Originally posted by will4:
I think a lot of people expressed fear what migh happened in the post LKY Spore n somehow some might choose the opposition.
There will be people, how many, what percentage I don't know who will out of desperation vote for opposition. It is PAP's fault to make people lose confidence and trust in them. SERve them right.
I agreed on this part esp he mentioned that if opposition came to power, cannot managed the country well, this country might b destroyed in five years. Another thinghe said if Spore did not do well, local girls migh become maid in other countries.
I think that maybe, the best thing we can do, is to increase the votes of the opposition until it almost win over PAP. Maybe like that then they scared. Almost is possibly good enough.
I agreed on this part esp he mentioned that if opposition came to power, cannot managed the country well, this country might b destroyed in five years. Another thinghe said if Spore did not do well, local girls migh become maid in other countries.
Quite impossible for local girls to become maid of other countries...quite many female I know don't even do their own laundry and cooking...how to be maid sia...
Originally posted by yamizi:Sometimes I think even the term 'opposition party' is badly given. I might be wrong, but I think ideally different political parties still have to have the interest of the people of the nation at heart as its primary objective in their calling.
So probably they see issues from different points of view.
And by seeing things from a different angle would render them 'opposing' to the ruling party?
Kind of buffles me.
They should be addressed as alternate parties instead of oppositions. They use this term in Taiwan
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
I think that maybe, the best thing we can do, is to increase the votes of the opposition until it almost win over PAP. Maybe like that then they scared. Almost is possibly good enough.
This is evident in the last election in which Aljunied GRC almost taken over by the opposition.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:
There will be people, how many, what percentage I don't know who will out of desperation vote for opposition. It is PAP's fault to make people lose confidence and trust in them. SERve them right.
I would have thought they learnt their lesson from communist russia from the history books. The very loyal people even revolted against them. Thats shows that people are only going to take so much.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
ever heard of this conspiracy theory that the opposition parties are employed by the rulers to act??
Read about it. I am not dismissing the fact that it is not possible. After reading it, when I think of LTK, I am disappointed.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
ever heard of this conspiracy theory that the opposition parties are employed by the rulers to act??
That was when Chiam See Tong first got in and as you can see it was just kopitiam talk.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:I would have thought they learnt their lesson from communist russia from the history books. The very loyal people even revolted against them. Thats shows that people are only going to take so much.
but our lky and PAP are so confident in local people for they know no matter what they do and say people will still vote them. The 66.6% voters a good example.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:They should be addressed as alternate parties instead of oppositions. They use this term in Taiwan
Alternate parties sound better...
Originally posted by Civilgoh:but our lky and PAP are so confident in local people for they know no matter what they do and say people will still vote them. The 66.6% voters a good example.
Do you think that they people will be voting more for the opposition in the next election?
Originally posted by yamizi:Alternate parties sound better...
Still sounds funny to me
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Do you think that they people will be voting more for the opposition in the next election?
This is the most likely situation, the ruling party might still the truimph but let say the local born Sporean not happy, there are stil those foreign convert to local citizen.
These foreign national turned local likely to be from those neighbouring ASEAN countries where their living condition likely to b jialat.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:Do you think that they people will be voting more for the opposition in the next election?
my guess, only my personal guess may not be true - yes. There again, we have to wait for the day to know the fact. If lky and gang keep using scare tactics, the kiasu kiasi people will vote for them. Sometimes being kiasi and kiasu don't bring any good.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Still sounds funny to me
Same principle in martial arts: Opposing force not only destroy others but oneself.
So if to say our other political parties are keep opposing to the ruling parties, they going to get themselves destroyed too.
It's a matter of what is their fundamental and primary motives in running their parties: for the interest of people or out of ego to oppose for the sake of opposing.
my guess, only my personal guess may not be true - yes. There again, we have to wait for the day to know the fact. If lky and gang keep using scare tactics, the kiasu kiasi people will vote for them. Sometimes being kiasi and kiasu don't bring any good.
But singaporeans are known to be kiasi and kiasu.
Since when kiasu and kiasi really bring any good?
lol
Originally posted by yamizi:Since when kiasu and kiasi really bring any good?
lol
yes, in the case to grab seats, people place tissue packs on tables.
Originally posted by yamizi:Same principle in martial arts: Opposing force not only destroy others but oneself.
So if to say our other political parties are keep opposing to the ruling parties, they going to get themselves destroyed too.
It's a matter of what is their fundamental and primary motives in running their parties: for the interest of people or out of ego to oppose for the sake of opposing.
I think PAP is more guilty of out of ego oppose for the sake of opposing.
Originally posted by Civilgoh:yes, in the case to grab seats, people place tissue packs on tables.
Sometimes, when I'm in a bad mood, I just throw those tissue packs on the floor. =P
And will you be one of them who do so?
Pang Kang!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by yamizi:Sometimes, when I'm in a bad mood, I just throw those tissue packs on the floor. =P
why you do that? YOU know people may just trip and fall when they step on your tissue pack.
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
And will you be one of them who do so?
I don't usually do that, think it is quite stupid. When I have to do it it is becos I am "forced" to as sometimes go out with friends they do it and expect you to do so if not no seat.
With all these arguments going on, I think the best way to tell is thru the next election vote counts.