-
-
What do you guys think?
I think he could actually serve Singapore better by being a Private Citizen now... in fact, he should have been one long ago... do you think it was a case of being unable and unwilling to let go?
Or worse, hanging around to ensure the Lee Dynasty?
-----------------------------------------------
SINGAPORE, Sept 19 (AFP) - A majority of Singaporeans want their nation's
elderly founding father, Lee Kwan Yew, to quit politics, according to an Internet poll held after he said he would not retire while he could still contribute.
Lee, who turned 80 this week, served as prime minister from the nation's
independence in 1965 to 1990 and has since kept an influential role in the
government as senior minister, a cabinet post.
Lee told the Straits Times newspaper in an interview to mark his birthday
that he would remain senior minister as long as he could contribute, and after that he would keep his parliamentary seat until he was no longer fit and able.
"You don't have to tell me. I can feel it when I am no longer making a contribution, " Lee said.
But many Singaporeans, who live under a political system that has allowed
the People's Action Party to rule since independence, want him to retire, according to the poll by Internet portal Yahoo Singapore.
By 5:30 pm (0930 GMT) on Friday, 44 percent of 6,383 respondents said they
wanted Lee to retire from politics immediately while another nine percent said he should retire "soon".
Forty-three percent said he should continue in politics.
Despite the poll results, Lee's efforts in making Singapore a First World
nation are recognised in the city-state with another Yahoo poll this year
choosing him as Singaporean of the Year.
The Internet is a popular avenue for political debate in technologically
advanced Singapore, where free speech has long taken a back seat to Lee's
famous "Asian values" system that puts society ahead of the individual.
Yahoo Southeast Asia marketing and research head Miguel Bernas told AFP
there was a lot of interest in the poll on Lee, which began on Wednesday and
was due to close later Friday.
He said Yahoo Singapore conducts polls twice a week, with the more than 6,300 people who responded to the Lee question well above the average of about 4,000.
Bernas said cookies and checks to see if respondents were Yahoo members ensured people could vote only once.
-
-
-
Originally posted by antoh:wiothout him i think i will be still eating bread and butter and playing 5 stone
Hardly so, as if you had lived in Hong Kong or Malaysia, without an LKY, you will still have porridge on the table, and still playing dolls or toy soldiers, and have enough left over food to play "masak masak".
Looking back at the entire Singapore episode, without LKY's hardnosed and abrasive kind of politics, perhaps several negative type of politics would have been entrenched in Singapore.
Certainly there would have been social instability due to the racial tensions created by political extremists, who were bankrupt of political ideals and only know about protecting and promoting their own race.
Corruption would have been part of the political process in all areas of Government activities.
Singapore as a Nation would not have existed until there was a purposeful plan developed by the Group of PAP First Generation Leaders, who were from different racial and religious backgrounds, all agreeing to the Singapore Pledge, Anthem, and the significance spelled out in the Singapore Flag.
This idea was not an idea from one single person in LKY.
The unfortunate part of the success is that it has resulted in the adage that seems to be coming true, and that is "Power corrupts, and corrupt absolutely".
The undisguised tenacity to hold on to Political Power, and to entrench the Ruling Party into all areas of political and economic Life of Singapore and Singaporeans, to the point of little tolerance to any significant challenge from honest Singaporean.
Trust between the Ruling Party and the Singapore Citizens only go so far as the Singapore Citizen leaving the Government to make policies for the good of the people; but the Government DO NOT TRUST the Citizens for their sense of judgment in any policiy that affect them.
Trust does not exist between the Ruling Party a.k.a the Government that there are Singaporeans more capable then those found in the First Family (immediate and extended) and those annointed as trustworthy from within the highest echelon of the Inner Circle of the Ruling Party.
Will LKY's legacy hold after his departure from this Life ?
Will the system that he has put in place benefit Singapore, or will it result in a hamstrung system, when any other Opposition Party is elected by the Singapore Citizens to be the New Government ?
The system that is now put in place by LKY seems to be purposefully designed to ensure that any other Political Party - besides the PAP - will be assured of failure and non-cooperation from the various branches of Government, Civil Service, GLCs, and the web that has been woven, in which the Singapore Reserves has dissipated in all kinds of investment subsidiaries and sub-subsidiaries, and sub-sub-subsidiaries..
