<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/316948</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by ray245 @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 17:51:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
Fingolfin_Noldor:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nuclear power in general can be made very safe with the right
safeguards and regularly audited practices.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That aside, because of the processing problems and the fact you
need a fair amount of land to operate one such plant, aside from
burying the plant deep underground, deploying a reactor will be
difficult. We could try that Russian idea of a nuclear reactor
installed in a barge though.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Agreed...it is simply NOT viable for people to continue using
fossil fuel in the near future.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And btw, Fingolfin_Noldor, I thought u said it last time you are
done with this forum?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And please, don't EVER let those greenpeace idiots misled you
into thinking, nuclear powerplant = building nuclear bomb, and the
fact that a nuclear meltdown means the whole island get blown up
along with the reactor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Take this article as a example on how important it is to replace
fossil fuel with an alternative power source.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The world needs to invest $45 trillion in energy in coming
decades, build some 1,400 nuclear power plants and vastly expand
wind power in order to halve greenhouse gas emissions by 2050,
according to an energy study released Friday.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The report by the Paris-based International Energy Agency envisions
a "energy revolution" that would greatly reduce the world's
dependence on fossil fuels while maintaining steady economic
growth.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"Meeting this target of 50 percent cut in emissions represents a
formidable challenge, and we would require immediate policy action
and technological transition on an unprecedented scale," IEA
Executive Director Nobuo Tanaka said.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A U.N.-network of scientists concluded last year that emissions
have to be cut by at least half by 2050 to avoid an increase in
world temperatures of between 3.6 and 4.2 degrees above pre-18th
century levels.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Scientists say temperature increases beyond that could trigger
devastating effects, such as widespread loss of species, famines
and droughts, and swamping of heavily populated coastal areas by
rising oceans.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Environment ministers from the Group of Eight industrialized
countries and Russia backed the 50 percent target in a meeting in
Japan last month and called for it to be officially endorsed at the
G-8 summit in July.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The IEA report mapped out two main scenarios: one in which
emissions are reduced to 2005 levels by 2050, and a second that
would bring them to half of 2005 levels by mid-century.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The scenario for deeper cuts would require massive investment in
energy technology development and deployment, a wide-ranging
campaign to dramatically increase energy efficiency, and a
wholesale shift to renewable sources of energy.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Assuming an average 3.3 percent global economic growth over the
2010-2050 period, governments and the private sector would have to
make additional investments of $45 trillion in energy, or 1.1
percent of the world's gross domestic product, the report
said.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
That would be an investment more than three times the current size
of the entire U.S. economy.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The second scenario also calls for an accelerated ramping up of
development of so-called "carbon capture and storage" technology
allowing coal-powered power plants to catch emissions and inject
them underground.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The study said that an average of 35 coal-powered plants and 20
gas-powered power plants would have to be fitted with carbon
capture and storage equipment each year between 2010 and
2050.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In addition, the world would have to construct 32 new nuclear power
plants each year, and wind-power turbines would have to be
increased by 17,000 units annually. Nations would have to achieve
an eight-fold reduction in carbon intensity &#8212; the amount of carbon
needed to produce a unit of energy &#8212; in the transport sector.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Such action would drastically reduce oil demand to 27 percent of
2005 demand. Failure to act would lead to a doubling of energy
demand and a 130 percent increase in carbon dioxide emissions by
2050, IEA officials said.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"This development is clearly not sustainable," said Dolf Gielen, an
IEA energy analyst and leader for the project.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Gielen said most of the $45 trillion forecast investment &#8212; about
$27 trillion &#8212; would be borne by developing countries, which will
be responsible for two-thirds of greenhouse gas emissions by
2050.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Most of the money would be in the commercialization of energy
technologies developed by governments and the private sector.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"If industry is convinced there will be policy for serious, deep
CO2 emission cuts, then these investments will be made by the
private sector," Gielen said.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080606/ap_on_sc/japan_iea_climate_change"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080606/ap_on_sc/japan_iea_climate_change&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And please la...can some of you STOP following every bloody
mistake the US make? Yes, the US is better than singapore in many
ways does not mean the USA will not make any mistake.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Currently, the singapore government policy of restricting car
ownership is a GOOD idea. Mainly because it can at the least reduce
greenhouse gas emission. I mean come on, research has been telling
us for god knows how long that private cars IS polluting the air
like nobody's bussiness?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Restrict the amount of cars on the road, if it is necssary,
don't ever let fuel cost go down, just to ensure people do not hug
their beloved cars too much.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Cars IS a luxury item, and people can live without owning a damn
car, the faster they let go of their love for luxury item, the
better.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;We don't have much time left in countering global warming.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Also, with peak oil around the corner, it will be wise to look
at nuclear power for a change. After all, we have been told from
young that singapore should always consider the long term
advantage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The faster we adopt nuclear power, the better it is for us. When
peak oil finally start to take a huge toll on the oil loving US
