<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Singapore Government Stingy' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/317943</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by sunnytv @ Mon, 26 May 2008 16:14:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;They are&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://www.partytrack.com/images/Smiley%20Face%20-%20Money.gif"
height="206" alt="" width="194" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;where money is concerned, their eye will be like that. They will
be 100% awake. The rest of the time is sleeping.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 26 May 2008 16:14:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8114948</guid>
      <author>sunnytv</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by Tycoapollo @ Sun, 25 May 2008 17:48:57 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;It is money minded&#8230;they have so much $ in hand and they keep on
save and save. When it is time to help the people, they only take
out a little bit..like the inflation now. What i expect is Billions
to help..not thousands and millions..even a Big and poor country
like Indonesia spent Billions to help the people from increased
rice and oil prices..Being a smaller and Rich country, they dun
really give us any help..&lt;img title="Sad" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_sad.gif" alt="Sad" /&gt; Not only dun
help, but they increase the price of road, public transport and
&lt;span class=""&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt;..Damm.&lt;br /&gt;
How i wish can Protest on the streets like other countries and make
&lt;span class=""&gt;PAP&lt;/span&gt; step down!!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 25 May 2008 17:48:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8112205</guid>
      <author>Tycoapollo</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by w.eikaas @ Sat, 24 May 2008 01:42:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I dont think stingy is the right word to describe Singapore
government.&amp;nbsp; With the number of ERP gantries that the
government is opening this year and in no way its gonnna cut down
the number of vehicles on the road (as they claimed to do so),
rather its filling up the pockets of the highly paid ministers. I
seriously dont think stingy is the right word.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 24 May 2008 01:42:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8108583</guid>
      <author>w.eikaas</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by t_a_s @ Sat, 24 May 2008 00:08:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;spore govt not only stingy, the ministers lagi stingy, never
donate $$ to quake victims, some more want us donate by calling
1900-112-....this sunday. see how kiam siap the MIW. assume 1
minister donate $500000, then 10 ministers can get 5 million
liao,so easy what, peanut only to them&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 24 May 2008 00:08:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8108477</guid>
      <author>t_a_s</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by redDUST @ Wed, 21 May 2008 19:16:31 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by tripwire:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;even join in the rescue is GIVING singapore face, not because
they need it... NOT everyone gets to help out even IF they
want....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;55 SCDF&amp;nbsp; is nothing compared to the hundreds of thoudsands
of PLA troops...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;singapore was angling to be one of the first countries in the
world to send CD personnel over to assist in the rescue. this is
clearly an exercise to score brownie points more than the noble
intent of helping out.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;a clear cut case of singapore's MIW&amp;nbsp;doing things right, not
doing the right thing.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 21 May 2008 19:16:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8102600</guid>
      <author>redDUST</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by tripwire @ Wed, 21 May 2008 18:54:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;do you people realise that PRC has ONE TRILLION US dollar in
reserves??&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;you think they gonna give F about malaysia's 1.5 million or
singapore's 0.2 million?&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/teeth.png" alt=
"teeth.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;to the PRC... allowing SCDF to even join in the rescue is GIVING
singapore face, not because they need it... NOT everyone gets to
help out even IF they want....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;55 SCDF&amp;nbsp; is nothing compared to the hundreds of thoudsands
of PLA troops...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 21 May 2008 18:54:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8102584</guid>
      <author>tripwire</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by 16/f/lonely @ Wed, 21 May 2008 18:43:59 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Tycoapollo:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Really, SG Gov donated &lt;span&gt;US 0&lt;/span&gt;.12 Million is a shame.
