<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Social Welfare Health costs' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/320841</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by AndrewPKYap @ Sun, 03 Aug 2008 07:49:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Truth is, they just want
to take as much as possible and make life as difficult as possible
(think old people working, unable to retire because of the high
costs and low pay) for silliporeans. This so that they can take as
much as possible and continue to take as much as possible. The real
people that benefit are the foreigners and themselves/their
cronies. That is why there are so many traitorous as- lickers that
support them, because they get crumps for the as- they
lick.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 03 Aug 2008 07:49:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8284469</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by AndrewPKYap @ Sun, 03 Aug 2008 07:45:29 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Why should the money be in
government and not private citizen's hands? So they can lose
billions to foreigners? Despots.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sun, 03 Aug 2008 07:45:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8284468</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Sun, 03 Aug 2008 05:42:06 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Ariedartin:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Wrong on two counts. The government &lt;em&gt;has&lt;/em&gt; stabilised the
inflation rate, but you are also asking for far too much to stop
inflation entirely. There is always a low rate of inflation in all
healthy economies, and when events happen on a global scale that
drive or pull up general price levels, it's impossible for a small
and open economy like Singapore's to not be affected. In fact, I
regard the government's management of this potential crisis as a
job well done indeed. It may not be over, but it's certainly going
fine so far.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Yah.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The government has stabilised inflation at a high rate.
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Inflation is at low rates for mature economies, but Singapore's
inflation rate is equivalent to some booming 3rd world's rate.
Perhaps a result of their exchange rate policy (dirty float).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not&amp;nbsp;entirely true that inflation cannot be controlled,
Singapore is entirely import reliant, any fluctuations in the
exchange rates would greatly influence Singaporean's purchasing
power.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Their management is nothing more than the reduction of money
supply through higher ERP rates, higher &amp;amp; extended retention of
CPF balances, also compulsory low&amp;nbsp;rate of returns for certain
sums.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://eng.stat.gov.tw/point.asp?index=2" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;Taiwan's CPI&amp;nbsp;3.89%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.stats.govt.nz/NR/rdonlyres/4C7014DE-D2F5-45E7-B2DC-906B6A9C365E/0/consumerspriceindexdec07qtrhotp.pdf"
rel="nofollow"&gt;New Zealand's&amp;nbsp;CPI&amp;nbsp;3.2%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.statistics.gov.uk/cci/nugget.asp?id=19" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;UK&amp;nbsp;CPI 2.5%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.destatis.de/jetspeed/portal/cms/Sites/destatis/Internet/EN/Content/Statistics/TimeSeries/EconomicIndicators/Prices/Content100/pre110j,templateId=renderPrint.psml"
rel="nofollow"&gt;Germany's&amp;nbsp;CPI 2.8%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.insee.fr/en/indicateur/indic_conj/indconj_frame.asp?ind_id=29"
rel="nofollow"&gt;France's&amp;nbsp;CPI 2.8%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.cso.ie/statistics/cpi2008.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;Ireland's&amp;nbsp;CPI 4.77%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.stat.go.jp/english/index.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;Japan's CPI 0.7%&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.stat.go.jp/english/index.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 03 Aug 2008 05:42:06 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8284454</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by Ariedartin @ Sun, 03 Aug 2008 05:25:02 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by crimsontactics:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well, quite true. But why hasn't the government been able to
successfully control inflation rate? You have to ask that question
1st.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Wrong on two counts. The government &lt;em&gt;has&lt;/em&gt; stabilised the
inflation rate, but you are also asking for far too much to stop
inflation entirely. There is always a low rate of inflation in all
healthy economies, and when events happen on a global scale that
drive or pull up general price levels, it's impossible for a small
and open economy like Singapore's to not be affected.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 03 Aug 2008 05:25:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8284450</guid>
      <author>Ariedartin</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Fri, 20 Jun 2008 17:12:11 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by DeerHunter:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;I am talking about
the price of electricity tariffs, you sidetrack to something
totally irrelevant by telling us that Singapore Power is state
owned, discouraging use of fossil fuels and wastage of natural
resources. Any relevance to the reason why other countries'
electricity charges cost less than Singapore? Temasek's profits
belong to the people? Have you seen them transferring the profits
of Temasek in to the accounts of Singapore citizens? Not only
Australia lah, Hong Kong also has cheaper electricity. Since you
tell us that Singapore Power is stated owned, don't they have a
stronger reason to help her citizens, Hong Kong Electric Company
(HEC) is a private enterprise yet they help out the citizens of
Hong Kong. What more is there to say about our state owned
Singapore Power.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Tariffs are defined as "a schedule of duties imposed by a
government". I ask you, Mr Know-it-all, how is electricity
generated?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2ndly, why is Msia petrol scrapping its petrol subsidy, when it
produces its own petrol? You asked 'Temasek's profits belong to the
people and had it been transferred into accounts of Singaporeans.
Are you daft? What is given back to us in the form of social
spending. If you want to compare cheap utility costs, why not use
africa and other natural resource rich countries? You are the one
who is sidetracking and using insane comparisons to justify your
delusions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;There is a difference between
HEC's assistance to the Hong Kong citizens as compared to
Singapore's government selective help to only POOR &amp;amp; ELDERLY (2
criteria to satisfy). HEC's assistance is to the
Elderly/Unemployed/Single Parent/Disabled, it's inclusionary, if
you are&amp;nbsp;under these classes, you qualify for a 60% discount.