economy, singapore will not be affected that badly.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And I want to ask, how anyone even read up on articles written
by nuclear experts about nuclear powerplant, instead of saying
nuclear power is unsafe just because greenpeace said so??&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 17:51:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8150030</guid>
      <author>ray245</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by purpledragon84 @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 14:08:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;well.. safe is what the experts, professors say.. very safe one
very safe one.. die that time is not they die.. is the people
closest to the plant that's affected..&amp;nbsp; MSK come back take one
C4 to the plant all nearby ppl honggan.. singapore wants nuclear
option? can.. build in USA or russia and lay the power cables to
us.. i support 1000000%..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 14:08:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149719</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by dukedracula @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 14:00:17 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;"Not-in-my-backyard" syndrome by Singaporeans&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
except when nuclear powered aircraft carriers dock at
changi.....lol....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 14:00:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149710</guid>
      <author>dukedracula</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by eagle @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:54:05 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by purpledragon84:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;even if the world says nuclear power is cheap and efficient and
safe and whatnot, singapore will wait and see one la.. wait until
ppl try for years liao den we follow one.. i don't see us as
pioneers when it comes to new stuff.. pioneers for new ways to tax
the ppl maybe..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;"Not-in-my-backyard" syndrome by Singaporeans&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:54:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149704</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by purpledragon84 @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:49:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;even if the world says nuclear power is cheap and efficient and
safe and whatnot, singapore will wait and see one la.. wait until
ppl try for years liao den we follow one.. i don't see us as
pioneers when it comes to new stuff.. pioneers for new ways to tax
the ppl maybe..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:49:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149698</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Fingolfin_Noldor @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:31:53 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What are we going to do about nuclear wastes ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Send it off to Indonesia ? LOL...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Send it to Russia for reprocessing.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 13:31:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149684</guid>
      <author>Fingolfin_Noldor</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by oxford mushroom @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 09:14:25 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Atobe:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Hillary Clinton had proposed that the huge profits made by the
Petroleum Companies should be subjected to special taxes, and
recycled back into the economy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore is one of a few Refining-Process Centres of low
sulphur crude oil, and is&amp;nbsp;buying crude oil at international
prices.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The ''low&amp;nbsp;cost'' crude&amp;nbsp;is&amp;nbsp;subjected to
a&amp;nbsp;pile up of profit margins&amp;nbsp;as the crude oil is processed
in the Shell, SPC&amp;nbsp;and Esso-Mobil refineries, whose output is
then subject to the international pressure on refined oil or
petroleum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In Singapore, the Government has made matters worst by levying a
hefty 50 percent{??} tax on processed fuel, as a means of
preventing cheap fuel that encourage easy car ownership.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Obviously, the tax on petrol is a huge boost into the Government
treasury, as the tax is collected at different levels as the trade
in petroleum move from one hand to another.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the Singapore Government is too afraid to accept Hillary
Clinton's idea - so as not to offend the Petroleum Conglomerates
from&amp;nbsp;further investment in Singapore, it could at least lower
its own tax on processed fuel that will surely&amp;nbsp;help in
lowering the cost of living&amp;nbsp;for Singaporeans, and increase the
competitiveness of Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why should the Government use&amp;nbsp;the tax on petroleum to
regulate the car population, when the COE programme has effectively
regulated the size of the car population ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The COE has NOT regulated the size of the car population because
Singaporeans had been pressing the government over the right to own
cars. So the government has relented and increased the number of
COEs in the past 5 years, allowing more cars on the road
and&amp;nbsp;instead regulate car usage with ERP and petrol taxes. The
COE is the most effective way of curbing car ownership but that is
not possible so long as Singaporeans cannot get over their love
affair with the car.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singaporeans cannot have it both ways. Either pay 30k for the
right to own a car or pay high petrol taxes for the right to use
it.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 09:14:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149256</guid>
      <author>oxford mushroom</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by jojobeach @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 05:53:26 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
Fingolfin_Noldor:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nuclear power in general can be made very safe with the right
installed in a barge though.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What are we going to do about nuclear wastes ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Send it off to Indonesia ? LOL...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 05:53:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149193</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Fingolfin_Noldor @ Sun, 08 Jun 2008 02:01:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Nuclear power in general can be made very safe with the right
installed in a barge though.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 08 Jun 2008 02:01:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8149035</guid>
      <author>Fingolfin_Noldor</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by rooki @ Sat, 07 Jun 2008 23:12:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Those who think solar energy can even supplement more than a few
percent of Singapore's total energy needs are stark, raving mad.
