<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)? ' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1164/topics/300735</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://www.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by Sepecat @ Sun, 17 Feb 2008 20:24:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;M16 upper and lower receivers are aluminum and will not
rust.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Barrel, bolt &amp;amp; some other parts are steel - these will
rust.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U100 receivers are stamped sheet steel &amp;amp; these will
rust.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 17 Feb 2008 20:24:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7864782</guid>
      <author>Sepecat</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by BeEtHoVeN @ Sat, 16 Feb 2008 23:28:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Units do use the drum mag, and you dun really need the load
attachment to reload, although it is pretty tiring for the men.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 16 Feb 2008 23:28:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7863035</guid>
      <author>BeEtHoVeN</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by SpecOps87 @ Thu, 14 Feb 2008 21:50:13 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by aikchongtan:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then you get to practice your IA drill more often :)&amp;nbsp;
Become instinctive so that you can clear misfire/jam/no-feeding and
etc even in the dark with confidence.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Every important skill to posses in a real fire-fight.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;Yes I agree that it does provide training for IA drills,
but...I tink also abit unrealistic right? wah lan...I ever had
rounds that tio caught in between the BCG and ejector port wall so
bad, the centre portion of the plastic cartridge was crushed. don't
suppose u get those with regular rounds.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Talking bout rusting issues with the U100, is that the reason
why I saw during one of the AOH, the SOF exhibited a MP5 Marine and
the SOF trooper explained that the MP5 Marine is 100% identical to
the MP5, just that its got some special coating to prevent
saltwater corrosion. M16 wise, I read that its barrel and chamber
has got chrome plating. Perhaps we can do the same for the
U100?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 14 Feb 2008 21:50:13 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7858683</guid>
      <author>SpecOps87</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by Tancold @ Thu, 14 Feb 2008 11:36:58 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by storywolf:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tancold - that is not true !!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In fact all weapons - are extremely sensitive to sea
water.&amp;nbsp;Even M-16 also have the same problem if you face with
sea condition.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For units that operates often in sea - their weapons is
pre-treated with&amp;nbsp;a dark coating.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;that is a very effective, i have handle both not -coated
and coated M-16 - can tell you it make a whole world of
different.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So what you mention actually happen to all rifles, but can easily
be solved.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Ya.... I 'm just being bias. Must be all those hours or cleaning
and oiling.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Maybe&amp;nbsp;they were the earlier ones, the Mk I and II's. You
can see all the tack welds on the sheet metal body. Not much of
anodising left or if there was any at all in the first place.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Other then the cleaning issues... the weapon is a thrill to
fire. And with the older weapons where there is no selector switch
(heard there are 3 round burst) you turn the gas regulator to the
the lowest you are able to squeeze of 1 or 2 rounds. Which make
shooting really accurate. Almost 100%&amp;nbsp;on target.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Not bad for a LMG.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 14 Feb 2008 11:36:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7857587</guid>
      <author>Tancold</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by aknoo123 @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 19:09:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;haha&amp;nbsp; well sad, actually the stuff we have at BMTC and
other training schools are so old that only way to continue working
is careful and regular maintenance. Thats why it is drilled into
all of us that our weapons are important and constant care and
maintenance is important. well good thing is, it drills into us the
importance of weapon care, so when we ever get our fresh stock, the
habits carry over.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well i would still say that the SAW is one of the best weapons i
ever got to see in action. During exercises, it is possible for a
SAW gunner to fire on the move, something you definitely can't do
with the GPMG :P i know cuz i fired the gpmg before. definitely a
huge force multiplier&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 19:09:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855970</guid>
      <author>aknoo123</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by edwin3060 @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 18:36:36 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by
SingaporeTyrannosaur:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;...the weapons commonly used for
training&amp;nbsp;during NS&amp;nbsp;are not fresh warstock, hence they can
be rather old weapons with their protective coating already quite
worn down...&amp;nbsp;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Understatement of the year &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/tongue.png" alt=
"tongue.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 18:36:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855915</guid>
      <author>edwin3060</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by SingaporeTyrannosaur @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 18:27:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Actually hor, the M-16 and just about quite a bit of other
weapons are also sheet-stamped constructed... I don't think
sheet-stamping makes something more prone to rust or not, it's how
you treat the finishing in the end.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And yeah actually rust would be one of the first things anybody
would think about. The Ultimax would not have made it that far in
the contest&amp;nbsp;if such a basic thing hadn't been covered.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ALSO, it is good to note that the weapons commonly used for
training&amp;nbsp;during NS&amp;nbsp;are not fresh warstock, hence they can
be rather old weapons with their protective coating already quite
worn down... this is especially true when you are in a school like
BMTC or SISPEC, where the weapons are at the end of the their
useful life.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 18:27:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855906</guid>
      <author>SingaporeTyrannosaur</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by storywolf @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 17:15:35 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Tancold:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Cannot make it lah Ultimax 100.....&amp;nbsp; Not for the
marines.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Mechanically the weapon is superb. Shoots well&amp;nbsp;and really
light.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But any SAW gunners out there will tell you the weapon due to
the sheet metal stamping construction rusts. The weapon rust so
easily even with mulitple cleaning and lots of oiling once it is
carried out to the field the weapon becomes rusty. Remember those
time doing river corssing at WET GAP. We SAW gunners practically
have to use a can of WD40 to remove the rust on the weapon. From
the Bipods to the internal of the receiver. RUST RUST RUST!!!!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The marines comes into contact with salt water most of the time.