Unlike Singapore, you have to go down on your knees to beg your
MPs.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Please don't use other nations selectively to support your
fantasy illusions. Why don't you use America, where social welfare
is one of the highest around and so is their national debt?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You original and i repeat, original statement
was&amp;nbsp;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;The government also don't
serve out welfare payouts for the aging.&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;After shooting
down your blatant lie with facts, you now twist your words and
change your tune? I am getting sick of this and disgusted your
kind.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;"Why pocket the excess of these
earnings into the coffers?"&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You ingrate! If our previous generations had not been frugal,
work hard to sustain themselves without using much of our coffers,
do you think we would enjoy no direct personal tax for most, 7% GST
based on free will of purchase, Efficient MRT lines, beautiful
schools and highly paid effective teachers, etc, etc? Where did you
think the money came from - dropped from the sky? given by USA?
Amnesty International? Gopalan Nair?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;If I&amp;nbsp;own an insurance company
and a company that builds "public housing" at inflated
cost&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Irrelevant and sidetracking nonsense that don't even deserve a
reply.&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Needless to say,
our MAS is not an independent body distinct from the&lt;/span&gt;
government. I asked this of you. A hypothetical question:&amp;nbsp;If
say tomorrow, there is a market turmoil and the investments of the
GICs and Temasek is not worth more than 10% it's current market
value. Can the CPF board honour all it's debt obligations to her
CPF account holders? Yes, they can! They can just get the MAS to
issue more currency and pay off it's existing debt obligations. If
not. How else would you suggest they pay off their existing
obligations to CPF account holders? I await your reply to this
question, don't sidetrack.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;THIS IS A SERIOUS CHARGE YOU ARE TALKING! It is worse than
teenagers printing fake money on a printer. Money has to be backed
before it can be minted or printed. You are seriously alleging that
it is NOT! You are claiming our money is not worth the paper it is
printed on.&amp;nbsp;IT WOULD LEAD TO A COLLAPSE OF OUR MONETARY
SYSTEM! THERE WOULD BE NO CONFIDENCE IN OUR DOLLAR! FOR YOUR SAKE,
i hope you have evidence to prove it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;PLEASE NOTE.&amp;nbsp;I WILL NOT ASK YOU TO REPLY TO ANY THING
EXCEPT FOR THE ALLEGATION OF 'BANANA NOTES'.&amp;nbsp;PLEASE DO NOT
EVADE!&amp;nbsp;PLEASE&amp;nbsp;DO NOT SIDETRACK!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;DO YOU HAVE ANY EVIDENCE? THIS IS MORE SERIOUS THAN YOU CAN
POSSIBLY IMAGINE!&amp;nbsp;I DEMAND YOU REPLY, OR RETRACT YOUR
STATEMENT, OR I WILL HAVE TO DO AS I SEE FIT.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
generated?&lt;/p&gt;
delusions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Even after the&amp;nbsp;removal of
subsidiy in Malaysia, it's still a whole lot cheaper than Singapore
petrol. Currently Malaysian petrol is approximately M$2.70
(SG$1.134). What is the price of Singapore petrol? Hong Kong also
resource rich? But Hong Kong electricity charges still about SG$30
cheaper for 500kwh usage per month.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
kind.&lt;/p&gt;
subsidising only "poor and eldery" and subsidising
elderly/unemployed/disabled/single paret, for HEC they are willing
to give discount to either of these 4 classes of people. In
Singapore you need to be BOTH elderly and poor before they even
subsidise you. HEC subsidises these less privilege folks with a 60%
discount, at the prices they charge (which is SG$30 lower for
500kwh usage per month per individual) they are already providing a
big discount of 60% to these less privilege people of Hong Kong.
What more can be said about the inflated prices of Singapore Power?
They should be making even more money than HEC, that's why you see
their their Financial Statements which show a 20% Return On Equity
(ROE). For utilities company, a stable industry, you hardly see
rates of return so high. Stable in the sense that everybody has to
use it's services regardless of circumstances. OCBC a bank only
made less than 15% ROE in it's previous year Financial
Statements.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Nadah! I am not an ingrate, I am
just being honest in my analysis and criticism of the ruling elite.
Yes, agree with you that previous generations slog their hearts out
to make Singapore what it is today. But today only the Lee family
has benefited much from their grossly exaggerated salary increases.
What is left from those older generations who slog so hard for
Singapore? They are out in the streets picking aluminium cans and
cardboard boxes. There is no justice in terms sacrifices and
rewards.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;True that there are no direct tax
in the form of income tax. But there is a 7% indirect tax in the
form of GST and other taxes in the form of high charges for
equivalent usage. A good example is MRT and Electricity. In other
countries, the transportation company would help alleviate the
burden of the working class by implementing monthly travel MRT
passes, but why has SMRT not implement this system to help those
who take trains on a permanent basis to work. I need not say more
about electricity charges, as from my earlier post, it's been shown
that Hong Kong for an equivalent 500kwh usage a month, it's SG$30
cheaper than Singapore.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Maybe it's time that Singapore
Ministers bite the humble pie and learn from their more economic,
efficient and effective Hong Kong counterparts. No GST, low
electricity tariffs, similar income tax, cheaper healthcare,
etc.....&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;I thought it's common practice
that the government should provide for the income and spending. You
mean these days the Singapore government is seeking funds from
Gopalan Nair, Amnesty International and USA? Which country seeks
it's operating funds from them? &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;-=-=-==-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;If I&amp;nbsp;own an insurance company
reply.&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;You were talking
about usage for CPF for housing purchases. I replied
saying,&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;"Are you saying
that the investments that Temasek and the GICs make in Merrill
Lynch, Shin Corp, Suzhou Industrial Project, Optus, UBS, Bank
Danamon, Global Crossing&amp;nbsp;are of zero risk?&amp;nbsp;A rhetorical
question,&amp;nbsp;we know the answer, no need for you to reply.
