why does EDB still
maintain that &#8220;the terms of the agreement are confidential&#8221;
?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Isn&#8217;t EDB contradicting
itself by saying that it would not reveal the total amount or the
repayment period, but yet the media &#8220;understands that UNSW has
agreed to repay the full $32.3 million worth of grants and loans&#8221;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;As UNSW officials also
declined to comment, how did the media obtain its understanding
that UNSW has agreed to repay the full $32.3 million
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;What about the $30 million
to remove steel and concrete pilings already driven into the
university campus site, which earlier media reports had said that
the university would have to pay ?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;In line with the
Government Investment Corporation&#8217;s (GIC) statement on 10 December,
2008, in conjunction with its $14 billion stake in UBS, that going
forward, it would set an example for others to follow, in providing
more disclosure and transparency, government agencies should also
do the same.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Are not government
agencies accountable to Parliament and Singaporeans, instead of
saying that the terms of any agreements are confidential
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Verdana;"&gt;Surely, the least that
Singaporeans can expect of our world class civil service, is to be
told how many cents out of every dollar in total, will be
recovered, and how long it will take!&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: x-small; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 10pt; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 10:16:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995434</guid>
      <author>HyperFocal</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by sgdiehard @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:40:58 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Umm.. taxes is a form of investment if you put it to good
use.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If Singapore's infrastructure is not built with taxes.. then
what ? Money that falls from the sky ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ok so we pay GST when we make purchases.. and where does this
money goes to ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With today's taxes.. . yes we pay to maintain the environments
and pays for the services..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is also use to improve or build better infrastructure be it
structural, educational or lifestyle.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, yes it's an investment. But are the people who handle our
money putting it to good use ? Are we going to get a better
Singapore in the future with our tax money?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The MNC can bring in the FT because no policy has been set in
place to prevent them from doing so.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Corporations looks at $$$.. government is the one looking after
the interests of her people.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is no balance.. we're.. pretty much.. screwed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Money you have to depart with is not your money. if you don't
decide how the money would be spent for the future, then that is
not your investment. Tax payment is different from your CPF
investment. Government's revenue is not your money. you can
influence the way money is to be spent only via your vote to select
the right government to handle the money. Even then, you don't
always have what you wish. Not all american agree with the
government's policy on iraq, not only money is spent, their young
men are sent to fight other people's war!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the budget debate is just over, how government gets their
revenue and how the money would be spent are all there. you may not
like it, don't have to agree with it, what is good use to you may
not be good use to others, you may even want to think that they
were not telling the truth, there are ways through which you can
question, but you are not likely to get any answer here in this
forum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;MNC are free to recruit anybody, in Singapore and in many other
countries, will stopping recruitment of foreigners help the locals?
think again.&amp;nbsp;The only organisations I believe MUST employ
singaporeans are the government and related organizations, the
civil service, the SAF....then the heads will know the problem of
and with&amp;nbsp;the locals. and in that way the government would be
looking after its people, especially those who can't find jobs
among the MNC. Prepared to sing the same song?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:40:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995347</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:13:01 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;And yes.. recently.. I really wonder what the heck SG gahmen is
doing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you have been influenced by the people critical of PAP in
this forum?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:13:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995295</guid>
      <author>Poh Ah Pak</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:10:08 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by HyperFocal:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... all these people here who sings praises &amp;amp; sides the current
ruling party, are blind to the doings of the govt.,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... staunchly believing in whatever policy implemented, but when
the govt. screws up - they are&amp;nbsp;nowhere to be seen in here...
and no smart remarks either...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.. it is hard to support the infamous FAP, because the longer
they cling on to power, the more they fark up...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... and in recent times, they are indeed farking up more
frequently...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I wouldn't fault them for being so gullible.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Afterall.. students tends to be impressionable.. having to deal
only within an insulated society.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't deny I used to be like them. Until reality hits me
squarely on my face.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And yes.. recently.. I really wonder what the heck SG gahmen is
doing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Time for LHL to resign I suppose.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 09:10:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995288</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 08:27:06 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
use.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... all these people here who sings praises &amp;amp; sides the current
ruling party, are blind to the doings of the govt.,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... staunchly believing in whatever policy implemented, but when
the govt. screws up - they are&amp;nbsp;nowhere to be seen in here...
and no smart remarks either...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.. it is hard to support the infamous FAP, because the longer
they cling on to power, the more they fark up...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... and in recent times, they are indeed farking up more
frequently...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 08:27:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995247</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 06:54:53 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Tax payment is not an investment where you expect return!