You'd have to cover the entire Singapore landmass with
photovoltaics to even get close to 10% of Singapore's total energy
needs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nuclear (fission) energy is the only low-carbon game in town.
Until even cleaner nuclear fusion becomes a reality, that is.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 07 Jun 2008 23:12:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8148529</guid>
      <author>rooki</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Hi88tech @ Sat, 07 Jun 2008 22:43:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Micro hydropower from storm drain and sewage pipes collecting
water to be recycled into Newater.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Solar power panels on HDB flats and roof tops of all buildings
on the island and floating platforms in the sea.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Wind, wave and tide power from the Straits of Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Growing Algae for biofuel.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Kinetic energy from crowds stepping on mechanical dynamos
generating electrical power.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 07 Jun 2008 22:43:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8148424</guid>
      <author>Hi88tech</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Meat Pao @ Sun, 11 May 2008 13:24:38 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I think Singapore will never use nuclear option.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Because it is contradicting to Singapore's character.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore's character is pragmatism and avoiding white-elephant
projects.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In my opinion nuclear power is 'costly' because of all the
investments, new know-how, and security risks. And also need to
divert some critical mass, manpower.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Quite hard to imagine Singapore having a nuclear power
plant.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Meat Pao.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 13:24:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8077928</guid>
      <author>Meat Pao</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Atobe @ Sun, 11 May 2008 00:35:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hillary Clinton had proposed that the huge profits made by the
Petroleum Companies should be subjected to special taxes, and
recycled back into the economy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore is one of a few Refining-Process Centres of low
sulphur crude oil, and is&amp;nbsp;buying crude oil at international
prices.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The ''low&amp;nbsp;cost'' crude&amp;nbsp;is&amp;nbsp;subjected to
a&amp;nbsp;pile up of profit margins&amp;nbsp;as the crude oil is processed
in the Shell, SPC&amp;nbsp;and Esso-Mobil refineries, whose output is
then subject to the international pressure on refined oil or
petroleum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In Singapore, the Government has made matters worst by levying a
hefty 50 percent{??} tax on processed fuel, as a means of
preventing cheap fuel that encourage easy car ownership.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Obviously, the tax on petrol is a huge boost into the Government
treasury, as the tax is collected at different levels as the trade
in petroleum move from one hand to another.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the Singapore Government is too afraid to accept Hillary
Clinton's idea - so as not to offend the Petroleum Conglomerates
from&amp;nbsp;further investment in Singapore, it could at least lower
its own tax on processed fuel that will surely&amp;nbsp;help in
lowering the cost of living&amp;nbsp;for Singaporeans, and increase the
competitiveness of Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why should the Government use&amp;nbsp;the tax on petroleum to
regulate the car population, when the COE programme has effectively
regulated the size of the car population ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 00:35:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076972</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by whiskers @ Sun, 11 May 2008 00:31:38 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Should stabilize once the US Fed stop lowering the interest
rates, stronger dolla to curb speculations. So it will be great
news if the feds do nothing, this month....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 00:31:38 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076950</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Shotgun @ Sun, 11 May 2008 00:20:55 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Whether oil hits $200 a barrel or plummets will really depend on
OPEC now.&amp;nbsp; The biggest problem is whether to up the
output.&amp;nbsp; If they raise the output, oil prices might go into a
free fall, bursting the oil bubble.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Even the Chief of OPEC, Ali Al Naimi views the high oil prices
to be caused by speculation.&amp;nbsp; The supply of oil is definitely
there and capable of meeting rising demands.&amp;nbsp; In short, the
high oil prices is definitely not due to shortage.&amp;nbsp; Perhaps
its time to rein in the&amp;nbsp;traders.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 00:20:55 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076899</guid>
      <author>Shotgun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by eagle @ Sat, 10 May 2008 23:53:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;&lt;span style="font-weight: bold;"&gt;Most Energy
Execs See Oil Below $100 This Year&lt;/span&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
