To the TS,
Well, what can I say, technically what Lee said is not wrong.
Not wrong, but I would add, that there is a purpose for existence of a Balancing Force , lest any future leading parties become COMPLACENT.
I am sure this word is no need further elaboration.
The People should have the chance to see their debates on all public-interest issues and judge them too. It would be quicker to spot bad decisions and public can overthrow bad performing ruling parties of the future.
Thus, I do not see that it needs 5 years. 1 year of bad performance can call of new electoration, in my humber opine.
So, I do not feel as worried though I agree that bad ruling party can affect a nation in some ways.
Case in point, under the leadership of Bush Jr, see how much progress USA has achieved. and it is still standing after 911.
;)
Originally posted by balance_else_complacent:To the TS,
Well, what can I say, technically what Lee said is not wrong.
Not wrong, but I would add, that there is a purpose for existence of a Balancing Force , lest any future leading parties become COMPLACENT.
I am sure this word is no need further elaboration.
The People should have the chance to see their debates on all public-interest issues and judge them too. It would be quicker to spot bad decisions and public can overthrow bad performing ruling parties of the future.
Thus, I do not see that it needs 5 years. 1 year of bad performance can call of new electoration, in my humber opine.
So, I do not feel as worried though I agree that bad ruling party can affect a nation in some ways.
Case in point, under the leadership of Bush Jr, see how much progress USA has achieved. and it is still standing after 911.
;)
wat lee has said is an opportunity cost question. he has no grounds that opposition cannot bring sg to greater heights. neither can he guarantee sg will be brought to greater heights under pap dynastic rule.
by greater heights i meant not just economically, but also a better distribution of wealth among common sg ppl. morally, and basically that will help sg commoners be able to live better. not considering that every person will have a car as it will have an adverse effect on the planet.
by saying wat he did, any opposition have the right to sue for libelas wat he said indicated the oppositions are nth but useless bums. if oppositions said the same words,most prob emperor lee will sue..
just a thought (though it has nothing to do with the posted topic) after reading the above post.....
Do many still believe that it is the act of terrorists that brings down the Two Towers? I have always believed that it is caused by explosives by the Government for political reasons (eg fear propoganda to justify reason to war or push up Defence Budget).
Do you know that most of the hijackers of the 2 planes are Saudi Arabians? Then, how come US did not even mention Saudi Arabia as a threat? Why go after Iraq, Iran Afghanistan etc? And do they not find any weapons of mass destructions as claimed in Iraq?
How long has it been since US soldiers have been in Iraq? does Bush Jr not clam that it will be a swift victory and power will return to the Iraqi people? He is sitting comfortable at his posh residence while innocent soldiers and civilians are dying each day? How do we justify this war? Freedom from Saddam Hussein? Nothing has changed since he died....war still goes on within Iraq and its people. Is it the oil the US are trying to control?
A lot of curious questions remains unanswered.
As for the claim that US has progressed under Bush, judge for yourselves...see this website....http://www.thetruthaboutgeorge.com/economy/index.html
There is a reason for the growing discontent among Americans about Bush Jr and there is an increasing no. of them who now opposes the war whereas support it in the 1st place (due to fear propoganda).
All i'm saying is that we keep an open mind and not always listen to one side of the story and buy into them.
Cheers!
Originally posted by hamidisaidi:just a thought (though it has nothing to do with the posted topic) after reading the above post.....
Do many still believe that it is the act of terrorists that brings down the Two Towers? I have always believed that it is caused by explosives by the Government for political reasons (eg fear propoganda to justify reason to war or push up Defence Budget).
Do you know that most of the hijackers of the 2 planes are Saudi Arabians? Then, how come US did not even mention Saudi Arabia as a threat? Why go after Iraq, Iran Afghanistan etc? And do they not find any weapons of mass destructions as claimed in Iraq?
How long has it been since US soldiers have been in Iraq? does Bush Jr not clam that it will be a swift victory and power will return to the Iraqi people? He is sitting comfortable at his posh residence while innocent soldiers and civilians are dying each day? How do we justify this war? Freedom from Saddam Hussein? Nothing has changed since he died....war still goes on within Iraq and its people. Is it the oil the US are trying to control?
A lot of curious questions remains unanswered.
As for the claim that US has progressed under Bush, judge for yourselves...see this website....http://www.thetruthaboutgeorge.com/economy/index.html
There is a reason for the growing discontent among Americans about Bush Jr and there is an increasing no. of them who now opposes the war whereas support it in the 1st place (due to fear propoganda).
All i'm saying is that we keep an open mind and not always listen to one side of the story and buy into them.Cheers!
hmm..the conspiracy theory.read before..think about it..if he doesnt use the iraqis as an xcuse, how to enter war and do things they like??thats a legitimate excuse. just like another theory is that osama is an US agent. and they are jus playing good cop bad cop so US can snatch oil fields.
US will bring democracy to whichever countries that messes with them.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
actually annuity and disability insurance is good..
