<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Thai requirement for AEW&amp;C' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/1164/topics/184847</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:23:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;for internal unrest, first they have to find the terrorist
training base in large jungles mountainous areas of thailand for
that aew&amp;amp;c can be useful.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Then once determine approximate area, send in spies/SOF/ranger to
reconnitor the place to confirm is training base and not some
kampong area full of harmless civilians.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Because if really hidden training camp nearby all the roads will
have OP with ppl kuar jwee and watching for large garmen troops
movement so with air troop transport problem solved, paratroopers
appear out of no where and make sudden raids.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
maybe is like that hor &lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:23:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583181</guid>
      <author>four-niner</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:11:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Wat about internal unrest? E troops carrier will prove useful
&lt;img title="Neutral" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_neutral.gif" alt="Neutral" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:11:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583156</guid>
      <author>spartan6</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:09:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;see lah tok tok tok until we go off topic again sighz...
&lt;img title="Mad" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mad.gif" alt=
"Mad" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ok ok ok les go back. &lt;img title="Embarassed" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_redface.gif" alt=
"Embarassed" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Why u think they thai need to buy so many new toys with 3 aew&amp;amp;c
somemore?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I can ony think of 1 thing.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Some equipment is mebbe to counter aggression of bigger neighbour
in their north like new fighters, aew&amp;amp;c I heard can monitor
large troop movements.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Other things like new troop carriers mebbe for
counter-insurgency/counter-terrorism on problems in the
south.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
wat think? &lt;img title="Very Happy" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
"Very Happy" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:09:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583150</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:04:09 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Ya ,i just thinking pactical anot for us,actually we really dun
know wat e SAF planing n wat their view on a carrier, i cant say a
carrier is not possible thou &lt;img title="Neutral" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_neutral.gif" alt="Neutral" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 16:04:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583137</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:58:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by spartan6:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;Hmmmm , c tat u r quite persistant about
this, ok ok &lt;img title="Wink" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt="Wink" /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You also say in the carrier thread you agree mah no meh?
&lt;img title="Laughing" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif"
alt="Laughing" /&gt; &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;
alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:58:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583117</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:53:01 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hmmmm , c tat u r quite persistant about this, ok ok &lt;img title=
"Wink" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif" alt=
"Wink" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:53:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583099</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:49:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hey CBG show of force le?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Our submarines force can blockade their shipping and starve them,
our aew&amp;amp;c can provide command &amp;amp; conquer, our frigates can
provide robust anti-air/anti-missile defence shield ard the CBG,
then gunboats can bombar their shore line defences then LST beach
landing with few hundred troops/armor tanks with air sortie support
from carrier. Dun see smal small ok ... POWER AH !! &lt;img title=
"Mr. Green" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mrgreen.gif" alt=
"Mr. Green" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After their first strike the CBG force can hook and flank them from
behind. If their balls become exposed they be force to retreat
putting the heat off boys at home, then our other equipment in USA,
CANDADA, FRANCE, AUSTRALIA training bases on the way back leh? eh?
