TO LIONNOSY:
hey.....why u make so much noiser in morning arrrr??oz lose money citizens there dun need to pay for it indirct or directly!in fact they get more from gov there.spore gov profit money ...u got smell it or not?oz gov lose or profit,,,,citizens still get to smell money mysteriously.they dun need to werk 4 $$$.they stay home unemployed or retarded also get plenty money mysteriously from gov every week!in spore u stay home ,,,u end up as skeleton with or without spore gov help.
in the first place ...oz where got jobs one from the beginin of time?????they all somehow sit at home n play computer games for years as they gtot not much jobs but still get pocket money from gov to buy car.....go buy trolleys full of food........go watch movies....buy lcd tv....etc.very mysterious how the $$ coming in .spore???u be lucky they dun end up telling u no free meals !
U WERK.........NO FREE MEALS 4 U IN SPORE!
NSW,where Sydney located,is alreday in recession.
http://www.australia.com/destinations/states/nsw.aspx
@@@@@@@@@@
i am suprised that ang moh is so concerned about face!!
Wat is wrong into recession?We cant turn around the market force.right?
Unless we admit that we can do better in this crisis,then we probably
improve.
If we just say,we are ok,
we are not in recession,
we fare better than other first world country.
Then i think we wont improve.this is just wat Rudd thinks!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@
since u guys is so eager to tell me that SG is worst than oz
in this crisis,can i give u a word of comfort?
CIA just release the updated info.
SG GDP per capita is 36 % higher than Australia!!
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2004rank.html
If SG suffer 10% drop in GDP per capita this year 2009,and Oz remain the unchanged,SG GDP per capita is still 26 % higher than Oz at the end of 2009!!
Do i need to tell u Oz is very very very rich in natural resources,
above ground and underground.SG.....a barren rock!!
|
|
Australia | $ 38,100 | 2008 est |
|
|
Singapore | $ 52,000 | 2008 est. |
Originally posted by TERMINATOR2000:TO LIONNOSY:
hey.....why u make so much noiser in morning arrrr??oz lose money citizens there dun need to pay for it indirct or directly!in fact they get more from gov there.spore gov profit money ...u got smell it or not?oz gov lose or profit,,,,citizens still get to smell money mysteriously.they dun need to werk 4 $$$.they stay home unemployed or retarded also get plenty money mysteriously from gov every week!in spore u stay home ,,,u end up as skeleton with or without spore gov help.
in the first place ...oz where got jobs one from the beginin of time?????they all somehow sit at home n play computer games for years as they gtot not much jobs but still get pocket money from gov to buy car.....go buy trolleys full of food........go watch movies....buy lcd tv....etc.very mysterious how the $$ coming in .spore???u be lucky they dun end up telling u no free meals !
U WERK.........NO FREE MEALS 4 U IN SPORE!
Yes i agree partly with u.No free lunch.
U have freedom,then u have bullets spraying into your home,
or drugs lords push drugs into your kids' hands,or witness killed
at home or bikie gangsters get police escorts!!WTF!!
@@@@@@@@
Oz commonwealth gavamnan dunt have spare cash to invest.
Therefore she never lose people $$.u know?
But Temasek and GIC earn a lot of $$ in the past few decades and
the $$ are still in GIC and Temasek acct,not in PAP accts!
2.Do u know Howards gavamnan awarded A$20 billions of defence
contracts within 6 months before they stepped down??
Rudd gavaman just to benefit developers by paying higher grants
to pple buying new houses!!The grants,tax payers money,just give a fake picture
of economy!!wat if the music stop?
SG has been giving grants for long time,
before the crisis!!
Pl read the other of the coin as pushing to u by Rudd!!
IF YOU are optimistic enough to believe the economy's modest growth in ...
The acid test for recession is not quarterly movements in gross domestic product, it's what's happening to unemployment. This has risen by 1.5 percentage points in 14 months. That's more than 160,000 extra people without jobs. Not in recession did you say?
