<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Double standards???' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/314597</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by sgdiehard @ Thu, 17 Apr 2008 10:30:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by BabyRex:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It's 1989, not 1986. And from my experience and what I had read
about, many PRCs'&amp;nbsp; from the younger generation (below 30) are
clueless or knew very little about it. I remember sitting in front
of the TV watching events unfold then ,&amp;nbsp; especially the
scene&amp;nbsp; where a man stood in front of a column of tanks,
blocking their path.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
thanks for correction of the year. Those born after the 80s may be
too young to remember the incident but they knew what happened. But
i am sure many of them would know about the incident because there
are many books written on June 4. Occassionally there are still
articles written to assess the aftermath.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The scene of a man stopping a whole column of tanks is a icon
for call for freedom at that time internationally. It seems that
the guy was not even a demonstrator but somebody living nearby. I
admire his guts and trust that the driver didn't drive further,
nobody need to be told what happened if you were run over by a
tank.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 17 Apr 2008 10:30:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8018531</guid>
      <author>sgdiehard</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hloc @ Thu, 17 Apr 2008 09:39:06 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #999999;"&gt;Originally posted by
redDUST:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;gee....thanks for the lengthy clarification. now i know why smrt
is so profitable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;are there no &lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;nda when you
sign on your employment contract that disallow you to reveal all of
the above&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;? or these are public info?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i am only jesting you in my earlier post. you seem perturbed by
it. my bad. it's harmless. btw, i&amp;nbsp;left school many years ago.
so, i am not as `green' as you imply. &amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is not any more information that is known to our family
members...... when is our off days, what time will we go to work
and comes&amp;nbsp;home, how much are we bring home..... Nothing
'Sercet' about it.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And&amp;nbsp;Yes..... I'm a little 'PISS OFF'&amp;nbsp;when ppl tell me
how 'Well' I should be earning because SMRT is making Tons of
money...... Not with that person, just with that simple thinking.
The trains have to keep running fully loaded or empty..... and yet
SMRT can't even give family members&amp;nbsp;of their staffs a discount
on taking SMRT's train or buses......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Which in my mind.... is as cheap as it could be..... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt=
"icon_confused.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 17 Apr 2008 09:39:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8018458</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by rokkie @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:48:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;don't be so fussy lah&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:48:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017668</guid>
      <author>rokkie</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by purpledragon84 @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:20:47 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Fatum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;reminds me of the time my uni organized a China-Taiwan forum ...
no prizes for guessing which group of people were behaving like
gangsters ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The taiwanese students were all measured and courteous ... a
credit to their upbringing ..... I left in disgust when the thing
degenerated into a scream fest for the other side .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but i thot the taiwan politicians always flying shoes and
pulling hair one? tv always got show one.. haha.. but they are
better than chinese nationals any day..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 22:20:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017538</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by Fatum @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:42:16 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by fornax84:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What I am putting forward, is a matter of concern. I am neither
pro-Tibet nor pro Beijing. As our local unis are getting more
internationalised, these issues of the foreigners may clash with
the interest of the locals. The sch is an institution to study and
receive knowledge, and most unions are not allowed to discuss
policies of the state or other related stuffs. According to the
govt, foreigners are not welcomed to politicise, put forward their
ideologies to influence SG, so isn't what these PRC doing,
contradicts this statement? My fear is that if these matters get
out of hand, e.g. 11 of them rope in more of their compatroits to
chant and shout slogans, or worst, get in a fight against western
students. Our effort to promote SG as an international education
hub will go to waste. Ppl will see the local unis as dangerous
first, rather than the PRCians as dangerous.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Just to&amp;nbsp;illustrate my concern, take a look at the example
in this link&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;a href=
"http://media.www.dukechronicle.com/media/storage/paper884/news/2008/04/14/News/Student.Gets.Threats.After.China.Protest-3322848.shtml"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://media.www.dukechronicle.com/media/storage/paper884/news/2008/04/14/News/Student.Gets.Threats.After.China.Protest-3322848.shtml&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;reminds me of the time my uni organized a China-Taiwan forum ...