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;If the government face the same risk as
other investors like Warren Buffett and Insurance Companies, I am
sure Warren Buffett or the Insurance Companies won't buy into
companies such as Global Crossing, Merrill Lynch and Shin Corp at
those prices that Temasek or the GICs pay. Which makes Warren
Buffett and Insurance companies less risky.&amp;nbsp;How do they
guarantee the interest and capital in your CPF accounts? Fiat
money, centrals banks have the exclusive authority to print money
as required. But what they have done is secured compulsory
retirement savings at low interest rates, make investments in
the&amp;nbsp;stock exchange, the&amp;nbsp;difference from the returns in
the stock market (10% to 15%) and the CPF interest rates (2.5% to
4%), they pocket into the coffers. If the funds&amp;nbsp;belong to
Singaporeans, the&amp;nbsp;government serves the citizens, why not
distribute the excess of these funds back into the
citizens'&amp;nbsp;CPF accounts. Why pocket the excess of these
earnings into the coffers?&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;And
the&amp;nbsp;Singapore government is accountable to the public? In
which way have they been accountable? Releasing construction cost
of HDB, earnings of GICs &amp;amp; Temasek, costing of hospital
charges? True the payout (in excess of a certain interest rate) of
insurance companies is subject to the performance of the company,
but&amp;nbsp;the payout definitely exceeds the 2.5% that CPF&amp;nbsp;Board
pays to it's account holders. If the payout (capital +
interest)&amp;nbsp;is below normal bond coupon rates at maturity, then
all these&amp;nbsp;Insurance company would not have lasted so long. I
think AIA would have gone bust long long time
ago.&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;When you buy
your HDB with your CPF, the HDB apartment has already been inflated
many times beyond it's true construction cost. If I&amp;nbsp;own an
insurance company and a company that builds "public housing" at
inflated cost. I too would encourage you to withdraw from your
insurance to purchase my inflated housing. Say you have an
insurance policy with net value of&amp;nbsp;$100,000, I constructed a
flat at $50,000 but sell it at $200,000. I would more than gladly
let your withdraw from your policy of $100,000 to purchase a flat
which I will profit $150,000."&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Is it because you
do not have the mental capacity to retort it, that's why you choose
to ignore it. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Money has to be backed up by the
MAS before it's printed? Backed up with what? Gold reserves? Please
tell me what is the Singapore currency backed up with? &lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Take out your Singapore currency,
tell me if it's written "Legal Tender" or "Promise to Pay the
Bearer in Gold or Silver"? If it doesn't say "Legal Tender", then
it's very valuable.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;&lt;span style="color: #333333;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;Gradually,
governments assumed a supervisory role. They specified legal
tender, defining the type of payment that legally discharged a debt
when offered to the creditor and that could be used to pay taxes.
Governments also set the weight and metallic composition
of&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a href="/forums/10/topics/" class="" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #009900;"&gt;&lt;span class="" style=
"font-weight: 400; color: #009900! important; font-family: Trebuchet MS;"&gt;
&lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;coins&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span style="color: #333333;"&gt;&lt;em&gt;.
Later they replaced fiduciary paper money&#8212;promises to pay in gold
or silver&#8212;&lt;strong&gt;with&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/span&gt; &lt;a name="362600.hook"
href="/forums/10/topics/topic?idxStructId=205763&amp;amp;amp;typeId=13"
class="" title="fiat paper money" rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #336699;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;fiat paper
money&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #333333;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;&#8212;that is, notes that are issued on
the &#8220;fiat&#8221; of the sovereign government, are specified to be so many
dollars, pounds, or yen, etc., &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;and are &lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;"legal&lt;/span&gt; &lt;span style=
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;tender"&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; but are not promises to
pay something else.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.britannica.com/eb/article-247595/money#362600.hook"
rel="nofollow"&gt;http://www.britannica.com/eb/article-247595/money#362600.hook&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=&lt;/p&gt;
STATEMENT, OR I WILL HAVE TO DO AS I SEE FIT.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;I don't know who or what you are.
Serious.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Fri, 20 Jun 2008 17:12:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8182213</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by purpledragon84 @ Thu, 19 Jun 2008 14:55:10 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;RETRACT YOUR STATEMENT, OR I WILL HAVE TO DO AS I SEE FIT.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/teeth.png"
alt="teeth.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 19 Jun 2008 14:55:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8178877</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by DeerHunter @ Thu, 19 Jun 2008 14:28:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by maurizio13:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your are entitled to your self conceptions or self deceptions.
This post is just to clear up some misconceptions of yours.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;So now you are telling me the
taxes that Singaporeans pay is related to Singapore Power? ACTEWAGL
and HEC are related to the government and government will give them
money to make their electricity cheaper. How come Singapore
government never give Singapore Power money to make electricity
cheaper? &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;We pay more taxes than Hong Kong, we have
GST and Hong Kong has low income tax rates and NO GST. Evidence
already given to you, if you can't comprehend, I can't help
it.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #000000;"&gt;Singapore Powers is 100% owned by Temasek
Holdings.Temasek is not a&amp;nbsp;private enterprise but&amp;nbsp;owned by
the State, which is the People of Singapore.&amp;nbsp;Most
countries&amp;nbsp;of the world right now is cutting subsidies and
discouraging use of fossilized fuels. Whatever that may seemed an
excess is nothing more than a fee to discourage wastage of the
world's natural resources. And such fees are credited back into
Temasek's profits account, which belongs to the&amp;nbsp;People. How
other countries, such as resource rich Australia,&amp;nbsp;settle such
issues, it is not for us to comment.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;The government also don't serve
out welfare payouts for the aging.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;This
is an blatant and outright attempt to mislead. Have you heard of
Community Development Council ( CDC)? are you aware of the public
assistance schemes for the elderly such as cash grants and free
medical assistance by our govt, the ones you are bleeting like a
sheep "PAP bad, SDP, other political opposition
good"?&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;a href=
"http://www.cdc.org.sg/1169433071305/1162796276360.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.cdc.org.sg/1169433071305/1162796276360.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;You
make me sick.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;-=-=-=-=-=--=-=-=-=-=-=-&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;The government can always print
money to cover the CPF payouts, if say tomorrow all our investments
are lost in the stock market. Can the government raise money to pay
those in retirement? Yes, because the central bank can always print
more money.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;What
are you infering? Are you saying the central bank can just print
more money even if it is not backed? Investments lost as in totally
wiped out and not paper losses? Are you claiming issuing of 'banana
notes?' Do you even know what you talking about or claiming??? You
better be specific. I have no wish to infer or make assumptions on
what you said.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.econbrowser.com/archives/2008/04/central_bank_in.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;em&gt;Furthermore, the power to create money is
precisely the kind of power we never want to have in the hands of
Congress or the President. If the politicians had the ability to
pay for their programs simply by printing money, there is no
question that the outcome would be ferocious inflation.
