<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/316881</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Lorry` @ Sat, 10 May 2008 01:05:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I feel that we could not even speak English/Mandarin well (very
seldom that i see can a person speak and write both well), an extra
language will definitely make the students suffer in school. Hence
i think this policy is not necessary at all.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If a person wants to learn a 3rd language, sure go ahead but i
feel that he/she should get the base right (English and Mandarin)
before hittin on other foreign languages.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but anyway to me, Spanish will be useful &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt; for
work and travel. and thats the only language im interested in.
Maybe this helps to motivate me in learnin the language &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
"icon_biggrin.gif" /&gt;Malay comes next.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;German seems difficult for me &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt=
"icon_confused.gif" /&gt; but luckily i dont fancy that&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 01:05:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8074801</guid>
      <author>Lorry`</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by rokkie @ Fri, 09 May 2008 22:16:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;it's in the curriculum but to learn or not is up to u&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 22:16:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8074357</guid>
      <author>rokkie</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by cubsarecute @ Fri, 09 May 2008 20:28:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;One can see this question in terms
of the consequences and implications .&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;It shd be made complusory if the
language allows Singapore to have an edge over other
countries&amp;nbsp;when the lanuage barrier is eliminated, thus
allowing more cooperations or trade with more countries, increasing
the country's revenue in the long run.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;On the contrary, it shd not be
made compulsory&amp;nbsp; because different people have different
aptitude in learning languages. It would be hard on them to learn
an entirely alien lanuage&amp;nbsp; andeventually unable to really
master the language, the result is to defeat the purpose of
learning a new language.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;Besides that, the proficiency of
many Singaporeans in their English and Mother Tongue are already
not very high. There's even this phenomenon of 'Chinglish"- mixture
of Chinese and English, and 'Singlish' - with lingos like 'lah',
'lor' etc. It would be unlikely that they can master another new
language to them, not to mention the already heavy workload of
students nowadays.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #888888;"&gt;Hence, studying another foreign
language should&amp;nbsp; not be made compulsory. Instead, only
individals who have the capability, passion and aptitude to take up
nother new language should be encouraged to learn a foreign
language.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 20:28:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8074048</guid>
      <author>cubsarecute</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by TooFree @ Fri, 09 May 2008 14:37:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I would&amp;nbsp;prefer to&amp;nbsp;keep the option
open&amp;nbsp;for&amp;nbsp;keen students, who&amp;nbsp;are&amp;nbsp;interested,
able and willing to&amp;nbsp;master additional language
outside&amp;nbsp;the&amp;nbsp;school syllabus. Beside, the students can
always have a chance later in life to pick&amp;nbsp;it up with foreign
schools, be it a job requirement or a personal interest that could
come later.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 14:37:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8073407</guid>
      <author>TooFree</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Fri, 09 May 2008 11:57:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Teach them how to express properly in mother tongue first.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;After they can do that, teach english.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I know under the current system, to implement this reform is
impossible.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 11:57:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8072985</guid>
      <author>Poh Ah Pak</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Alucard101 @ Fri, 09 May 2008 11:48:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Teach them proper english first.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 09 May 2008 11:48:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8072957</guid>
      <author>Alucard101</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by pearlie27 @ Thu, 08 May 2008 21:31:30 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by kopiosatu:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the subjects i did well in are not forced upon me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Correct and this is esp so for languages. You must have interest in
the language otherwise learning it will become a chore.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 21:31:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071619</guid>
      <author>pearlie27</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 20:35:42 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;a cynic may just think the govt deliberately cripple the writing
skills of the masses to make them focus on acquiring technical
skills.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I believe that to be true.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another thing is the total lack of training of critical and
analytical skills at the 'O' level or 'A' level.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If that is their goal, produce people who are docile and easily
brainwashed and controlled, they have totally failed with me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Their propaganda in the mainstream media have no influence
whatsoever with me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;None.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You have failed PAP.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You cannot fool all of us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think they can fool 70%.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;30% will not be fooled.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is this 30% that will bring PAP rule to an end in
Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't think the people will forever be apathetic, ignorant,
docile, be brainwashed by state propaganda in the mainsteam media
and vote for PAP.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The people won't stomach PAP's bullshit policies forever.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Their rule won't last for long.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The trigger will be the death of Lee Kuan Yew.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I hope he dies soon.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 20:35:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071471</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by kilua @ Thu, 08 May 2008 20:06:19 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I think learning a foreign language should be an option,
especially for those linguistically inclined.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Instead of the current elitist policy of letting of a small
selected SAP schools take foreign language, those with flair and
command of language, regardless of school, should be encouraged to
take one.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As for learning English, I think writing courses should be made
compulsory at the undergraduate level. Many universities teach
writing in first year, but in Singapore, it is reserved for a small
group of elite scholars programme.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Early at O levels, students should be encouraged to write on
subjects that interest them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you compare the UK and Singapore GCE "O" level English, UK
has an emphasis on writing skills. The British do not do long
comprehesion passages like Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english/&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;Reading
non-fiction texts&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;(Paper 1,
