<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'LKY ain't no Warren Buffet.' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/320397</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by FirePig @ Tue, 10 Jun 2008 13:16:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;There's a double negative in the title meaning lee kuan yew is
like warren buffet?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 10 Jun 2008 13:16:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8154951</guid>
      <author>FirePig</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by 4getmenot @ Tue, 10 Jun 2008 13:09:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by maurizio13:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if he warren buffett, then he don't need abuse his powers can be
rich liao.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;now abuse power wealth also not 1% that of warren buffett.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;er..we dun know leh since hes not declared his wealth.. xD&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 10 Jun 2008 13:09:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8154939</guid>
      <author>4getmenot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by domonkassyu @ Tue, 10 Jun 2008 09:12:18 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Pekei:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;LKY aint no Warren Buffett because he is POOR?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
no1 knows how rich he is besides having the entire national
treasury. he aint no WB cuz WB said long term investments will even
out the losses and the gains. however WB also said for those that
know what they are doing, speculating investments earn much more $$
in a much shorter time..looks like LKY dont know what hes
doing..thats y he aint no WB&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 10 Jun 2008 09:12:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8154250</guid>
      <author>domonkassyu</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Melbournite @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 21:22:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;one has been born to breathe and live money while the other is
not.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 21:22:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8153363</guid>
      <author>Melbournite</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by maurizio13 @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 20:59:17 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if he warren buffett, then he don't need abuse his powers can be
rich liao.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;now abuse power wealth also not 1% that of warren buffett.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 20:59:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8153288</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Evangel @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 19:14:49 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;MM Lee being the Special Advisor of Citigroup and Chairman of
GIC. Is that considered a conflict of interests?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Citigroup in need of help confirm have to ask someone. If the
biggest bank in the world goes bankrupt, there would be even more
severe consequenses. More political I think.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it a good investment? I doubt it. Anyway we have to wait
20-30 years to judge hahaha....since it is a long term investment.
By that time....you guys know what to do if you manage to live that
long. :D&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;GIC should declare its annual compounded returns to the public.
Are they being transparent?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;We wouldn't know if the growth of our CPF is due to the
increasing CPF contribution by Singaporeans and PR. Or is it due to
the real growth of annual returns in investments overseas.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 19:14:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8153018</guid>
      <author>Evangel</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by whiskers @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 19:09:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;certainly not... buffet only employs the bare minimum necessary
to run his company, his philosophy is cut down on whatever that is
not needed or redundant, contrast that with the govenment who is
very generous with their numerous "top level" employees.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 19:09:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8153009</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by FireIce @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 18:51:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;of cos lah&lt;br /&gt;
LKY dun look ang moh wat.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 18:51:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152981</guid>
      <author>FireIce</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Pekei @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 18:49:13 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Atobe:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Gazelle, with you being a specialist from the perverse underside
world, only you can appreciate the culture of "panty-sniffing", and
''wanking'&amp;nbsp;- as&amp;nbsp;only ''talking cock'' surely cannot hold
your attention for too&amp;nbsp;long.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can you handle facts - let alone to be able to discern the facts
that others have presented in the extracted pieces ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What is it that you need facts to satisfy your expertise at
panty-sniffing,&amp;nbsp;wanking and&amp;nbsp;cynicism ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is this another one of you sheeping reaction after having been
deflated at your silly attempt at bluffing through a poker game in
the other thread ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Atobe,&amp;nbsp;are you running out of ideas to discredit the
government and that is why you have to bring yourself so low to
start a thread like this? Maybe I should also start a thread like
Atobe ain't no&amp;nbsp;Mike Tyson?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hahah :))&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 18:49:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152978</guid>
      <author>Pekei</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Atobe @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 17:21:36 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Atobe,&amp;nbsp;is this&amp;nbsp;another of your story telling talk cock