I don't agree. Why pay for something one knows one will hardly meet the date and requirement to qualify to draw back or claim. Annuity is a con job by the gahmen. Just becos the lees live past 80 yrs old, they expect the people to live till 80 and above to be able to draw back the money. So I supposed you are covered for the disability insurance and you are happy to pay for the annuity from pap
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
nothing is above the law. nobody is above the law and im nobody. now pap also above the law..that makes 3 entities above the law liao..
do you know what you are talking or not?
Originally posted by eagle:Just recently only mah.
They raised ERP charges to help Singaporeans own more cars.
Taxes on petrol cannot be reduced because it would make Singaporeans use more petrol, which will further raise prices and demand
They make it such that CPF cannot be taken out or invested if you dun hv a minimum of $20k, so that you can get sufficient payment/savings in your old age.
They raise minister pay to help you get talents and non-corrupt ministers.
They increased GST by 2% to help the poorer peopleAll helping us leh... See... so sweet and caring for them leh.
ha ha, so kind of them to help us "save" money.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:wat lee has said is an opportunity cost question. he has no grounds that opposition cannot bring sg to greater heights. neither can he guarantee sg will be brought to greater heights under pap dynastic rule.
by greater heights i meant not just economically, but also a better distribution of wealth among common sg ppl. morally, and basically that will help sg commoners be able to live better. not considering that every person will have a car as it will have an adverse effect on the planet.
by saying wat he did, any opposition have the right to sue for libelas wat he said indicated the oppositions are nth but useless bums. if oppositions said the same words,most prob emperor lee will sue..
of course, emperor dowager will sue oppositions if they say the same. Remember lky and PAP are above the law, nobody can touch them. JUst make Singapore a monarchy country so no worry about election. Let LKY be king and the dying wife be queen (to cong xi see if she can recover), and the ah kua ah loong son be the weak prince and ho jinx be the camilia. ha ha ha
Originally posted by ray245:
Please, you are seriously saying singaporeans should own MORE cars, even if the problem of people owning cars instead of using public transportation is causing ALOT more pollution.
Please, stop thinking that the government should serve your own stupid and selfish ideas about luxury.
Private ownership of cars should be a luxury, LIVE with it.
The momment the opp supporters can actually see the reasoning behind certain (not all) of the policies the PAP has made...instead of thinking in the short term, for their personal gain...singapore can be a much better place.
Seriously, ensuring less people can afford cars is a good thing for humanity as a whole...but some idiots still believe that they are entitled to luxury...
Read carefully.
I'm merely posting what the minister/government has told us.
Please find a post which I have made in the whole of this forum, no matter in which sub forum, in which I have said Singaporeans should own more cars.
Seriously, ensuring less people can afford cars is a good thing for humanity as a whole
Well, tell that to Raymond Lim. I rather they raise road tax or COE to reduce the number of cars than raise ERP. Or better still, speed up the improvements to the public transport network.
Private ownership of cars should be a luxury, LIVE with it.
You do realise it is much more of a luxury to own a car in Singapore than in most other developed countries.
Many people are undecided who they will vote for in the next election.
They seem to be thinking that either way, they will have to live with
the reality without any solution with the government hell bent on
getting its way while th oppositions are not yet ready to attract good
candidates to form the govermnent.
What is the solution?
For 40 plus years many have seen how the whole populations were
brainwashed into believing that the ruling party is honestly working
for the people.
Today they have seen the true color. What they see is a ruling party
selfishly working to preserve and protect its own gains using one
excuse after another to do so. Despite all the problems like rising
costs of living or failures of ministers in working for and in the
interest of the people, no one is willing to take the rap for any
shortcomings or failures.
If you see such a rogue government what do you do? There is no if and
but now except to change for whatever it is worth. Unless within these
three years before the next election there are fundamental overhaul of
the whole governing system to a people-centred government.
Originally posted by robertteh:Many people are undecided who they will vote for in the next election. They seem to be thinking that either way, they will have to live with the reality without any solution with the government hell bent on getting its way while th oppositions are not yet ready to attract good candidates to form the govermnent.
What is the solution?
For 40 plus years many have seen how the whole populations were brainwashed into believing that the ruling party is honestly working for the people.
Today they have seen the true color. What they see is a ruling party selfishly working to preserve and protect its own gains using one excuse after another to do so. Despite all the problems like rising costs of living or failures of ministers in working for and in the interest of the people, no one is willing to take the rap for any shortcomings or failures.
If you see such a rogue government what do you do? There is no if and but now except to change for whatever it is worth. Unless within these three years before the next election there are fundamental overhaul of the whole governing system to a people-centred government.
i will vote for anyone who can convince me that he can bring down the price of oil.
otherwise... i will continue to vote for PAP.
Oppositions do not have to keep making so many speeches. Sometimes it
is more effective to let the facts speak for themselves like erecting
them on big banners or posters across the rally stage quoting such
double-standards as posted in short adages like poems or quotations.
Keep such messages as short as possible - a few famous incidents well known to the people will do.