Even so, there are two positive messages from all this.
to lionoisy:
so if spore din lose so much money...how come we never smell the $$ years or decades ago???
oz isa big place.........3 people per km square.bullets happen only when u mix too much with these white people.if u scared then dun mix wiv them lorrr....u dun talk they wont touch u wan.......they more frightened to die than u lah.......even bikie,,,,,tattoo men,,,,,skinheads,,,neonazis...thery areb so frightened until they dare not even get japanese to werk in company even,,,,,they scared too u know,,,,
n how come harr,,,the oz cadbury chocolates seem to taste creamier n softer than spore cadbury chocolate even from same brand and flavour???somebody added cement in spore cadbury choc factory ingredient???
spore givin grants??like what???scholarship or food grants???n how come i never see them...all the time i end up hunting hi n low for old slightly greenish pork in ntuc one????its pork so slimy n strange i dunno if they are human meat even!
and how come harr...why btheir people or kids werkin in supermarkets,macdonald all can earn spore manager salary pay per month???where the $$ in spore????i dun see it ...i dun smell it...so i dun get it ....
despite all the oz...blunders...mismanagement....screwups,,,goofballs...failures...disasters......how come they can still give their own people mostly with enough to grow fat n lazy n have more extra cash in pockets to buy luxury items even?
then singapore all their .....victory........wise management.........seriousness.......genius...........success........state of the art....how come they cant give substantial $$$$$$ or even a meal or decent job to their own people when they are starving..........the spore gov want us to go to hospital n collect human remains n cook bak kut teh with them is it??
to lion noisy:
the gdp thing is based on amount of different products n expensive products a country makes,,,,,,,,,,,,,the more the value of gdp ..ppp,,,,..so the higher the value.....the more products n expensive stuff they make as compared to other countries,
so oz ...usa..japan dun have that much factories n value added products in spore i think....ppp
SG export deops,so do Oz.
Times are bad and the number of loanshark harassment cases has climbed sharply. Police had to deal a total of 4000 cases in the first 3 months of this year. But don't worry our Home Affairs Minister has come up with a brilliant solution to reduce the number of cases our police have to handle:
posted by LuckySingaporean at 6:59 PM ![]()
<!-- End .post --><!-- Begin #comments -->
Wow MHA solve problem by punishing the people who were facing the problem.
Now wonder Mas Selamat can escape so easily for more than 1 year now.
By
Onlooker, at 7:28 PM
hmm... filming an illegal event is criminalized, borrowing money from illegal loansharks may be made a criminal offense.. What's next? Maybe they'll penalize victims from rape, theft, murder.. etc in future.
By
Anonymous, at 8:14 PM
This reminds me of those Hong Kong period soaps where corrupt and lazy magisrates would whip a complainant first before he gets to present his case - for disturbing the magistrate. Sigh...
By
Anonymous, at 8:29 PM
Brilliant idea indeed. Only the highest paid ministers in Singapore can come up with such brilliant ideas!
By
Anonymous, at 8:39 PM
I liken this to "blaming female rape victims for dressing sexily" it is their fault and we should make it illegal for victims to dress sexily.
By
Anonymous, at 8:47 PM
Worse FT(esp those with the dish washing talent) killing Locals Got reduced Sentence.
Soup Spoon. Remember.....
By
Onlooker, at 11:00 PM
Everytime i see wong kan seng, it reminds me of mas selamet. Truely a very competant guy, manage the 'great escape'.... pushing the blame all the way down...
By
Anonymous, at 12:07 AM
dont you envy ministers salary now?
not that they are better people. they just pay themselves well enough so they don't get into trouble with the laws they have brilliantly carved on stones for ....lesser imortals
just beat people up with laws and everything solved?
brilliant
By
Anonymous, at 1:42 AM
Why not extend this superb idea to all cases?
Make everyone who makes a police report post a bond of $10k. It will be returned to the victim only when the perpetrator has been found guilty by the courts.
A more brilliant solution is to charge a fee for using law enforcement services. Want that robber caught? Pay $3k to the police. Want loanshark caught? Pay $5k. Can pay by CPF and installments also.
These solutions will reduce the official crime rates and make Singapore the safest city in the world!
By
John, at 1:50 AM
Gotta be careful who you borrow money from next time ... later your friend betray you and say he is loanshark then you kenna sai.
By
Chee Wai Lee, at 2:11 AM
As long as there is 50% walkovers, 66% mandate and 98% seats for PAP, you can expect even more brilliant solutions in future.
Not just from Wong Kan Seng but also other ministers to solve other problems.
Because the people and opposition are brilliant to give them this opportunity.
