07 Sep, 07:55PM in sunny Singapore!

Cruise missile defence for SG?

Subscribe to Cruise missile defence for SG? 51 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,746 posts since Sep '02
    • There have been a proliferation of cruise misiles in Asia as many countries have been developing their own these weapons either with their own RnD or cooperating with external countries. One such example is the Brahmos, in fact the lastest version of Anti-surface missiles such as the Harpoons can be considered as mini cruise missiles.

While we have been looking at defences against ballistic missiles as said by our Defence Minister Teo, we shouldn't neglect the threat of cruise missiles. Here is a US system which may suit our needs.

http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/jlens-coordinating-cruise-missile-defense-and-more-02921/#more

3,921 posts since May '04
    2,971 posts since Sep '04
    • Originally posted by beavan:
      any chance of getting enough to buy this?

increase gst lor. Shocked

3,921 posts since May '04
    6,568 posts since Jul '06
    26,837 posts since Aug '02
    2,023 posts since Jan '07
    • Originally posted by beavan:
      would be cheaper to keep our planes up on rotating flights

u might have to consider distance where plane might be out of reach.

366 posts since Feb '06
    • Originally posted by :
      Simi lanjiao cruise missile? I dowan gst increase any more hor.... thankew! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

Without proper defence, you wouldn't even have a house to worry about let alone GST hike. Rolling Eyes

783 posts since Mar '06
    • Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:
      increase gst lor. Shocked

Increase GST??? haha, then if the people of Sillypore do not die because of a war or something(no one wants a war)....then they would surely die because of rising living costs(more likely scenario)

No point defending Sillypore either way

• Originally posted by Coquitlam:
      Increase GST??? haha, then if the people of Sillypore do not die because of a war or something(no one wants a war)....then they would surely die because of rising living costs(more likely scenario)

Haiz...

2,956 posts since Sep '04
    • Don't bother about that dill.
      He was from here, and his Aussie neighbour find him to be quite silly.

1,196 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by Coquitlam:

Silly little man. Laughing Using his lam jiao to talk jiao weh.

Edited by Obersturmfuhrer 10 Sep `07, 9:18PM
    1,432 posts since Aug '07
    • Originally posted by venny:
      i wonder wat mahatir will say when singapore buys cruise missiles........ Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

Maybe we don't need to buy any.... Cool

And Dr M is irrelevant now as he is no longer in the governemnt and it is highly possible that he is not in the best state of mind ever since his time in office as the PM. Very Happy

Edited by tankee1981 11 Sep `07, 5:32PM
    129 posts since May '06
    • who cares about that M felle.. anyway he is obseleted already
      if we have cruise missiles then our enemy will know that none of their state will be spare.. i.e. no need to fight lah sure all die together. so cruise missile is good buy best buy better buy more more. is it US$1million a piece? But first we better shoot a few satellite up to the space to guide it Mr. Green

305 posts since Mar '04
    • if we buy, they would sure buy.

can you imagine if both sides have it? I dont think SG have the upper hand in this scenario.

• i think it would be the interest of SG to have missile defence shield rather than having cruise missile as first strike option or deterence counter strike option. partly we are too small.

79 posts since Sep '07
    • Think about it. When was the last time singapore had a war? And how much was spent on weapons over those years? And how many times gst has increased in those years? Was it worth it?

366 posts since Feb '06
    • Originally posted by :
      Think about it. When was the last time singapore had a war? And how much was spent on weapons over those years? And how many times gst has increased in those years? Was it worth it?

As a deterence, yes.

Remember, Yamash*ta was on the verge of losing but 'cos his wayang skills were so good, Percival was snooked into surrendering first thinking the Brits were worse off.

Going by your theory, most if not all SEAsian countries have no had wars for ages too. So should they all cut defence spending? Better yet, should they all disband their militaries? Rolling Eyes

• Originally posted by :
      Think about it. When was the last time singapore had a war? And how much was spent on weapons over those years? And how many times gst has increased in those years? Was it worth it?

think about it. when u lost your right to do the things u do it every day. Than u wonder what happen ? U only live once. Our existing is really a matter of decision.

1,604 posts since Dec '06
    • Cruise missiles are tricky bastards. Worse, is that in future, we will be seeing hypersonic varieties. US and Russia are heading in that direction as it is, and Russia already has supersonic missiles with a fair bit of range like that missile from the Indian collaboration.

245 posts since Jul '05
    • Investment in Nation Defence is a good way to improve the regional stability and facilitate the general foreign investor confidence in the Lion City = more job and better future for usSmile

65 posts since Jan '07
    • Question Question You want a war first? You must to damn naive to expect that all things and prices remain status quo without increase. Relax our guard and we will be really Singapura, federal terrority of Malaysia or Singapura, SEZ of Riau province Indonesia. Then you convert to be Bin Abdullah or Bin Laden. Mr. Green Mr. Green [/i][/b]

34,776 posts since Apr '03
  • White lies
    33,021 posts since Aug '05
Please Login or Signup to reply.