can turn the tide leh?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
hey dun play play ok CBG show of force is power &lt;span class=
"large"&gt;POWER&lt;/span&gt; &lt;img title="Mr. Green" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mrgreen.gif" alt="Mr. Green" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 15:49:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4583089</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 14:52:54 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;U seem 2 give a CGB 2 much credit liao even if we have a small
carrier do u think e small amout of aircraft going 2 change e odds
,whether our aircrafts, ships n subs can take e CARRIER down anot 5
or 8 more aircraft isnt going 2 change much u rather use e $ spend
on e carrier which after lanching it aircraft will be sitting
behind do nothing 2 buy more aircraft &lt;img title="Confused" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt="Confused" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 14:52:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4582809</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by maggot @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 13:56:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Put harriers on floats and tow them &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 13:56:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4582644</guid>
      <author>maggot</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 13:15:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;LPD will be good also nah.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
with aircraft carrier or LPD we can do a lot of things, the waters
ard here are very congested but see, these waters are ours and we
must look to ourselves as guardians of this busy waterway. If an
aggressor sends their CBG to our doorstep yes we have a few
credible surface ships but realistically it's pretty futile odds
dun u think, we can sink 1 or 2 but a CBG ....... there is no fair
contest .. KNOCKOUT punch ... K.O !! end of story.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But if we have our own CBG in this theatre there is still a contest
and no KO. Somemore our new navy base can accomodate and resupply 2
x Number 12 american shoe size carriers, 4 of them if need be so we
already have the facilities in place more than enough for 1 pocket
carrier or a few LPD.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But the main reason is cuz we are so small and who is to say a
surprise pre-emptive strike on our key facilities won't clean us
out. But if we have our own CBG it means a large part of our forces
and systems are "forward based" in an unfixed locations any
potential aggressor has to consider that we may still have the
capability to provide a strong retaliation after sustaining a first
strike.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
ok les get back to the thread. &lt;img title="Mr. Green" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mrgreen.gif" alt="Mr. Green" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 13:15:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4582484</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by LazerLordz @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:19:21 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;RSN&lt;/span&gt; would be better off with a
&lt;span class=""&gt;LPD&lt;/span&gt; or &lt;span class=""&gt;LHD&lt;/span&gt;. three would
be a nice mix for helo and troops deployment.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:19:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4580901</guid>
      <author>LazerLordz</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by duotiga83 @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:17:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;are we offtopic? &lt;img title="Confused" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_confused.gif" alt="Confused" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:17:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4580894</guid>
      <author>duotiga83</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by Orcishwarrior @ Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:07:58 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Are you sure the manpower for operating an Aircraft Carrier like
Chakri Naruebet requires a thousand pple. Apparently, with
sophisticated integrated combat management technology massive
manpower necessities on the ship are significantly reduced an
excellent ie.the delta Frigate and Endurance Class. Anyway, remain
skeptical about the procurement of an aircraft carrier. The SAF
would rather allocate the fund to the Airforce "Above All" ya!!
Acquire more F-15SG and JASSM if the US congress give the nod&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;img title="Very Happy" src=
      <pubDate>Wed, 05 Apr 2006 01:07:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4580859</guid>
      <author>Orcishwarrior</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by |-|05| @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 19:10:46 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You want a staff an asset like a aircraft carrier with
reservists! you've gotta be kidding me.&lt;br /&gt;
Our total strength includes NSF leh. If i'm not mistaken only 70%
are regulars. Taking into account how many are in logistics and
support as well as HQ staffers. Then it takes a crew of at least
1000 to operate a carrier. Not to mention sufficient escorts. Let's
say we need 6 surface ships as escorts. At 80 per surface ship
that's at least 640 men for the escorts. So we have a 1,600 sailors
being used up.&lt;br /&gt;
Our frigates are ALL being used up to protect this asset. Leaving
us every thing on big surface ships. Seriously. What kind of money
and support are we talking about here? it's MASSIVE!!! i'd rather
we bought 12 more frigates with that kind of money and
requirements.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Edit:Anyway we're off topic here.To get back on topic I'm wondering
why the Thais are suddenly decide to spend so much. 1st new
fighters,now AWE&amp;amp;C and if i'm not mistaken more tanks too
right? Looking to replace the M60s?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 19:10:46 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4579215</guid>
      <author>|-|05|</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by ^Delta^ @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 18:50:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by four-niner:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;see,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
yes we have shrinking birth rate but compares our population today
to that in 65 or even 70 it is more than before. And if popular
notion that we dun have enuf ppl goes then hw come reservist cycle
can reduce to 10 years?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Yah they say we use technology to reduce manpower requirement, come
on lah can technology replace the rifleman or tankee? maybe in the
air-force and navy side you buy better computer systems that use
automation or robotics can replace "some" of the human function
then overall you require lesser people as a whole then ok thats
fine but it does not mean we dun have enuf people to recruit.