Or is it they are brilliant to make you people and opposition to do this?
By
Anonymous, at 2:15 AM
Dr Ong Seh Hong who borrowed 60K (the equivalent of an annual pay of an ordinary Singaporean) from Ming Yi. He probably delayed the payment to the hospital until he knew he has been exposed by Ming Yi.
Bravo of Ming Yi to drag this greedy PAP MP into the dirt. He knew that the PAP wants to take over his hospital organization to service the lucrative healthcare tourism (same reason for Khaw to want to kick old Singaporeans out to JB).
Ming Yi should do the next best thing: to declare himself as a loanshark who cannot say 'NO' and kill this greedy MP Ong once and for all.
By
Anonymous, at 3:04 AM
Had the impression that in the majority of these cases, the loansharks were harassing the wrong people?
They have this weird habit of identifying debtors not by name, but by their addresses.
Lets be honest.
Every time you see or hear about Wong Kan Seng, you DO NOT think of Mas Selamat.
You just think of the toilet bowl.
By
Lim Chin Siong, at 4:16 AM
Every time I see WKS I'm reminded of Snow White and The Seven Dwarves. He's the one named Dopey.
I wish there was an eighth dwarf named Stupid Idiot. Then I'd pick him and save Dopey for Khaw Boon Wan.
Grrr!
By
move along please, at 7:49 AM
It is like curing the disease by killing the patient!
thanks for picking this up. i din think of this angle, the suggestion seemed innocuous enough.
gosh, i must be a simpleton. which makes me wonder, is the multi-millionair minister a simpleton or a hard hearted person oblivious to our plight?
By
Anonymous, at 10:03 AM
Yo Lucky
Sinkees consistently rant against CSJ.
The one madman who dares speaks up.
Sinkees getting what they deserve no?
By
Anonymous, at 10:12 AM
i think, hor, the gahmen think sinkies borrow $$$ only for fun e.g. buy air-con, buy handphone, go french cuisine holidays.
therefore to help us save money, they make it illegal to borrow lor. oso help police save some work.
watch out for 154th spin on why sinkies borrow money fr loan sharks
By
Anonymous, at 10:35 AM
PREVIOUSLY:
Borrower: Please give me more time to pay up.
Loanshark: Pay up now or there'll be trouble for you !
Borrower: Better leave, or I'll call the police.
(Loanshark runs away)
NOW:
Borrower: Please give me more time to pay up.
Loanshark: Pay up now or I'll call the police !
(Borrower pays up immediately)
By
Anonymous, at 10:35 AM
i have a good idea.
reduce the workload and most importantly make big money by imposing a service fee for calling the police. they can then employ more staffs to collect the fees; a brillant win-win idea, yes?
By
Anonymous, at 10:49 AM
Making borrowing from loanshark illegal, I see.
What a clever way to free PAP from its responsibility to the society without finding out why more and more are resorting to this type of credit.
Better solution for Wong Kan Seng is since loansharks are doing a roaring business, lets beat them to it ... just like PAP beats illegal 4D operators hands down.
Well if you don't remember, in the 70's illegal 4D operators were rampant and PAP constantly raided them. Then a brilliant idea came to PAP, lets create state-run 4Ds betting franchises.
Now you can see them all around. And PAP and some critics are worried the IRs will bring a gambling scourge to Singapore.
Open ya eyes! For that matter, these 4D outlets partly or even largely explain why loanshark business is booming in Singapore.
So you see that's how PAP "resolved" the betting problem by making it legal, hehe. No wonder it is praised around the world for being such a great government.
So I am sure PAP with its brilliant advisers will come up with something like that.
The news already reported that permits have been issued to high interest money lenders when formerly such permits were refused.
PAP just have to impose a high licence fee or even get DBS into the same act to reap from this business and thus PAP will also have "resolved" this loanshark problem.
Hey in the US it was such high-interest loans through credit cards that did their economy in; here PAP might well think otherwise.
By
Anonymous, at 11:05 AM
Simple but yet brilliant analysis by lucky ! lol
And perhaps PM,MM and SM should pool their wealth and start a scheme that provides loans to PAP MPs and grass-roots supporters. Their combined wealth should be more than 200M $ ! The other multi Million $ ministers can also contribute to make loans available to all PAP members. Such loans should be interest-free, repayable over 20 to 30 years and of course whilst serving party interests.
