-
-
Singapore sold Christmas island to Australia not long ago on 1 Oct 1958.
And for how much cash ? Only 2.9 million English pounds.
Singapore is the only country in the world to sell her territory.
I think this mistake should be ractified.
Think of the potential of Christmas island : SAF bases, Tourism, Cheap Retirement homes etc
Sold for only S$10 Million by the Govt of Singapore in 1958................
.............laughing stock of the world..........
-
-
-
Originally posted by the Bear:but then, one simple question: you and whose army?
YOu are sooo right, my man. I am NOT going to be activated for reservist just so SG could invade and try to claim Christmas Island as her own again. Anyway, the past is past. If SG does try to do that, it'll be like a chicken attacking a tiger. 2 seconds of attack, then the coup de grace. Mmm. Tastes better when fried.
-
-
-
Take back? and hold with what? If we held it during our independance the aussies would have annexed it anyway. If we take it back now do you think they will stand for it if we posted a unit there to guard our claim? It was the right thing to do to sell it off in the first place.
Also I heard under the old maritime law, anything above and under the sea within 2km of the coast line belongs to you. And that means if there is a stone or coral size of a durian protruding out of the water, that claim is extended for another 2km, that means our claim may even stretch all the way to spratly islands leow.
That's going head to head with the chinese, vietnamese, indoesians, malaysians an bruneians and filipinoes who have oil claims there.
You want them to declare WWIII on us.
No thanks!
-
-
-
Alamak ! If you think like that it would be better sell Ubin and Tekong too !
also give away Changi as free gift.
Don't forget to donate Pasir Ris for the poor Indonesians.
After that all of us can go back to kampong Melayu, to Cina, India, or Kiasee land where we came from. Forget this little RED DOT.
or ............migrate to Australia........
-
-
-
Originally posted by idwar:Alamak ! If you think like that it would be better sell Ubin and Tekong too !
After that all of us can go back to kampong Melayu, to Cina, India, or Kiasee land where we came from. Forget this little RED DOT.
can u honestly tell us ur motive of why u always post damn stupid thread??? what is ur hidden agenda or are u just plain stupid??

-
-
-
i'll put this into a few paragraphs...
YOU
ARE
A
MORON
geddit?
Originally posted by idwar:Alamak ! If you think like that it would be better sell Ubin and Tekong too !
-
-
-
us?
ermmm we sinagporeans celebrate our national day on the 9th of Aug every year. u?
-
-
-
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):if u havent notice, his thread is always BS....he should be banned in the first place!!!!

wat can u expect from speaker`s corner??
ive searched for the threads he started..
not all are bullshit
only a bit rascist at times..
but its a speaker`s corner rite???
freedom of speech mahz
disclaimer i don sarport anyone nor flame anyone here
i feel that we muz be sensitive at times
i muz admit this xmas island maybe a boring topic to discuss..
but it`s a valid topic mahz
-
-
-
this:
Alamak ! If you think like that it would be better sell Ubin and Tekong too !
or ............migrate to Australia........ [/quote]
wonder if he's here to discuss or he's here as a troll
[quote]Originally posted by BaByBoY:wat can u expect from speaker`s corner??
not all are bullshit
freedom of speech mahz
but it`s a valid topic mahz
-
-
-
Originally posted by the Bear:maybe just from Speaker's Corner...
and Military Nuts too
Originally posted by BaByBoY:wat can u expect from speaker`s corner??
not all are bullshit
freedom of speech mahz
but it`s a valid topic mahzwhat i expect from speaker's corner????? confirm not his BS, i seriously would want to know if he's even singaporean in the first place??

u did a search and dun think it's BS???? did u go in and read his comment?? with the way he is posting.....he is either someone with a hidden agenda or just plain stupid.....
-
-
-
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):what i expect from speaker's corner????? confirm not his BS, i seriously would want to know if he's even singaporean in the first place??