&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;One of the clearest
lessons of history is that a central bank that lacks strong
independence from the fiscal authorities is a recipe for
disaster.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Anyway the term "paper loss" is a
non technical term used by uncle &amp;amp; auntie investors.
In&amp;nbsp;technical terms,&amp;nbsp;we use realised loss and unrealised
loss, else all the investment companies making losses in their
investments will say it's only "paper loss" and not present it in
their financial statement.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.fdic.gov/regulations/examinations/supervisory/insights/sisum05/accounting_news.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;em&gt;Accounting for Certain Investments in Debt and
Equity Securities&lt;/em&gt;, as amended (FAS 115), was originally issued
in 1993. FAS 115 is perhaps best known for requiring investment
securities to be categorized into three categories:
held-to-maturity, trading, and available-for-sale. &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;However, it also requires that an
institution determine whether a decline in fair value below
amortized cost for an individual available-for-sale or
held-to-maturity security is other than temporary. If the
impairment is judged to be other than temporary, the cost basis of
the individual security must be written down to fair value, thereby
establishing a new cost basis for the security, and the amount of
the write-down must be included in earnings as a realized
loss&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-=-=-=--=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;CPF
is an insurance scheme&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;It
is not. Just because it has characteristics similar with insurance
endowment policies, it is not. The money collected&amp;nbsp;into
insurance companies belongs to private hands that are not
accountable to the public. It's final payout is often subjected to
performance of the company. The payout is not guaranteed. Read
their fine print.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;CPF
is guaranteed. You can use it to fund your house and medical
expenses and pay only similar interest rates. You cannot with
endowment policies, which if it is loaned out and not every single
penny of it, you pay higher than market interest
rates.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;Please do not lump everything together to support
your hypothesis.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;Again, you are entitled to your self conceptions
or self delusions.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Are you saying that
the investments that Temasek and the GICs make in Merrill Lynch,
Shin Corp, Suzhou Industrial Project, Optus, UBS, Bank Danamon,
Global Crossing&amp;nbsp;are of zero risk?&amp;nbsp;A rhetorical
earnings into the coffers?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;And
ago.&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;When you buy your
HDB with your CPF, the HDB apartment has already been inflated many
times beyond it's true construction cost. If I&amp;nbsp;own an
which I will profit $150,000.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Lump up everything?
I thought these were the points&amp;nbsp;raised by you? I merely
responded to your points, now you saying that you brought up points
to support my hypothesis. &lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Funny. &lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You can't rebutt my points then you call it
delusion. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You don't even make it a point to explain
anything. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You throwing in the towel so early in the
discussion? &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
generated?&lt;/p&gt;
delusions.&lt;/p&gt;
kind.&lt;/p&gt;
reply.&lt;/p&gt;
STATEMENT, OR I WILL HAVE TO DO AS I SEE FIT.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 19 Jun 2008 14:28:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8178837</guid>
      <author>DeerHunter</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by Atobe @ Thu, 19 Jun 2008 12:23:30 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Hi M13,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Good reply given.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Increasing the money supply simply to meet the shortfall in
available cash account to payout on savings owed to the citizens
?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is surely the thoughts of a desparado autocrat - who
believe he can get away with financial rape.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is enough evidence to note that the TS has his own version
of political and economic idiot-logy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The MIW will surely be embarrassed to have a fool
debating&amp;nbsp;for their interest.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 19 Jun 2008 12:23:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8178597</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Thu, 19 Jun 2008 10:47:30 +0800</title>
cheaper? &lt;img src=
"http://www.sgforums.com/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;We pay more taxes than Hong Kong, we
have GST and Hong Kong has low income tax rates and NO GST.
Evidence already given to you, if you can't comprehend, I can't
help it.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
issues, it is not for us to comment.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;This
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.cdc.org.sg/1169433071305/1162796276360.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;You
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;What
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;CPF
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;It
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;CPF
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
cheaper? &lt;img src=
&lt;p&gt;-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;-=-=-=-=-=--=-=-=-=-=-=-&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.econbrowser.com/archives/2008/04/central_bank_in.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;em&gt;Furthermore, the power to create money is
precisely the kind of power we never want to have in the hands of
Congress or the President. If the politicians had the ability to
pay for their programs simply by printing money, there is no
question that the outcome would be ferocious inflation.
&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;One of the clearest
lessons of history is that a central bank that lacks strong
independence from the fiscal authorities is a recipe for
disaster.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Anyway the term "paper loss" is a
non technical term used by uncle &amp;amp; auntie investors.