This is a lot better than having PAP members borrowing from monks or loansharks which is not good for PAP's image and it is perfectly LEEgal. lol
By
PAP golden loan, at 11:30 AM
Whether or not it is a good idea depends on the composition of borrowers. Are they mostly irresponsible spenders/gamblers or genuinely needy people?
If it is the former, then I support criminalizing borrowers. As for the needy, once they borrow from loan sharks, it is very unlikely they will be able to repay. In fact, I would imagine the debt will grow because of the ridiculous interest rates (correct me if I am wrong). So, this source of borrowing should not be encouraged in order to prevent them from falling further into the pit.
However, for the needy, criminalizing them is no fair because loan sharks are probably their last resort.
So, if there is a way to separate the irresponsible ones from the needy, it would be great. Also, more thought has to go into how to prevent the needy from borrowing from loan sharks or helping them repay the sum.
As for existing borrowers, if it is possible, maybe they can decide on a cutting-off date, so only those who borrow after the implementation will be charged.
The only concern I have is that loan sharks may resort to trickery to trap people into borrowing because they have to keep their income channel alive.
By
Anonymous, at 11:54 AM
I actually support the idea of making borrowing from loansharks an offenseJust recently, a neighbour of mine had his window poured with red paint. He claimed he lost his IC and it was used to make an illegal loan with the loansharks.
What have we here in this senario?
1. Vandalism
2. People not relating to the borrower suffering from the consequences
3. People related to the borrower suffering from the consequences
If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye.
About people suffering in silence? They are already suffering whether or not they report to the police.
How about preventing more people in the future suffering in silence?
there must be plenty of money to be made in the loansharking business.
then it is more reason for this greedy govt to catch these loansharks who have failed to declare their real source of income to Inland Revenue Dept.
afterall these buggers are the ones who are cash rich, right ?
just give better incentives to our SPF / men-in-blue. lol
By
Anonymous, at 12:11 PM
Anon @10:49 and Parka ... exacta!
I have a better idea ... the police can help collect for a percentage of the fees.
The poor gets their loans!
Loansharks get their profits!
No vandalism!
MHA turns a profit and meet their KPIs!
thats what i call "win-win" :-)
By
Anonymous, at 12:26 PM
"If I'm in charge of passing this law, I'll pass it instantly without blinking an eye." - Parka
No so fast, Parka, try the Resident Committee first.
By
Anonymous, at 12:28 PM
In the US, there's all kind of money lending/borrowing business, such as payday loan. Just that in Singapore, the credit market's so tightly controlled that avenues for credit do not flourish aboveground, and you have to go underground sometimes, in times of need.
Parka wants to criminalize PAP MP Dr Ong Seh Hong without blinking his eye. He's on the same boat as me.
By
Anonymous, at 1:16 PM
Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news.
Drawing a decision tree will help to know possible decision that will be made by the people who is directly or indirectly involved.
This policy, I think it will make matter worse.
For example, if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next.
Next, if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me. I believe my family will not report loan sharks cases to the police because I will get into trouble. What’s next? Suffer in silence.(Just think that most families won’t want their members to put in jail.)
Lucky, by now the loan sharks must be celebrating!! There is no way or hardly a way the police can track them down without the borrower's family reporting it.
The loan sharks will just have to pick on the right family. I think this is obvious.
Lesser number of loan sharks case might just be an illusion. The number of loan sharks might increase. The only difference is, the cases are not recorded.
Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem.
Agree totally agree with lucky's post.
By
tiredman, at 1:17 PM
Tiredman said "Maybe MHA did not do enough research before releasing this news."
I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA ! PAP policies have time and time again proved they lack due diligence, and we are paying millions to these elite for doing what morons also can do !
By
Anonymous, at 1:35 PM
similarly. set up casinos as stumbling blocks for people who want to bet for instant riches. but then, how do you deal with social problems that may arise from gambling?
the authorities have to decide...how to make more money and avoid being blamed for social problems
make money is still the government chief priority than social well being.
so same tactics. let people walk into these places of temptations. enact laws to punish people who failed to contain themselves and become social liabilities than use laws to slam them
in other words, for money, they'll tempt the people within the legal boundaries.
what they are saying is: i want to stroke your cock for money. but if you cock stand up, i am going to use the laws to cut off your cock.
