08 Oct, 07:16PM in sunny Singapore!

Guys' opening lines: Best & worst

Subscribe to Guys' opening lines: Best & worst 15 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    19,224 posts since Aug '02
    • Most women are used to being approached in bars, bookstores and even supermarkets. Individual responses can range from delight to disgust; it all really depends on the approach.

The best opening lines show that a guy is solid, sincere — and maybe even someone mother might like to meet.

The worst opening lines show that he is rude, crude, or just plain inept.

Here are just a few of the best (and worst) opening lines we've heard recently:

• Complimentary

• "I'm normally uncomfortable approaching someone I don't know, but you're so pretty/stunning/classy, I felt you'd be friendly."
      • "Your smile lit up the room, so I had to come over and introduce myself."

50,922 posts since Jan '03
    • Romantic

• "Do you believe in love at first sight, or should I walk by you again?"
      • "Excuse me. Do you have a quarter I could borrow? Because I promised my mother I'd call her as soon as I met the girl of my dreams."

• Inviting

• "I'm on my way to get a drink, but couldn't help noticing that you seemed like someone I'd like to talk to. Would you save me a dance?"
      • "I'm doing research on the finer things in life. May I interview you?"
      • "I love your perfume. What kind is it?"

• All-American

• "Would you like to see a picture of my best friend?" (He then proceeds to show a photo of his dog and kids.)
      • "Pardon me, but you look like you're waiting for a nice guy."
      • "I hate pick-up lines. I'd rather just be honest and upfront and say, 'Hi, you look like a quality person and I'd to get to know you.'"

• Insulting

• "I may not be the best looking guy in here, but I'm the only one talking to you."
      • "I've had quite a bit to drink, and you're beginning to look pretty good."
      • "Do you like to dance? Well, then, could you? Because I'd like to talk to your friend."

• Gross

• "Mind if we hitchhike to the restaurant? I'm out of gas."
      • "Mind if I smoke?"

• Canned

• "What's your sign?"
      • "I lost my number; can I have yours?"
      • "If I told you that you had a gorgeous body, would you hold it against me?"

21,368 posts since Mar '02
    • Originally posted by kopiosatu:
      hi~! are u a CEO/Accountant?!?!??! Embarassed

wrong lah, you should change to, "Xiao Jie, Ni Xi Huan Cartier Shou Biao Mah??"(say in the tune of La Bi Xiao Xin)

Laughing

• Sexist

• "Your daddy must have been a baker, because you have a nice set of buns."
      • "I really like what you're wearing, but I would like it even better on the floor of my apartment."

50,922 posts since Jan '03
    • Originally posted by Estee:
      wrong lah, you should change to, "Xiao Jie, Ni Xi Huan Cartier Shou Biao Mah??"(say in the tune of La Bi Xiao Xin)

Laughing

hahahahaha then must make his retarded sound... show the ger my elephant? Mr. Green

21,368 posts since Mar '02
    • Originally posted by kopiosatu:
      hahahahaha then must make his retarded sound... show the ger my elephant? Mr. Green

muahahahha, you say leh you say leh?? must shake bum bum somemore is it?? Laughing

• Originally posted by Estee:
      muahahahha, you say leh you say leh?? must shake bum bum somemore is it?? Laughing

can't imagine.. uncle kopi shaking his bon bon.. like xiao shin.. or ricky martin? Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.