"Very Happy" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;span style="color: orange;"&gt;Personally I don't buy the argument
from SAF that we don't have enuf people to join our armed forces,
saf have a regular force headcount of more than 60,000 people
largely in logistics, airforce/navy, dun have people then where all
these people come from? Outsourced from bangalah?&lt;/span&gt;
alt="Laughing" /&gt; &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Anyway if we had a carrier, our airforce dun need to fly from
airbase so often with such a platform at sea we can train more
often in south china without having need to always fly back to and
fro, ppl complain the jet engine noise "disturb" our neighbours
sleeping mah. So we want to be a good neighbour so we shud get a
carrier to help us help them sleep better with less noise mah
right. &lt;img title="Mr. Green" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mrgreen.gif" alt=
"Mr. Green" /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Agreed totally... The SAF has a total mobilised strength of
350,000, I totally dun buy the argument that we dun have enough
manpower...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Jus ask around, people will say : " Aiya Spore not enuff soldiers
la " This is a comment that irks me to no end. Someone ought to
educate those people who dun noe what they are blabbering about,
especially those taxi drivers who think they know everything. There
was once I booked out during my NSF days and this taxi driver
looked at me and said:" Waste of time Spore how to defend, ppl drop
one bomb finish liaoz " I felt like punching him.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
If they knew so much and were so clever, they would not be taxi
drivers in the first place. Ignorant and arrogant people like this
should be ashamed to call themselves citizens.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 18:50:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4579192</guid>
      <author>^Delta^</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 17:20:01 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by spartan6:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;A carrier is not a cost-effective choice in
e near future,1st many navy r starting 2 operate subs ,2nd a
carrier need a lot of support, it dumb 2 use our stealth frigate as
excort imagine u c a very big object on e radar screen n some very
very small objects tat look like fishing trawlers c also know it
our stealth frigate.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;you are right it's dumb to use stealth frigates as escort i
didn't think of that ... bad idea &lt;img title="Evil or Very Mad"
src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_evil.gif" alt=
"Evil or Very Mad" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So ... we shall not buy any C-17 at all but re-allocate all the
resources 1 billion dollars to buy the only stealth carrier in the
world instead &lt;img title="Twisted Evil" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_twisted.gif" alt="Twisted Evil" /&gt;
then on radar everything will look like fishing trawler happy
&lt;img title="Twisted Evil" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_twisted.gif" alt=
"Twisted Evil" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
WTF ... CBG IS USED AS SHOW OF FORCE you know anot ????&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
harlow if everything cannot see on radar then show? show what force
ah ??? &lt;img title="Mr. Green" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_mrgreen.gif" alt=
"Mr. Green" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 17:20:01 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578853</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:45:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;But thing r alway changing maybe in 5-10 yrs it unlikely we will
operate a carrier , but who can say after 15-20 yrs, we never know
&lt;img title="Wink" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_wink.gif"
alt="Wink" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:45:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578727</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:41:43 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;A carrier is not a cost-effective choice in e near future,1st
many navy r starting 2 operate subs ,2nd a carrier need a lot of
support, it dumb 2 use our stealth frigate as excort imagine u c a
very big object on e radar screen n some very very small objects
tat look like fishing trawlers c also know it our stealth
frigate.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:41:43 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578734</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by spartan6 @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:30:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;span class=""&gt;E SU&lt;/span&gt;-33 can take off with only a ski-jump
cos tat r catch on e flight-deck tat hold e aircraft till their
engine reach max thurst, so any flight-deck actually can be modify
1 it just whether they went 2 operate anot&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 16:30:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578674</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 15:54:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;see,&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
yes we have shrinking birth rate but compares our population today
to that in 65 or even 70 it is more than before. And if popular
notion that we dun have enuf ppl goes then hw come reservist cycle
can reduce to 10 years?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Yah they say we use technology to reduce manpower requirement, come
on lah can technology replace the rifleman or tankee? maybe in the
air-force and navy side you buy better computer systems that use
automation or robotics can replace "some" of the human function
then overall you require lesser people as a whole then ok thats
fine but it does not mean we dun have enuf people to recruit.
