<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in .' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/322962</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by jayh272416 @ Sun, 06 Jul 2008 12:19:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;bs. I was on a 105 once. There was a lady alight that time say
"Tap at entrance". This should get $20 fine right away leh. But the
bc just ask her to tap at front, then tap at rear and go.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 06 Jul 2008 12:19:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8221453</guid>
      <author>jayh272416</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by googoomuck @ Sun, 06 Jul 2008 11:58:10 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I wonder how the $9m losses were calculated or estimated? If the
cheats were caught by the inspectors, they would have been made to
pay more for the ride. Isn't the losses been recovered straight
away, plus with a little 'profit'.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there are fare cheats but they are not caught, how does one
know how much is lost.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There's no loss. Only targeted profits not achieved.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 06 Jul 2008 11:58:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8221436</guid>
      <author>googoomuck</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by eagle @ Sun, 06 Jul 2008 07:45:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by monoslayer:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;frankfurt is &#8364;80 &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I thought it is &#8364;40?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 06 Jul 2008 07:45:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8221238</guid>
      <author>eagle</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by 00011000 @ Sat, 05 Jul 2008 21:10:32 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;knn fine fine fine&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
They think everyone who cheats are rich falla. If got money
wouldn't cheat in the first place - only&amp;nbsp;falla no money than
cheat, wat. &amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 05 Jul 2008 21:10:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8220474</guid>
      <author>00011000</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by 798 @ Sat, 05 Jul 2008 00:15:19 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Pitot:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;oh i have seen people board from the back but all did so after
they tap their cards on the front becos people simply refuse to
move back.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
i have already done dat twice. the bus machiam at the back got
ghost so no choice but board from the back since the bloody driver
refuse to open the front door.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 05 Jul 2008 00:15:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8218770</guid>
      <author>798</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by TooFree @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 21:01:30 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Can the recovered loss be use to stem&amp;nbsp;further increment in
bus fare instead?&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In my humble opinion,&amp;nbsp;why dont they&amp;nbsp;try fine-tuning
the current system to be more&amp;nbsp;robust than having&amp;nbsp;more
officials to conduct frequent check on the bus commuters as I am
concern that the latter might&amp;nbsp;expend additional overhead
compared to a one time rectify cost.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 21:01:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8218402</guid>
      <author>TooFree</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by monoslayer @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 18:34:36 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by kramnave:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NSW AU$100 fine on the spot&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;frankfurt is &#8364;80 &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 18:34:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8218228</guid>
      <author>monoslayer</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by FireIce @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 18:31:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;they overcharge or charge wrongly will they compensate?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 18:31:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8218219</guid>
      <author>FireIce</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by purpledragon84 @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 09:00:14 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I drive, so I take bus occasionally and therefore unfamiliar
with the charges and what if I ask the bus driver the fare and he
gives me the incorrect fare?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If I am over-charged, does the bus company gets a fine like the
commuters that under pay?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;no la andrew.. lol.. u board bus tap, alight bus tap.. den the
amount is deducted accordingly la..ppl cheat on the fare by tapping
the ezlink card WAY before they alight, so they pay less..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;unless u are saying u put coin la.. den i duno..&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/confused.png" alt=
"confused.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 09:00:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216371</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by AndrewPKYap @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 08:26:41 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I drive, so I take bus occasionally and therefore unfamiliar
with the charges and what if I ask the bus driver the fare and he
gives me the incorrect fare?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If I am over-charged, does the bus company gets a fine like the
commuters that under pay?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 08:26:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216324</guid>
      <author>AndrewPKYap</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by hamidisaidi @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 08:17:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hmm...let me get this straight...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Previously, reasons and justification for increasing fares is
due to losses made by cheats. So are not all these 'losses' covered
by the increase in fares? Surely, all these issues of cheats etc;
the risk and projected losses have been calculated. They can't be
working on perfect scenarios situation right? No business does
that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Even so, it is claimed they made a loss of 9 million due to
cheats. Nothing is said about the overall profit/loss of the bus
company. For all we know, even after this '$9 million loss', they
could still be ending up with a positive annual turnover; due to
the increase in fares.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And are they not punishing the drivers as well for these losses?
