<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>'Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices' &#22238;&#24086;&#34920; | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://zh.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/321738</link>
    <language>zh-CN</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://zh.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Poh Ah Pak &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff9900;"&gt;When does a
tax&amp;nbsp;becomes a subsidy?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When gold falls from the sky, a tax will become a subsidy.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 12:55:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191222</guid>
      <author>Poh Ah Pak</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Civilgoh &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff9900;"&gt;When does a tax&amp;nbsp;becomes a
subsidy?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #ff9900;"&gt;Ans. When that tax had been around
long enough to be depended as revenue to fund social programmes. If
without these tax monies, some social programmes may be curtailed
or underfunded.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #000000;"&gt;So I suppose the same can apply to
when has earth become square, ha ha ha.&amp;nbsp; Ridiculous, absurd,
where is the brain and intelligence?&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 12:52:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191220</guid>
      <author>Civilgoh</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; jojobeach &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by hisoka:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i stil don&#8217;t get why there&#8217;s not much money and time poured into
alternative energy sources like solar. they&#8217;ve been around for ages
and the technology should at least be at a useable level by
now&#8230;..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Usable yes.. but too expensive still.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 12:24:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191191</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; hisoka &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i stil don&#8217;t get why there&#8217;s not much money and time poured into
alternative energy sources like solar. they&#8217;ve been around for ages
and the technology should at least be at a useable level by
now&#8230;..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 12:17:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191178</guid>
      <author>hisoka</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; jojobeach &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
balance_else_complacent:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
It seems that no one in the world can stop the oil hikes except the
oil people themselves.&amp;nbsp; So, no&amp;nbsp;government appears to be
doing wrong.&amp;nbsp;This leads me to assume that&amp;nbsp;they&amp;nbsp;have
nothing to&amp;nbsp;do&amp;nbsp;with price&amp;nbsp;hikes. They appear
innocent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But why is it that oil&amp;nbsp;companies are not taxed more given
their revenue sky rocketed?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it not&amp;nbsp;true that oil companies revenue sky rocketed? Not
true that middleeast people are&amp;nbsp;driving bigger oil guzzling
cars now than before?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;This world is so full of 'honest' elites.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Everybardie is blaming everyone else for the price hikes. But in
fact.. nobardie is innocent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It serves OPEC not much purpose to keep price at a high level.
When oil consuming countries goes into alternative fuel mode.. oil
demand will fall. So keeping it at a more affordable price will
ensure their market continuity.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Oil companies will not lose out either way. Their business is
not just about oil extraction, it's very much about selling to
consumers.. through their fuel distribution channels and
infrastructures. Price go up.. they earn.. price go down they sell
more.. so they still win.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Market speculations..and the US dollar losing steam.. very
complicated, me not financial expert.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As long as we continue our reliance on fossil oil.. our balls
will be tied to the volatile oil producing regions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Here is a link on the pros and cons of &lt;a href=
"http://www.balancedpolitics.org/oil_profit_windfall_tax.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;Oil Windfall Tax&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 12:12:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191171</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Devil1976 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Is this the 1ooth post?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 11:37:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191109</guid>
      <author>Devil1976</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Devil1976 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hmm...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 11:36:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191106</guid>
      <author>Devil1976</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; balance_else_complacent &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't think reduction in petrol tax is a good idea.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rather, they should tax the hell outa the petroleum companies
and rechannel the money to develop betta fossil fuel alternatives
and infrastructures.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Other countries are thinking of ways to wean themselves off
their heavy reliance on fossil oil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Becoming carbon negative should be their ultimate goal.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Check out this company and what they are doing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.ls9.com/" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.ls9.com/&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Gahmen wanna claim to be first world.. then start planning like
one !!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
It seems that no one in the world can stop the oil hikes except the
oil people themselves.&amp;nbsp; So, no&amp;nbsp;government appears to be
doing wrong.&amp;nbsp;This leads me to assume that&amp;nbsp;they&amp;nbsp;have
nothing to&amp;nbsp;do&amp;nbsp;with price&amp;nbsp;hikes. They appear
innocent.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But why is it that oil&amp;nbsp;companies are not taxed more given
their revenue sky rocketed?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is it not&amp;nbsp;true that oil companies revenue sky rocketed? Not
true that middleeast people are&amp;nbsp;driving bigger oil guzzling
cars now than before?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;This world is so full of 'honest' elites.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 11:35:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8191104</guid>
      <author>balance_else_complacent</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; DeerHunter &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;When does a tax&amp;nbsp;becomes a subsidy?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ans. When that tax had been around long enough to be depended as
revenue to fund social programmes. If without these tax monies,
some social programmes may be curtailed or underfunded.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For example:- there are est.500,000 cars in Spore. Straits
Times, sat, oct 20, 2007&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Avg km/car per year = 20,000km ( 15,000 to 25,000)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;litres used&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; =
1,666litres ( base of avg 12km/litre)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Fuel tax received =&amp;nbsp;1,666 X $0.40cts X 500,000 cars (40cts
per litre)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;=
$333.2 million&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;These are only rough figures, would be lesser if based on
previous years car population.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But still, it is an est $300million tax which is not going into
some politician's pocket, but for social funding, such as
maintenance of smooth roads, MRT works and projects, traffic
lights, road signs, etc, etc, for the other 3million non-car owner
citizens who use&amp;nbsp;such&amp;nbsp;roads to go to work, school and
recreation.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If we cut away this tax, we will have&amp;nbsp;lost one
revenue&amp;nbsp;for such works and will have to dig into our reserves.