By AP | 09 May 2008 | 10:55 AM ET&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Even as oil prices ascended to new highs of more than $124 a barrel
this week, many oil and gas industry executives say they expect the
price to fall significantly by year's end, a new survey
shows.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Fifty-five percent of 372 petroleum industry executives surveyed by
KPMG said they think the price of a barrel of crude will drop below
$100 by the end of the year. Twenty-one percent of respondents
predicted a barrel of oil will end the year between $101 and $110,
while 15 percent forecast the year-end price to be between $111 and
$120 a barrel.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Nine percent said they expect the price to close the year where
it's been this week -- above $120 a barrel.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
What's more, 44 percent of the executives said their companies plan
to increase capital spending on exploration and production by 10
percent during the next year.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The survey was conducted last month and scheduled for release
Friday. Participants included executives for major oil companies,
independent exploration and production outfits and other energy
companies.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"The expectation of increased investment by U.S. energy companies
shows oil and gas executives are deeply concerned about energy
security," said Bill Kimble, who oversees the global energy
institute at KPMG, the audit, tax and advisory firm.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Of late, all eyes have been on crude prices, which have nearly
doubled in the past year. The dollar's decline against the euro and
other foreign currencies has helped spur the rise, attracting
investors looking for a hedge against inflation.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Rising demand for oil from the rapidly developing economies of
China and India has played a role too, as have concerns about
tighter supplies. Indeed, 63 percent of survey participants said
growing demand in emerging markets was the main factor in the
historic rise in oil prices.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Widely watched oil price prognosticator Goldman Sachs said this
week oil prices could rise to $150 to $200 within two years; others
say crude could plummet to as low as $40 or $50 a barrel during the
same period.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"To be sure, the future does not unfold neatly in line with any
projection, and the time frame of the actual price surge has been
remarkably short," Cambridge Energy Research Associates said in a
report this week.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Asked what would most enhance U.S. energy security, participants
overwhelmingly said opening up more acreage for domestic drilling
was the best option. In particular, 43 percent said the Arctic
National Wildlife Refuge should be opened for drilling. Another 28
percent said more investment in renewable energy sources such as
biodiesel would enhance U.S. energy security the most.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
However, even though many of the executives support further
investment in renewable energy sources, the majority still don't
view renewables as a serious near-term solution to the energy
supply equation.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In last year's survey, 60 percent of 553 petroleum industry
executives said large-scale production of renewable fuels was not a
near-term possibility, at least not in the next couple of
years.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In the most-recent survey, 54 percent gave the same response,
though 2015 was the target date.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&#169; 2008 CNBC.com&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 23:53:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076796</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by whiskers @ Sat, 10 May 2008 23:43:44 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Shotgun:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
This point I totally concede! &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/biggrin.png" alt=
"biggrin.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the UN, and IAEA says yes and allow Russia to handle the
enrichment process, US has no grounds to say No.&amp;nbsp; US's main
arguement is that Iran may abuse the enrichment process, but if
Iran surrenders the right to enrich uranium, then there is nothing
US can suck thumb already.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I didn't even think of this... of course, I'm sure it will not
be the sole power plant.&amp;nbsp; We will probably still have to run
our current coal/oil fired ones at reduced output?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;To produce newwater uses lots of power... sorry cant find the
exact figure here... But the high pressure needed to run RO means
alot of power is used.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Now, If we have a nuclear plant we prob will have increased
desal capability, imagine we can make a combined plant, where
seawater is used to power the turbine and as a side stream, we get
desalinated water.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bear in mind the govnt is privatising our power plants, so if
its not profitable the plants would prob close down... But&amp;nbsp; we
still have the one in tuas that burns rubbish, so&amp;nbsp; I guess we
will still backup.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But the startup cost will be very inhibiting,there is probably no
one in singapore capable of running the plant, let alone design it,
maybe u will see new courses in poly in nuclear tech(hey its better
than dealing cards right?).... Unless they are very desperate, dun
