• Do you respect an officer or a Warrant Officer more

any Why So..........

just wanna know

104 posts since May '03
    • Originally posted by gUms:
      Do you respect an officer or a Warrant Officer more

any Why So..........

just wanna know

We respect the RANK only. but not the person.. coz i got an experience... in my NS life.. got a platoon commander (NSF) very guai lan wan.. like to abuse rank to us. than got 1 day, mi n another guy wait outside camp and "teach" him a lesson.. and we tell him. "2Lt ***** his full real name ****" WE RESPECT U NOT BECAUSE WE RESPECT YOU! WE ONLY RESPECT YOUR RANK ONLY" than we go home.. den from that day onward he dun dare to abuse his authority le...

746 posts since Jul '02

any Why So..........

just wanna know

Yes. From my time in army, i feel that becos warrant officer go thru more(eg sg->ssg etc) and really have alot of hands-on experience and really very "steady" when they do things. Offficers jus study, the more u study the faster u rise but when really called into action dunno wat to do liao...

• santa bear
    126,668 posts since Feb '01
    • i dunno... regulars who are "life sentences", people think they don't fit anywhere else...

most of them are the "lao cheks"...

some are great people, some are just wastes of oxygen...

rank.. the most respected are those who treat their men like humans... so officers or lau cheks, it depends.. did they earn their respect or they are just a-holes....

heck! lau lee's son was very high ranking... i respect pond-scum and bottom feeding carrion eaters more...

21,531 posts since Aug '02
    • Arrow Haha.

Interesting topic.

For me, I think it will do good for them to treat people well. Only then will they get respect.

In times of war, one will only help someone who deserves to be helped.

16,355 posts since May '03
    1,801 posts since Apr '02
    • Originally posted by NeonTetra:
      officers. warrant officers r not commissioned and we need not salute them

so becos of tis reason u dun respect a warrant officer?
      i salute my S3 everyday...but in my heart..i will knnbccb..u call tat respect?

1,801 posts since Oct '01
    • Originally posted by NathanG5:
      so becos of tis reason u dun respect a warrant officer?
      i salute my S3 everyday...but in my heart..i will knnbccb..u call tat respect?

Good point, I respect the one who deserves respect, not because of their rank.

Some officers think greeting/saluting them is a sign of respect, like that prick of a QM in my former unit, well if thats how he thinks, hes a bigger idiot than he looks. Because like you, in my heart I'm spitting at him while my mouth greets him.

Well not that I greet him that often, only when he raises a stink about it, most of the time I shoot him dirty looks or ignore him totally

BTW shouldn't this topic be in Military Nuts? Laughing Laughing

Edited by Viper52 15 Jul `03, 8:58PM
    1,801 posts since Oct '01
    1,801 posts since Apr '02
    1,925 posts since Apr '02
    • Originally posted by the Bear:
      i dunno... regulars who are "life sentences", people think they don't fit anywhere else...

most of them are the "lao cheks"...

some are great people, some are just wastes of oxygen...

rank.. the most respected are those who treat their men like humans... so officers or lau cheks, it depends.. did they earn their respect or they are just a-holes....

heck! lau lee's son was very high ranking... i respect pond-scum and bottom feeding carrion eaters more...

ha ha... i like that point of view... but come now... even pond-scums and bottom feeding carrion eaters have a very constructive ecological role to play.

i would actually call pple who gain high rank through "questionable" avenues... leeches and parasites... living off the labour of others and providing no constructive role by themselves.

58 posts since Jul '03
    • i respect those who will do work, and not just kpkb scold pple then shift the arrows to others.

58 posts since Jul '03
    • Originally posted by Just_Me_loh:
      We respect the RANK only. but not the person.. coz i got an experience... in my NS life.. got a platoon commander (NSF) very guai lan wan.. like to abuse rank to us. than got 1 day, mi n another guy wait outside camp and "teach" him a lesson.. and we tell him. "2Lt ***** his full real name ****" WE RESPECT U NOT BECAUSE WE RESPECT YOU! WE ONLY RESPECT YOUR RANK ONLY" than we go home.. den from that day onward he dun dare to abuse his authority le...

well done! rank cannot be abused. respect is harder to earn than just shout shout point point command people like dogs...

53,499 posts since Jan '03
    261 posts since Jun '03

any Why So..........

just wanna know

I respect Old Encik more. But in todays' life, I shld say none. As everywhere u turn, there's 1 encik standing there. Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Why? B'cos they study lah! Nowadays rank are FREE! seems like buy 1 get 1 free kinda deal.

I believe that Respect is to be earn and not given. Cool

2,969 posts since May '01
Please Login or Signup to reply.