Thus it becomes our society must subsidize car owners, as they are
the heaviest users of our roads ( being that a space 5m long sits
only 1 person&amp;nbsp;compared to public transport of 8-10 persons on
the same space).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Similarly, GST can be called a subsidy instead of
tax,&amp;nbsp;because&amp;nbsp;our cents paid to gst&amp;nbsp;are used to
subsidise other citizens for social programmes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Do remember that we own no natural resources.&amp;nbsp;We&amp;nbsp;don't
have any royalties significant enough to collect from. All we
have&amp;nbsp;to help our fellow citizens for this generation and the
next&amp;nbsp;are taxes, as the previous generation had done.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Such taxes are not crippling, as it is based on free will and
not forced. But if all cry out for tax to be removed and give more
handouts, then Either we crawl back to Msia for economic support
and speak Bahasa Msia or we&amp;nbsp;help one another to maintain our
independence and multi-racism.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;PS: However, the issue here is that cutting away the tax or
subsidy will only help oil price to raise. Simple economics.
Although&amp;nbsp;the amount we use is&amp;nbsp;small as compared to heavy
users such as China or USA, but if every nation big or small
thinks&amp;nbsp;their amounts&amp;nbsp;are insignificant and don't do
anything, oil price will continue to&amp;nbsp;climb where no oil
price&amp;nbsp;had gone before!&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 09:50:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190930</guid>
      <author>DeerHunter</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by maurizio13:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
a reduction in petrol tax won't even touch the reserves, it just
means that this year the government will be getting less surplus,
it doesn't even mean a budget deficit for the government.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but the government is reluctant to have less profits, they
always want more and more.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't think reduction in petrol tax is a good idea.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rather, they should tax the hell outa the petroleum companies
and rechannel the money to develop betta fossil fuel alternatives
and infrastructures.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Other countries are thinking of ways to wean themselves off
their heavy reliance on fossil oil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Becoming carbon negative should be their ultimate goal.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Check out this company and what they are doing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.ls9.com/" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.ls9.com/&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Gahmen wanna claim to be first world.. then start planning like
one !!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 01:32:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190630</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Civilgoh &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by eagle:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nah... they prefer to increase ERP&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ERP is their powerful money making "machine", sure earn one ah,
no loss.,&amp;nbsp; more stable than buying shares,ha ha.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 00:18:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190529</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; eagle &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Civilgoh:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It was reported on the radio news that last month's rise in
inflation has reached record high.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; The good gahmen can
seriously consider to lower or remove the taxes on petrol during
this bad time but what are the chance of they doing it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Nah... they prefer to increase ERP&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 24 Jun 2008 00:14:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190518</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Spartans:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Your argument is flawed. As mentioned, there is a vast difference
between a subsidy and tax.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Secondly, the petrol tax is, as the government put
it,&amp;nbsp;meant to "curtail Singaporeans' excessive usage of
petrol." However, times are different now. With sky-rocketing
prices and coupled with the ERPs etc, Singaporeans are already
readjusting their driving habits. Many are cutting down on their
driving mileage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So tell me, what are the uses for petrol tax now? Are the
government inflexible by insisting on the petrol tax? Why can't the
government lessen our citizens' financial burden when times are
hard?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It was reported on the radio news that last month's rise in
inflation has reached record high.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; The good gahmen can
seriously consider to lower or remove the taxes on petrol during
this bad time but what are the chance of they doing it?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 23:54:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190435</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by lotus999:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;who dare ask for subsidise?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when the gahmen want to help the needy they raised the gst from
5% to 7%.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;when they want to help us prepare for our old age they make it
mandatory for us to buy annuity.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;we are made to pay and pay when the gahmen "offer to help"
us.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
It is still unknown if the increase in 2% GST is channelled to help
the poor.&amp;nbsp; The ruling party is so fond of using money to solve
almost every problem, easy job for them and they get paid million $
salary.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 23:51:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8190426</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; maurizio13 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by sbst275:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if it has not increased over e past few years... simply I can
tell you, wake up to reality... the change to adapt in e high fuel
prices era has to start from oneself&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;dun whole day kpkb abt asking govt to reduce tis and tat... when
talk abt PAP not willing to change, you yourself isn't willing to