Singapore is not built with tax that you pay today. How much you
pay? You pay tax for the services that run the society&amp;nbsp;you
live in, you pay GST when you make purchases (you don't pay if you
don't buy), you pay road tax when you use the road (you don't pay
if you don't drive).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Lowly skilled and uneducated workers here are not FT, but they
provide some essential services to support Singaporean lifestyle
where no Singaporean prepared to do. The FT who take your jobs are
brought in by the MNC, dare not blame the angmoh?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you know this chinese words of wisdom, "qi lyu zhao ma", ride
on the donkey while looking for a horse. Find out who
can&amp;nbsp;perform better&amp;nbsp;before you make any changes to the
government, or you prefer walking?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
use.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 06:54:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995207</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 06:00:32 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;source&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://redfist.wordpress.com/2008/04/05/the-reliably-unreliable-government/"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://redfist.wordpress.com/2008/04/05/the-reliably-unreliable-government/&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;The Reliably Unreliable Government&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When reading an article (Straits Times, Saturday, April 4, 2008
- Prime pg.3) highlighting Mas Selamat&#8217;s escape and linking it to
complacency, I can&#8217;t help but voice out the upsetting unfairness
and&#8230;let&#8217;s face it&#8230;bullshit of the government.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Here is the golden response from MM Lee in an email
interview:&lt;br /&gt;
&#8220;The people on the whole believed that the Government will take
care of all security matters. But no government can be 100 percent
on the ball 100 percent of the time. A government needs the active
support and cooperation of the people.&#8221;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That&#8217;s what he said. And yet, how is it that the people is not
rewarded the same way the government is? If indeed it is a
collaborative effort to ensure the safety and security of this
nation, and more so in the part of the people to be vigilant at all
times, then why have the government so proudly raised their
salaries without the people&#8217;s validation or approval and pat
themselves on the back for doing such a good job? Since this Mas
Selamat affair is a big deal and is a major compromise of
Singapore&#8217;s security, then it&#8217;s only right and fair that the
government decrease their ridiculous salaries for doing a shitty
job. Don&#8217;t just blame it on the custodians. Ever since this whole
mess started, we Singaporeans have yet to see any politician or
state figure or high-ranking uniformed personnel stepping down
because they&#8217;ve failed to re-apprehend Mas Selamat in a country
that&#8217;s slightly over 647 sq km, where almost all exits have been
tightly sealed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Seriously, after all the claims of always delivering to the
people and even having the cheek to act as consultant to countries
like Russia when the government can&#8217;t even find one fugitive on
this tiny island, is it still fair for the people? Is it still fair
that the people have to tolerate the government&#8217;s high salaries
when we are stuck with more taxes and 7% GST? Most importantly, is
it still fair that after all the work the people have done, the
government enjoys the fruits of our labor and let us fend for
ourselves and ask we help them in cleaning up their mess, but when
it comes to the glory, we have no say in it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Seriously, is it fair?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 06:00:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995199</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Tue, 08 Apr 2008 05:43:09 +0800</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
.. I'm sure, you are capable of understanding my meaning of the
term 'RETURNS'...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... sure we logically should pay for 'services that runs society
we live in', of course we pay GST for whatever we purchase or NEED
to purchase..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... here, I am saying the govt is profitteering like crazy from
essential daily needs, taxing us all to hell, and in return, we
still need this Lifelong Annuity crap to end our days...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... Tax for what? Feed the govt of course... THEY don't owe us a
living, WHY should WE owe them such a highly paid living for a
progressively frugal exitence as citizens???&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 08 Apr 2008 05:43:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7995193</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by sgdiehard @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 22:31:47 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
... we are not talking about not having to pay Taxes. We're talking
about getting DECENT returns for the Taxes we pay...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Foreign Talents will&amp;nbsp;one day&amp;nbsp;cease to be the universal
solution for Singapore's economy...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.... the true solution is for a change of government...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... the current one (being in power for too long)&amp;nbsp;has
become complacent themselves but blames the people for the escape
of MSK, and every move they make to solve anything, drains more
locals out of Singapore and those who can't leave becomes a
liability they don't ever want to bear...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you have it; FT Policy sees talented and educated locals out,
while funnelling in by the thousands, lowly skilled &amp;amp;