tink they will use it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes and one more thing, Imagine the hot effluent(water) coming
out of the plant will probably do some considerable damage to the
marine lives around singapore.... And you know what our neighbours
reaction might be!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 23:43:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076778</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Shotgun @ Sat, 10 May 2008 22:47:27 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by *Lord Kang*:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore nuclear power will not be cheap as compared to other
countries..Because the gov will say need to pay more for better
security and safety reasons..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
This point I totally concede! &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/biggrin.png" alt=
"biggrin.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Even if Iran DOES concede enrichment of uranium, you tell me
what are its chances of building said nuclear reactor. Russia can
say ok, but USA will still say no.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the UN, and IAEA says yes and allow Russia to handle the
enrichment process, US has no grounds to say No.&amp;nbsp; US's main
arguement is that Iran may abuse the enrichment process, but if
Iran surrenders the right to enrich uranium, then there is nothing
US can suck thumb already.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Imagine the steam derived from nuclear power to run desal
plant... that will be win win for Singapore... But also its not
good to have a centralise power plant....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I didn't even think of this... of course, I'm sure it will not
be the sole power plant.&amp;nbsp; We will probably still have to run
our current coal/oil fired ones at reduced output?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 22:47:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8076620</guid>
      <author>Shotgun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by whiskers @ Sat, 10 May 2008 12:57:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Imagine the steam derived from nuclear power to run desal
plant... that will be win win for Singapore... But also its not
good to have a centralise power plant....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 12:57:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075541</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Alucard101 @ Sat, 10 May 2008 12:24:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;It's nt as simple as u think.U need to consider abt U238 or
other things which aren't avaliable here.It's nt tht expensiv ne
but few years later...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 12:24:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075498</guid>
      <author>Alucard101</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by Dinvina @ Sat, 10 May 2008 11:27:46 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by MohamedF:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is still the option of a hydrogen based power plant...
There was an accidental discovery in 2007 that can possibly make
hydrogen production a lot easier... it only involves mixing 2
everyday metals with water and hydrogen in produced...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then comes another issue: water.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As for Uranium enrichment, I think Australia does some export in
this area.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 11:27:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075357</guid>
      <author>Dinvina</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by MohamedF @ Sat, 10 May 2008 11:09:13 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
sim city?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.physorg.com/news98556080.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.physorg.com/news98556080.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 11:09:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075309</guid>
      <author>MohamedF</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by domonkassyu @ Sat, 10 May 2008 09:38:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;dont even think about alternative power source in sg.all other
available land are used to build casinos or more condos to generate
$? who cares about rising energy prices, global warming, poverty,
the planet's degrading health when you can generate wealth and not
get to use it right??&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 09:38:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075120</guid>
      <author>domonkassyu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by MyNameisNas @ Sat, 10 May 2008 09:08:46 +0800</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Metals too don't come cheap now..... If sg should have wind
mill.. can make small-small one and put it top of every HDB. When
solar&amp;nbsp;energy can takes more than 50% of sunlight
energy,&amp;nbsp;it should be widely use. Now solar&amp;nbsp;energy only
40%..&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;urmm.. can someone explain how does a nuclear plant work?
&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 09:08:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8075089</guid>
      <author>MyNameisNas</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Energy Prices rising.  Should we consider nuclear power? replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Sat, 10 May 2008 01:05:11 +0800</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
sim city?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 01:05:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:10:316948:8074799</guid>
      <author>alwaysdisturbed</author>
    </item>