no prizes for guessing which group of people were behaving like
gangsters ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The taiwanese students were all measured and courteous ... a
credit to their upbringing ..... I left in disgust when the thing
degenerated into a scream fest for the other side .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:42:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017385</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by fornax84 @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:36:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;What I am putting forward, is a matter of concern. I am neither
pro-Tibet nor pro Beijing. As our local unis are getting more
internationalised, these issues of the foreigners may clash with
the interest of the locals. The sch is an institution to study and
receive knowledge, and most unions are not allowed to discuss
policies of the state or other related stuffs. According to the
govt, foreigners are not welcomed to politicise, put forward their
ideologies to influence SG, so isn't what these PRC doing,
contradicts this statement? My fear is that if these matters get
out of hand, e.g. 11 of them rope in more of their compatroits to
chant and shout slogans, or worst, get in a fight against western
students. Our effort to promote SG as an international education
hub will go to waste. Ppl will see the local unis as dangerous
first, rather than the PRCians as dangerous.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Just to&amp;nbsp;illustrate my concern, take a look at the example
in this link&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;a href=
"http://media.www.dukechronicle.com/media/storage/paper884/news/2008/04/14/News/Student.Gets.Threats.After.China.Protest-3322848.shtml"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://media.www.dukechronicle.com/media/storage/paper884/news/2008/04/14/News/Student.Gets.Threats.After.China.Protest-3322848.shtml&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:36:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017362</guid>
      <author>fornax84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by caleb_chiang @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:24:20 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I was wondering and seriously pondering, to what an extent are
our local&amp;nbsp;universities biased towards foreigners.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yesterday, while walking along a sheltered connector towards the
canteen, I encountered a huge jam of human flow in the front. It
was later that I found out that a group of PRC students are holding
a signature petition rally for the Beijing 2008. There was this
China student parading abt waving a full sized PRC flag, while the
other student was holding a large plank card with writings, of
support Beijing 2008 and stop western media from demonising PRC.
Some other of their compatroits are manning the signature
books........&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I was wondering, why did the university allow such events to be
held? Last time, when the student union wanted to conduct similar
signature gathering on banner, to protest against the increase in
&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;tution fees&lt;/span&gt;, the school step
in immediately and stop the union from doing so. Emails were also
sent to threaten the students of the consequences of participating.
The sch used the execuse that such event may cause public nuisance,
and may cause public disorder. So the PRC students waving the flag,
blocking the walk way is not a nuisance? Besides, considering the
sch have quite a number of western nation students, what if a
scuffle broke out between them and the PRC students? Isn't such
things a cause of concern? Lastly, if a student&amp;nbsp;is to hold a
"Pro-Tibet" rally, will the sch approve of
this?...........&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Well... when it comes to money... the one who benefit will come to
stop mah...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:24:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017318</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by BabyRex @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:01:18 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by sgdiehard:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The PRC students know about the ang chia, their senior faced
tanks in their own country in 1986. if they are on scholarship then
they take the risk of being sent back to where they came from.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singaporean students don't have to give the excuse that the PRC
students have any kind of privileges. I believe the PRC students
are behaving like the fifth columnists in any country, just the
singaporean students do now behave like the local students of the
angmoh country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It's 1989, not 1986. And from my experience and what I had read
about, many PRCs'&amp;nbsp; from the younger generation (below 30) are
clueless or knew very little about it. I remember sitting in front
of the TV watching events unfold then ,&amp;nbsp; especially the
scene&amp;nbsp; where a man stood in front of a column of tanks,
blocking their path.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 21:01:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017254</guid>
      <author>BabyRex</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by purpledragon84 @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 20:44:55 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;wave singapore flag back at them and tell them to stop
demonising singapore with their shitty accents..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 20:44:55 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017193</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by LazerLordz @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 20:24:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If the SAO or OSA allowed the pro-Beijing 2008 rally, then it is
only fair to have the Other represented. :lol:&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 20:24:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017134</guid>
      <author>LazerLordz</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hiphop2009 @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:58:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;well, are u so affected?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i think most Singaporean student wouldnt care abt it.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:58:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8017062</guid>
      <author>hiphop2009</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by Fatum @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:16:44 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;There was this China student parading abt waving a full
sized PRC flag ...&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;haha, they were doing that ? .... *giggles ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;reminds me of my time in Canada ... one year during canada day
(their national day, 1st of July), where there are traditional
fireworks at many cities, people sing "O Canada" etc ......&amp;nbsp;
some chap managed to get the Chinese Natinonal Anthem played as
part of the fireworks performance in downtown vancouver .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the legions of chinese PRs there stood up and started singing of
course ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;needless to say, the ang mohs were not very amused ... it's
THEIR national day after all ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I pulled my hat low and scrunched my head down ....&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;sensitivity ? ... I think it should work both ways ....&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:16:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016962</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by sgdiehard @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:13:15 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Fatum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in an ang moh country these students would be called fifth
columnists .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in Singapore they are called foreign talents ..... I bet some of
them were even on scholarships here ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so, of course no action was taken .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if a few Singaporeans go wave placards on the other hands ....