Will the G.I.C. report to a New Government formed by another Political Party, when it does not even respond to the instruction of an Elected President - who had tested the 2-key system designed to protect the Singapore Reserves ?
With LKY still around another 80 years, we might go back to eating bread and butter, and playing with stones.
Edited by Atobe 20 Sep `03, 5:11PM
-
-
-
Originally posted by the Bear:
What do you guys think?
I think he could actually serve Singapore better by being a Private Citizen now... in fact, he should have been one long ago... do you think it was a case of being unable and unwilling to let go?
Or worse, hanging around to ensure the Lee Dynasty?Is this something new ? Remember Philipine's Marcos ? Indonesia's Suharto ?
Yeah, very very much admired in their early days, but if you overstay your welcome, i think it'll leave more lasting bitter memories than sweet ones. Get it over with, done with your job and retire for the sack of your future "reputation" and your people.
Don't be like PM Goh now, want to step-down also malu...becos he want to save his face for future history books until economy turns around....I say wait "Long.Long, very Sian...and Long"
Why ? Cos as long as there is any Lee-related family involved in Singapore's govenance, Singaporean will never be the true to their own destine.
-
-
-
Originally posted by the Bear:
What do you guys think?
Or worse, hanging around to ensure the Lee Dynasty?Is this something new ? Remember Philipine's Marcos ? Indonesia's Suharto ?
Yeah, very very much admired in their early days, but if you overstay your welcome, i think it'll leave more lasting bitter memories than sweet ones. Get it over with, done with your job and retire for the sack of your future "reputation" and your people.
Don't be like PM Goh now, want to step-down also malu...becos he want to save his face for future history books until economy turns around....I say wait "Long.Long, very Sian...and Long"
Why ? Cos as long as there is any Lee-related family involved in Singapore's govenance, Singaporean will never be true to their own destine.
-
-
-
Originally posted by antoh:wiothout him i think i will be still eating bread and butter and playing 5 stone
I don't mind eating bread and butter and playing 5 stones. Sometimes looking at the current standard of living, we are still eating bread and butter, its more expensive that's all....or so it looks expensive....
Some of SM Lee's policies reflected his lack of hindsight. The family planning policy where two is enough had worked so well that we do not have enough young people to protect our nation let alone support the future economy. Now the present government is firefighting to resolve the mistake made so long ago. An aging population is not so easily resolved. No amount of effort can be done for the aging population. Even if they were sucessful in salvaging this problem, a great deal of effort is required from them 'woo' investors back to Singapore after a span of 30 years recovery. Which foreign investor will continue to set up operations with a bunch of old people? Reality is that years of mistake from the 70's is not something you can resolve within 2 mins, months or 2 years. Without the youths, the key to the new economy will be halted for numerous years thus resulting the loss in our economy. Without natural resources and land, we need youthful manpower.
The anti-corruption policies is just another redirecting cover to look nice. There are still much corruption in public or private sector. Its just how well you justify it. You can always find little loop-holes in every rules and gift-wrap it to make it look wonderful. javascript:emoticon('
')
The housing plan to give every Singaporean to OWN a roof over your head is another of the government's magical illusion. You don't actually own it (after having paid $200 000 to $300 000 for it). You are leasing from HDB. With that money, I could actually own a landed freehold property in our neighbouring country. Isn't it not surprising that we have to pay legal fees to LEE & LEE before even leasing the HDB property? (Hmmm...wonder who owns LEE & LEE??? Let me guess! Aiyah! So obvious right?!)
So much for the negative! At lease now we can afford breadtalk right? (Expensive kaya guyu loti)

-
-
-
Originally posted by Gun:Is this something new ? Remember Philipine's Marcos ? Indonesia's Suharto ?
Why ? Cos as long as there is any Lee-related family involved in Singapore's govenance, Singaporean will never be true to their own destine.
i think.. it has already begun to get a little bitter. comments are appearing all over the place, suggesting that it's time he should step down. yeah true lah, if you played an important role in the building of the nation, naturally you'd want to continue contributing while you can.. but this... supervision... is getting... too much. and he's getting on his years, sooner or later he'll have to let go, why not now?

hmm lee dynasty.. lee hsien yang is the ceo of singtel or something right? is he one of the sons too?
