11 Oct, 03:51AM in sunny Singapore!

Warship in the Straits of Singapore

Subscribe to Warship in the Straits of Singapore 289 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,202 posts since Jun '04
    • Spotted sailing past one of our southern islands on 24th January this year. Note colour camouflage pattern and no flags spotted. Anyone can identify it? Cool

10,585 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:
      Spotted sailing past one of our southern islands on 24th January this year. Note colour camouflage pattern and no flags spotted. Anyone can identify it? Cool

and not being pickup by our so call STATE-OF-THE-ART Navy?

• I are serious cat
    49,792 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by Manager433:
      and not being pickup by our so call STATE-OF-THE-ART Navy?

Already informed beforehand lor Laughing

2,161 posts since Aug '04
    • maybe thai.

always see a lot of thai sailors at simlim sq in navy uniform. mebbe they come here for exercise.

236 posts since Aug '04
    2,161 posts since Aug '04
    • photo very hazy, the camo on the ship looks like brown, greenish grey but can't tell very much if malaysian or thai warship.

But anyway if it is malaysian why does their king need to ride down in one especially now feb which is still monsoon period. Couldn't he just fly down in his personal helicopter. Laughing Laughing

243 posts since Nov '05
    • Originally posted by KumSioJui:
      photo very hazy, the camo on the ship looks like brown, greenish grey but can't tell very much if malaysian or thai warship.

But anyway if it is malaysian why does their king need to ride down in one especially now feb which is still monsoon period. Couldn't he just fly down in his personal helicopter. Laughing Laughing

blow blow sea breeze song mah Laughing

52 posts since Mar '05
    • it belong to the indonesian navy….especially if you seen it around the southern island.

4,296 posts since Oct '02
    5,740 posts since Oct '04
      Spotted sailing past one of our southern islands on 24th January this year. Note colour camouflage pattern and no flags spotted. Anyone can identify it? Cool

Laughing u sure its a warship???? looks like a trawler to me. Mr. Green Laughing

6,236 posts since Jan '06
    79 posts since Aug '04
    • Originally posted by nightzip:
      Laughing u sure its a warship???? looks like a trawler to me. Mr. Green Laughing

Trawler where got radar mast one... Most probably Indonesian Navy because in area around Singapore only their warship (patrol vessel maybe) have camouflaged body.

236 posts since Aug '04
    • Maybe the logistics ocifer sold the fuel to the pirates...You know they reduced the fuel subsidy in indo. And end up drifted to our southern island...
      And the captain was hoping for either the monsoon wind to blow them back... or the RSN kind enuff to send them some fuel, CNY goodwill.... Mr. Green

• i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,382 posts since Dec '04
    1,202 posts since Jun '04
    • Need to highlight that the ship was sailing along the shipping lines and was well within our waters given that RSN ships were observed to sail much further offshore from where this ship was spotted.

6,236 posts since Jan '06
    • Trepass sg waters should be shot down or arrested liao

Maybe Navy not as effective as we thought it was Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

507 posts since Aug '04

My guess is Thai or possibly Taiwanese. Here is my logic...

1) its displacement is around 800 tons and from the length , it looks around 130 m or so. Possibly a Corvette or Frigate
      2) It has 2 Oto Melara 76 mm guns fore and aft.
      3) there is some kind of fixed missile launcher which looks like a US made Standard anti-aircraft/ missile launcher

It is too small to be one of the US or western powers or Japanese, who also don't camouflage their craft. Also, too small to be Indonesian ( who have much larger American and Soviet destroyers). It could be one of the older Oliver Perry class frigates that the US has retired but transferred to countries like Taiwan and thailand.

50,965 posts since Jan '03
    • i say indonesia because its looks exactly like the ones we were next to at Meulaboh

Edited by kopiosatu 01 Feb `06, 10:54PM
    4,296 posts since Oct '02
    970 posts since Dec '02
    • Some indonesian russian type patrol vessel. Could be one of the east german vessels they bought over. Russian type ASW rocket launcher on fore deck.

2,138 posts since Mar '04
    • Originally posted by spiderweb6969:
      it belong to the indonesian navy....especially if you seen it around the southern island.

Around this region, only the indonesian paint their ship like that !!!

602 posts since Jun '04
    • Indon navy is a big joke=no usable weapon systems except small arms.

If they clash with Royal Malaysian Navy in Ambalat sea area, they will be blown to bits.

http://www.malra.org/posko/malra.php4?nr=37009

236 posts since Aug '04
    • Originally posted by idwar:
      Indon navy is a big joke=no usable weapon systems except small arms.

If they clash with Royal Malaysian Navy in Ambalat sea area, they will be blown to bits.

http://www.malra.org/posko/malra.php4?nr=37009

RMN was a bigger joke when they have nothing to blow up the Indo warship in the waters off sabah that they have to crash their craft into the Indo ship... Mr. Green remember the incident over the disputed Sipadan area ??

Edited by pufferfish_79 02 Feb `06, 1:12AM
    602 posts since Jun '04
    • Nobody died in the incident you mentioned, unlike RSN kenna cut in half by civilian ship, hahaha

864 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by idwar:
      Nobody died in the incident you mentioned, unlike RSN kenna cut in half by civilian ship, hahaha

The RSN ship cut by half and the ship still did not sink if RMN ship is the one kena cut,I think no crew will survive cos everything in the bottom of the sea liao...LOL!

Please Login or Signup to reply.