Comparing with taiwan&#8217;s &lt;span&gt;US 80&lt;/span&gt; Million and
&lt;span&gt;HKG&lt;/span&gt; 40Million. Even Tycoon lee Ka Sing donated us 3.5
Million alone, 25 times of the whole SG&#8217;s donation. One Good thing,
or rather smart thing Gov did was to send 55 SCDf members to go
there boast up the polictical image of SG, well make use of
Oppotunity.&lt;br /&gt;
And pls do not ask ppl to donate themselves if they want to donate
more, Gov already took away so much of our $$ by &lt;span&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt;
and Taxes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Being stingy is not only abt donation issues, looking at the
&lt;span&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt; rebate that they give us. Do u all not remember
who is the one that increase our &lt;span&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt; after
&lt;span&gt;PAP&lt;/span&gt; won the election. It is like borrow $200 from
us(long term, mayb more) and then giving us back $100. Pls open ur
eyes and think ppl&#8230;U guys can do some research on &lt;span&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt;
and Economic rebate that different countries gives to its ppl. Even
some smaller and poorer countries give more than our Gov did.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And one more thing is Civil servant(eg,
police,fireman,doctors,lawyers&amp;amp;#8230&lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt; Working for
the Gov in SG is so un respectful just look at the salary comparing
to other countries. I am not againist S&#8217;porean but just saying that
SG Gov is stingy in many cases being the one of the richest Gov in
the world.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Of Cuz u can tell me go other countires if u dun like Gov here,
of cuz i am going else where, but i pity those guys here. Girls in
SG have good life, no doubt. Guys..i&#8217;m sorry&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
If you think it's stingy, you keep it to yourself.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It's a donation, you're not obliged to pay according to GDP per
capita or what-have-you.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 21 May 2008 18:43:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8102574</guid>
      <author>16/f/lonely</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by t_a_s @ Wed, 21 May 2008 13:56:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I suggest all ministers donate $1 million each to the quake
victims, to redeem their sins. If they have not enough money, they
can increase their own pay.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 21 May 2008 13:56:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8101990</guid>
      <author>t_a_s</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:41:08 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yet they can tell themselves to 'clutch' their wages to the
private sector.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and be treated differently from the private sector.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;" Do as I say, not as I do"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:41:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099800</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:38:13 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I also agree with you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But our leaders don't want to encourage the "Clutch"
mentality.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Perhaps to them, collecting cardboard, tin cans and selling
tissue are also productive means of economic contribution ???&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If not, our leaders wouldn't tell us to go drive taxis, and eat
potatoes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yet they can tell themselves to 'clutch' their wages to the
private sector.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and be treated differently from the private sector.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:38:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099796</guid>
      <author>alwaysdisturbed</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by Go @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:36:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;We should make it a more distinct difference between Singapore
citizen and Singapore PR - Singapore PR&amp;nbsp;pay more&amp;nbsp;to live
in Singapore; Singapore citizen pay less to live in Singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That should be the right way. Singapore government still not
working much on that.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:36:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099791</guid>
      <author>Go</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:19:13 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;i don't mean they have to spend all. but look at those old folks
collecting cardboard, tin cans, selling tissue. i wished they could
be helped.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I also agree with you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But our leaders don't want to encourage the "Clutch"
mentality.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Perhaps to them, collecting cardboard, tin cans and selling
tissue are also productive means of economic contribution ???&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If not, our leaders wouldn't tell us to go drive taxis, and eat
potatoes.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:19:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099760</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:07:01 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Is election coming soon ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Could they be planning on using some money to win the GE again
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When election comes.. there will be goodies to give away.
Infrastructure to upgrade. Money to blind our eyes.. part of their
fiscal policy perhaps ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Planning&amp;nbsp; to take full advantage of the recency effect
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If they spend all the money now... how are they going to impress
the people when GE nears ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i don't mean they have to spend all. but look at those old folks
collecting cardboard, tin cans, selling tissue. i wished they could
be helped.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:07:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099740</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 20 May 2008 13:00:11 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
need 300 over&amp;nbsp;billion for it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is election coming soon ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Could they be planning on using some money to win the GE again
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When election comes.. there will be goodies to give away.