look out for the ang chia ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The PRC students know about the ang chia, their senior faced
tanks in their own country in 1986. if they are on scholarship then
they take the risk of being sent back to where they came from.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singaporean students don't have to give the excuse that the PRC
students have any kind of privileges. I believe the PRC students
are behaving like the fifth columnists in any country, just the
singaporean students do now behave like the local students of the
angmoh country.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:13:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016952</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by Fatum @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:06:14 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I was wondering and seriously pondering, to what an extent are
our local&amp;nbsp;universities biased towards foreigners.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yesterday, while walking along a sheltered connector towards the
canteen, I encountered a huge jam of human flow in the front. It
was later that I found out that a group of PRC students are holding
a signature petition rally for the Beijing 2008. There was this
China student parading abt waving a full sized PRC flag, while the
other student was holding a large plank card with writings, of
support Beijing 2008 and stop western media from demonising PRC.
Some other of their compatroits are manning the signature
books........&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I was wondering, why did the university allow such events to be
held? Last time, when the student union wanted to conduct similar
signature gathering on banner, to protest against the increase in
tution fees, the school step in immediately and stop the union from
doing so. Emails were also sent to threaten the students of the
consequences of participating. The sch used the execuse that such
event may cause public nuisance, and may cause public disorder. So
the PRC students waving the flag, blocking the walk way is not a
nuisance? Besides, considering the sch have quite a number of
western nation students, what if a scuffle broke out between them
and the PRC students? Isn't such things a cause of concern? Lastly,
if a student&amp;nbsp;is to hold a "Pro-Tibet" rally, will the sch
approve of this?...........&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in an ang moh country these students would be called fifth
columnists .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in Singapore they are called foreign talents ..... I bet some of
them were even on scholarships here ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so, of course no action was taken .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if a few Singaporeans go wave placards on the other hands ....
look out for the ang chia ....&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 19:06:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016932</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by sgdiehard @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 18:58:37 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by fishbuff:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;PRC - do first, and stops when authority intervene.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;SG - ask authority for permission before doing anything.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nothing wrong. different mindset mah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Fully agree. Singaporean youths are apathetic to anything like
that. Afterall, their family can afford hike in school fees, they
are only interested in graduating and get a good job....if things
don't go well, then they either come to this forum and kpkb or
migrate to australia.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 18:58:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016910</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by sgdiehard @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 18:54:22 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by qlqq9:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You witnessed what you saw and nobody is stopping the PRC
students because PAP, lky very pro China chinese.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To speak against increase in fees does not benefit PAP so it is
not allowed.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;don't say anything nobody would say you are dumb. You think the
security having his meal cares if they are PRC students or
Singaporean students? who else you think would stop the protest? if
you were there would you?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 18:54:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016899</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by redDUST @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 15:03:00 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by hloc:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bro.... let me guess.... you haven't start working life yet
right &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_question.gif" alt=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;either that or only work for a short
numbers of years......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rule Number 1 -&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You are only a Worker.... NOT Shares Holder.... Therefore All
&amp;amp; Any Profits largely belongs to the Boss/Company/Shares
Holder.... and not the workers.... which is paid every month.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rule Number 2 -&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not happy with Rule Number 1...... as my HR like to said -
&lt;strong&gt;The Door Is Always Open&lt;/strong&gt; -&amp;nbsp;aka&amp;nbsp;go look
for a new job.... bye.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A newly enlisted &lt;strong&gt;Train Officer&lt;/strong&gt;...... aka
&lt;strong&gt;Train Driver&lt;/strong&gt;.... is paid a basic pay of $890 to
$1300.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;depending on your level of education.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You work 7 type of shift - Early Morning ($14 allowance), Normal
