<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/321351</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by whiskers @ Tue, 01 Jul 2008 01:18:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by HyperFocal:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Policies on ERP and COEs seem contradictory&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
Lee Su Shyan&lt;br /&gt;
Mon, Jun 30, 2008&lt;br /&gt;
The Straits Times&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
I AM puzzled by the recent announcements on the impending
Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) rate changes, with effect from
July7.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I vividly remember reading a Straits Times article in March or
April this year on a Land Transport Authority (LTA) report on the
benefits of introducing ERP in Orchard Road.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The report stated that before ERP was introduced, retailers were
worried the measures would drive away customers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
However, instead of business going downhill, retailers in Orchard
are enjoying record boom. One reason was that ERP deterred
motorists who used Orchard Road as a thoroughfare, and genuine
shoppers flocked there to shop. The report also stated that car
speeds were an optimum 20kmh to 30kmh, and ERP gantries in Orchard
succeeded in keeping down traffic.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Now, on June 17, the LTA announced that car speeds in Orchard
have fallen considerably, ERP charges will go up from $1 to $2 and
operating hours on Saturdays will be from 11.30am to 8pm.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My question is, who validates and verifies that cars are moving
at optimum speed? Who checks these reports? Who decides that, three
months ago, the speed was optimum, but now it is no longer so?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;One possible reason is that there are more cars on the road now.
Cars are cheaper, application for car loans is easier, COE prices
have dropped considerably, and rebates are given to motorists who
switch to CNG cars.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The LTA controls the number of COEs issued, and although it says
it will control the number of COEs issued because of highly
congested roads, many policies are implemented to make car
ownership easier.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So why does the LTA continue to issue COEs, even though it
stated in a report last year that COEs issued are way above the
stipulated quota - 9 per cent instead of 3 per cent?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And after issuing so many COEs, the LTA introduces ERP gantries
everywhere with higher prices and longer operating hours to
discourage vehicle use. Why not control the issuing of COEs in the
first place?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I hope the LTA can shed some light on these apparently
contradictory policies.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Jennifer Wong (Ms)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sounds like drug addiction leh...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 01 Jul 2008 01:18:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8208591</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by HyperFocal @ Mon, 30 Jun 2008 17:41:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Policies on ERP and COEs seem contradictory&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
Lee Su Shyan&lt;br /&gt;
Mon, Jun 30, 2008&lt;br /&gt;
The Straits Times&lt;/strong&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
I AM puzzled by the recent announcements on the impending
Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) rate changes, with effect from
July7.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I vividly remember reading a Straits Times article in March or
April this year on a Land Transport Authority (LTA) report on the
benefits of introducing ERP in Orchard Road.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The report stated that before ERP was introduced, retailers were
worried the measures would drive away customers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;
However, instead of business going downhill, retailers in Orchard
are enjoying record boom. One reason was that ERP deterred
motorists who used Orchard Road as a thoroughfare, and genuine
shoppers flocked there to shop. The report also stated that car
speeds were an optimum 20kmh to 30kmh, and ERP gantries in Orchard
succeeded in keeping down traffic.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Now, on June 17, the LTA announced that car speeds in Orchard
have fallen considerably, ERP charges will go up from $1 to $2 and
operating hours on Saturdays will be from 11.30am to 8pm.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My question is, who validates and verifies that cars are moving
at optimum speed? Who checks these reports? Who decides that, three
months ago, the speed was optimum, but now it is no longer so?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;One possible reason is that there are more cars on the road now.