change your lifestyle to brace for tis period either&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Is your next contention with me going to be,&amp;nbsp;I always argue
specific words in the context.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:50:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189863</guid>
      <author>maurizio13</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Spartans &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I will not go to the extent of calling them greedy. However, I
feel that they are rather inflexible. And they have lost touch with
the ordinary Singaporeans.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:50:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189860</guid>
      <author>Spartans</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; maurizio13 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Spartans:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
hard?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:48:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189851</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; Spartans &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
hard?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:44:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189826</guid>
      <author>Spartans</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
you should learn to differentiate between a "tax" and a "subsidy"
first before you talk about anything else.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;a tax and a subsidy are worlds apart.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you have problems understanding these 2 simple words, what
else is there to talk about. how can you ever understand more
complex issues?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:37:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189794</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;petrol tax?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;has it increased over e years?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
I thought you had a problem understanding the meaning of a "tax"
and a "subsidy".&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Did I mention anything about petrol tax increases? Do quote
me.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Are you putting words in my mouth because you lost the argument
for "tax" and "subsidy"?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:32:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189767</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; sbst275 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;if it has not increased over e past few years... simply I can
change your lifestyle to brace for tis period either&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:29:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189750</guid>
      <author>sbst275</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by 16/f/lonely:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
That's simple.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you can't defeat a dumb govt, you must either be dumber or
out of luck and ideas.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Don't think it's that simple, especially if you have the
media,&amp;nbsp;guns and laws at your beck and call.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Media to brainwash the intellectually feebled.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Laws to curtail the cowards.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Guns to control the brave.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It's a full proof plan, many of us would be caught up in these 3
circumstances.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Needless to say, the worse off are those that are restricted by
the media, because they are foolish enough to believe the lies that
they spread on the newspaper and TV.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:28:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189746</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; 16/f/lonely &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
There is a difference between a business' desire to obtain
"supernormal profits" and a government maintaining a balanced
budget or a slight deficit or slight surplus.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The government's tax here is distributed from taxes to high
public service charges.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Most of the surplus here is a result of overtaxing and over
charging of public services.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Of course the over charging of public services doesn't show up
on the government's budget, it shows up in Temasek and GIC balance
sheet, which the government has kept secret.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You claim that the opposition party members are dumb. Maybe you
can cite one to two dozen, since you said only afew are capable?
Share with us the reason(s) why you consider them dumb.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
That's simple.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you can't defeat a dumb govt, you must either be dumber or
out of luck and ideas.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:24:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189726</guid>
      <author>16/f/lonely</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Mah: cut petrol taxes not way to cushion rising oil prices &#20110; sbst275 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
do you understand the meaning of "subsidy" and a petrol "tax"
sparring?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;subsidy is when something cost $1 in the markets, but you
subsidise $0.20 to make it cheaper.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;whereas taxing is when the cost of petrol is $1.00, you tax it
with $0.40 to make it more expensive.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;right now the citizens are not asking for subsidy, they are
asking for the government to estoppel the petrol tax.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;can you differentiate it now?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;petrol tax?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;has it increased over e years?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 23 Jun 2008 21:24:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:10:321738:8189725</guid>
      <author>sbst275</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;subsidise... from a privilege, it would slowly end up become a
right&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and those $$.... it could have been used for projects like road
infrastructure, it's end up wasted on subsidising... It's no
surprise why M'sia is still underdeveloped when they're subsidising
more than spending money on public projects&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Instead of able to talk abt super profits, we're going to end up
become kampung kids&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;