<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'SAF Mortar Types' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/1164/topics/316937</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Sat, 17 May 2008 08:57:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;How come I go course? I was a tan chiak peng mah!! kena go on
course non stop until ROD&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 08:57:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8092328</guid>
      <author>Short Ninja</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Sat, 17 May 2008 00:32:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;how come u go course? i was ammo tech in army haha..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 00:32:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091851</guid>
      <author>purpledragon84</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Sat, 17 May 2008 00:14:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I went for the 81mm course donkey years&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;paiseh I cant
remember a thing also&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 00:14:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091786</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Sat, 17 May 2008 00:08:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;oh paiseh i mean the 81mm hehe.. 60mm i buay hiao hahaha..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 00:08:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091777</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Sat, 17 May 2008 00:05:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Cuz I remembered there was a case where the bomb exploded in the
barrel killing and maiming the 3 men team and this actually
happened not long before they scrap the 60mm&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 17 May 2008 00:05:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091770</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Fri, 16 May 2008 23:54:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Short Ninja:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;60mm not suited for close terrain fighting anyway I cant quite
remember but I think the bomb is armed as soon as it leaves the
barrel so it is dangerous unlike the 81mm where the bomb is armed
when it is upside down on the descend&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well it depends on the fuze actually..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 May 2008 23:54:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091747</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Fri, 16 May 2008 21:56:11 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;60mm not suited for close terrain fighting anyway I cant quite
remember but I think the bomb is armed as soon as it leaves the
barrel so it is dangerous unlike the 81mm where the bomb is armed
when it is upside down on the descend&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 May 2008 21:56:11 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8091371</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by edwin3060 @ Fri, 16 May 2008 15:55:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;You called? :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Anyway, I agree with Shotgun-- it is unlikely that our platoons
will operate beyond the range of the Bn 120s. I fail to see the
advantage of the 60mm platoon mortar in our context-- it is not
like we are fighting in the mountains of Afghanistan.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 May 2008 15:55:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8090870</guid>
      <author>edwin3060</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by |-|05| @ Fri, 16 May 2008 12:42:12 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Err&#8230;. a slight question here&#8230;.how many infantry guys do we have
in this forum?&lt;br /&gt;
I for 1 am an &lt;span class=""&gt;SCE&lt;/span&gt; guy.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 May 2008 12:42:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8090568</guid>
      <author>|-|05|</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Shotgun @ Fri, 16 May 2008 00:47:10 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I think 1 reason why the man-portable mortar was taken out is
that the infantry platoon is unlikely to operate out of
self-propelled mortar range.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 16 May 2008 00:47:10 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8089722</guid>
      <author>Shotgun</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Thu, 15 May 2008 21:10:00 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i duno why singapore have.. i know what singapore have..
haha..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 May 2008 21:10:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8089263</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Si Geena @ Thu, 15 May 2008 14:34:27 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Hey, what do we need the small calibre mortars for? We've got a
rather effective indirect fire suppression weapon system in the GL
and the 84 (more direct).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
KISS for the troopers on the line. Good to have, but no need to
have.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 May 2008 14:34:27 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8088444</guid>
      <author>Si Geena</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by spencer99 @ Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:29 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I don't think singapore can afford to have an orbat that uses
'man-portable' mortars... I am not sure how many men you will need
to service one mortar but I don't think it will be less then
8.&amp;nbsp;8 men to 1 mortar is too much...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;as to over dependency on the 120SR, i agree with you. But given
the reality of the situation (lack of manpower), this is the
optimize solution... not ideal but the best situation we can have
given the reality that we are in.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:29 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8087559</guid>
      <author>spencer99</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by spencer99 @ Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;I don't think singapore can afford to have an orbat that uses
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8087558</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by spencer99 @ Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:20 +0800</title>
      <pubDate>Thu, 15 May 2008 02:27:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8087557</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by I-like-flings(m) @ Wed, 14 May 2008 23:17:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;our OPFOR company still using 60mm&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 23:17:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8087057</guid>
      <author>I-like-flings(m)</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by arball @ Wed, 14 May 2008 23:12:47 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hmm&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;then have to see of your situation lar.....seeing that we're
trying to become a highly manueverable and effective force, while
still staying small enough, perhaps the 120SR is the current
logical way to go...but still some situations would call for
special needs lar, so we shld keep the stuff, and ensure that the
grunts have at least some exposure to it, so that in war, in case
the 120SRs are heavily hit, the backup may still be brought up and
used to some effectiveness...(though much less than that of
120SR)&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 23:12:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8087035</guid>
      <author>arball</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by edwin3060 @ Wed, 14 May 2008 16:28:07 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Sepecat: Good points, and ideal in a perfect situation. However,
we live in an imperfect world where our sections and platoons are
small in numbers and already fairly overloaded with equipment. How
do you propose we fit a mortar team into the platoon?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Even if that were possible, would it be worth it, given the
decrease in mobility that would result from the increase in
load?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think that man-portable mortars are not optimal given the
requirements and capabilities of the Infantry. Vehicle mounted on
the other hand.. :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;P.S. The Stryker Brigades are basically mechanised Infantry,
whereas we are still very much a light, or at most motorised
Infantry. You cannot use them as an example of how we should equip
our Infantry presently, since I'll bet most of the time their
mortars stay on the vehicle anyway.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 16:28:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8086015</guid>
      <author>edwin3060</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Fatum @ Wed, 14 May 2008 09:49:34 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;we do have organic mortar support for our infantry battalions,
that's the 120s ..... cept for the hendon boys, as i've pointed out
...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anything higher up, and you'd be calling in the 155s ....&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 09:49:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084925</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Sepecat @ Wed, 14 May 2008 09:43:37 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Reality is that man handled 81s and even 60s&amp;nbsp;are necessary
as not all situations one can use 120 SR. Also, as
&lt;strong&gt;&lt;em&gt;arball&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/strong&gt; pointed out , depending solely on
the arty battalion&amp;nbsp;has its risks. Having your own mortars in
an infantry battalion gives you&amp;nbsp;very much more responsive fire
support when the " sh.." hits the fan.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thats why in US Army Stryker Brigades the mortar carriers carry
60s and I think also 81s for dismounted use.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 14 May 2008 09:43:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084913</guid>
      <author>Sepecat</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Tue, 13 May 2008 21:19:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;They were in good condition and all covered in thick grease as I
remembered .SAF sure knows how to get rid of stuffs you can bet on
that.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 21:19:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084081</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Tue, 13 May 2008 21:13:21 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;The 60mm mortar team was disbanded in 1981 and the mortars were
probably sold to a third world country by the end of 80s.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;icic.. who dare to use sia.. after us.. after the conditions of
storage.. lol..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 21:13:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084050</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Tue, 13 May 2008 21:06:47 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by purpledragon84:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yeah i dun really rmb seeing one in the dump&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The 60mm mortar team was disbanded in 1981 and the mortars were
probably sold to a third world country by the end of 80s.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 21:06:47 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084023</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by purpledragon84 @ Tue, 13 May 2008 20:58:28 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;60mm phased&amp;nbsp;out in the early 80s&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yeah i dun really rmb seeing one in the dump..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 20:58:28 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8084007</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>SAF Mortar Types replied by Short Ninja @ Tue, 13 May 2008 15:05:15 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Sepecat:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Can someone tell me if SAF still uses 60 mm and 81 mm mortars in
the infantry battalions including PDF units ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;60mm phased&amp;nbsp;out in the early 80s&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 15:05:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:1164:316937:8083300</guid>