Morning (No Allowance), Normal Afternoon ($8),&amp;nbsp;Post
Midnight&amp;nbsp;($10), Mid-Shift ($8), Split Shift ($10 max) and
Nightshift ($14).....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You work the follow rota - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days
work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off -&amp;nbsp;5 days work - 3
days off.... and start from the begining again......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You have an avg pay rise of $30-$60 a year..... if your Boss
likes you.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You get to do Over Time...... if your Boss like you.... and
after working 7days + 1 day OT..... you'll only have 1 day
rest..... follows by 7 more days of work......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So tell me - &lt;strong&gt;redDust&lt;/strong&gt; - how many S'porean you
know like to work shift &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_question.gif" alt=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;And we are talking about 7 types of
shift..... you work most weekends and Public Holidays..... and if
you get along with your Boss.... gets $30-$60 pay rise a
year.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, does it seems that SMRT (The Company) making loads of $$$$$
means anything to me.... &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_exclaim.gif" alt=
"icon_exclaim.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;gee....thanks for the lengthy clarification. now i know why smrt
is so profitable.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;are there no nda when you sign on your employment contract that
disallow you to reveal all of the above? or these are public
info?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i am only jesting you in my earlier post. you seem perturbed by
it. my bad. it's harmless. btw, i&amp;nbsp;left school many years ago.
so, i am not as `green' as you imply. &amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 15:03:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016417</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hloc @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:57:02 +0800</title>
mistyblue:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Finta will cross onto the &lt;span style=
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;country's policy of racial harmony&lt;/span&gt;. The
school do not want to start the govt looking into it so this is
also one that will be clamp down.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Most correct....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Therefore it is safe to said that if any Pro-Beijing 2008
gathering is not stopped..... Anti-Beijing 2008 gathering could
start as well.....&amp;nbsp;destorying the harmony of all international
students in the School.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And if like you said earlier.... Profit&amp;nbsp;is that
important.... wouldn't NOT stopping the Pro-Beijing 2008 gathering
bring dis-harmony to the School and therefore.... &lt;strong&gt;hits
their Profit&lt;/strong&gt; &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:57:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016319</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by qlqq9 @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:56:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You witnessed what you saw and nobody is stopping the PRC
students because PAP, lky very pro China chinese.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To speak against increase in fees does not benefit PAP so it is
not allowed.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:56:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016317</guid>
      <author>qlqq9</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hloc @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:48:49 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Originally posted by redDUST:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;dun pull our legs yeah....smrt profits is to the brim. M sure
you get your fair share here.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bro.... let me guess.... you haven't start working life yet
right &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_question.gif" alt=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;either that or only work for a short
numbers of years......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rule Number 1 -&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You are only a Worker.... NOT Shares Holder.... Therefore All
&amp;amp; Any Profits largely belongs to the Boss/Company/Shares
Holder.... and not the workers.... which is paid every month.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rule Number 2 -&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not happy with Rule Number 1...... as my HR like to said -
&lt;strong&gt;The Door Is Always Open&lt;/strong&gt; -&amp;nbsp;aka&amp;nbsp;go look
for a new job.... bye.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A newly enlisted &lt;strong&gt;Train Officer&lt;/strong&gt;...... aka
&lt;strong&gt;Train Driver&lt;/strong&gt;.... is paid a basic pay of $890 to
$1300.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;depending on your level of education.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You work 7 type of shift - Early Morning ($14 allowance), Normal
Morning (No Allowance), Normal Afternoon ($8),&amp;nbsp;Post
Midnight&amp;nbsp;($10), Mid-Shift ($8), Split Shift ($10 max) and
Nightshift ($14).....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You work the follow rota - 7 days work - 2 days off - 7 days
work - 2 days off - 7 days work - 2 days off -&amp;nbsp;5 days work - 3
days off.... and start from the begining again......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You have an avg pay rise of $30-$60 a year..... if your Boss
likes you.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You get to do Over Time...... if your Boss like you.... and
after working 7days + 1 day OT..... you'll only have 1 day
rest..... follows by 7 more days of work......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So tell me - &lt;strong&gt;redDust&lt;/strong&gt; - how many S'porean you
