-
-
http://www.djindexes.com/mdsidx/index.cfm?event=showAvgFaq#q21
Circuit Breaker Rules
After the Dow Jones Industrial Average plunged 508 points in the Oct. 19, 1987, crash, government officials had a question: What could be done to prevent a replay?
The response was two major new rules implemented in 1988. The first established circuit breakers that would halt trading for an hour if the Dow Jones Industrial Average plunged 250 points, and for two hours if it fell 400 points. The second clamped a collar on the ability of program traders to dart between stocks and stock index futures when the Dow industrials rose or fell more than 50 points, an effort to reduce the volatility such arbitrage trading was said to cause.
-
-
-
Originally posted by kilua:
http://www.djindexes.com/mdsidx/index.cfm?event=showAvgFaq#q21
Circuit Breaker Rules
After the Dow Jones Industrial Average plunged 508 points in the Oct. 19, 1987, crash, government officials had a question: What could be done to prevent a replay?
The response was two major new rules implemented in 1988. The first established circuit breakers that would halt trading for an hour if the Dow Jones Industrial Average plunged 250 points, and for two hours if it fell 400 points. The second clamped a collar on the ability of program traders to dart between stocks and stock index futures when the Dow industrials rose or fell more than 50 points, an effort to reduce the volatility such arbitrage trading was said to cause.so far no circuit breaks?
trading as per norm?
-
-
-
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
knn... i just missed my chance to sell my share yesterday.....tomolo going to drop again... cb....... but.. hope wont drop as much as it increase on yesterday..... 1 stock i have... make my portfolio gain about SGD50K in 1 day hahaha.. knn.. hope dun drop hope dun drop...
wah lao $50 LOL....got minus off brokerage fee boh?
-
-
-
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
knn... i just missed my chance to sell my share yesterday.....tomolo going to drop again... cb....... but.. hope wont drop as much as it increase on yesterday..... 1 stock i have... make my portfolio gain about SGD50K in 1 day hahaha.. knn.. hope dun drop hope dun drop...
sell tomolow lor.
now its getting desperate.. 263.. and they cant do a thing
-