By
Anonymous, at 2:20 PM
this reminds me of another recent law from MHA.
There's been a rise in contraband cigarettes in singapore. So instead of better policing at the borders, they decided to mark every single cigarette in Singapore with the duty paid logo.
Citizens, well smoking ones, get punished, instead of working harder to to catch the smugglers.
Now we'll likely go into a slippery slope argument.. if borrowing money from loansharks is illegal, then we should then make everything that leads to debts illegal too eg addictive gamblers should be fined or jailed.
or every form of vice in our society should also be made illegal like alcoholism.
it must be the MHA - the same people who say that ONE person gathering can be deemed an illegal gathering.
absurd, absolutely absurd.
By
Anonymous, at 3:53 PM
Wow, now I can sabotage anyone by scribbling their unit no. on the wall "O$P$ #-----", and then call the police saying that this person has borrowed from loansharks.
So instead of using their precious resources to catch real criminals i.e. loansharks, police now have to waste resources investigating innocent victims.
Maybe this is what they want because sitting ducks borrowers are easier to catch than elusive loansharks. They can justify their hefty salaries and bonuses by increasing the number of "solved cases".
By
Hurray!, at 4:32 PM
Wow, now I can sabotage anyone by scribbling their unit no. on the wall "O$P$ #-----", and then call the police saying that this person has borrowed from loansharks.
Donch be so "aw sim" lah.
Anyway, who will be so "jia ba ka eng?"
Only those with a never ending axe to grind.
What if you get caught for sabotage? Will be joke of the year :D
By
Anonymous, at 6:30 PM
"...if I am in deep shit and need money, what would I do? Borrow first then decide what to do next."
That is the most vulnerable state (desperation and panic) for the loan sharks to exploit and after that you might regret. Might be better for you to be stopped from falling into the pit.
"...if I do not report my ”crime”, there won’t be any case on me."
The loan sharks will use it to blackmail you to extort more until you tak boleh tahan and report yourself.
"Nail down the loan sharks and eliminate them should be the only way to solve the problem."
Definitely, this should be the priority. I believe making borrowing a criminal act in meant to be supplementary.
By
Anonymous, at 6:39 PM
And it will only get worse when the IR open kopishop.
All the loanshark will flock under their skirt.
By
Anonymous, at 8:55 PM
Btw, Lucky, are you going to write about this editor who got off from killing (due to dangerous driving, she was talking on the phone while driving)?
some more, the learned judge said this was to be a "one-off" sentence, not to be used as precedent.
got such thing one meh? seems like one rule for elites, one for peasants.
By
Anonymous, at 8:56 PM
to people who support this idea feeling that irresponsible people should not be saved:
what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???
don't be too quick to condemn other people ok?
the fact that many people actually support it shows singaporeans really have no compassion.
By
Anonymous, at 11:37 PM
Just got this feeling that everything the people in SIN does will become offence against the State one day !
By
Anonymous, at 11:49 PM
Lucky, you called this brilliant solution? Pls take a look at this video clip :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLLBJ8ZCnhc. If you were right Ah Nan can be our cabinet minister.
By
Anonymous, at 12:37 AM
LUCKY,
This has been happening for a very long time;
Under the Act, if the Ministries send you a bill for $XXXXXXXXX dollars, you have to prove to them why you didn't owe the money. HOW TO?
If the Income Tax Department revalue your property, or claim you made a few millions last year when you did not, you have to pay first and argue later. You have stashed funds?
Where to get the money to pay first? borrow from the loanshark?
If you do not want your organs and skin remove from your temporary diabled body, you better opt out.
Criteria for confirming brain dead,
1. your pupil does not response to light (temporary lose of eyesight pengsa).
2. your fingers does not response to needle pricking (temporary paralysis pengsa).
3. 2 doctors confirms you are brain dead (pengsa if some politician/millionaire has matching requirements).
Where are all the modern equpments?
The passport of the Pathetic Singaporean is the only valuable and useful object of being a Pathetic Singaporean!!
By
Anonymous, at 6:52 AM
"what if u borrow ah long and ur daughter or wife was forced to or out of love sell herself secretly help u pay off ur debt???"