session again??&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Until you can bring some facts on the table, I will classify
your action as WANKING!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Gazelle, with you being a specialist from the perverse underside
world, only you can appreciate the culture of "panty-sniffing", and
''wanking'&amp;nbsp;- as&amp;nbsp;only ''talking cock'' surely cannot hold
your attention for too&amp;nbsp;long.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can you handle facts - let alone to be able to discern the facts
that others have presented in the extracted pieces ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What is it that you need facts to satisfy your expertise at
panty-sniffing,&amp;nbsp;wanking and&amp;nbsp;cynicism ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is this another one of you sheeping reaction after having been
deflated at your silly attempt at bluffing through a poker game in
the other thread ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 17:21:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152835</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Pekei @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 17:02:31 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
With his wealth undeclared, how do you know your Great Shepherd is
not richer than Warren Buffett ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it not obvious that He can afford to keep a useless black
sheep like you in his pen, and still depend on&amp;nbsp;the crutches
worth a few&amp;nbsp;Million Dollar Wages&amp;nbsp;to keep his other
boy-Shepherds from corruptly&amp;nbsp;stealing his sheep,&amp;nbsp;by
simply refusing&amp;nbsp;the money to help the&amp;nbsp;poorer Singaporeans
- as he&amp;nbsp;fear that too many crutches are needed&amp;nbsp;that he is
too miserly to give.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Atobe,&amp;nbsp;is this&amp;nbsp;another of your story telling talk cock
session again??&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Until you can bring some facts on the table, I will classify
your action as WANKING!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 17:02:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152786</guid>
      <author>Pekei</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Atobe @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:57:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;LKY aint no Warren Buffett because he is POOR?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
With his wealth undeclared, how do you know your Great Shepherd is
not richer than Warren Buffett ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it not obvious that He can afford to keep a useless black
sheep like you in his pen, and still depend on&amp;nbsp;the crutches
worth a few&amp;nbsp;Million Dollar Wages&amp;nbsp;to keep his other
boy-Shepherds from corruptly&amp;nbsp;stealing his sheep,&amp;nbsp;by
simply refusing&amp;nbsp;the money to help the&amp;nbsp;poorer Singaporeans
- as he&amp;nbsp;fear that too many crutches are needed&amp;nbsp;that he is
too miserly to give.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:57:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152778</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by eagle @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:49:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Warren Buffett runs an
investment&amp;nbsp;company, while LKY is a leader of a country&lt;/span&gt;.
I am not sure why are you comparing both?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You just explained the thread title.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thanks for your contribution.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:49:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152762</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Pekei @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:44:13 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is LKY still running a country, or only a Corporation that manages
the sovereign wealth fund that belong to&amp;nbsp;the Country ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Have you demoted PM LHL's stature by claiming that his Father is
still the Man running the country and not the puppet son ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;LKY aint no Warren Buffett because he is POOR?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:44:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152755</guid>
      <author>Pekei</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Atobe @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:39:56 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Warren Buffett runs an investment&amp;nbsp;company, while LKY is a
leader of a country. I am not sure why are you comparing both?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is LKY still running a country, or only a Corporation that manages
the sovereign wealth fund that belong to&amp;nbsp;the Country ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Have you demoted PM LHL's stature by claiming that his Father is
still the Man running the country and not the puppet son ?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:39:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152745</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Pekei @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:34:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Warren Buffett runs an investment&amp;nbsp;company, while LKY is a
leader of a country. I am not sure why are you comparing both?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:34:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152728</guid>
      <author>Pekei</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>LKY ain't no Warren Buffet. replied by Atobe @ Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:17:23 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://utwt.blogspot.com/2008/04/lee-kuan-yew-aint-no-warren-buffett.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small; color: #800080;"&gt;&#8220;Lee Kuan Yew ain&#8217;t Warren
Buffett&#8221;.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;GIC a few months ago&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://utwt.blogspot.com/2008/04/gic-ubs-jim-rogers.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #de7008;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #de7008;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;took significant
stakes&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;in global banking giants UBS and Citigroup. The
