I think women should serve NS,they are too well taken care off in Singapore.
Originally posted by drawer:I think women should serve NS,they are too well taken care off in Singapore.
Women should either serve NS or pay higher taxes to foot free medical benefits for men who have served. Women can serve their NS in public hospitals and in the Civil Defence as nursing staff, health attendants and medics. I don't think women should be sent to the military...it's the quickest way to destroy the SAF.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Women should either serve NS or pay higher taxes to foot free medical benefits for men who have served. Women can serve their NS in public hospitals and in the Civil Defence as nursing staff, health attendants and medics. I don't think women should be sent to the military...it's the quickest way to destroy the SAF.
i disagree on higher taxes, it doesn't make sense. ns doesn't always have to be in traditional form of uniformed groups, it can also be as volunteers, that way we can even free the students from such "duties". and women should be made to serve ns just because of some idea of "equality" that both sexes moust serve, just like ns for guys is a need for the nation it should be like wise for the girls.
any policy carried out for any purpose other than for the nation's needs would prove counter productive.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:i disagree on higher taxes, it doesn't make sense. ns doesn't always have to be in traditional form of uniformed groups, it can also be as volunteers, that way we can even free the students from such "duties". and women should be made to serve ns just because of some idea of "equality" that both sexes moust serve, just like ns for guys is a need for the nation it should be like wise for the girls.
any policy carried out for any purpose other than for the nation's needs would prove counter productive.
well, we do have a clear shortage of medical staff.
I do not disagree with women doing NS because I see it that they will be doing NS sooner or later due to our falling birth rate (And because I do not believe in SG Gov's population policy until they REALLY look at the root problem and not just coming up with superficial stuff like baby bonus crap)
I do like to make a point that even for men, not everyone can be a medic, some macho gung ho idiots see blood liao can faint, see needle can faint, see people disallocate elbow no blood still can faint, etc. So same applies to women, not every female is going to be suitable to be in medic/health vocations even u make NS mandatory for them.
Originally posted by octega:I do not disagree with women doing NS because I see it that they will be doing NS sooner or later due to our falling birth rate (And because I do not believe in SG Gov's population policy until they REALLY look at the root problem and not just coming up with superficial stuff like baby bonus crap)
I do like to make a point that even for men, not everyone can be a medic, some macho gung ho idiots see blood liao can faint, see needle can faint, see people disallocate elbow no blood still can faint, etc. So same applies to women, not every female is going to be suitable to be in medic/health vocations even u make NS mandatory for them.
Women can go for other non-combat vocation also mah. What about cook? Then no need to outsource to Singapore Food Industries (SFI) anymore.
Also can enlist women to be clerk (so make it harder for those guys who "keng" PES C to become clerk and fairer to those PES A and B),
Originally posted by deathmaster:well, we do have a clear shortage of medical staff.
after my last drip by the well trained medical staff in my camp, i simply must decline having them added to the roster without screening on their capabilities. once is enough to last me a life time.
i'm sure there are other areas which need manpower urgently not to mention that culturely we might be resistant towards the idea of having women in the army . my friends already rejected the idea of them ever being in the army and would definately baulk at the idea of their daughters serving in the army.(one lady explicitly told me its a men's job)
there are other areas like clerical/volunteer work, army positions should only be opened to those who op for it.
i hope i dont sound silly, but many of us girls get bad period cramps and PMS. imagine one whole unit of bitchy pmsing girls...
Correct me if I am wrong, I thought that as long as a guy does NS, his tax is lowered with some tax breaks.
Science should make guys have PMS, menses and go through pregnancy and breast feeding, pee the way girls do and do 100% of the housework. It will be a nice trade off.
Originally posted by 333225520:Women can go for other non-combat vocation also mah. What about cook? Then no need to outsource to Singapore Food Industries (SFI) anymore.
Also can enlist women to be clerk (so make it harder for those guys who "keng" PES C to become clerk and fairer to those PES A and B),
Those kind of sen nang job.. old people also can do wat.
Might as well just give those job to old people , give them free lodgings and free food...better !