Infrastructure to upgrade. Money to blind our eyes.. part of their
fiscal policy perhaps ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Planning&amp;nbsp; to take full advantage of the recency effect
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If they spend all the money now... how are they going to impress
the people when GE nears ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 13:00:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099727</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Tue, 20 May 2008 12:28:30 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Don't be too sure there's no disaster.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Have you forgotten the SARS ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Are you aware that a flu pandemic is in the making ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you know of the super bug/ bacteria that is getting immune to
Anti-biotics ? Meaning there is no cure ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
need 300 over&amp;nbsp;billion for it?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 12:28:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099683</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by jojobeach @ Tue, 20 May 2008 12:14:31 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;speaking of the reserves, i don't&amp;nbsp;know it is&amp;nbsp;reserved
for what. what disaster will we have. now that we are having a
disaster in living costs yet we are still not touching it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;perhaps&amp;nbsp;Poh Ah Pak&amp;nbsp;have an idea of the
unknown&amp;nbsp;disaster?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Don't be too sure there's no disaster.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Have you forgotten the SARS ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Are you aware that a flu pandemic is in the making ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do you know of the super bug/ bacteria that is getting immune to
Anti-biotics ? Meaning there is no cure ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 12:14:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099659</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by Tycoapollo @ Tue, 20 May 2008 12:06:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Really, SG Gov donated &lt;span class=""&gt;US 0&lt;/span&gt;.12 Million is
a shame. Comparing with taiwan&#8217;s &lt;span class=""&gt;US 80&lt;/span&gt;
Million and &lt;span class=""&gt;HKG&lt;/span&gt; 40Million. Even Tycoon lee Ka
Sing donated us 3.5 Million alone, 25 times of the whole SG&#8217;s
donation. One Good thing, or rather smart thing Gov did was to send
55 SCDf members to go there boast up the polictical image of SG,
well make use of Oppotunity.&lt;br /&gt;
And pls do not ask ppl to donate themselves if they want to donate
more, Gov already took away so much of our $$ by &lt;span class=
""&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt; and Taxes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Being stingy is not only abt donation issues, looking at the
&lt;span class=""&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt; rebate that they give us. Do u all not
remember who is the one that increase our &lt;span class=""&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt;
after &lt;span class=""&gt;PAP&lt;/span&gt; won the election. It is like borrow
$200 from us(long term, mayb more) and then giving us back $100.
Pls open ur eyes and think ppl&#8230;U guys can do some research on
&lt;span class=""&gt;GST&lt;/span&gt; and Economic rebate that different
countries gives to its ppl. Even some smaller and poorer countries
give more than our Gov did.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And one more thing is Civil servant(eg,
police,fireman,doctors,lawyers&amp;amp;#8230&lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt; Working for
the Gov in SG is so un respectful just look at the salary comparing
to other countries. I am not againist S&#8217;porean but just saying that
SG Gov is stingy in many cases being the one of the richest Gov in
the world.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Of Cuz u can tell me go other countires if u dun like Gov here,
of cuz i am going else where, but i pity those guys here. Girls in
SG have good life, no doubt. Guys..i&#8217;m sorry&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 12:06:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099648</guid>
      <author>Tycoapollo</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by t_a_s @ Tue, 20 May 2008 11:49:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;reserve in side no money liao, nobody know,president also dont
know how much reserve we have, only cut ribbon dont care lah, care
so much old age come also die, better collect 3.8 million every
year and keep quiet&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 20 May 2008 11:49:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8099616</guid>
      <author>t_a_s</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Mon, 19 May 2008 23:12:44 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Evangel:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;China is super rich and dont need our money. Donating is just
being politically polite.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For Singapore if there is a disaster, we have over 300 Billion
worth of reserves for us to use. Garmen is accumulating those
reserves for this kind of purposes also.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its true that we looked very stingy, but those money are
tax-payer's money. China dont even need those pesky millions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;speaking of the reserves, i don't&amp;nbsp;know it is&amp;nbsp;reserved
for what. what disaster will we have. now that we are having a
disaster in living costs yet we are still not touching it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;perhaps&amp;nbsp;Poh Ah Pak&amp;nbsp;have an idea of the
unknown&amp;nbsp;disaster?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 May 2008 23:12:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8098759</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by 16/f/lonely @ Mon, 19 May 2008 23:04:46 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by kramnave:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;At a period where people are dying/mourning, Singaporeans debate
about whether more money should have been donated. China doesn't
need your fucking money.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Hanor hanor....it's very tiresome to keep hearing this kind of
one-sided S'pore bashing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You donate as much as you like. Pure and simple.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 May 2008 23:04:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8098738</guid>
      <author>16/f/lonely</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by Meat Pao @ Mon, 19 May 2008 23:01:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I will say a cold hard truth.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Part of the reason why PRs have gotten no GST rebate etc
etc....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is because.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They cannot vote.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Meat Pao.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 May 2008 23:01:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8098733</guid>
      <author>Meat Pao</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by TooFree @ Mon, 19 May 2008 20:23:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I thought the government was pretty generous in handling out GST
rebate for her citizens to tie over the increment in GST. Well,
perhaps the government is taking into consideration on taking care
of her citizens as first priority before the PR. At least
on&amp;nbsp;my side, the government did fullfill their obligation to
Singaporeans.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Just&amp;nbsp;wait&amp;nbsp;a while&amp;nbsp;more
before&amp;nbsp;you&amp;nbsp;convert your blue&amp;nbsp;ID to pink
ya.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 May 2008 20:23:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8098052</guid>
      <author>TooFree</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by Evangel @ Mon, 19 May 2008 19:53:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by ShitSandwich:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore Govt donates $200k to China for Earthquake victims !!