share prices of these companies have since taken a tumble due to
the impact of the credit crisis, but according to GIC, that's no
worry, since GIC has taken these investments with a 'long term
view.' In addition to GIC's existing investments in those banks,
Lee Kuan Yew, Chairman of GIC and Minister Mentor of
Singapore,&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/20080430/tap-gic-lee-c3bb44c.html"
"font-size: small;"&gt;has gone on the
record&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;as saying:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;Singapore's GIC may invest in more
banks&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;span style="font-size: 85%;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: x-small;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: small;"&gt;Reuters,
April 30&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Government of Singapore Investment Corp may invest in more
banks in Europe and the United States if it gets the chance, adding
to its stakes in beleaguered bank UBS and Citigroup, its chairman
told Bloomberg TV.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"If there are other banks of the quality of the two that we bought
into, with the promise and the capabilities and inherent
capabilities to recover, we have got the liquidity to meet it, to
make such an investment," Lee, 84, said in a Bloomberg Television
interview late yesterday. "We will not rule it out."&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"We are buying something that we intend to keep for the next two to
three decades and grow with them", he said, adding that GIC was a
long-term investor.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt;"&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;After throwing in billions of dollars into
credit-crunch battered financial institutions, Lee Kuan Yew is
prepared to deploy more capital into this area. Ever confident
about GIC's investments, the octogenarian further defended GIC's
decisions:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: x-small;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 85%;"&gt;&lt;span style=
""&gt;&lt;span style=""&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 12pt; color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;"The franchise
of the banks, the expertise that they have, under proper
leadership, they will be able to recover and rise again ... Will
there be another Swiss bank like UBS for wealth management? I doubt
it, we doubt it, that is why we invested in it." Citigroup, he
added, had "an enormous spread worldwide as a retail bank".&lt;/span&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Interesting rationale. According to Lee Kuan
Yew, UBS and Citigroup have "inherent capabilities to recover" from
the credit crisis. Well, this is quite a debatable statement.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Just a few months after GIC's investments, recovery of the banking
sector is far from sight. Instead, the banks are&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&amp;amp;amp;sid=aC_bgDO7aCoY&amp;amp;amp;refer=home"
"font-size: small;"&gt;scrambling to raise more
capital&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;to deal with the damage the credit crunch has
dealt them:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Citigroup, Merrill Lead Record Week of Bond
Offerings&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: 85%;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: small;"&gt;By
Bryan Keogh and Gabrielle Coppola&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
April 25 (Bloomberg) -- Citigroup Inc. and Merrill Lynch &amp;amp; Co.
led $45.3 billion of U.S. corporate bond offerings, the busiest
week on record, as financial companies &lt;strong&gt;sold debt at the
highest yields since April 2001&lt;/strong&gt;.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Sales compare with $31.2 billion last week and an average this year
of $18 billion, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. Citigroup,
the biggest U.S. bank by assets, sold $6 billion of hybrid bonds in
the company's largest public debt offering, while New York-based
securities firm Merrill Lynch raised $9.55 billion by issuing debt
and preferred securities.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bond offerings soared as investors grew more optimistic financial
companies can recover from $309 billion of writedowns and credit
losses tied to the collapse of the subprime-mortgage market. Banks
and securities firms sold 85 percent of investment- grade debt this
week, Bloomberg data show. &lt;strong&gt;High-yield bond issuance swelled
to the most since November&lt;/strong&gt;.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;An inherent ability to recover from the crisis?
Not without a lot of additional capital - extra capital which is
going to dilute your existing stakes.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The debt issuance is not the end of the story. Citigroup&lt;/span&gt;
&lt;a href=
"http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&amp;amp;amp;sid=aYmv6pNCpBQo&amp;amp;amp;refer=home"
"font-size: small;"&gt;is issuing equity as
well&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Citigroup Sells $3 Billion of Stock to Boost
Capital&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=
&lt;span style="color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 85%;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: small;"&gt;By Bradley
Keoun&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
April 29 (Bloomberg) -- Citigroup Inc., the U.S. bank hit with
writedowns on subprime mortgages and bonds, is selling $3 billion
of stock two weeks after reporting its second straight quarterly
loss.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The shares are being sold in a public offering, New York- based
Citigroup said today in a statement. Citigroup already has raised
more than $30 billion of capital since December. A weakening U.S.
economy and rising consumer delinquencies forced Chief Executive
Officer Vikram Pandit to rescind assurances earlier this year that
the bank didn't need to raise more funds.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;strong&gt;"This was extremely disappointing&lt;/strong&gt;," William
Fitzpatrick, an equity analyst at Optique Capital Management in
Racine, Wisconsin, said in a Bloomberg Television interview.
"&lt;strong&gt;We were hoping they wouldn't have to go the equity markets
like this&lt;/strong&gt;."&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Citigroup's issuance of equity financing is
implicit acknowledgement that it won't be able to deal with the
upcoming problems in the credit markets without substantial help.