know like to work shift &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;And we are talking about 7 types of
shift..... you work most weekends and Public Holidays..... and if
you get along with your Boss.... gets $30-$60 pay rise a
year.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, does it seems that SMRT (The Company) making loads of $$$$$
means anything to me.... &lt;img src=
"icon_exclaim.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:48:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016310</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by redDUST @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:00:38 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by hloc:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If any here thinks this is no possible...... &lt;strong&gt;THINK
AGAIN&lt;/strong&gt;..... this is&amp;nbsp;how&amp;nbsp;85-90% of low paid worker
behave at work...... which include ME..... if my Boss pretend to
paid me.... do you think I would want to work extra &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;dun pull our legs yeah....smrt profits is to the brim. M sure
you get your fair share here.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 13:00:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016270</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by mistyblue @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 12:52:41 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Finta will cross onto the country's policy of racial harmony.
The school do not want to start the govt looking into it so this is
also one that will be clamp down.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 12:52:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016259</guid>
      <author>mistyblue</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hloc @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 12:15:53 +0800</title>
mistyblue:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;PRC students protest about issues that does not concern the
school. They can protest al they want but it does not impact the
school's profits. The student unions intends to protest against
higher fees. This obviously impacts the school's profits. So its
only logical being a profit entity, what the school's actions will
be regarding "protest"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If we follow your line of thought...... then it would be 'Ok' to
have a gathering showing support for the anti-Islam film -
&lt;strong&gt;Finta&lt;/strong&gt; - ..... since it has nothing to do with the
School's profit..... But how likely would you think the School
would allow it &lt;img src=
"icon_exclaim.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 12:15:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016220</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by mistyblue @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 11:25:53 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;PRC students protest about issues that does not concern the
school. They can protest al they want but it does not impact the
school's profits. The student unions intends to protest against
higher fees. This obviously impacts the school's profits. So its
only logical being a profit entity, what the school's actions will
be regarding "protest"&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 11:25:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016179</guid>
      <author>mistyblue</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Double standards??? replied by hloc @ Wed, 16 Apr 2008 10:14:09 +0800</title>
fishbuff:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;PRC - do first, and
stops when authority intervene.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;SG - ask authority for
permission before doing anything.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nothing wrong. different mindset mah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That's what I'm try to said......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the School OK-ed the PRCs students..... then indeed it is a
case of double standard. If they did not even knows about it.....
then it could be a case of slow action.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As for the part that " The campus security was having his meal
in the canteen"...... I'm not too sure how well the campus security
is being paid..... but I'm sure I wouldn't want to waste my own
break time unless my Boss demand that I break-up the
gathering.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its a simple case of "worker bee" thinking.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1)&amp;nbsp;I break-up the gathering on my own -&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Pro - Nothing happens.... the PRCs go away, I make a report, my
Boss file the report.... lifes goes on.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Con - PRCs students decided to make a bigger protest.... even
pull in the Chinese Embassy into the matter.... my Boss need
someone's head to drop..... guess who's Head will that be &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_eek.gif" alt="icon_eek.gif" /&gt;.....
Ohh.... and I miss my meal break. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_cry.gif" alt="icon_cry.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) Pretend I didn't see anything......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Pro - Still get the same pay without doing extra job.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Con - If my Boss wants me to break-up the gathering..... Have to
do extra..... &lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;But at least the Boss will answer to his
Boss&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;..... my lifes goes on.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If any here thinks this is no possible...... &lt;strong&gt;THINK
AGAIN&lt;/strong&gt;..... this is&amp;nbsp;how&amp;nbsp;85-90% of low paid worker
behave at work...... which include ME..... if my Boss pretend to
paid me.... do you think I would want to work extra &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 16 Apr 2008 10:14:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:314597:8016066</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>