Cars are cheaper, application for car loans is easier, COE prices
have dropped considerably, and rebates are given to motorists who
switch to CNG cars.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The LTA controls the number of COEs issued, and although it says
it will control the number of COEs issued because of highly
congested roads, many policies are implemented to make car
ownership easier.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So why does the LTA continue to issue COEs, even though it
stated in a report last year that COEs issued are way above the
stipulated quota - 9 per cent instead of 3 per cent?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And after issuing so many COEs, the LTA introduces ERP gantries
everywhere with higher prices and longer operating hours to
discourage vehicle use. Why not control the issuing of COEs in the
first place?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I hope the LTA can shed some light on these apparently
contradictory policies.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Jennifer Wong (Ms)&lt;br /&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 30 Jun 2008 17:41:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8207742</guid>
      <author>HyperFocal</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by balance_else_complacent @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 22:59:27 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Crimsonlknight:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Since when are their ideas good anyway? Many of their policies
contradict each other. Dont even think they read or understand the
contents before approving.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Definitely not more good years ahead. Rather, more problems
ahead.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
You mean public opinion and opposition opinions should be consulted
before passing any policy?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;democracy?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I no no de.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 22:59:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8195795</guid>
      <author>balance_else_complacent</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by Crimsonlknight @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:36:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Since when are their ideas good anyway? Many of their policies
contradict each other. Dont even think they read or understand the
contents before approving.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Definitely not more good years ahead. Rather, more problems
ahead.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:36:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8194912</guid>
      <author>Crimsonlknight</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by Midlusionz @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:31:49 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
balance_else_complacent:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
no problem wans. Like those working in CBD area , its reported that
their employers pay for their parking and maybe ERPs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, I think we should simply pass the cost to the employers who
earns much more than they pay the employees. a few hundred or tens
of dollars more a month paid to employees is really nothing if not
zilch.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, in my humble opine, its totally fair because, in this world,
no one should owe anyone a living.&amp;nbsp; If you are paid, better
work for it. Else, you should be replaced. Even if you contributed
for the last 40 odd years, no one owes you any shiit. You have been
paid and like anyone else, in a democracy, you are expected to
deliver and be accountable. You do not own the country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If&amp;nbsp;this guy&amp;nbsp;buay song, no one will stop him from
giving up his position for the next better player.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;'this guy' and 'you' means people in general. no to offend
anyone here. cheers!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The ERP of cos its useful towards Singaporeans but hey those
malaysian traveling to and fro damn poor thing .. Unless something
is done about malaysian .. Then i will said this is a good
idea.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:31:49 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8194900</guid>
      <author>Midlusionz</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by Midlusionz @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:29:32 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by freedom4ever:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but our minister said that it is to improve the traffic
flow.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;what about residents at Toa Payoh, isn't that very unfair
too?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I dun believe in "Our minister say this say that" thingy .. Do u
know how many m'sian travel to and fro? As for the resident at TPY
.. There's why they are complaining about it.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 17:29:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8194896</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by balance_else_complacent @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 10:48:54 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Midlusionz:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
How bout the malaysian who travel to and fro to work in SG? Isn't
that very unfair?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
no problem wans. Like those working in CBD area , its reported that
their employers pay for their parking and maybe ERPs.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, I think we should simply pass the cost to the employers who
earns much more than they pay the employees. a few hundred or tens
of dollars more a month paid to employees is really nothing if not
zilch.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So, in my humble opine, its totally fair because, in this world,
no one should owe anyone a living.&amp;nbsp; If you are paid, better
work for it. Else, you should be replaced. Even if you contributed
for the last 40 odd years, no one owes you any shiit. You have been
paid and like anyone else, in a democracy, you are expected to
deliver and be accountable. You do not own the country.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If&amp;nbsp;this guy&amp;nbsp;buay song, no one will stop him from
giving up his position for the next better player.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;'this guy' and 'you' means people in general. no to offend
anyone here. cheers!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 10:48:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8193575</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by deathmaster @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 10:38:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;the gahmen is trying to herd us around like sheeps.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 10:38:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8193553</guid>
      <author>deathmaster</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by nehpyh @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 09:34:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Someone intending to set up a Fight Club???&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 09:34:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8193351</guid>
      <author>nehpyh</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by freedom4ever @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 02:33:03 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Midlusionz:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
that very unfair?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but our minister said that it is to improve the traffic
flow.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;what about residents at Toa Payoh, isn't that very unfair
too?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 02:33:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8193157</guid>
      <author>freedom4ever</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by Midlusionz @ Wed, 25 Jun 2008 00:07:41 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;is there a place for me to give my suggestion to them?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i really hope there is an ERP at woodlands checkpoint. then next
time i see where got jam i can go suggest to them also.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
that very unfair?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 25 Jun 2008 00:07:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8192950</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by freedom4ever @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 23:56:44 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
balance_else_complacent:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think you have brought out the most overlooked aspect for
ERP.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I kudos you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I salute you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If implemented, the woodland check point would be congestion
free.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;this is achieved by having a cheap ERP fee of $20 SGD per
entry.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like this, no need to go JB buy petrol liao. All fuel revenue
goes to singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;afterall, JB vehicles come here enjoy should pay and pay for the
enjoyment also what . Some more some vehicles give out very toxic
black smoke wans. Like entertainment industry. They song song enjoy
liao, must pay also.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why no ERP at checkpoint ha? Diplomatico ar?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;they introduce traffic to singapore too right? its congested
right? severely congested right? and then leh ? what happen?