Add to that a weakening US economy and a looming recession, the
clouds on the horizon are only getting darker.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Morgan Stanley realised this in its&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://biz.yahoo.com/rb/080428/banks_research_morganstanley.html"
"font-size: small;"&gt;latest research report on the banking
sector&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;, painting a very bleak picture of the road
ahead. This is in stark contrast to investors (including GIC) who
have been calling an end to the banks' credit
woes:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Morgan Stanley sees big bank woes just
beginning&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;span style=
&lt;span style="color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 85%;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: small;"&gt;Monday April 28,
By Joseph A. Giannone&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
NEW YORK (Reuters) - Morgan Stanley analysts on Monday told clients
to "sell the rally" in financial stocks, slashing forecasts for big
bank earnings and warning that &lt;em&gt;the current credit crunch is
only just beginning&lt;/em&gt;.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In aggregate, Morgan Stanley reduced its estimates for 2008 large
bank earnings by $17 billion, or 26 percent, and reduced 2009
forecasts by $13 billion, or 15 percent. The analysts expect higher
loan losses and expenses, offset by higher net interest income,
though profits could fall further still if the Federal Reserve
stops lowering interest rates.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
"More capital hikes and dividend cuts (are) coming as our credit
deteriorates and forward earnings decline," analysts led by Betsy
Graseck wrote in a report. "&lt;strong&gt;We think we are only in the
third inning of the credit cycle and expect this credit cycle will
be worse than (the slump in)
1990-91&lt;/strong&gt;."&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Just for the record, a baseball game usually
has nine(9) innings. Morgan Stanley's declaration that we are only
in the third inning of the credit cycle, simply says we're not even
a third of the way through the game. A&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://seekingalpha.com/article/74461-sell-into-the-financials-rally-morgan-stanley"
"font-size: small;"&gt;Seeking Alpha contributor has also
observed&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: small;"&gt;The credit
markets have improved, in terms of increased liquidity, with the
Fed opening up the discount window for investment banks. However,
the real economy, which has had only a minimal impact on the
financial markets thus far, is deteriorating rapidly. Home prices
are continuing to decline, costs of living are continuing to
increase (look at the price of oil and food for examples), and the
job market is reeling.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p class="" style="margin: 0in 0in 0pt;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 12pt; color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;The real
economy will come back around and hit the financial institutions
far harder than the freeze in the credit markets
did&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: 12pt; color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;. The Fed put
out one fire, but threw gasoline on the other - through massive
inflation - and we have not even begun to witness the effects this
will have on our economy&lt;/span&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-family: Times New Roman;"&gt;.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Well, well, it appears Lee Kuan Yew doesn't
seem so wise any more. Certainly not as wise as Warren Buffett,
whose Berkshire Hathaway has stayed away from picking up stakes in
these big banks. And its just as well that we clearly see the
difference here, as GIC and Temasek have been repeatedly using
slogans to "invest for the long term," to parade themselves as
value investors of the Buffett kind.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But Lee Kuan Yew doesn't really understand Warren Buffett. He also
said in the interview with Bloomberg:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 12pt; color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;'[Buffett] has
a different view. He has to give returns to his investors year by
year. We don't have to. We have to think in terms of the next 10,
20, 30 years. We are buying into something which we intend to keep
for the next two, three decades and grow with them.'&lt;/span&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;But I think anybody who knows Warren Buffett
knows that Buffett's favourite investment horizon &lt;strong&gt;is
forever&lt;/strong&gt;, and that the investment legend has repeatedly
stressed that Berkshire's focus is not on the quarter-to-quarter or
year-to-year earnings. In all his writings to shareholders, one can
clearly discern that Buffett has his eye on the long term future.
Furthermore, Buffett's track record of consistently outperforming
the market spans a good &lt;strong&gt;50
years&lt;/strong&gt;...&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;Thus, for Lee to say the Buffett is narrowly
focused on the year-to-year performance of his company, is to
demonstrate a &lt;strong&gt;gross and fundamental
misunderstanding&lt;/strong&gt; of Buffett's investment philosophy - and
thus it was ridiculous for Lee Kuan Yew to claim that GIC has
significantly different obligations to its shareholders compared to
Berkshire.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Finally, let's not forget&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href=
"http://utwt.blogspot.com/2008/04/gic-ubs-jim-rogers.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;Jim Rogers'
warning&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt; &lt;span style=
"font-size: small;"&gt;to Singapore's Sovereign Wealth Funds earlier
this year:&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: 12pt; color: black; font-family: Arial;"&gt;"It grieves me
to see what Singapore is doing. They are going to lose money," he
added, referring to investments by Government of Singapore
Investment Corp and Temasek in Citigroup, Switzerland's UBS and
Merrill Lynch.&lt;/span&gt; &lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"font-size: small;"&gt;I think that just about sums up what is going
to happen.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 09 Jun 2008 16:17:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320397:8152703</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
  </channel>