Even the expeditionary force is base out in the seas most of the
time. The salt in the sea air will be bad enough.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;CANNOT MAKE IT LAH!!!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tancold - that is not true !!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In fact all weapons - are extremely sensitive to sea
water.&amp;nbsp;Even M-16 also have the same problem if you face with
sea condition.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;For units that operates often in sea - their weapons is
pre-treated with&amp;nbsp;a dark coating.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;that is a very effective, i have handle both not -coated
and coated M-16 - can tell you it make a whole world of
different.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So what you mention actually happen to all rifles, but can easily
be solved.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 17:15:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855794</guid>
      <author>storywolf</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by Tancold @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 16:31:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Cannot make it lah Ultimax 100.....&amp;nbsp; Not for the
marines.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Mechanically the weapon is superb. Shoots well&amp;nbsp;and really
light.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But any SAW gunners out there will tell you the weapon due to
the sheet metal stamping construction rusts. The weapon rust so
easily even with mulitple cleaning and lots of oiling once it is
carried out to the field the weapon becomes rusty. Remember those
time doing river corssing at WET GAP. We SAW gunners practically
have to use a can of WD40 to remove the rust on the weapon. From
the Bipods to the internal of the receiver. RUST RUST RUST!!!!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The marines comes into contact with salt water most of the time.
Even the expeditionary force is base out in the seas most of the
time. The salt in the sea air will be bad enough.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;CANNOT MAKE IT LAH!!!!&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 16:31:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855653</guid>
      <author>Tancold</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by aikchongtan @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 11:54:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Then you get to practice your IA drill more often :)&amp;nbsp;
Become instinctive so that you can clear misfire/jam/no-feeding and
etc even in the dark with confidence.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Every important skill to posses in a real fire-fight.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 11:54:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7855162</guid>
      <author>aikchongtan</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by Shotgun @ Wed, 13 Feb 2008 00:37:24 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Yeah, those black plastic blanks are only used in the assault
rifles and only comes in the 5.56 flavor.&amp;nbsp; The 7.62 and above
blanks are all brass.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Does the blanks jam a lot? Yes.&amp;nbsp; But mainly due to
insufficient pressure to fully cycle the weapon even with a blank
attachment. You'll get play with them a lot soon too... but you're
regret it.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 13 Feb 2008 00:37:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7854514</guid>
      <author>Shotgun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by SpecOps87 @ Tue, 12 Feb 2008 22:07:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Any SAW gunners here? Frankly, I feel the most problematic issue
with small arms issued in the SAF is that often there is a bloody
cartridge pouch velcroed/strapped to the weapon. The way I see it,
its due to the fact that during the cartridge ejection process,
there is possibility for the ejected cartridge to eject,hit the
wall of the cartridge pouch and rebound with the likelihood of
having parts of it stuck in the ejector port. Also, I realise that
the SAF's blanks are actually made of some form of plastic and not
a metal like the regular rounds, as we all know the characteristic
of plastic to deform when under heat stress and also the violent
movement of the BCG cycling all add to the high unreliability of
the 5.56X45mm small arms. Correct me if I'm wrong that such issues
are less for weapons such as the .50 or 7.62 GPMG.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;IAR issue wise, I would feel that its over-hyped. The only thing
that is good about the system is that just about any US Military
trained service personnel can handle it due to their familiarity
with the standard M16/M4 series of weapons. And as the IAR is