"Very Happy" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Personally I don't buy the argument from SAF that we don't have
enuf people to join our armed forces, saf have a regular force
headcount of more than 60,000 people largely in logistics,
airforce/navy, dun have people then where all these people come
from? Outsourced from bangalah? &lt;img title="Laughing" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" /&gt;
alt="Laughing" /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Anyway if we had a carrier, our airforce dun need to fly from
airbase so often with such a platform at sea we can train more
often in south china without having need to always fly back to and
fro, ppl complain the jet engine noise "disturb" our neighbours
sleeping mah. So we want to be a good neighbour so we shud get a
carrier to help us help them sleep better with less noise mah
right. &lt;img title="Mr. Green" src=
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 15:54:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578565</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by tankee1981 @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 15:16:10 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Its not say like or don't like. The problem is whether its
realistic or not. The prospect of us having an aircraft carrier
even a small one in the next 5-10 years is not very likely.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Sure we have the money and can acquire the technology but do we
have enough people to staff this aircraft carrier? Unlikely,
because Singapore's birth rate have been decreasing steadily over
the years even with baby bonus this trend is not about to be
reversed any time soon. I don't think RSN want foreign talent to
staff our pride of the SAF too.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Assuming we do have an CBG,which is meant as a show of force, where
can they sail then? Our own terriotorial waters is already tiny and
further more being cluttered with commercial shipping as we are an
important stopover port of call. We sail into Straits of Malacca,
the Indonesian and our friendly Malaysian foreign miniters will be
knocking(maybe even banging) at our embassy doors in record time.
Sail into South China Sea, we may be caught in the squabbles
between the various claimants of the Spartly islands namely
Malaysia,PRC,ROC,Brunei,Philippines and Vietnam. That is one very
volatile area in this region.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Lastly we have 4 relatively new Endurance class LST which have
already proven their versatility in both peace time and war time
operations. If i am not wrong RSN rejected a bigger design of the
LST by ST Marine and chose the Endurance class instead.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Personally i will wish RSN to have a small 2nd hand aircraft
carrier just like what the Thai navy had but its just a fantasy at
the moment because it will not be realistic, at least for the time
being. &lt;img title="Very Happy" src=
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 15:16:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4578324</guid>
      <author>tankee1981</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:37:28 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&lt;img title="Rolling Eyes" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt="Rolling Eyes" /&gt;
dun like ?&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:37:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4577894</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by |-|05| @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:31:22 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by four-niner:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;the website say the chakri already has 6
harriers already, even if they decom the harriers I think the
flight deck can only operate 6-7 su33 fighters with folded wing
tips.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
chakri only cost US$175mil, why dun we buy 1 less C-17 and use the
200mil to get ourselves a carrier also. then we can have our own
little carrier battle group also.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1 pocket carrier flanked by stealth frigates, missile covettes,
submarines and missile gunboats, trailing behind we have landing
ships, flying overhead are our AEW&amp;amp;C ... POWER &lt;img title=
"Very Happy" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
"Very Happy" /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;.......&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:31:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4577875</guid>
      <author>|-|05|</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by four-niner @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:22:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;the website say the chakri already has 6 harriers already, even
if they decom the harriers I think the flight deck can only operate
6-7 su33 fighters with folded wing tips.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
chakri only cost US$175mil, why dun we buy 1 less C-17 and use the
200mil to get ourselves a carrier also. then we can have our own
little carrier battle group also.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
1 pocket carrier flanked by stealth frigates, missile covettes,
submarines and missile gunboats, trailing behind we have landing
ships, flying overhead are our AEW&amp;amp;C ... POWER &lt;img title=
"Very Happy" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_biggrin.gif" alt=
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 13:22:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4577843</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Thai requirement for AEW&amp;amp;C replied by tankee1981 @ Tue, 04 Apr 2006 12:04:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Actually there is a naval version of the flanker which is
capable of deploying from carriers with ski jumps such as the Thai
Chakri class. However, whether the flight deck of Chakri is long
enough to launch the large flankers is unsure at this point.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Naval Flanker&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a href="http://www.milavia.net/aircraft/su-33/su-33.htm" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.milavia.net/aircraft/su-33/su-33.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;

&lt;br /&gt;
Specifications of Admiral Kuznetsov class&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a href=
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuznetsov_class_aircraft_carrier"
rel="nofollow"&gt;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuznetsov_class_aircraft_carrier&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;

&lt;br /&gt;
Specifications of Chakri class&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a href=
"http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thai_aircraft_carrier_Chakri_Nareubet"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thai_aircraft_carrier_Chakri_Nareubet&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br /&gt;

&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 04 Apr 2006 12:04:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:184847:4577653</guid>
      <author>tankee1981</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>