How bout rewarding them with higher pay should fare increases? I
will gladly pay a bit extra if our bus drivers are properly
rewardly but alas; the richer gets richer, the poorer gets
poorer.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 08:17:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216311</guid>
      <author>hamidisaidi</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by Atobe @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 03:29:44 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why has the government pass a legislation to protect the
business of some selected private enterprise and not others ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If evading paying of fares to the privatised transport companies
is considered a crime, why has the government not pass similar
legislations that makes it a crime for defaulters of commercial
transactions ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is this not an abuse of the legal system to protect the
enterprises that still belong to the Government for all intent
and&amp;nbsp;purposes except in name ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This clearly confirms the pseudo nature of the entire
privatisation scheme of the various public monopolies.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 03:29:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216206</guid>
      <author>Atobe</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by Pitot @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 01:06:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;oh i have seen people board from the back but all did so after
they tap their cards on the front becos people simply refuse to
move back.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 01:06:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216091</guid>
      <author>Pitot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by whiskers @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:50:33 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;The new system is meant to help stem the loss of about nine
million Singapore dollars each year from fare evasion. - CNA/vm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Does it mean after introducing this system, the fare price will
adjust accordingly?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:50:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216053</guid>
      <author>whiskers</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by BrUtUs @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:46:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;waste of resource...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:46:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216044</guid>
      <author>BrUtUs</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by whiskers @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:45:22 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by pigsticker:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;live by the sword, die by the sword...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&#36864;&#20986;&#27743;&#28246;&#183;already&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:45:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216041</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by whiskers @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:44:47 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Pitot:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;u mean u rather take out ur fare card and slide it into the
machine? waste of time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;how long since u last took a bus?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;can squeeze on board without tapping? share how u do that
leh.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;morning peak hours... bus very crowded... driver cant notice ma
so many beep beep beep.. so u can squeeze into the ppl without
tapping.... done it once or twice only lah long time ago... cos too
frustrated by the crowd...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Some ppl even board from the exit... cos the front door is all
jammed up... bo bian if nt late for work...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But still if bus nt crowded, very hard to cheat....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:44:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216038</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by pigsticker @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:33:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;live by the sword, die by the sword...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:33:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8216002</guid>
      <author>pigsticker</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by Pitot @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:32:04 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;u mean u rather take out ur fare card and slide it into the
machine? waste of time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;how long since u last took a bus?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;can squeeze on board without tapping? share how u do that
leh.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:32:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8215997</guid>
      <author>Pitot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by whiskers @ Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:29:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Everymorning the bus so crowded.... they can squeeze and find me
nvr tap I say them good.... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_twisted.gif" alt=
"icon_twisted.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;When they first launched the EZ link card that year,they
said this card can solve the fare cheating problem....?then
now...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.... hai they are like sunwukong got 72 bian....&amp;nbsp; maybe nxt
up is implanted ezlink... liddat sure cannot escape.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 04 Jul 2008 00:29:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8215986</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by Frogleg888 @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 21:35:17 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;When they first launched the EZ link card that year,they
said this card can solve the fare cheating problem....?then
now...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 21:35:17 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8215413</guid>
      <author>Frogleg888</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by hloc @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 20:53:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by kramnave:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;NSW AU$100 fine on the spot&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Wow...... that must hurt &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_twisted.gif" alt=
"icon_twisted.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 20:53:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8215226</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by kramnave @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 19:16:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;NSW AU$100 fine on the spot&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 19:16:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8214960</guid>
      <author>kramnave</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by hloc @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 17:45:20 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You cheat on your fare..... you kena fine.... all is fair
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/thumbs_up.png" alt=
"thumbs_up.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 17:45:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8214757</guid>
      <author>hloc</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Penalties for fare evasion on buses and MRT trains kick in . replied by Fs4751 @ Thu, 03 Jul 2008 12:46:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Haiz, in singapore, u pay and pay and pay..nothing else....in
the near future, u speak also need to pay..!...&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Thu, 03 Jul 2008 12:46:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:10:322962:8214157</guid>
      <author>Fs4751</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>