It is your irresponsibility that causes your wife's or daughter's "suffering" and you blame others for being heartless?
No wonder they have to criminalize borrowing - some people just do not have conscience and they expect everyone else to tolerate that (including being victims of ah long's debt collection tactics when you do not pay up and waste of police resources that can be deployed for better uses).
By
Anonymous, at 7:49 AM
"I am wondering if any research was carried out at all by the incompentent MHA !"
They purposely don't do it, throw the idea around and let netizens/citizens debate and do research for them?
Because they have no idea?
By
Anonymous, at 7:53 AM
the way i see it: the main reason is to protect innocent pple who are harassed by the loansharks when real borrowers clear out of the old place. however even with the new law, the loan sharks will still continue to harass the new owners what.
the question is why polic cannot catch these loan sharks - why are they so elusive even when security cameras are installed by the new owners? the police shld tell us.
the other angle we can do, is for hdb or relevant authorities to keep new owners advised of the new hdb address of the real borrowers. this transparency is only fair, not just in the case of loan shark harrassment. it also helps if there is a hidden defect in the unit for which the previous owner is accountable for.
if you ask me, the real reason why wks wants this is because of the coming ir. they anticipate a lot of social problems, and they simply want to wash their hands of it. this is "you die, you business" - the same strategy in healthcare, housing and law and order.
By
Anonymous, at 9:46 AM
I got a better solution lah.
Death penalty for loan sharks.
Guarantee all the wannabes will be shocked out of the business. The die-hards maybe will switch to smuggling drugs since they figure both will get death anyway. Pronto, problem solved.
Actually I don't see what's wrong with making borrowing from loansharks an offense. If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well? For those people afraid of this new law, here's a simple solution: Don't take money from loansharks.
"If providing an illegal loan is an offense, why shouldn't taking the illegal loan be an offense as well?"
You may make anything illegal and there are always good selective l
I think Singapore holds more prime mortgage dangers compared to Australia. ![]()
Property prices have declined 13.8% in the first quarter of 2009, whereas property prices in Australia have declined 2.2%.
If you based it on annual statistics, the 1st quarter of 2009 decline of 13.8% for Singapore more than doubles that of Australia's 6.7%.
Why the sharper decline compared to Australia? Mismanagement by your MIW cadres?
You should change your nick to croakyfrogger, suits you intended means and purposes. ![]()
Singapore
The Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) released today the flash estimate of the price index of private residential property for 1st Quarter 2009.
Based on the estimated price index of private residential property, prices fell from 162.8 points in the 4th Quarter 2008 to 140.3 points in the 1st Quarter 2009. This represents a decline of 13.8%, compared with the 6.1% decline in the previous quarter (see Annex A).
http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2009/pr09-09.html
Australia
Preliminary estimates show the price index for established houses for the weighted average of the eight capital cities decreased 2.2% in the March quarter 2009.
Over the year to March 2009, preliminary estimates show that the price index for established houses for the weighted average of the eight capital cities decreased 6.7%.
http://www.abs.gov.au/Ausstats/[email protected]/mf/6416.0
Seriously noisy pussy, you should look at things objectively and not abject hatred for Australians just because they deny you citizenship get in the way of your post. ![]()
It's ruining the credibility of your post, but then again, since when does your post have any semblance of credibility. ![]()
I am more concerned with the property situation in sg than in aussie land.
Looks like another bubble being inflated.
Singaporeans are really servants to debt. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I am more concerned with the property situation in sg than in aussie land.
Looks like another bubble being inflated.
Singaporeans are really servants to debt.
We are not even talking about sub-prime debt in Singapore, it's prime mortgage at risk. ![]()
Originally posted by deepak.c:show
aa
The following repond to the questions raised in
http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/330341?page=17#post_9143626
1.To the above question.I dunt think CPF grants given during good and bad times
is a ''artificially propping up local property prices''.In the good times,
why did PAP NEED to window dressing the GDP?
PM Rudd rolls out different housing grants to new and second hand house.
But I am not sure if PM Rudd cared more abt the GDP growth or helping
people in this crisis.From his speech ,u can see he is very concerned
the GDP figure!!To Oz,RECESSION is a very dirty word,
Oz jobs advertisements drop half,compared with one year ago!