Opposition? where are you when needed? june holiday over soon
leh.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;is there a place for me to give my suggestion to them?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i really hope there is an ERP at woodlands checkpoint. then next
time i see where got jam i can go suggest to them also.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 23:56:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8192914</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by balance_else_complacent @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 17:07:47 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;they should also set up a gantry at the woodlands check point
too. there always traffic jam at the custom especially during the
weekend.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I think you have brought out the most overlooked aspect for
ERP.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I kudos you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I salute you.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If implemented, the woodland check point would be congestion
free.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;this is achieved by having a cheap ERP fee of $20 SGD per
entry.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like this, no need to go JB buy petrol liao. All fuel revenue
goes to singapore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;afterall, JB vehicles come here enjoy should pay and pay for the
enjoyment also what . Some more some vehicles give out very toxic
black smoke wans. Like entertainment industry. They song song enjoy
liao, must pay also.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why no ERP at checkpoint ha? Diplomatico ar?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;they introduce traffic to singapore too right? its congested
right? severely congested right? and then leh ? what happen?
Opposition? where are you when needed? june holiday over soon
leh.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 17:07:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8191739</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by freedom4ever @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 16:54:15 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;they should also set up a gantry at the woodlands check point
too. there always traffic jam at the custom especially during the
weekend.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 16:54:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8191719</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by citymax @ Tue, 24 Jun 2008 16:13:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;the best is to increase to 5 dollar per gantry, and the whole
stretch of ecp and pie will have at least 5 gantries.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1 car - 25 dollars per day&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;10 cars - 250 dollars&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;100 cars - 2500 dollars&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;lol..we are the richest country inturn of transport!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 16:13:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8191603</guid>
      <author>citymax</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by charlize @ Sun, 22 Jun 2008 12:21:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;ERPs at the entrance of all carparks.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Let's tax all the cars.&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 22 Jun 2008 12:21:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8185985</guid>
      <author>charlize</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by eagle @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:19:57 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by zaxis:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when implem, tell people to start work hour flexi, now after
start flexi, evening still has erp, saturday also erp.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;erp= every road pay&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;built multi layer highway, closed them during peak hour,
likewhat happen during recent encounter at shanghai&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it was told due to some traffic problem below certain section of
the multi layer highway, miss one importance EXIT, you need to go
round the stupid outer ring road 1, juntion past outer ringroad 2,
juntion pass outer ring road 3, before can get off to ground level
of the desination i want to go.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Singapore is very good at this one =&amp;gt; build flyovers along
CTE over the commonly congested exits like AMK ave 3 &amp;amp; 5, so
that those going further north do not need to join in those exiting
at these areas.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;However, one thing I do support at the moment is the
construction of KPE to attempt to ease some traffic off CTE;
parallel expressways solution.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Afterall, LTA do have the survey results of cars entering and
exiting these exits along CTE.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:19:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184368</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by maurizio13 @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:14:26 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My suggestion before:&lt;br /&gt;
Multi-level highways.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Seems like it's not a new concept at all; technology can already
overtake this.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Congested sections on expressways like the CTE can do very well
to implement this. Afterall, not all parts of the expressways
experience jams.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But in the CBD, I would agree that space is indeed limited...
Perhaps they should have parking spaces further away and regular
shuttle buses in and out of the CBD to ferry people to and fro the
carparks.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Actually a simple way to solve all this would be to implement
flexible 24&amp;nbsp;hours workday. The issue right now is everybody
knocks off at around the same time, resulting in crowding in MRTs,
Buses and Roads.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like the recent changes to the Taxi charges, I find it
ridiculous, most of the time during peak hours, you find the Taxi
drivers waiting in queues, not doing any productive work, yet they
are paid more for doing nothing. They actually get paid more for
doing less or no work. Something grave errors in their policy
implementation.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:14:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184366</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by zaxis @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:12:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;when implem, tell people to start work hour flexi, now after
start flexi, evening still has erp, saturday also erp.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;erp= every road pay&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;built multi layer highway, closed them during peak hour,
likewhat happen during recent encounter at shanghai&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it was told due to some traffic problem below certain section of
the multi layer highway, miss one importance EXIT, you need to go
round the stupid outer ring road 1, juntion past outer ringroad 2,
juntion pass outer ring road 3, before can get off to ground level
of the desination i want to go.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:12:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184361</guid>
      <author>zaxis</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by balance_else_complacent @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:11:31 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;The cost of living is already risen to high level.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Many services transportation cost would be passed to consumers.
Taxi is public transport. People are encouraged to take public
transport. But the ERP hike would pass the cost to consumers.
Businesses transport their goods &amp;amp; foods from place to place.