In&amp;nbsp;technical terms,&amp;nbsp;we use realised loss and unrealised
loss, else all the investment companies making losses in their
investments will say it's only "paper loss" and not present it in
their financial statement.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.fdic.gov/regulations/examinations/supervisory/insights/sisum05/accounting_news.html"
rel="nofollow"&gt;&lt;em&gt;Accounting for Certain Investments in Debt and
Equity Securities&lt;/em&gt;, as amended (FAS 115), was originally issued
in 1993. FAS 115 is perhaps best known for requiring investment
securities to be categorized into three categories:
held-to-maturity, trading, and available-for-sale. &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;However, it also requires that an
institution determine whether a decline in fair value below
amortized cost for an individual available-for-sale or
held-to-maturity security is other than temporary. If the
impairment is judged to be other than temporary, the cost basis of
the individual security must be written down to fair value, thereby
establishing a new cost basis for the security, and the amount of
the write-down must be included in earnings as a realized
loss&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;-=-=-=--=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Are you saying that
the investments that Temasek and the GICs make in Merrill Lynch,
Shin Corp, Suzhou Industrial Project, Optus, UBS, Bank Danamon,
Global Crossing&amp;nbsp;are of zero risk?&amp;nbsp;A rhetorical
earnings into the coffers?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;And
ago.&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;When you buy your
HDB with your CPF, the HDB apartment has already been inflated many
times beyond it's true construction cost. If I&amp;nbsp;own an
which I will profit $150,000.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Lump up everything?
I thought these were the points&amp;nbsp;raised by you? I merely
responded to your points, now you saying that you brought up points
to support my hypothesis. &lt;img src=
"color: #000000;"&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Funny. &lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You can't rebutt my points then you call it
delusion. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You don't even make it a point to explain
anything. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You throwing in the towel so early in the
discussion? &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Originally posted by DeerHunter on 17 Jun 08 @ 6:34pm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1.) Have you any definitive proof of such 'overcharging' - which
means over and above the normal rates others' charge? For example:-
healthcare - the govt charges more than private clinics and
hospitals. HDB flats costs more than Condos. School fees more than
what a Singaporean would have to pay if he studies in eg; Australia
or US, which are of comparable if not lower standards than our high
school equivalent.( Not comparing Colleges, Uni, as the standards
are higher there)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2. ) How much of these investments returns will be? You left out
the amounts, on purpose? Usually it is much lower and seldom more
than double digits. Would that be enough to fund social spending in
education, healthcare, transportation, etc?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3. ) NKF is a private charity foundation. It's monies are
non-refundable. It was a good thing our media, whom you profess as
a govt mouthpiece, spilt the beans on its&amp;nbsp;mismanagement. Only
a fool would use NKF as a comparison to our treasury.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Unlike NKF, our funds in the treasury are&amp;nbsp;in terms of CPF
and tax revenues and have to be returned back to the People,
espacially CPF which promises 4% annual returns. How else to give
such returns except to invest it prudently for slightly more than
the 4% returns, and with any excess, use it for social spending so
as not to tax the citizens further?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As any investor knows, risk adverse blue chip investments are in
it for the long haul and seldom see double digit %&amp;nbsp;annual
returns. You claim a doomsday will never come. Why don't you work
out how much actual medical care subsidy alone costs&amp;nbsp;are,
espacially with our aging population whom requires it most and tell
me if even with a budget surplus used solely just for it, if we can
promise full medical care for them ALL.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The only reason why our health care subsidize are not more than
S$1.6billion this year&amp;nbsp;is rather, fortunately or
unfortunately, patients cannot even afford the 'co-pay' of 20% on
the full course of treatment, and would rather take pills to
sustain themselves to see another sunrise till the pain overcomes
their heartbeats. I&amp;nbsp;don't mind to&amp;nbsp;subsidize all, pay more
taxes, but what about CPF monies which must be returned with
interests earned from investments? Where will&amp;nbsp;other money come
from other than us whom are gainfully employed? What about other
funds for social spendings?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Any person would realize the importance of saving up monies. Can
you tell what the future will be? You can't. Better to be safe,
than sorry, for the sake of our future generations, just as the
previous generations sacrificed for us all now. $100 million in our
coffers in 1965&amp;nbsp;didn't grow to become US$300 billion by magic,
but by prudent management with strict controls, so that we can
still afford within our ability to help most, if not all of those
less well off than us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 19 Jun 2008 10:47:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8178314</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by Spartans @ Thu, 19 Jun 2008 10:26:55 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by crimsontactics:&lt;/div&gt;
1st.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I believe the inflation is mainly due to external factors which the
government has no control of. Such as fuel oil price, food price
and so on.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another reason is due to some stupid taxes and charges such as
the GST and ERP.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 19 Jun 2008 10:26:55 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8178269</guid>
      <author>Spartans</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by crimsontactics @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 22:11:36 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Spartans:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In my opinion, PAP government has being prudent in spending on
welfare. Too much welfare will put an unbearable strain on the
governmental budget.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;On the other hand, the government has being way too stingy in
helping the poor elderly and homeless. More can be done to help
these groups of people who do not have the mean to look after
themselves.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Recently, the government allowed a $40 increment in monthly
allowance for the poor elderly from $250 to $290. However, people
have being lobbying for $300 allowance for a long long time. How
are the elderly going to survive based on this $290 when inflation
is at an all time high?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
1st.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 22:11:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8177203</guid>
      <author>crimsontactics</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by Spartans @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 21:12:14 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;In my opinion, PAP government has being prudent in spending on
welfare. Too much welfare will put an unbearable strain on the
governmental budget.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;On the other hand, the government has being way too stingy in
helping the poor elderly and homeless. More can be done to help
these groups of people who do not have the mean to look after