2.I bring up GDP issue becos too many pple think that SG is poorly managed
than other countries,after SG became the first fell into recession.
I urge yoy look back and look at the forest.
3.Pl bear with me to repeat this story abt recession!!
Do u think Oz is in better shape than SG in this crisis?
U will be a little naive just depend on RECESSION to determine
which country is better!
Recession is a gauge of the perfomance of the past and
current GDP of A country,not comparsion with other countries!!
I give u a example of two students Ah Sing and Ah oz .
The former ususally score 90's in maths,while the latter 70's.
In a very difficult text,Ah Sing 's score drops 10 marks
from his average,while Ah Oz drops 5 marks from his average.
So,the innocent aunites and uncles in the neighbourhood say
Ah Oz is better than Ah Sing!!
dd
Originally posted by deepak.c:show
I break your questions into 4 parts
1.Artificial means to increase Singapore's GDP through assimilation of foreign talents,domestic demand
U need confidences of INVESTORS and BANKS to set up a company in SG
to provide jobs for FT as well as locals.i dunt think the gavaman controlled
DBS would blindly hand out loans to comanies just to window dressing
SG FIXED INVESTMENTS and GDP!!Basically all the investments are market driven.
Gavamnna incentives just a small boost.All PAP sponored companies
will fall if there is no long term demand.
Wat are the opportunity costs and alternatives of the factors of productions
of these companies majority taken up by FT,say dockyards,wafer factory,
cleaning ?They just cotinue to be a piece of empty land or sea!!
Domestic demand
Who can give u more $$ to boost domestic demand?The tax payers!!
or Oz gavaman start to print more currency!!
2.What we have built up for 12 years, we lost half of the GDP over
Australia in 3 months. All because of the economic machinations of
a little dictator. ![]()
wat do u mean?Oz just too shy to show her own GDO accumulative GDP growth in
this figyre.i can tell u this is abt 55% for oz from 1996 to end 2008 .
So,let say SG GDP drop 10 % in 2009 and Oz remain unchanged,
SG grew 77 % and Oz grew 55 % from 1996 to end 2009.

3.Believe me when I say, Singapore is still not out of the woods yet, with US unemployment rate at 9.4%, the global demand is going to remain sluggish for years to come.
Only SG leader dared to challenge Obama ''green shot '' hope.
If SG is not out of woods yet,who can be out of woods??
4.When you have 100 citizens (being paid $1,500) working in your factory, you produce say $18 million worth of goods. When you employ another 100 foreign talents ($750), you will produce another $18 million worth of goods, making a total of $36 million. You don't need too much intelligence to decipher this, only basic arithmetic which I hope you are capable of.
Pl see my answer in Q1.On the whole ,it is better with higher GDP than
lower.Pl share with me wat is the overall good points to have a LOWER GDP?
BTW,is it easy to get confidence of both the Board of Directors of MNC
and the banks to committee and grant loans billons of dollars in mega projects in SG?
The recovery period is 10 to 20 years.This is NOT a one- night-stand
investment,like in stocks and bonds,where u can withdraw in overnight!!
nnn
Yawn !! arrhhggghh!!...zzzz...ZZ>..yo , lion, what is the current nos of swine flu case in OZ...ZZZ...zzzzz
Originally posted by lionnoisy:dd
1.Artificial means to increase Singapore's GDP through assimilation of foreign talents,domestic demand
Domestic demand
2.What we have built up for 12 years, we lost half of the GDP over Australia in 3 months. All because of the economic machinations of a little dictator.
3.Believe me when I say, Singapore is still not out of the woods yet, with US unemployment rate at 9.4%, the global demand is going to remain sluggish for years to come.
4.When you have 100 citizens (being paid $1,500) working in your factory, you produce say $18 million worth of goods. When you employ another 100 foreign talents ($750), you will produce another $18 million worth of goods, making a total of $36 million. You don't need too much intelligence to decipher this, only basic arithmetic which I hope you are capable of.
and the banks to committee and grant loans billons of dollars in mega projects in SG?
nnn
1) FT provide jobs for Singaporeans? Stop regurgitating MIW crap and start using your mane, oops I meant your brain. ![]()
If your logic is correct, then USA would probably encourage more foreign labours. If your logic was correct, then perhaps Singapore should let in more foreign labours so that they can reduce the unemployment to 0%. ![]()
So is your logic sound? ![]()
And you believe that Singapore has long term domestic demand? ![]()
The U.S. Senate voted on February 6 to limit the number of high-skilled foreign workers to be hired by recipients of the Troubled Asset Relief Program. Many TARP recipients had hoped to use bailout money to hire cheap foreign labor and bring them to the United States via H-1B visas. Seeing this potential problem, the Senate has put restrictions on the amount of overseas labor which can be employed.