targetted at the USMC, it must be remembered that the USMC's core
believe is that every Marine is a rifleman first before any other
speciality he/she may be assigned. As such, the familiarity and
ease of operator usage is a serious advantage as any Marine can
pick the weapon up and easily be transformed to a SAW gunner in a
matter of seconds.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 12 Feb 2008 22:07:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7854083</guid>
      <author>SpecOps87</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by lionnoisy @ Tue, 12 Feb 2008 20:13:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;read more here&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.defensereview.com/modules.php?name=News&amp;amp;amp;file=article&amp;amp;amp;sid=853"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.defensereview.com/modules.php?name=News&amp;amp;file=article&amp;amp;sid=853&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1.US guys improve the SAW:must read&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: medium;"&gt;....The Ultimax 100's designer,
&lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;James Sullivan&lt;/span&gt;, was
commissioned by the Singapore government to design the weapon in
the late 1970s. Sullivan, a living legend in the world of small
arms, was also the lead engineer on many famous firearms projects
including &lt;span style="color: #ff0000;"&gt;the M-16 (he designed the
AR-15 for Eugene Stoner&lt;/span&gt; which was derived from Stoner's
AR-10), Ruger Mini-14, the C-Mag, and many others.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="font-size: medium;"&gt;In 2003, ADM CEO Vincent DeNiro
and ADM Chief Engineer, Brian Vuksanovich developed a removable
magazine well which allows the use of standard M-16 magazines
(C-Mags, etc.) as well adding new features which evolved into the
Ultimax 100 MK4. These new features, which makes the weapon U.S.
and NATO compliant are; removable magazine well, M-16 barrel
thread, M-16 flashider, Multiple P-Rail front grip (for adding
lights, lasers, grips, etc.), as well as features from the Ultimax
2000 including P-rail on top of the receiver, new rear grip,
folding stock, and removable grip assembly. The removable grip
assembly has been modified by ADM from a cross bolt selector to a
rotating selector with different firing options such as safe,
semi-auto, 3-round burst, and full-auto. Both the MK3 and MK4
versions of the Ultimax 100 are available and the M-16 magazine
adapter can be included with the MK3 as an accessory. Countries
such as Croatia, which cherish their older Ultimax 100 MK2s, can
also use the M-16 magazine adapter.&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;span style="color: #333333;"&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.ultimaxsaw.com/History.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.ultimaxsaw.com/History.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://www.harrisoutdoorgroup.com/specialweaponsback.html" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.harrisoutdoorgroup.com/specialweaponsback.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;where U 1oo Mk4 as cover story..&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 12 Feb 2008 20:13:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7853794</guid>
      <author>lionnoisy</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by aikchongtan @ Mon, 11 Feb 2008 16:23:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Just to show the controllability of&amp;nbsp;Ultimax100.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ev2yJeeyn5A" rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ev2yJeeyn5A&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 11 Feb 2008 16:23:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7850934</guid>
      <author>aikchongtan</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by tankee1981 @ Sun, 10 Feb 2008 21:44:02 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Well since its a hassle to reload then all the more we need the
practice during training right? &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/redones/confused.png" alt=
"confused.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 10 Feb 2008 21:44:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7849016</guid>
      <author>tankee1981</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by Shotgun @ Sun, 10 Feb 2008 02:15:33 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I've heard rumors that they're issued for Operations.&amp;nbsp; Not
for training cos its a hassle to reload.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 10 Feb 2008 02:15:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7847400</guid>
      <author>Shotgun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by tankee1981 @ Sat, 09 Feb 2008 22:42:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Its a pity that such drums are not issued to us during training.