u did a search and dun think it's BS???? did u go in and read his comment?? with the way he is posting.....he is either someone with a hidden agenda or just plain stupid.....
okok
i ned to make myself clearer
his topic arent bullshit..
but his alternate replies to his own thread is..
they are rather dissapointing for a constructive discussion
i seriously doubt the intergrity of his presence but i do believe he meant a gd intention to start of the topics.. however boring it may be
keke
-
-
-
Facts of Christmas Island:
http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/geos/kt.html
http://www.dotrs.gov.au/terr/xmas/Edited by tranquilice 13 Jul `04, 3:41AM
-
-
-
we should be glad that we got any money from the sales at all...
and it really wasn't a negotiation...
it was basically ang mohs talking amongst themselves and deciding to paint certain spots different colours.
fact about the place:
its closer to australia than singapore
the cocos keelings / christmas islands were grouped into the straits settlements and the colony of singapore administratively, but for all intents and purposes, did its own thing cos it was simply too far to administer directly.
after the war, when decolonisation was in progress and maps were re-drawn, the brits decided to put into writing what had already been a reality... to transfer sovereignty of christmas island to australia because it just makes more sense...
bearing in mind that Sg was NOT independent at that time... we only had self-rule... and u wanna argue with the brits over crab infested islets???
-
-
-
OoohhhKay..
C'mon, be realistic. SG is to take over X'mas Island? Uu ngiah bo? Sure or not?
Hey, people make mistakes, so do the gov't, but think, was it a wise decision at that time when they sold off X'mas Island? Australia would have taken it anyway, seeing as to SG was a newly formed sovereign country.
Now think of this, if say, SG would try to reclaim X'mas Island, forcefully or thru negotiation, whatever, would that be a prudent decision? I don't think so.
Furthermore, do you think Australia would just toss X'mas Island back to SG, like nothing ever happened. If attempting to put our claim to X'mas Island is not challenging Australia's sovereignity, then I don't know what is. Some people in SG get heated up when others challenge our sovereignity, but they have the nerve to challenge other older and more prominent countries' sovereignity.
Cheerios~
-
-
-
Originally posted by idwar:Singapore sold Christmas island to Australia not long ago on 1 Oct 1958.
And for how much cash ? Only 2.9 million English pounds.
Singapore is the only country in the world to sell her territory.
I think this mistake should be ractified.
Think of the potential of Christmas island : SAF bases, Tourism, Cheap Retirement homes etc
Sold for only S$10 Million by the Govt of Singapore in 1958................
.............laughing stock of the world..........Just 2 comments
(1) 1958 is before independence. There isn't a Singapore Government back then. So, it is not a choice.
(2) Only country to sell her territory??!!! Hello.... I think you need to read more widely. Don't tell people you are Singaporean hor... so pai seh....psst..... go and read a bit about Alaska.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Qitai:(2) Only country to sell her territory??!!! Hello.... I think you need to read more widely. Don't tell people you are Singaporean hor... so pai seh....psst..... go and read a bit about Alaska.
yups... the russians sold Alaska and it was considered one of the BIGGEST and CHEAPEST real estate deals in history... not to mention the French... they sold Lousiana... for a pittance too i might add...
but the background of such sales are usually the same... the hold of the former sovereign was impractical... they were too far and generated too few revenue to make any sense.
-
-
-
The guy who sold Christmas Island was Mr. Lim Yew Hock, the Chief Minister of Singapore., not some white colonial master. The money went to Singapore, not UK.
The population of Christmas Island was made up of Singapore people.
Chinese 70%, European 20%, Malay 10% (total 1500)
Today they are Australian Citizens. I do not know if they were given a choice to remain Singaporeans, since the thing happened before 1965.
If they did not opt for australian citizenship, would they be classified as stateless?
What about their rights? Did anyone consulted them before the Island was sold?
So they don't teach this episode in school? Why are they afraid that the younger generation will find out about this betrayal?
-