11 Oct, 03:55AM in sunny Singapore!

Can the SAF fight in tunnels?

Subscribe to Can the SAF fight in tunnels? 139 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,368 posts since Aug '04
    • The US failed in tunnel warfare when they could not clear the Viet Cong from the 200 km of tunnels in Cu Chi. Can the great SAF do better?

The tunnels extended for 200 km drom Cu Chi to Saigon

entrance to tunnel complex

underground kitchen

Getting into tunnel to fight

11,862 posts since Jun '07
    • Originally posted by Dr Who:
      Tunnel with underwater entrance.......how to fight this enemy?

knn.
      i seriously want to make tis kind of secret base for myself Mr. Green

95 posts since Dec '02
    • Originally posted by Alvin.Yeoh:
      We release man-eating gophers.

does it realli exist ?

• The tunnels are actually pitch dark without lights.......and too small for big sized Americans too move......

Model of family in tunnel....

Tunnel entrance.....invisible when trap door is covered.

Pretty gal in tunnel........in truth the tunnels are dark, damp, full of bats and giant spiders.....and booby traps that can poke your balls with bamboo stakes

Shiit is poured on top of stakes to make it poisonous....

Punji Stakes

16,570 posts since Oct '05
    • The tunnels did not go completely unnoticed by U.S. officials. They recognized the advantages that the NLF held with the tunnels, and accordingly launched several major campaigns to search out and destroy the tunnel system. Among the most important of these were Operation Crimp and Operation Cedar Falls.

Operation Crimp began on January 7, 1966, with B-52 bombers dropping 30-ton loads of high explosive effectively turning the once lush jungle into a pockmarked moonscape. Eight thousand troops from the U.S. 1st Infantry Division, 173rd Airborne Brigade, and the 1st Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment combed the region.

The operation was, for the most part, unsuccessful. On the occasion when troops found a tunnel, they would often underestimate its size. Rarely would anyone be sent in to search the tunnels, as it was so hazardous. Besides being too small for most Western men to fit through, the tunnels were often rigged with explosive booby traps or punji stake pits. The two main responses in dealing with a tunnel opening were to flush the entrance with gas or water to force the guerillas into the open, or to toss a few grenades down the hole and “crimp” off the opening. The clever design of the tunnels along with the strategic use of trap doors and air filtration systems rendered American technology ineffective.

• i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,382 posts since Dec '04
    • Originally posted by sand king:
      Laughing Laughing Laughing 1st look at thread tittle i thought ts meant fight in KPE Laughing

I was thinking along the lines of MRT tunnels... Laughing

16,570 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by wonderamazement:
      I was thinking along the lines of MRT tunnels... Laughing

Laughing

2,760 posts since Sep '02
  • 我又郁闷了...
    49,831 posts since Sep '03
    • Originally posted by Alvin.Yeoh:
      We release man-eating gophers.

yes but that only means the entrance are blocked and they will dig their way up. inside is air not water leh. Laughing

anyway liddat how to get ventilation? Confused

95 posts since Dec '02
    • Well, these are specially trained Gophers meant to hunt their prey in the tunnels. Ta da!

2,341 posts since Jan '07
    • Those with claustrophobia (i.e. a lot of people) won’t dare enter. The entrance looks incredibly tiny.

620 posts since Sep '06
    • How bout we set up perimeters around it, their resources are limited, in there. How long can they last?

Constantly smoke em from their entrances? One easy smoke is the one used to kill mozzies, they sure buay tahan one Laughing Laughing

13,301 posts since Dec '06
    620 posts since Sep '06
    • Ventilation shaft very close to the firing post leh, very risky. But everything is risky in war.. Laughing Laughing

824 posts since Dec '06
    2,741 posts since Jul '04
    • I wonder who will build this kind of tunnels in today's scenario and where will this be built? Johore? Batam? Rolling Eyes Question

1,710 posts since Oct '04
    • Originally posted by sgdiehard:
      I wonder who will build this kind of tunnels in today's scenario and where will this be built? Johore? Batam? Rolling Eyes Question

i don't know about our neighbors, but we can get bangalas to dig 4 us..... Twisted Evil

2,760 posts since Sep '02
    • Originally posted by popikachu:
      cover all the ventilation Mr. Green

Its not easy to uncover all these ventilation vents as they are camouflaged.

84 posts since Dec '07
    • our superior airforce will bomb the damn tunnels and our elite infantry troops will kill our enemies as each of us can take on a 100.

we heard you callin'
      callin' in for us
      we are from
      a hardcore infantry!

Please Login or Signup to reply.