-
-
Well, my uncle told me he can get me to be a part-time thai monk of a certain period and i have most prob decide to be 1month after my O-level.
This are my question.
When you go be a part-time thai monk, i understand that u have to go beg for alms , clean the temple and do chores and chanting. Can learn magic have to depend on master le, correct?
So when go beg alms, the alms all vegetable one or is they give u what, u eat what..then can eat beef?
Anyone be before, share experience lei, i can feel loneliness when i imagine myself going thru this thing, it is normal right?
-
-
-
Originally posted by cheskiz:Well, my uncle told me he can get me to be a part-time thai monk of a certain period and i have most prob decide to be 1month after my O-level.
This are my question.
When you go be a part-time thai monk, i understand that u have to go beg for alms , clean the temple and do chores and chanting. Can learn magic have to depend on master le, correct?
So when go beg alms, the alms all vegetable one or is they give u what, u eat what..then can eat beef?
Anyone be before, share experience lei, i can feel loneliness when i imagine myself going thru this thing, it is normal right?U think just by being religious or a devout follower , the bad stuff will stop coming ? Whatever bad stuff encountered is a kind of ' debts '. But still whatever debts owed will have to be repaid in some way. They cant protect you from retribution.
Doing this doent mean that you're are immune to misfortunes or will live to a ripe life. Unkind pple can also be beautiful in appearance or possessing great wealth.
Some enlightened beings also have to repay their debts.
-
-
-
Originally posted by cheskiz:Well, my uncle told me he can get me to be a part-time thai monk of a certain period and i have most prob decide to be 1month after my O-level.
This are my question.
Anyone be before, share experience lei, i can feel loneliness when i imagine myself going thru this thing, it is normal right?y u wan do tis.. if u wan stop misfortunes.. u dun hav to do tis.. -.-
jus be a vegetarian once a wk or on sum special days can liao..
cleaning the temple is oso a gd idea.. most of temples i visited floor all so dusty..
but oso not everyday.. once a wk oso or once in 14 days oso can zz
ya cannot eat beef =.=
oh.. to add sumtin.. err ya all these doesnt make u immune to misfortunes and u still have to repay the debts owed in ur past life.. but at least after u do sum gd deeds.. u will nt be repayin the "full amount".. its lightened liao...
Edited by metalcar 28 Oct `07, 4:42AM
-
-
-
Magic? Learn from
The Hottest and Coolest Moderatress in Singapore!
see:
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=288279
-
-
-
BTW last time I was in Thailand, I had one chap, I wanted to employ but he requested that he starts work one month later because he wanted to be a monk for one month first... if you like, I can ask him about it....
another time I met one American who became a Thai monk for 3 years before he became a lecturer at Chula, but I cannot ask him for you because I have lost contact with him.
Looking at these two people, I encourage you to do it (they were really calm and composed and I assume that it is because of their experience in the temple, could be wrong) but not for learning magic lah!
-
-
-
Originally posted by cyberr1981:U think just by being religious or a devout follower , the bad stuff will stop coming ? Whatever bad stuff encountered is a kind of ' debts '. But still whatever debts owed will have to be repaid in some way. They cant protect you from retribution.
Doing this doent mean that you're are immune to misfortunes or will live to a ripe life. Unkind pple can also be beautiful in appearance or possessing great wealth.
Some enlightened beings also have to repay their debts.Chill, i dont know what arouse your rage all of sudden.
I hope to get this clear that i am just very curiouse in this religion and culture and that is why i wanna learn from others and thankfully my uncle is a thai devotee.
If you read my topic well, didnt say anything about escaping from karma.
What have to be return have to be return, well i might escape karma this life through magic but how about next life? i do read every single post and do thinking but of course i process them thru my brain so please forgive me if i might be differ from some beliefs because have to think mah.
So relax, you are scaring me .
-
-
-
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:

Well, like i said correct me if i am wrong but my uncle does say that to learn magic have to go through the master consent before can learn, if i go the temple, master dun teach also wont get to learn wat.
lol, i find it quite true but wanna double confirm..So mind telling me whats wrong since u rolled your eyes?
Thank you.
-
-
-
Hi cheskiz
All the monks in Thailand dont teach you magic, they will only teach you the Tao of Buddhism and how to practice it to achieve enlightenment.
Did u get the wrong impression that by learning Buddhism which will also mean you can learn magic from my other post? If yes then I think I have to delete it away becos it will mislead the kid who has read it.
-
-
-
I remmember reading a post but didnt really take note of the poster, is that you? anyway, as i am mass-reading the whole forum within 2 hours so i am really beat-up so didnt really take note who is the poster, but n usual times, i do.
Well, yes, there is one post which i remember very clearly is that therevade and vajarayana buhdism involes abit of magic. lol, well, i believed you liao, haha, so you delete also useless, have been processed. There are so many pple here on the righteous side, even if i learnt magic, believe i wont go astray.
-
-
-
Originally posted by cyberr1981:U think just by being religious or a devout follower , the bad stuff will stop coming ? Whatever bad stuff encountered is a kind of ' debts '. But still whatever debts owed will have to be repaid in some way. They cant protect you from retribution.
Some enlightened beings also have to repay their debts.Pls do not worship or idolise me.
-
-
-
Originally posted by cheskiz:I remmember reading a post but didnt really take note of the poster, is that you? anyway, as i am mass-reading the whole forum within 2 hours so i am really beat-up so didnt really take note who is the poster, but n usual times, i do.
Well, yes, there is one post which i remember very clearly is that therevade and vajarayana buhdism involes abit of magic. lol, well, i believed you liao, haha, so you delete also useless, have been processed. There are so many pple here on the righteous side, even if i learnt magic, believe i wont go astray.these are according to your affinity, not that u suka suka wan then they teach you... it is not some david copperfield or david blaine magic trick
-
-
-
This are my question.
Anyone be before, share experience lei, i can feel loneliness when i imagine myself going thru this thing, it is normal right?Bro,
Ask Zacken! He is proud of his 1 month botak period as a monk in Thailand. He has his "monkship" photo in his blog too. maggot "brought" me there.
-
-
-
For what i heard from my uncle is, i wont learn magic but that really have to depend on the master. What i am going to learn is jsut the 5 precepts and etc, what i am wondering is how to beg for alms. lol, zacken, mind sharing how you past your 1 month, i think it will really be a one time life-shaking experience for me even so, i am determined

-
-
-
This are my question.
Anyone be before, share experience lei, i can feel loneliness when i imagine myself going thru this thing, it is normal right?Hi friend,
The appropriate word used should be short term monk instead of part-time monk.
What is your intention of becoming a monk? If you want to learn magic then forget about it.
As a monk, you have to go for alms collection every morning and you eat what is being given. Reason being that there should be no desire in the food.
Loneliness and peace of mind is of different meanings.
Being a monk, one attain the peace of mind with detachment from family ties and world affairs.
Regardless of the duration of being a monk, one have to maintain and observe the 227 precepts during the monkhood.
Also observe the following :
Sila - morality , Samadhi - meditation & Panna - Wisdom
Be prepared physically, mentally and spiritually prior to ordain as a monk.
Regards,
Kimsai
-
-
-
Originally posted by Kimsai:
Hi friend,
The appropriate word used should be [b]short term monk instead of part-time monk.
What is your intention of becoming a monk? If you want to learn magic then forget about it.
As a monk, you have to go for alms collection every morning and you eat what is being given. Reason being that there should be no desire in the food.
Being a monk, one attain the peace of mind with detachment from family ties and world affairs.
Regardless of the duration of being a monk, one have to maintain and observe the 227 precepts during the monkhood.
Regards,
Kimsai
[/b]Hi cheskiz ,
You are lucky to have Sir KimSai sound advice.
Please take note of it.

-
-
-
To be frank, i dont even know why i wanna be a monk. lol, recently interested in this therevada buhddism then there it rooted from. Well, i very lame right? I hope being a monk can clear some doubt in my life and reading many spiritual dieties in this thai buhddism culture really make me curious, i hope to get to know more about it when being a monk.
These are the only 2 things i can thought of reason being a monk and they are really my heartfelt words. Thanks for reply, kimsan.
My reasons can be pretty lame right but those are the only 2 reason, truth, no lies. "Learning some magic is of course still my ambition but not learning is fine since many emphasis on fate so no point being so being so obstinate."--> i wont intend to hide it from the master or whoever cause i believe being truthful is still a virtue.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Kimsai:
Hi friend,
The appropriate word used should be [b]short term monk instead of part-time monk.
Regards,
Kimsai
[/b]agreed.......
-