Well over 600,000 employees were laid off in January 2009 and 2.6 million people lost their jobs in 2008 nationwide. To stem the tide of rising job losses, the Senate chose a course of action which it hopes will encourage the hiring of American workers. This provision is in essence a “buy American” clause for corporate America. Congress holds the purse-strings for the remaining bailout funding, and is likely to put more restrictions on it in the future.
The amendment requires that any company hiring foreign workers gives a substantial reason for not hiring an American for that position. It also protects American workers from being replaced by cheap foreign imports.
http://www.economyincrisis.org/articles/show/2451
Domestic demand means spending in the domestic market moron, it does not mean government coming out money to bail out. Singapore's market is predominantly export oriented. Why you may ask? This is because the majority of Singaporeans lack the funds to spend, the majority of funds is with the government. When government has the funds, means no funds for your multiplier effect. What is multiplier effect? When a hawker makes $5,000, he needs to spend maybe $3,000 to pay off his workers, perishable goods, rental and electricity. The money circulates within the economy.
Why do you think that other countries are less affected by the global recession? It's because they have their own domestic demand unlike Singapore which predominantly relies on export markets.
2. You have problems understanding then get an English teacher to explain to you.
Artificial means to increase Singapore's GDP through assimilation of foreign talents has brought about more adverse effects in the GDP. Singapore's GDP dropped 10.1% for the 1st quarter of 2009, whereas Australia's GDP dropped only 0.1% for that quarter (or increased 0.3% on an annual basis). Singapore has little domestic demand as compared to Australia, because most of it's funds are in the hands of the goverment. The government then uses these funds to make retarded investments overseas losing SG$ 100 billion.
What we have built up for 12 years, we lost half of the GDP over Australia in 3 months. All because of the economic machinations of a little dictator. ![]()
Believe me when I say, Singapore is still not out of the woods yet, with US unemployment rate at 9.4%, the global demand is going to remain sluggish for years to come.
SG$ 100 billion can buy Singaporeans 40 billion packs of economical rice, based on say a population size of 3 million, this means that 3 million citizens can get food (2 meals a day) without work for 18 years.
http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/[email protected]/mf/1345.0?opendocument?utm_id=LN
Originally posted by lionnoisy:dd
Domestic demand
2.What we have built up for 12 years, we lost half of the GDP over Australia in 3 months. All because of the economic machinations of a little dictator.
nnn
3. So you telling me Singapore is on the recovery phase? Since you say Singapore is out of the woods. You must have one big mane! FYI, current US unemployment stands at 9.4%.
4. It is normally better to have higher GDP, since you say that Singapore has GDP of US$40,000 per capita (by purchasing power parity) {approximate}. If you understand the term GDP per capita (which means the total production of the whole economy divided by the labour force), then tell me this. Do average Singaporeans make the average US$40,000? Japanese have a lower GDP per capita (PPP). Tell me how much does the average Japanese make?
a lot of u think that Oz is recession proof.
Yes,if u believe oz official data.
It is amazing when the jobs adverts fell half in a year,like SG.
read this if u cant sleep tonite abt a KPMG staff story.
must read the 72 comments then u know wat are happening in oz...
Brit family forced to leave SA
Her story has also made headlines in Britain. Click here

Carolyn Van Hecke came to Australia last year on what she believed to be a contract for two years in a high paying position. Just 4 months into her contract she has been made redundant and must return to England. Pic. Dean Martin
By
Richard Shears
Last updated at 1:21 AM on 07th June 2009
This is the problem of medias,Today they tell u east,Tmr they tell u west.
read this comment from UK news
''I'm confused. In your previous article, it states inter-alia that Adelaide is enjoying a boom period and hasn't been affected by the recession!''
Hi noisy, why don't you join Oz since you're so concern about them?![]()