Any reason why?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 09 Feb 2008 22:42:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7846940</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by chino65 @ Wed, 06 Feb 2008 15:29:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Yes, I do think this is the drum loader attachement. &lt;img src=
"http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/ap1.jpg" height="494"
alt="" width="361" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 06 Feb 2008 15:29:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7841457</guid>
      <author>chino65</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by storywolf @ Tue, 29 Jan 2008 11:17:53 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;7.62mm Ultimax?&amp;nbsp; the closest thing to it is the Bren
light machine gun. .&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src=
"http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d5/Bren1.jpg/300px-Bren1.jpg"
height="218" alt="Bren light machine gun" width="300" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 11:17:53 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7820984</guid>
      <author>storywolf</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by fornax84 @ Tue, 29 Jan 2008 00:03:40 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Btw, which country country forces are these? In one of the pics
they show this black colour rectangular stuff attached to the
opening of the drum mag. Is this the so called special aid needed
to overcome the high resistance of the spring in the drum mag?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href="http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/conf.htm"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/conf.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/ap1.jpg"
alt="" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/ap3.jpg"
alt="" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="http://www.gun-world.net/singapore/ultimax/ap2.jpg"
alt="" /&gt;bandolieer for 4 drum mags&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 00:03:40 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7820363</guid>
      <author>fornax84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by SingaporeTyrannosaur @ Mon, 28 Jan 2008 02:25:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Once again no best of two worlds&#8230; thou if i wanted stopping
power i would go for a shotgun firing alternating loads of pellets
and slugs. 7.62mm has good terminal ballistics but the 5.56mm can
punch above its weight class if it fragments as well&#8230; all in all I
wouldn&#8217;t mind going for the 5.56mm still, and keeping a semiauto
shotgun for close encounters.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Jan 2008 02:25:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7817089</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by SingaporeTyrannosaur @ Mon, 28 Jan 2008 02:21:11 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Shotgun:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;Does the 5.56 round penetrate the concrete
slab as a an entire round? I know it breaks it in a shot or 2. But
penetrating outright.... ?&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The rounds fragments, but they have sufficent energy to put you
out of the fight if you catch them behind it... you need at least
two of these slabs to be reasonably safe.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Bricks absorb the fragments pretty well, hence a lot safer to be
behind.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But then again you must realize the GPMG NATO 7.62mm round has a
LOT more energy then the 5.56mm... in fact it has a LOT more energy
then the 7.62mm AK round to begin with... the problem is that there
is so much more recoil generated by the round that it makes good
rapid shooting at a distance difficult, as proven with the
M-14.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
With the 5.56mm you can keep up a good volume of reasonably precise
fire at range without needing to constantly correct. The NATO
7.62mm is a powerful round, but unless you are firing it from a
GPMG it's not really something that you want to shoot from the AR
format of small arms unless it is in single shots, suppressive fire
will be a lot less effective as it will simply go all over the
place.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 28 Jan 2008 02:21:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7817077</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by chino65 @ Sun, 27 Jan 2008 23:34:05 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by tankee1981:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;How about a 7.62mm Ultimax? Best of both
worlds! Only obvious problem is the additional weight of carrying
the bigger rounds and a larger weapon perhaps?&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;That's not really possible is it?&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
7.62mm calibre means everything becomes bigger and heavier.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Even longer receiver to make constant recoil for 7.62
possible.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Plus if you continue to want to put 100rds in a drum magazine, it
would be a huge mag and weigh a ton.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Best of both world is not really possible. Otherwise they would've
done it.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jan 2008 23:34:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7816010</guid>
      <author>chino65</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by tankee1981 @ Sun, 27 Jan 2008 14:49:15 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by storywolf:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;When ultimax 100 have 2 to 3 times the
effective range of M16 &amp;amp; even more effective range then M249 -
the answer is already clear - you better not be in that car !!! it
will penetrate !!!&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
7.62 round are more hard hitting - of course who would not love it
- but then it need to hit the target !!! So what if it can
penetrate better, but if the gunner cannot hit it , it is of no
use. A GPMG does not have that type of controlability or accuracy
as the ultimax 100 ...&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
So if you want to argue on it is like what do the more damage - 1x
7.62 rds on target or 3x 5.56 rounds on target !!! Which frankly
there is no answer for it as different situation call have
different need.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
But if you want a Infantry Auto Rifle - you are better of with a
lighter one ultimax 100 for squad and platoon use and GPMG for
specialise weapon support section.&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;How about a 7.62mm Ultimax? Best of both worlds! Only obvious
problem is the additional weight of carrying the bigger rounds and
a larger weapon perhaps?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jan 2008 14:49:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7813597</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Best Choice for USMC Infantry Automatic Rifle (IAR)?  replied by CM06 @ Sun, 27 Jan 2008 14:28:08 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;GPMG 10KGs leh, you cant even solo fire on the move.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
I love the Ultimax, the only drawback was the cleaning and rusting
&lt;img title="Sad" src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_sad.gif" alt=
"Sad" /&gt; &lt;img title="Sad" src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_sad.gif" alt="Sad" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 27 Jan 2008 14:28:08 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">www.sgforums.com:1164:300735:7813510</guid>
      <author>CM06</author>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>