Originally posted by mistyblue:Science should make guys have PMS, menses and go through pregnancy and breast feeding, pee the way girls do and do 100% of the housework. It will be a nice trade off.
and why should science do that? personally i don't believe girls are doing 100% of the housework? housework's shared in my place, and most girls i know in my generation don't even do any housework.
and guys do actually have our own form of pms
Originally posted by mistyblue:Correct me if I am wrong, I thought that as long as a guy does NS, his tax is lowered with some tax breaks.
got reservist for that assessment year, 1500 for self, 750 for wife and parents.
no reservist for that assessment year, 750 for self, 750 for wife and parents.
key appointment holders (KAHs), additional tax relief up to 3000 ? this one pls confirm.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:after my last drip by the well trained medical staff in my camp, i simply must decline having them added to the roster without screening on their capabilities. once is enough to last me a life time.
i'm sure there are other areas which need manpower urgently not to mention that culturely we might be resistant towards the idea of having women in the army . my friends already rejected the idea of them ever being in the army and would definately baulk at the idea of their daughters serving in the army.(one lady explicitly told me its a men's job)
there are other areas like clerical/volunteer work, army positions should only be opened to those who op for it.
don't limit the admin/clerical positions to only the army. you can have them in the various ministries.
you realised all foreigners who studied in local uni are required to serve a 3yr bond with the government. if we have more of our locals working in their places, i'm sure they will cut down the no. of places open to foreigners, as there isn't enough places for the foreigners to serve their bond.
Originally posted by mistyblue:Science should make guys have PMS, menses and go through pregnancy and breast feeding, pee the way girls do and do 100% of the housework. It will be a nice trade off.
Why not, we dun mind to do the trade off, let us gals be guys for a while and you guys be gals, perhap we can see each other perspective better.
Originally posted by drawer:I think women should serve NS,they are too well taken care off in Singapore.
You should be proud that your gals are well taken care off, and i am proud of sg men, cos they really care, listen and support us all these while, whereas in other countries, gals are sometime taken as 2nd class in the domain of guys.
Originally posted by lovegoddes:i hope i dont sound silly, but many of us girls get bad period cramps and PMS. imagine one whole unit of bitchy pmsing girls...
One injection of hormones and I can make you free of periods for a few months...and you won't get pregnant either :)
What's that got to do with serving your dues to the country? Don't blame the nation that you are born female. Blame your parents!
Originally posted by deathmaster:the so called elite units in WWII are simply a bunch of men with outstanding merits, where they promote from regular infantry into ranger unit. yes, they are good, but these "rangers" are not the commandos we are familiar with now. it is essentially just a brand name, establishing the fame of the fighting unit.
Likewise, you do not equate the top fighting unit of the SAF infantry to commandos, guards. they simply differ in the type of training they were given.
I'm sorry, go tell the british commandos who carried out the raid of St Nazaire that they're not commandos and see how they kill you.
If your history is so poor that you do not know how many elite commando units played a vital role in WW2, nothing you've said is even warrents a reply. Anyone who has half a decent knowledge of WW2 will know that groups like the Green Berets, SAS etc were founded during WW2, often around 1941, and had plenty of chances to catch action. Even allowing for your argument that Rangers and Marines aren't Elite units, what about the SAS, SBS, Brit Army Commandos, Candian Navy Command 'W', The Norwegian Commandos responsible for the Telemark raid? They're undoubtedly elite units.
So really, just admit you're ignorant and full of yourself and stop sprouting nonsense here. You've just proven why any decent military commander in the modern era should have an indepth knowledge of WW2, if only for the simple reason of not looking a fool like you do.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:With your genes, we'll have a nation of imbeciles with your offspring. Keep your eggs...we can have century egg porridge with it later :)
Eww thats kinda gross. I'll stick to real century eggs thanks.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:degraded...
This thread is officially PES E ![]()
Originally posted by lovegoddes:i hope i dont sound silly, but many of us girls get bad period cramps and PMS. imagine one whole unit of bitchy pmsing girls...
Then woe betide whatever enemy who stands in our way. PMSing girl with guns and the enemy in front? There won't be enough to fill up body bags after we're done with them.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Can give birth does not equal will give birth. What do you propose? Those who have no children by 30 be sentenced to repeated rapes until their conceive? :)
I propose guys who are not able to marry by 30 will have their ku ku jiao sliced off and their sperm sac donated to help those who married men who are unable to conceive.
Originally posted by parn:I propose guys who are not able to marry by 30 will have their ku ku jiao sliced off and their sperm sac donated to help those who married men who are unable to conceive.
and the zharbor how? ![]()
Originally posted by thehappybunny:and the zharbor how?
zharbor all automatically assigned to you lor. You want?
But you gotta be strong hor...very very strong, cos you will be fighting for your life against the rest of the men in Singapore.....very jealous men.
Good suggestions?