themselves.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Recently, the government allowed a $40 increment in monthly
allowance for the poor elderly from $250 to $290. However, people
have being lobbying for $300 allowance for a long long time. How
are the elderly going to survive based on this $290 when inflation
is at an all time high?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 21:12:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8177075</guid>
      <author>Spartans</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by &#163;&#300;&#8364;&#1712; @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 21:03:26 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by will4:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think UBS also plus 1000 locals gave up their citizenship each
year n getting their CPF cash.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is there any reason why you already like to talk about 1000 local
giving up their citizenship on almost every thread?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 21:03:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8177055</guid>
      <author>&#163;&#300;&#8364;&#1712;</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by Atobe @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 20:51:40 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Yah. More uncertainty ahead. I read the investment that our gifted
elite leaders plough into Merrill Lynch in December 2007, it's
around 6 months and the share has dropped to $37.92. A lost of 21%
of it's capital as our competent Temasek paid $48 for it. After
Temasek paid $48 the price of this share has been below $48 for the
major part of the 6 months to June 08.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That's what you get when you put folks&amp;nbsp;who behave
like&amp;nbsp;Than Shwe on the top of these GICs, they have no
experience handling investment decisions in capital markets. That's
why they make major blunders all along the way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb312/maurizio13/MerrillLynch-17Jun08_Page_1.png"
height="791" alt="" width="1024" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #0000ff;"&gt;It is amazing that&amp;nbsp;LKY will
criticise Warren Buffet, whose wealth that he manages&amp;nbsp;is based
on his own personal enterprise and keen business acumen,&amp;nbsp;while
the wealth that LKY manages is from the accumulated funds taxed
from&amp;nbsp;all who reside and transact&amp;nbsp;their economic
activities&amp;nbsp;in Singapore.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #0000ff;"&gt;One thing is for sure, the article
-&amp;nbsp;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;a href="/forums/10/topics/320397" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;&#8217;LKY ain&#8217;t no Warren Buffet&#8217;&lt;/a&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;span style=
"color: #0000ff;"&gt;- is surely accurate ?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #0000ff;"&gt;One works for his own wealth, the
other is supposed to manage the wealth for others.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 20:51:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8177025</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by crimsontactics @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:24:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
of it's capital as our competent Temasek paid $48 for it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You know maurizio, we had too many good years.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:24:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176813</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by will4 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:23:27 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
of it's capital as our competent Temasek paid $48 for it.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think UBS also plus 1000 locals gave up their citizenship each
year n getting their CPF cash.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:23:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176812</guid>
      <author>will4</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:20:43 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think Shin Corp is the most pitiful matter. It has not been
solved esp the present Thai govt is still afraid of the army.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
of it's capital as our competent Temasek paid $48 for it. After
Temasek paid $48 the price of this share has been below $48 for the
major part of the 6 months to June 08.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That's what you get when you put folks&amp;nbsp;who behave
like&amp;nbsp;Than Shwe on the top of these GICs, they have no
experience handling investment decisions in capital markets. That's
why they make major blunders all along the way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb312/maurizio13/MerrillLynch-17Jun08_Page_1.png"
height="791" alt="" width="1024" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:20:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176804</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by DeerHunter @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:15:54 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Strange isn't it? A country like Taiwan with half the value of GDP
per capita as compared to Singapore, has a slightly higher average
wage for it's workers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The issue with Singapore is the distribution of income, the bulk
of it is concentrated at the top, while the poor gets pittance.
They drive down the wages of below average income earners by
increasing the supply of foreign talents. The lower wages increases
the profitability of the company, which goes into paying off the
stellar salaries of the CEO and higher management. A good part of
those high flying CEOs are relatives of the regime. Folks such as
LHY sitting in comfy seats getting big fat salary, bonus and stock
options.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Again you attempt to mislead and cast aspersions on
others without a single shred of evidence. WHAT IS YOUR
PROBLEM?!&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They drive down the wages of below average income earners by
stellar salaries of the CEO and higher management.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Without these experienced foreign talents or cheap
foreign workers, companies would not even bother setting up
operations here! For every few FT/FWs that get hire, it creates
another post for our&amp;nbsp;locals, if they are suitably trained for
the job,&amp;nbsp;whether&amp;nbsp;U grads or&amp;nbsp;blue collared
supervisory&amp;nbsp;ITE grads. And no one is denied the opportunity to
upgrade, young or old. The govt even provide grants.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Companies profit -&amp;nbsp;the country&amp;nbsp;have more tax
revenues. Higher management get more money - its how the world
works too, not just singapore, in a drive to get the best to
serve.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;A good part of those high flying CEOs are relatives of the
regime. Folks such as LHY sitting in comfy seats getting big fat
salary, bonus and stock options.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;What are you saying? What 'good part' are you refering
to? Put down the numbers if you dare. Don't just smear and smear as
you wish. Best not be so mudslingingly free. You will be
challenged.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:15:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176796</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by crimsontactics @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:15:46 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
options.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Quite true, nothing much to be said about.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think we are kindda off-topic, better get back to welfare and
healthcare costs.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:15:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176795</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by will4 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:14:36 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
