08 Oct, 06:55PM in sunny Singapore!

C5 Galaxy

Subscribe to C5 Galaxy 26 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,202 posts since Jun '04
    • This lone C5 Galaxy transport was spotted and heard overhead somewhere around noon today. It looked headed due West before making a turn and presumably heading towards Tengah AB.

2,760 posts since Sep '02
    • I have seen C-17 Globemaster in Tengah AB before. It was just parked beside the Lim Chu Kang road (emergency runway) and it was huge! Very Happy

34,790 posts since Apr '03
    3,921 posts since May '04
  • I are serious cat
    49,776 posts since Dec '03
    5,036 posts since Mar '04
  • Phoenix Fudge
    16,636 posts since Jan '04
    895 posts since Jul '05
    1,801 posts since Oct '01
    • A little bird told me that a C-5 took off from PLA today, about 1730 hours, must be the same one. It must have been a sight to behold! Bigger than the usual C-17s or KC-10s I'm used to seeing here

BTW Oberst, you should start a "Help Obersturmfuhrer buy a better camera so he can take hi-res pics fund" so you can contribute higher-res pics of the fantastic stuff you put on here. $750-900 should get you a nice 2nd hand Canon DSLR with 75-300mm lens or a new Canon S3 with a 432mm zoom... Laughing

Edited by Viper52 12 Aug `06, 1:34AM
    5,565 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by insouciant:
      More Apaches? Have they all been delivered to Singapore yet?

dun think so

7,308 posts since Feb '05
    • Originally posted by Viper52:
      A little bird told me that a C-5 took off from PLA today, about 1730 hours, must be the same one. It must have been a sight to behold! Bigger than the usual C-17s or KC-10s I'm used to seeing here

BTW Oberst, you should start a "Help Obersturmfuhrer buy a better camera so he can take hi-res pics fund" so you can contribute higher-res pics of the fantastic stuff you put on here. $750-900 should get you a nice 2nd hand Canon DSLR with 75-300mm lens or a new Canon S3 with a 432mm zoom... Laughing

Are the Lockheed C-141 Starlifters still regular visitors to Singapore?

By the way, the Canon PowerShot S3 IS rocks! I picked one up two weeks ago to replace my previous digicam (a PowerShot A80) and am amazed by the quality of pictures it takes! You won't regret getting one. Very Happy

A little bird told me that a C-5 took off from PLA today, about 1730 hours, must be the same one. It must have been a sight to behold! Bigger than the usual C-17s or KC-10s I'm used to seeing here

Oberst is Brigadier level leh... Razz

Anyway, thats a good suggestion. Who's gonna be so kind to kick start? Cool

• i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,255 posts since Dec '04
  • I are serious cat
    49,776 posts since Dec '03
    • How big could a plane possibly be?!?!? I mean c'mon its only a plane for crying out loud! Laughing

pls dun flame me Laughing

1,801 posts since Oct '01
    • Originally posted by ditzy:
      How big could a plane possibly be?!?!? I mean c'mon its only a plane for crying out loud! Laughing

Bigger than what we usually see, that's for sure. Other than the An-124s that come to Changi and PLA once in a while.

Meia, the C-141s used to be regular visitors too, but I believe they've all been retired. Now mostly KC-10s and C-17s that drop by in Singapore, almost daily.

How big could a plane possibly be?!?!? I mean c'mon its only a plane for crying out loud! Laughing

Its not your usual plane... it has only to produce its pitch to make me take a look in the first place.

887 posts since Feb '04

How big? If u seen one close up.. its FREAKING BIG!! Makes C130 a toy plane. Should also see the wings flex while taxing and wing tip lift up when approach take of speed.

But my personal fav is the C17, its beautiful.. hope SG can replace our C130 with C17s. Mr. Green

26,949 posts since Aug '02
    • Originally posted by siaokao:
      How big? If u seen one close up.. its FREAKING BIG!! Makes C130 a toy plane. Should also see the wings flex while taxing and wing tip lift up when approach take of speed.

But my personal fav is the C17, its beautiful.. hope SG can replace our C130 with C17s. Mr. Green

C-17 is fat and chubby...but look cute Mr. Green

895 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by siaokao:

Haven't heard much about RSAF's plans to replace the current C130s. Although I suspect that we're more likely to get the C130Js than C17s.

326 posts since Jul '04
    • C-5 or C-17 quite common as Sgp is between Guam and Diego Gracia (on route to Pakistan/Afganistan etc.)

More interesting is what I saw last night, turning from YCK road into Lor Chuan. What looks like a series of heavy loads escorted by outriders and backed up by two fork lifts on a trailer (don't ask why?).

Would have missed were it not for blaring of sirens by outriders. Can someone at MSD pls tell those clowns not to 'advertise'.
      Crying or Very sad

We need a culture of OpSec here...

1,168 posts since Mar '06
    • If we replace our C-130 with C-17A e fuel cost will kill us sia, but a few C-17 2 support e C-130 tat will be nice Mr. Green

26,949 posts since Aug '02
    • Originally posted by spartan6:
      If we replace our C-130 with C-17A e fuel cost will kill us sia, but a few C-17 2 support e C-130 tat will be nice Mr. Green

but seriously we no need such a heavy weight king here..... Razz

7,308 posts since Feb '05
      Meia, the C-141s used to be regular visitors too, but I believe they've all been retired. Now mostly KC-10s and C-17s that drop by in Singapore, almost daily.

Ah, I believe you are correct. I've seen a number of the C-141s with Air National Guard markings parked on the tarmac at the ANG base adjacent to the Minneapolis/St. Paul international airport, so they've probably been pulled from front line service.

895 posts since Jul '05
    • Originally posted by baer:
      C-5 or C-17 quite common as Sgp is between Guam and Diego Gracia (on route to Pakistan/Afganistan etc.)

More interesting is what I saw last night, turning from YCK road into Lor Chuan. What looks like a series of heavy loads escorted by outriders and backed up by two fork lifts on a trailer (don't ask why?).

Would have missed were it not for blaring of sirens by outriders. Can someone at MSD pls tell those clowns not to 'advertise'.
      Crying or Very sad

We need a culture of OpSec here...

Err... So what did you see?

326 posts since Jul '04
    • Originally posted by insouciant:
      Err... So what did you see?

If I tell you I'll have to revoke your cyber-pioneer subscription.

Seriously, it was in aircraft cargo sized steel boxes, needed escort and had their 'drag along' unloading equipment (2xforklifts on a trailer), your guess is good as mine. 155mm ammo, Nitro, gold bullion, spare parts for our 'alleged' Gundams...

Unlike the even higher profile money delivery to BCCS previoulsy. Where a stack of money on pallet wrapped in cling film on a trailer with a fiearce lookin Ghurka sitting there with a MP5 runing into Shenton Way with lots of security /backup trailer etc. Talk about a show!

Edited by baer 18 Aug `06, 2:02PM
Please Login or Signup to reply.