uneducated PRCs to replace them...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/blockquote&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 22:31:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7994116</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by Short Ninja @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 20:07:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Still not too bad in Singapore considered how they spend your
tax money maintaining the roads and keeping the city clean
sometimes it is not always like that in other developed
countries.Come to my town and you can still see pot holes in the
streets and flourescent lights tied to wooden poles.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 20:07:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7993575</guid>
      <author>Short Ninja</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by kramnave @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 19:17:10 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Foreign Talents will&amp;nbsp;one day&amp;nbsp;cease to be the universal
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So whats a decent return ? the kind of welfare others get with
our taxes ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There are many others like you who say that the only solution is
a change of government. Change to which government ? Who to form
the government ? What have they promised you ? The only solution
?!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 19:17:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7993456</guid>
      <author>kramnave</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 16:07:32 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by kramnave:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
You might want to live in a country where you pay no taxes but
build your own roads, buy your own generator, build your own street
lamps, have your kids police the area for you and swim to Australia
if you need a holiday.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Alternatively, increase the number of foreigners to 4-5 times
the number of Singaporeans and have them pay your tax while you are
guaranteed employment etc. Provided they come that is.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 16:07:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7993137</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by TCH05 @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:21:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Singapore build a system which attract not only the rich, but
the hardworking people, who want to succeed in life.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So we shouldnt be surprise that most of&amp;nbsp;the people who
complain about Singapore tax structures are indeed the lazy
ones.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:21:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992801</guid>
      <author>TCH05</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by stupidissmart @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:09:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Singapore has one of the lowest income tax in the world :(&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tat means the richer is taxed lesser compared with other
countries&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But they do it to attract rich people to come to singapore&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And all countries tax... because someone got to support the
army, the police, the schools, the hospital, the infrastructure,
the bureacracy to support law, public relations, customs, firemen,
corruption bureau, prison, street lights, sewerage, garbage
disposal etc&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:09:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992782</guid>
      <author>stupidissmart</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by qlqq9 @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:08:00 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;... firstly, the Taxes we pay are for what in return?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;- NOTHING. Unlike countries where Taxes may be high (Singapore's
aren't low, just many eg. TV License) at the end of the day medical
and health care is paid for... here, you get taxed by way of
Medisave and now Annuity till you die...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... good? Hardly..! We're being robbed by legal means!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;... I wouldn't agree that being rich, would make Singapore THE
BEST place to live in; limited places of interests, over-crowding,
are some of the reasons...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;firstly, the Taxes we pay are for what in return?
---&amp;gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; Pay for super high world class salary
for&amp;nbsp;greedy evil PAP.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; If these evil PAP don't keep
increasing tax and impose charges for more ERPgantries and all
other craps they will have problems remaining to be paid world
class salary.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:08:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992780</guid>
      <author>qlqq9</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by kramnave @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:01:25 +0800</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
You might want to live in a country where you pay no taxes but
build your own roads, buy your own generator, build your own street
lamps, have your kids police the area for you and swim to Australia
if you need a holiday.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Alternatively, increase the number of foreigners to 4-5 times
the number of Singaporeans and have them pay your tax while you are
guaranteed employment etc. Provided they come that is.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 13:01:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992775</guid>
      <author>kramnave</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by eagle @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 12:24:47 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by TCH05:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Assuming if your average income over 30 years is $50,000 per
year. Your total income during that period&amp;nbsp;will be $1,500,000.