They are also affecting passing the cost to&amp;nbsp;their business
partners and consumers.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Would the recently announced&amp;nbsp;ERP hike , compounded with oil
price hikes incur to the people a higher cost of living?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And&amp;nbsp;'coincidentally' in the same news on ERP hike, it was
announced &amp;nbsp;that new bus services would be introduced and
sounds like not cheap.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What is going on?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;How much is being collected from ERP and road and car related
expenses?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:11:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184359</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by eagle @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:01:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by redDUST:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;end nov. and thanks for the link.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i called the bank this morning to check on my car's outstanding
loan as this will be the first things i am offloading now. the
irony of it is the net cash back that i will be getting back from
the sales proceed can pay for the same car in australia that i am
driving now. i don't feel that bad already....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;erp gantries, up yours!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Another person to emigrate :(&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 14:01:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184355</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by eagle @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 13:59:41 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by storywolf:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1) fixed the direct problem - just too many cars on the road !!!
Every tom and harry can go show room and drive of with a car.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) change the SBS &amp;amp; SMRT &amp;amp; TIB concept !!! We need more
efficient and cheaper services - not fancy things like air-cond bus
terminal, and stupid extra - that does little to transport people
but cost more.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Take a page from Shanghai. They have problem of traffic, and
without land to expand on roads. So they go for what they call sky
highway system.&amp;nbsp;They just build a road or highway on top of
existing road or highway, it may cost more, but fastest and earier
way then to dig underground.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1053/1341007606_417882bede_m.jpg"
height="180" alt="" width="240" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My suggestion before:&lt;br /&gt;
Multi-level highways.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Seems like it's not a new concept at all; technology can already
overtake this.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Congested sections on expressways like the CTE can do very well
to implement this. Afterall, not all parts of the expressways
experience jams.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But in the CBD, I would agree that space is indeed limited...
Perhaps they should have parking spaces further away and regular
shuttle buses in and out of the CBD to ferry people to and fro the
carparks.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 13:59:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184350</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by reyes @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 13:39:26 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;well... In Singapore, if you own a car, you are either&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1. damn rich----- Well then the increase is good news to u, less
ppl on road.&lt;br /&gt;
2. really need it ---- well.. nth u can do.. have to pass the cost
to customers if possible.&lt;br /&gt;
3. a show off. ---- HAhahaha.... Too bad.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Personally, I think this is a good move by the gahmen, If you
want to own a car can... but you pay as you go, no money, can...
keep the car in garage lor, every day polish it.... Cos u dun
really need one in singapore... This to me, is a better way to
increase tax revenue&amp;nbsp; than GST which is broad spectrum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its unfair to public transport(ie. taxis), you want ppl to take
public transport mah... how can u also increase their prices?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;does motocycle has to paid ERP? it seem this is nor related to
the car only. truck?&amp;nbsp; vans? pick up? why penalise the company
transportation vehicle when it is necessary for them to use the
road for business. to me it is just lame excuses for govt to
increase their tax coffers.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 13:39:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184326</guid>
      <author>reyes</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by balance_else_complacent @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 11:26:44 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by whiskers:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well... In Singapore, if you own a car, you are either&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1. damn rich----- Well then the increase is good news to u, less
ppl on road.&lt;br /&gt;
2. really need it ---- well.. nth u can do.. have to pass the cost
to customers if possible.&lt;br /&gt;
3. a show off. ---- HAhahaha.... Too bad.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Personally, I think this is a good move by the gahmen, If you
want to own a car can... but you pay as you go, no money, can...
keep the car in garage lor, every day polish it.... Cos u dun
really need one in singapore... This to me, is a better way to
increase tax revenue&amp;nbsp; than GST which is broad spectrum.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Its unfair to public transport(ie. taxis), you want ppl to take
public transport mah... how can u also increase their prices?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Public roads&amp;nbsp;should be&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;for the public .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I agree that to the stinky rich, even if ERP per entry costs $20
would mean nothing to them but would be unimaginable to the
majority. I guess a stinky rich man would be more happy when less
can compete with them , in this case, road usage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Other aspects of life:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1. Justice for all : Legal service.&amp;nbsp; If you are not stinky
rich, could you sue a stinky rich bad man when you could not afford
the legal services required ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2. Medical service for all : if you are not stinky rich, could
you afford the medical service you need?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is this world meant for the rich?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Animal farm.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;What do you think about my &lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;&lt;span style=
"color: #ff0000;"&gt;proposed solution to cut cost for ROAD TAX PAYERS
with less road usage&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; :&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="/forums/2/topics/321677" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.sgforums.com/forums/2/topics/321677&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 11:26:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8184064</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>More ERP Gant congestions remain,Alt solutions not looked at replied by whiskers @ Sat, 21 Jun 2008 10:56:48 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;*wears anti-flame suit......&amp;gt;.&amp;lt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 21 Jun 2008 10:56:48 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:321351:8183978</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>