That's about 5 cents per citizen/resident, I am sure they collect
more GST from us in a single purchase. So much generosity from one
of the world's richest nations..especially since our stellar GDP
growth was made possible by trade with China and 70% of our
population share the same ethnicity.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Even Malaysia donated USD$1.5 million and Thailand $500k despite
having poorer coffers. Is it right for Singapore, the richest SEA
by a mile and biggest beneficiary of the China trade, to donate a
sum that is equivalent to less than a month's pay of their
Ministers? Even small countries like Ireland donated $1mil Euro
(5-10x our sum!), despite having the same population as Singapore
and with less connection to China.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Govt can spend billions buying broken banks but would only
offer a tickle of that amount to help. My Govt has embarrassed me
as a Singaporean, might as well don't donate..Sometimes, it's good
to be prudent with money but being too stingy just makes one look
really stupid and uncaring.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is probably in line with their nationwide no welfare
stance. Hopefully one day when there's a disaster in Singapore,
other nations will be more willing to help us than we were to help
them! Good luck to us all!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;China is super rich and dont need our money. Donating is just
being politically polite.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For Singapore if there is a disaster, we have over 300 Billion
worth of reserves for us to use. Garmen is accumulating those
reserves for this kind of purposes also.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its true that we looked very stingy, but those money are
tax-payer's money. China dont even need those pesky millions.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 19 May 2008 19:53:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8097965</guid>
      <author>Evangel</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Sun, 18 May 2008 22:30:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;kp la.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;don't give money to PR then say govt stingy. give money,
there'll be threads on why should we give money to PRs, blah blah
blah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;give also kp, don't give also kp.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ShitSandwich: you think what, donating competition arh? what
matters is the heart and not the amount, even though i know that
amount is just for show. the govt also very clever, later you
donate 20 million....what will happen? people will start
questioning, can donate so much to others but can't help locals?
think again.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 18 May 2008 22:30:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8095983</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Singapore Government Stingy replied by hloc @ Sun, 18 May 2008 22:20:22 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #999999;"&gt;Originally posted by
ShitSandwich:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So how about the population of Ireland? They stand at 4 million
and have equivalent GDP to Singapore at best and yet contribute 5-6
times more than Singaporeans do? The Irish can't do maths or
perhaps they understand the idea of generosity better?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Bigger population doesn't mean you can afford more.. I don't
know where you learnt that logic from. If so, do have more kids in
the future so you can afford more in life.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And even as a calculated move, donating $200k would put
Singapore below other states (Malaysia, Thailand etc.. even Saudi
Arabia donated USD$50 mil) in terms of bilateral relations. Which
is not a good idea for a country that solely depends on internation
trade for a living especially with China.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So how much do you &lt;em&gt;think&lt;/em&gt; is enough &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_question.gif" alt=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;$2 million &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;$20 million &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;$200 million &lt;img src=
"icon_question.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like &lt;strong&gt;Kramnave&lt;/strong&gt; saids..... China don't need our
money. They are richer than us in more ways. And that $200K doesn't
include the cost of sending our 55 member Dart team over for search
&amp;amp; rescue. Or the other supply Govt is sending over......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Btw..... IF the Govt &lt;strong&gt;did&lt;/strong&gt; donate $20million
...... won't there be threads here condamning them for 'Wasting
Taxpayer&amp;nbsp;Money'.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 18 May 2008 22:20:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:317943:8095942</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>