19 Nov, 06:43PM in sunny Singapore!

MEDITATION

Subscribe to MEDITATION 21 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    155 posts since Jul '07
    • if some one sit on the floor n do meditation but not more than 5 mins due to back pain cannot go futher how ah can meditation be perform on the chair

145 posts since May '07
    103 posts since Apr '07
    155 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by fireball_smith:
      Any Training is Good Training Wink keep it up

thank u baby

155 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by pentan3008:
      Sit on the bed or the sofa lah. Who say must be on floor?

but my back need to lean on something

3,975 posts since Jul '05
    • December got a temple in bedok condcuting meditation retreat

Saw this at the lor ong lye temple's notice board

Sorry can't remember the details

13,654 posts since Dec '06
    • if i am not wrong, meditation is more of the inside then what is on the outside...

but i may not be correct cus i personally did not practices meditation...

3,280 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by popikachu:
      if i am not wrong, meditation is more of the inside then what is on the outside...

but i may not be correct cus i personally did not practices meditation...

true...but sitting upright so you won't go into sleep mode...sit with the wall behind support is also alright.

155 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by SevenEleven:
      true...but sitting upright so you won't go into sleep mode...sit with the wall behind support is also alright.

cannot i still got pain leh

567 posts since Feb '06
    688 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by kumangal:
      cannot i still got pain leh

Meditate in swimming pool.

145 posts since May '07
    • Hi Guys,

Sometimes if your doing Inner Work such as Energy,Qi Etc its very important to keep the back straight and not lean. However if you just doing it for piece of mind or simple chanting then any position will suffice.

It all depends on you goals. You only get back what you put in.

Cheers,

2,818 posts since Nov '04
    • Originally posted by maggot:
      December got a temple in bedok condcuting meditation retreat

Saw this at the lor ong lye temple's notice board

Sorry can't remember the details

Palelai temple ?

2,818 posts since Nov '04
    • Originally posted by kumangal:
      if some one sit on the floor n do meditation but not more than 5 mins due to back pain cannot go futher how ah can meditation be perform on the chair

U can sit on chair and walk to meditate.

I try to focus on the pain, not resisting it.
      After awhile It can also goes away.

125 posts since Oct '07
    • When monks decided to go into Tudong and cultivate, they experience many weird things. Some monks when medidate and gain unusual strenght in their citta, they will usually get sick, a fever. But they never find a medicine for it but let the teachings of dharma cure it. Gradually as time goes by, the fever is cured and his cultivation go to a whole a new level.

So each time in his meditation, he will go search and experience pain and understand the source of it, each time learning so and each time gaining a whole new insight on his medidation. As time goes by, the monk no longer seek to cure himself but only focus on the meditation itself and understand the illness or pain as it is a test for him.

A dying person saw a monk and immediately sit up, such a person deserve our admiration because even though the iintense pain on him, he still manage to make a effort to show his manners.

A sick person who dont even make an attempt to help himself get cured whose death is not even worthy to a dog's death.

What is making us so is the laziness that is weighting our hearts down, we have to ourself make an effort to cure.

11,473 posts since Sep '04
    • From my exp, if cannot sit in lotus position (though that will be ideal), you can sit in chair also can, but don't slouch.

What is important for a beginner is you must be able to still your body. Experience the calmness and clarity.

125 posts since Oct '07
    • Originally posted by An Eternal Now:
      From my exp, if cannot sit in lotus position (though that will be ideal), you can sit in chair also can, but don't slouch.

What is important for a beginner is you must be able to still your body. Experience the calmness and clarity.

When calmness and clarity is brought from within your heart, it brings out the mindfullness and wisdom which will then help you eliminate your kilesas and should your heart then be able to be disturbed by physical pain or mentally pain.

Ever heard of "Dharma Remedy"?

Edited by cheskiz 30 Nov `07, 11:42AM
    11,473 posts since Sep '04
    • Originally posted by cheskiz:
      When calmness and clarity is brought from within your heart, it brings out the mindfullness and wisdom which will then help you eliminate your kilesas and should your heart then be able to be disturbed by physical pain or mentally pain.

Ever heard of "Dharma Remedy"?

What you said is right.

Yes I heard of that term..

btw, you seem to have learnt some dharma since the last time you posted. Have you been learning under any teachers?

Edited by An Eternal Now 30 Nov `07, 8:02PM
    3,975 posts since Jul '05
    408 posts since Jun '07
    • hmm, i guess kumangal need a mentor....
      if she do that on her own.
      wont you feel she may go berserk?
      which is already a was...

688 posts since Sep '06
Please Login or Signup to reply.