-
-
-
Originally posted by joeljuls:The anti-corruption policies is just another redirecting cover to look nice. There are still much corruption in public or private sector. Its just how well you justify it. You can always find little loop-holes in every rules and gift-wrap it to make it look wonderful. javascript:emoticon('
')compared to the corruption levels in the neighboring countries, i believe we're far better off. at least here, paying $10 is not going to get you off the hook for a speeding ticket.
if you liked living in the 70s so much, i propose you move to either JB or Jakarta, it's not exactly 70s but it ain't exactly singapore.
-
-
-
I don't think so. First of all, ppl have no right to ask him to retire as he's the overall founder of Singapore. Without him, Singapore is shit!
As he has already menioned that he will stay in the government as long as he can. I think he's healthy and he can still carry on for the next five years or so.
I have great respect for SM Lee as he's a very firm man with no nonsense and he loves the citizens, that's the most important thing!
-
-
-
The way I see it, the best thing we can do for Singapore, the govt. and LKY is doing them a favour by thinking for ourselves for once. It makes sure Singapore will survive into the future, belongs to the people, and trims the excess fat off the PAP to make sure they actually listen and do what they promised to do.
-
-
-
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:The way I see it, the best thing we can do for Singapore, the govt. and LKY is doing them a favour by thinking for ourselves for once. It makes sure Singapore will survive into the future, belongs to the people, and trims the excess fat off the PAP to make sure they actually listen and do what they promised to do.
Our INDEPENDENT Thinking Process is most critical during the Elections.
When the election is over, it will be no use to complain but just bite the tongue to send a painful signal to the brain for the stupidity of maintaining a status quo that existed for the last 38 years.
Has Singaporeans become brain dead and afraid of facing New Challenges for a New Future - even if it is an unpredictable one.
The first step of a journey is always the beginning of a New Adventure - will Singaporeans dare to take the first step into any unknown ?
-
-
-
Listen people... yes im sure you all are very grateful for all the merry thinks Mr LKY has done for you in the past, BUT... that was long ago... people get old with times, times are different, you must examine what LKY and his government today are doing, whether it is of benefit to YOU... "YOU" meaning Singapore's generation, is the rule enjoyable? You should be thinking on what this politician can offer you NOW, not what he offered god-knows how many ages ago....
-
-
-
SM Lee Kuan Yew can help to maintain a more firm ground on the PAP goverment if he will stays on and not retires. In what i know, i think current PM Goh Chok Tong might also be staying on in the goverment which in term help to have a better secure to the desicion being made by the next PM. By having the previous PM to remain in the parliment, the ex PMs will be able to contribute to the PM and thus having a more stable government.
-
-
-
Dear All,
Agree fully- Mr Lee should go. Sad and all good wishes for Mrs Lee to get well and glad that she is now recovering.
The question is what if it was Mr KY Lee? Sorry, Mr Lee- we all wish you could live forever- but in truth all of us must go one day.
Is the state going to mourn for his passing? What is the cost of a state funderal- not to mention that Mr Lee is an important person in the creation of modern Singapore.
Mr Lee- please let us remember your glory and significance- surely you would not want us to remember you as a person who refuses to let go even to the end. One thing that you have never shown us is generosity and magnimity. Its time to show it before its too late.
Save us a hafty state funeral. Thanks. Let us remember your living and not your death.
-
-
-
The whole trouble with the majority of Singaporeans is that without LKY Singapore would not be what it is today. Oh Pleeeeezzzzeeee! The US has partizan politics since time immemorial, today it is the world’s largest economy and the only super power left! Singapore without LKY would have developed into a full democracy with some other, we would not need to suffer under such stiffling conditions today!
-
-
-
Originally posted by cooleo:Is it a coincidence that opposing opinions on the Singapore govt only comes from a bunch of jokers in Speaker's corner? Haha..the irony is they don't even have the balls to speak in public, maybe i will give them more credit by speaking in public and getting pulled away by cops.

Well well...our resident frog-in-well sycophant is back, if you think Speakers Corner and the Young PAP forum are the only online discussions on Singapore politics, then naturally we're the only anti-government one. Heres a quick internet tour for you, my younf arsewipe, take a look and see how popular the government is online...
Hardware Zone Forums
Sammyboy's Al Fresco Coffeeshop
Yahoo! Singapore Message boards
soc.culture.singapore
discuss-singapore Yahoo Group
Get out of your well and take a look at the real world before dissing those who do not agree with you, little boy.
Here endeth the lesson.Edited by Viper52 30 Nov `03, 12:55PM
-