All the past ministerial evasions of responsibilities so displayed will be enough to hurt the votes.
Don't accuse them of anything but emphasise on well-known facts which they cannot deny in simple sayings like a song or poem.
Originally posted by robertteh:Oppositions do not have to keep making so many speeches. Sometimes it is more effective to let the facts speak for themselves like erecting them on big banners or posters across the rally stage quoting such double-standards as posted in short adages like poems or quotations.
Keep such messages as short as possible - a few famous incidents well known to the people will do.
All the past ministerial evasions of responsibilities so displayed will be enough to hurt the votes.
Don't accuse them of anything but emphasise on well-known facts which they cannot deny in simple sayings like a song or poem.
A poem like this?
There's a nutcase called robbertteh,
accusations, half truths, and lies, he love to say,
Spit at us, the People, all night and day,
Even as we contribute taxes, work and pay.
We didnt do enough, he said so gay, ( gay as in happy)
as he sits on his butt, smoking his dope away,
We are a bunch of fools, while sun shines we keep hay,
Civil disobedience, and food will drop from the skies, is the way.
Should we trust the words of robertteh?,
are his words to be believed if we may,
But as long as we are rational,it would be ok,
to tell him - get out and take the highway.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:A poem like this?
PAP is pay and pay,
After collecting taxes,
People must still pay,
From day to night,
From night to day,
Let all with eyes and ears,
See and hear all scams
And start telling PAP
Enough is enough,
No-welfare is no tax,
Let what is fair be fair.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:A poem like this?
This a laughable plagiarising effort from a 'dearHunter' - who declared his ability of only 1% inspiration to come up with anything original; and will depend on 99% perspiration to copy someone's work to claim for his own.
Who do you think what LKY said about the opposition is valid?
Originally posted by tripwire:i will vote for anyone who can convince me that he can bring down the price of oil.
otherwise... i will continue to vote for PAP.
Can PAP regime bring down price of oil?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Can PAP regime bring down price of oil?
Possibly not but then if not, they are the same as anyone else, and it seems that we get someone exprienced than not quite so.
they are the same as anyone else
No, they are not.
There is only one fucker call Lee Kuan Yew in the world.
Originally posted by Atobe:
This a laughable plagiarising effort from a 'dearHunter' - who declared his ability of only 1% inspiration to come up with anything original; and will depend on 99% perspiration to copy someone's work to claim for his own.
If you are jealous, just say so. Why attempt to smear me as copying someone else's work? Show me whom i plagiarised from, but you won't do it, because your way is the slander way, go ahead then, but my poem will keep ringing in your ears, so much so you had to attack it, a proof that it hurts you. I wonder if i replaced robertteh name in the poem with CSJ name, would it rhyme and fits the context as well?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:No, they are not.
There is only one fucker call Lee Kuan Yew in the world.
So you believe he is still pulling the strings from behind?
if the opposition can only boast of people like Chiam and Jeyer as their most outstanding candidates (which I happen to think that yes they definitely are great people), then yes I think the opposition will ruin Singapore. 2 great people will not be able to bring Singapore to greater heights. You need more people like them in the opposition.
Mr LKY is correct, running a small and powerless country like singapore needs a different form of administration. If the opposition comes in, I can opt for migration le. No point.
And to some losers of repliers, the present George W. Bush, president of America now. Have a military manufacturing company called United Defence and have used Iraq as a scapegoat. I will not go into the details, its classified, I dun wanna get sg into trouble.
So to those who said opposition should come in, I will say its dumb of u. Plain dumbshit.
Different "business", different running methods. As for sg, we cant even stand on the line of neutral, we are not evening in the battleline. So ya, stfu guys and dun get urself into trouble.
Originally posted by gasband:if the opposition can only boast of people like Chiam and Jeyer as their most outstanding candidates (which I happen to think that yes they definitely are great people), then yes I think the opposition will ruin Singapore. 2 great people will not be able to bring Singapore to greater heights. You need more people like them in the opposition.
But do you think the PAP has many outstanding people?
Originally posted by DeerHunter:
If you are jealous, just say so. Why attempt to smear me as copying someone else's work? Show me whom i plagiarised from, but you won't do it, because your way is the slander way, go ahead then, but my poem will keep ringing in your ears, so much so you had to attack it, a proof that it hurts you. I wonder if i replaced robertteh name in the poem with CSJ name, would it rhyme and fits the context as well?
"Jealous" - is that the only uninspiring childish word that you can select ?
Who in their right mind will want to compete with your 1% inspirational mind ?
Do you think Goh Chok Tong will want you for your dependence on 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration - when he believe that we should 'work smart' ?
Are you being smart in any original way to produce your own - instead of merely spending 99% perspiration to modify robertteh's piece of work, and present it as your own with a 1% inspiration ?
Originally posted by DeerHunter: 27 Jun'08 5.51PM "Latest: Mr LKY's wife critically ill"
It was not easy. I am from the old school of success - 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration. It's not about just working smart, but working hard, even now.