Section A)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;Writing to
argue, persuade and advise&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;(Paper 1,
Section B)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;Poems from
different cultures&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;(Paper 2,
Section A)&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;For Pre-1914 and
Post-1914 English poetry, see GCSE Bitesize English
Literature&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class=""&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 10pt;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;Writing to
inform, explain and describe&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Comparing our syllabus with the British, a cynic may just think
the govt deliberately cripple the writing skills of the masses to
make them focus on acquiring technical skills. Writing,a skill
which can influence the masses, should be a skill reserved for a
small group of elite to control the masses.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 20:06:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071429</guid>
      <author>kilua</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by fudgester @ Thu, 08 May 2008 19:31:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;As lots of people here have said, the proficiency of English and
Mother Tongue isn't really much cause for celebration.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'd far rather have the focus be on the refinement of the
teaching of the national languages than go on a hare-brained scheme
to force all students to learn a third language.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 19:31:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071367</guid>
      <author>fudgester</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by bryanw @ Thu, 08 May 2008 19:11:47 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;want &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Aiming to learn Malay one day too &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
i know malay. butoh and chantik. &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 19:11:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071343</guid>
      <author>bryanw</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 19:02:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Strange policy.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 19:02:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071333</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by eagle @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:58:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;In Germany, it is compulsory for students to learn 2 foreign
languages (from a list they can choose) in addition to German.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:58:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071323</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:51:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;That is the doing of the PAP moronic education language
policy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Learn two languages at one shot you get rojak.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:51:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071317</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by SingaporeMacross @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:48:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;English cannot make it, Mother tongue also cannot make it, want
to add one more?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:48:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071312</guid>
      <author>SingaporeMacross</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by TehJarVu @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:47:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;heehee i am cleber boi&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:47:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071309</guid>
      <author>TehJarVu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:46:42 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;My view is to get rid of PAP and go for education reform.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:46:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071307</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by jayh272416 @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:44:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by cubsarecute:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Should all Singapore students be made to study at least one
foreign language?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
No. I think that we should be proud of our OWN language and use it
instead of using other country's languages. Making people study
foreign language is like suicide. Anyway, it's not such an
important subject right?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:44:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071302</guid>
      <author>jayh272416</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:40:49 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Should all &lt;strong&gt;Singapore students&lt;/strong&gt; be made to
&lt;strong&gt;study at least one foreign language?&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Angmoh english language oredi mah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ask Harry Lee Kuan Yew lor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;He is the one who set the bullshit policy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Corrupt our mother tongue, that bastard.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:40:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071293</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by FireIce @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:31:26 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;oredi have liao mah -- english&lt;br /&gt;
some ppl dun even speak own mother tongue well.... still want to go
learn other ppl's language... buey paiseh ah.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:31:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071272</guid>
      <author>FireIce</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by eagle @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:28:08 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Mimmy:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;English, mother tongue also cannot speak properly liao. Still
want to learn a foreign language meh &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;want &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Aiming to learn Malay one day too &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:28:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071261</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Mimmy @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:23:44 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;English, mother tongue also cannot speak properly liao. Still
want to learn a foreign language meh &lt;img src=
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:23:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071253</guid>
      <author>Mimmy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by kopiosatu @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:22:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;the subjects i did well in are not forced upon me.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:22:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071248</guid>
      <author>kopiosatu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by eagle @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:20:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If u really want to learn, it is never too late to learn&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Make it compulsory, in the end maybe even harder to be
proficient in even one...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There's always lots of time wasted that we can use for learning,
i.e. during train rides or while waiting for buses or trains. If
during each of these time periods you learn 2 phrases/vocab, you
would have picked up lots.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:20:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071244</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Study at least one foreign language be made compulsory? replied by Poh Ah Pak @ Thu, 08 May 2008 18:13:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Mother tongue also cannot speak properly, corrupted by angmoh
language, still want to corrupt somemore.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 08 May 2008 18:13:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316881:8071218</guid>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>