Suppose if you are paying 20% more tax&amp;nbsp;than if you&amp;nbsp;were
in&amp;nbsp;Singapore, you would&amp;nbsp;be&amp;nbsp;$300,000 "poorer"
because&amp;nbsp;of taxes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Taxes does not include only income tax.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 12:24:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992723</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by TCH05 @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 11:49:00 +0800</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Assuming if your average income over 30 years is $50,000 per
year. Your total income during that period&amp;nbsp;will be $1,500,000.
Suppose if you are paying 20% more tax&amp;nbsp;than if you&amp;nbsp;were
in&amp;nbsp;Singapore, you would&amp;nbsp;be&amp;nbsp;$300,000 "poorer"
because&amp;nbsp;of taxes.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 11:49:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992664</guid>
      <author>TCH05</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by HyperFocal @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 09:30:35 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 09:30:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992462</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by Genie99a @ Mon, 07 Apr 2008 06:53:12 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by EROPAGNIS:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;According to some survey, Singapore is&amp;nbsp;ranked as one of the
best place to work and&amp;nbsp;live. I wonder why so many
people&amp;nbsp;in this&amp;nbsp;forum&amp;nbsp;are so unhappy?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I'll agree Singapore is the "best place to live". It would be my #1
choice.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;However its not the best place to work.....by far.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its also harder to make $ if you start off poor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;....however its a very good place to make $ if you are rich.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 07 Apr 2008 06:53:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7992349</guid>
      <author>Genie99a</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 06 Apr 2008 23:56:44 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;MSK... it is really a big cock up. I think he manage to escape
liao. However because he escape doesn't means singapore is gonna
face a big terrorist attack...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;About casino, I thought it is a cut and dried topic liao. It do
bring in social ill but it also bring in wealth and tourists. Every
decision there r pros and cons. Countries like malaysia, japan,
british, america&amp;nbsp;and korea also have casinoes. R they facing a
big social problem now ? If u talk about casino, Geylang have a lot
of illegal casinoes now.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 06 Apr 2008 23:56:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7991561</guid>
      <author>stupidissmart</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by balance_else_complacent @ Sat, 05 Apr 2008 23:05:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;while all the many good news is attributed to our leading men,
who on earth wants to accept the baby called the ills of the
system, if any?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With Casino,&amp;nbsp; how many can dare to come up here and say,
ZERO problems will be created ? &amp;nbsp;Zero social ills will be
created ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I believe less people will be bankrupt due to Casino because
more people will win money than lose. U believe me right? Based on
the poreans choice, I think you believe me. No money illegal
laundering.&amp;nbsp;No murders.&amp;nbsp;No&amp;nbsp;drug and sex and gambling
addicts. No&amp;nbsp;marriage problems due to&amp;nbsp;gambling. No
prostitution due to owing money&amp;nbsp;to gambling. No family
problems and breakups due to it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sure. no problem wan.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Economy gain wan. All the glory.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyone wants to take the blame for social ills?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u tell me&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sat, 05 Apr 2008 23:05:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7988519</guid>
      <author>balance_else_complacent</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore is the best place to live? replied by balance_else_complacent @ Sat, 05 Apr 2008 23:00:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;As long as our abang has not 'come home', i am not comfortable
to endorse that the pore is the best place to live in, in the sense
that terror has eyes on the pore and abang has not 'come home' and
has gone UnTraceable in not just a country but a city and not just
that but a tiny little dot , for over 5 weeks and still
counting.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1. is there any Trace that he IS still in the pore, for sure,
absolutely sure in the scientific and legal sense?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2. How long will it take for our leading men to capture this
limper? yes, he has disabilities. and is UnTraceable in a tiny town
city.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But have no fear, with my confidence in the leading men, I
optimistically think the re-capture will be in 6 months time,
i.e.&amp;nbsp;24&amp;nbsp;weeks&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; or
less.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;this means can be tomorrow lah, doon ya get it ;)&amp;nbsp; .&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sat, 05 Apr 2008 23:00:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:313053:7988510</guid>
      <author>balance_else_complacent</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>