They made alot of bad investment decisions, Global Crossing was the
worst of the lot, I don't know how many billions they pump into
this sinking company to keep it afloat.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can't help it if the investment decisions is only made by one
person from the top without heed of advice from experts, but anyway
most of those working under him are just poodles fearing his wrath,
so I would say they won't dare make alternative advice if big boss
wants to plunge his money in these bad investments.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think Shin Corp is the most pitiful matter. It has not been
solved esp the present Thai govt is still afraid of the army.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:14:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176792</guid>
      <author>will4</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:12:29 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;There is a book on this country in which the investment for
Suzhou or Biopolis went awry.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
They made alot of bad investment decisions, Global Crossing was the
worst of the lot, I don't know how many billions they pump into
this sinking company to keep it afloat.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can't help it if the investment decisions is only made by one
person from the top without heed of advice from experts, but anyway
most of those working under him are just poodles fearing his wrath,
so I would say they won't dare make alternative advice if big boss
wants to plunge his money in these bad investments.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:12:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176788</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by &#163;&#300;&#8364;&#1712; @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:04:42 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
options.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think you should visit taiwan personally to see the living
standard of taiwanese and income gap before&amp;nbsp;making further
comments. As a singaporean, I think you&amp;nbsp;should
be&amp;nbsp;thankful that next time your 16 years old daugther dont
have to sell betel nuts to truck drivers wearing nothing but
undewear.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/0b/BetelNutBeauty.png"
height="244" alt="" width="200" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:04:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176780</guid>
      <author>&#163;&#300;&#8364;&#1712;</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by DeerHunter @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:01:57 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;"You are the guru in running away from the discussion by
bringing in new issues, putting words in others mouth and
profanities."&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Right now, you are putting words into my mouth and
making unfounded claims on my person. You just lost your
credibility, and i will demolish every single one of your arguments
easily, and with facts. Don't be smug, wiseguy.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
"1) The charges for the 12 private hospitals ranges from HKD 320
(SGD 62.38 ) to HKD 900 (First Class Wards). I used HKD 450 to HKD
550 which is misleading,........ Maybe we should try comparing Hong
Kong's Public Hospital and so called "heavily subsidised" Singapore
Public Hospital.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="/forums/10/topics/270194?page=2" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/270194?page=2&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Oxford mushroom had proven your misleading statements.
Must you continue to tell half truth to support your useless
overinflated ego? Others may want to click on that link above. I
have no wish to continue to argue on the old point with a fool,
debunked already by someone else.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Where did oxford mushroom prove to
me that the cost of hospitalisation is less in Singapore as
compared to Hong Kong? Please quote.&lt;/span&gt; &lt;img src=
&lt;p&gt;"b. )Our electricity rate is grossly overpriced when compared to
a comparable country like Australia (in terms of GDP per
capita).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.......&lt;strong&gt;Well I guess so long as Singaporeans are lapping
it up, then it's not a big issue.&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp; &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;"&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;You fool! How much tax do the Australians pay? Do you
know they are one of the highest in the world? Of course they can
show a lower cost to their direct charges. And you had been
carrying&amp;nbsp; on with this power costing to prove our govt of
'over-charging' as a smoking gun. But it only makes you look like
another complete village idiot!&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
cheaper? &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;We pay more taxes than Hong Kong, we have
GST and Hong Kong has low income tax rates and NO GST. Evidence
already given to you, if you can't comprehend, I can't help
it.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) 18% of $160 billions is $28.8 billions.&amp;nbsp;$28.8 billions
is the&amp;nbsp;amount of investment revenue that the government has
deprived it's citizen from, instead it is insistent on increasing
GST and other charges to build up NKF type reserves for doomsday
scenario that will never happen.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Doomsday scenario that will never happen? It's your
belief, but the fact is, the country is facing an aging population
whose tax contribution will dwindle down eventually. Then what? Add
more taxes to our young. Go on with your beliefs, but people prefer
facts than your fantasies.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Tax contribution dwindle then? The
government also don't serve out welfare payouts for the aging. It's
time they learn how to balance their budget by taking less pay,
trim the fats from the Ministers, do away with redundant SM and MM.
If you company makes less sales. 1) Do you as a CEO&amp;nbsp;control
your cost? or 2) Charge a higher price for all your products? What
you are doing is raising your price with lower sales to boost
profit margins so as to squeeze out more from consumers to pay for
the astronomical salaries of your CEO, CFO, CIO, etc. Hardly a
logical move for any competent CEO.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Don't worry&amp;nbsp;our honourable
Ministers will import more foreign talents to snuff out the old
folks. Leave the old folks to their own devices on the MRT tracks
lor. Less old folks, more foreign talents means more taxes and
foreign workers levy. So a situation of more aging is quite
impossible with the current influx of young foreign
talents.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Not to mention the logic of your
thinking is not sound, I have seen old folks in their 70s and 80s
working, contributing to the economy. Having an active income which
is taxed by the IRAS. Haven't the government promoted the idea of
old folks working to the grave? What happened to this scheme? You
threw out the government's scheme single handedly?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) They couldn't cover up the NKF issue any more. I still
remember when the mismanagement of NKF was raised, alot of the
politicians&amp;nbsp;said it's normal&amp;nbsp;and even a politician's wife
claim that it was peanuts compared to what the politicians are
receiving. But as the event unfolds, more public anger ensued,
that's only when the government stepped in.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;You are maligning the govt without evidence. NKF is an
individual issue by itself. If you have evidence of mismanagement
on the management of our coffers, then prove it. IF not, then you
are doing nothing more than to speculate and spread
sedition.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;Hahaha.....What did I malign?
