08 Oct, 08:18AM in sunny Singapore!

Can most singaporeans afford overseas Uni education?

Subscribe to Can most singaporeans afford overseas Uni education? 42 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    635 posts since Mar '08
    • being low in wages and high in  brain drain, are we a far cry from our western counterparts?

at the age of 21, most western youths are completing UNI while the Sg youth is toiling like a slave in NS

And due to the low wages of his/her parents , the youth is denied an education to see the world without a huge debt accumulating.

an ironic first world country

Edited by Melbournite 01 May `08, 9:23PM
    13,350 posts since Feb '04
    • no.. unless u from those elite family lor

Edited by I-like-flings(m) 01 May `08, 9:24PM
    16,813 posts since Aug '01
    • I was accepted into Cornell, but I can't go because I don't have the money to :(

So lan lan have to go NUS to thrash all the students here :(

1,842 posts since Sep '07
    • Originally posted by Melbournite:

at the age of 21, most western youths are completing UNI while the Sg youth is toiling like a slave in NS

My female JC classmates making their first few Ks NOW.. me? looking for a bloody part time job paying 7-8 per hr.. damn NS..

6 posts since Dec '02
    • Originally posted by eagle:

I was accepted into Cornell, but I can't go because I don't have the money to :(

Hey ya.... Its hard for us to get in local u, a lot of Singaporean poly student want to go NUS or any local U but failed, cant get overseas too....  At least u are luckier than the lot....

16,660 posts since Nov '03
    • In Europe and the Americas, lots of kids actually work part-time to pay off their loans and fund their gap year vacations.

Here in Speaker's Corner, overseas education and travel is considered an entitlement that kids and their parents shouldn't toil for.

How ironic for a first world country.

Edited by Kuali Baba 01 May `08, 10:35PM
    23,137 posts since Aug '05
    •  

*reads title ...

hmmmm ..... ermmmm .....  which overseas uni the TS is studying at .....

I was accepted into Cornell, but I can't go because I don't have the money to :(

damm ! ... what a waste dude .....

but was it you who said that they had scholarships there or something the last time ? .... did you try to apply for them ? ...

• Originally posted by Kuali Baba:

In Europe and the Americas, lots of kids actually work part-time to pay off their loans and fund their gap year vacations.

Here in Speaker's Corner, overseas education and travel is considered an entitlement that kids and their parents shouldn't toil for.

How ironic for a first world country.

Europe and the Americas don't let FTs migrate in until their own citizens no place to study and work..

391 posts since May '06
    • Originally posted by Fatum:

*reads title ...

hmmmm ..... ermmmm .....  which overseas uni the TS is studying at .....

Should change to "Can most singaporean get Local uni education".

Hmm , mus be UniMelb right? haha....

• Originally posted by whiskers:

Should change to "Can most singaporean get Local uni education".

Hmm , mus be UniMelb right? haha....

yes ... but that's not what he's saying ....

I want to know, cos i wouldn't want to send my kids there .......

damm ! ... what a waste dude .....

but was it you who said that they had scholarships there or something the last time ? .... did you try to apply for them ? ...

i sian already cuz govt dun wan give me scholarship go there

anyway now got local one from private company.

2,930 posts since Nov '07

NUS gd mah lao ying. maybe govt scared u go overseas study dont want to come back after graduation instead apply PR work there contribute to their growth.

i sian already cuz govt dun wan give me scholarship go there

anyway now got local one from private company.

Well done on the latter though. smile.png

• lets just put it this way..there are families which can afford to send their kids to local unis, but not overseas ones.. and becoz of the influx of FTs, which in turn arose because of the govt letting them in, locals end up having no local uni to go..

and overseas uni+ accom is not something u can pay off just working part time.. local uni is different though.. at least u can take a loan which is actually possible to repay..

1,024 posts since Sep '03
    • i am a poly student, going Uni is rather hard, sigh.... and its rather lost , and after ns, siao liao...

• Originally posted by purpledragon84:

lets just put it this way..there are families which can afford to send their kids to local unis, but not overseas ones.. and becoz of the influx of FTs, which in turn arose because of the govt letting them in, locals end up having no local uni to go..

and overseas uni+ accom is not something u can pay off just working part time.. local uni is different though.. at least u can take a loan which is actually possible to repay..

the scary thing is, this chap's not talking about local uni places .....

he thinks an overseas uni education is an entitlement ..... which is hilarious (and a little alarming, for someone to actually have this sort of thinking) ....

or maybe he wants to high-light the fact that he's studying overseas ? ... smile.png

• And due to the low wages of his/her parents , the youth is denied an education to see the world without a huge debt accumulating.

Actually this statement is not that true

Lots of NUS students get chances to go on exchange programs with sponsorships from the uni. Lots.

You don't need 4 years to see a country.

Edited by eagle 01 May `08, 11:46PM

the scary thing is, this chap's not talking about local uni places .....

he thinks an overseas uni education is an entitlement ..... which is hilarious (and a little alarming, for someone to actually have this sort of thinking) ....

or maybe he wants to high-light the fact that he's studying overseas ? ... smile.png

ooh.. ok.. maybe i misread or dun understand wtf he talking lo.. haha..

1,247 posts since Mar '06
  • 我为花狂
    6,248 posts since Jun '06
    2,049 posts since May '01
    • Originally posted by ChoCoChips:

eagle you really damn zai leh!

can i make you my ou xiang!

serious!

no

I still haven't prove myself in society yet. Give me 4 years. School is nothing seriously.

It is all about tips and strategies, and how you apply them.

• Originally posted by airgrinder:

heh heh, I saw what you wrote
      Answer is, really :(

There are pros and cons in studying abroad. I realised while in NUS that it is not necessary to study overseas to get more exposure.

And I was told by an overseas scholar that although he got sponsored a lot for their overseas schooling (in LSE), he still need to fork out quite a bit of his own money, probably more than what one would fork out while studying in NUS. So actually, study locally not bad also in this sense.

Please Login or Signup to reply.