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;You are
just a sheepdog herding the sheeps with threats when you can't post
a credible response. I am not a sheep, thus you can't herd
me.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;We have a surplus budget every year and we have investments from
Temasek that are giving them 18% a year. The budget is separate
from the investments in Temasek. Budget has surpluses and Temasek
has investment returns of 18%. To whom does the money in Temasek
belong to? Singaporeans or the Leegime? Isn't it common practice to
return excess funds back to shareholders, in terms of share price
increases or share repurchase schemes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Again you malign the govt. Are you claiming that the
investments returns went into the Lee's pockets? You better be more
specific and back it up with facts, otherwise, you are again giving
wild speculations and not facts. The returns belong to the People
to be used for savings and further investments to generate more
returns so that taxes can be kept low in years to come, more so
when we have no resources to depend on.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;I said what I said, whatever you
infer from the statements with your limited comprehension ability
is of your own maleficence, none of my doing.&amp;nbsp;It's
the&amp;nbsp;usual threats from you&amp;nbsp;when you can't respond to
questions and points.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Don't be daft in telling us that CPF is risk free, but is it
inflation risk free? Essentially any investment guaranteed by the
central bank is risk free, because central banks have the authority
to issue money. But issuing money indiscriminately would only
result in inflation. The current forecasted inflation is in the
region of 7-8% this year, interest rates in CPF only hovers around
2-3%. So citizens have been forcibly tied down into CPF decreasing
their purchasing power for&amp;nbsp;the future.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Investments on a short time frame is always risky, but the
Singapore government with it's collective of CPF savings is able to
iron out the creases from investments cycles (where stocks go down
and up). Why are they able to iron out the uncertainty in
investment cycles? It's because not everyone draws on their
retirement savings at the same time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Say with age bands from 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s and 70s. While
the 70s year old band are drawing out on their retirement savings,
the 20s to 60s are still contributing to their CPF accounts.
Therefore if there was an investment downturn when the 70s are
drawing on their retirement savings, the government is still able
to hold on to their investments till the next boom of the
investment cycles.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But what the government has done is take out the average returns
from equity market of about 10% to 15% and replace it with a low
yield 2% to 3% interest rate for CPF account holders. They have
profitted the difference of 12% into the state coffers at the
expense of CPF account holders.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;You are the only one daft here. The CPF returns are
guaranteed by the govt. As with guarantees, it is a promise which
must be upheld. The safest way to ensure such promises can be
realized is to offer lower returns. 18% returns today does not mean
we will get 18% tomorrow. Whatever the excess, it is plough back
into our coffers for savings, investments and social
spending.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;We are not talking about tomorrow
we will be getting less than 18% dude. It's a cradle to death
situation, you buy the stock, you hold it, reap the dividends and
share price growth. Anybody would know that if you (as an
individual) purchase the stock, the share price might decrease
tomorrow, but in time, it will increase again. But with constraints
to your needs of liquidity, you might need to sell at a lower price
when you are in dire need of cash. But as the government holds the
CPF money of all it's citizens, the citizens are locked in till
retirement at 65 (assuming), there is no need for the government to
force sell the investment to raise cash for somebody's retirement
(only those above 65 or 70) will cash out. The government only need
maintains a certain percentage in liquid assets and the rest in
equity. The government can always print money to cover the CPF
payouts, if say tomorrow all our investments are lost in the stock
market. Can the government raise money to pay those in retirement?
Yes, because the central bank can always print more
money.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;CPF is an insurance scheme that
pays less than average bond coupon rates. It has all the attributes
of an insurance scheme, long term in excess of 40-50 years and no
withdrawals from account is allowed. Guess what are the returns for
insurance held to maturity. Shouldn't an investment with the
characteristics of an insurance scheme be paid rates similar to an
insurance scheme?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;ul&gt;
&lt;li&gt;&lt;em&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.rlam.co.uk/scotlife/web/site/Media/PressReleasesArea/Archive/PR070305page.asp"
rel="nofollow"&gt;The payout on a Scottish Life &#163;50 per month 25-year
with profits endowment is &#163;48,618 . With total premiums on the
policy of &#163;15,000 this represents an annualised return of
8.4%.&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
"http://www.rlam.co.uk/scotlife/web/site/Media/PressReleasesArea/Archive/PR070305page.asp"
rel="nofollow"&gt;The payout on a Scottish Life 20-year &#163;200 per month
with profits pension is &#163;142,089, an annualised return of
9.8%.&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
rel="nofollow"&gt;The payout on a Scottish Life 20-year single premium
&#163;10,000 pension contribution is &#163;77,329 , an annualised return of
10.8%.&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/li&gt;
&lt;/ul&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Risk on a long term horizon with a&amp;nbsp;massive
funds&amp;nbsp;company&amp;nbsp;(Singapore) is always negligible, because
stock markets will always rebound after a certain period (be it
recession). If they don't, we'd all be jobless and dead. &lt;img src=
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;I fully agree with you on this. Only thing is, no one
knows for sure when is the exact time. Thus the need for caution,
and calls for capable managers to watch over funds.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Doubtless that you will bring up new issues again and start
putting words in my mouth again. Please retort the facts presented
here with facts and analysis instead of bringing in new issues.
Settle the current issues presented here before squirming away with
new issues to detract from the discussion. &lt;img src=
"icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;You are the guru in running away from the
discussion by bringing in new issues, putting words in others mouth
and profanities. &lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;I don't have time to argue new topics
each time you lose the current issue at hand.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;NO new issues. I answered all of them. Anything else?
But you in your stubborn way will never agree to what i had
written. So be it. YOu keep to your beliefs, and me mine. But the
readers out there will be better able to discern the truth
themselves.&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
cheaper? &lt;img src=
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:01:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176774</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by will4 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:01:13 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
options.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is a book on this country in which the investment for
Suzhou or Biopolis went awry.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 19:01:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176770</guid>
      <author>will4</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Social Welfare Health costs replied by maurizio13 @ Wed, 18 Jun 2008 18:58:29 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think u statement is a reflection on the brain drain happening in
this country in which 1000 locals gave up their local
citizenship.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
options.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 18:58:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:320841:8176762</guid>