It's a private uni, i presume...if that's the case...do not worry...their doors're open widely...if you've the $$$......Originally posted by bismarck:went for the career fair the other time and 1 uni told me to make a appointment to see some uni rep tmr, i managed to make the appointment tmr and they told me to bring my o levels and poly results. O lvl results at least still ok. but my poly results are literally crap, rubbish. i am frank abt this because it will not change anything if i was hiding anything.
i reckon they'll first look at my results and then show me the door, not a word said. and i will be just wasting my time travelling to and fro and missing 1 lesson. it's quite a dilemma.
Not true at all, don't assume your wildest imaginations.Originally posted by bismarck:went for the career fair the other time and 1 uni told me to make a appointment to see some uni rep tmr, i managed to make the appointment tmr and they told me to bring my o levels and poly results. O lvl results at least still ok. but my poly results are literally crap, rubbish. i am frank abt this because it will not change anything if i was hiding anything.
i reckon they'll first look at my results and then show me the door, not a word said. and i will be just wasting my time travelling to and fro and missing 1 lesson. it's quite a dilemma.
Originally posted by parn:Not true at all, don't assume your wildest imaginations.
In fact, all the overseas universities wanted is money from you...the potential overseas student. They don't care if your results are poor, as long as you have the minimum qualifications to undertake their course, they will allow you to enrol with them.
The profit-margin is huge from enrolling overseas students. So you should go.
question is, i doubt i can even meet the min req.Originally posted by coolger03:go lor... as long u can know where u stand mah...
and it's not like what the rest said... depending on the uni u want to apply to, u need to be able to achieve the minimum score... anyway, i think they will calculate for u....
and erm... i think there's going to be a "study in aus" fair next weekend? or was it last weekend?
go and let the advisor take a look...Originally posted by bismarck:question is, i doubt i can even meet the min req.
the aus fair is next weekend, defn not last.![]()
ah bis...give yourself some confident lah...just go and that won't cost you anything isn't it? just try..and don't think that much...Originally posted by bismarck:went for the career fair the other time and 1 uni told me to make a appointment to see some uni rep tmr, i managed to make the appointment tmr and they told me to bring my o levels and poly results. O lvl results at least still ok. but my poly results are literally crap, rubbish. i am frank abt this because it will not change anything if i was hiding anything.
yah loh. love tht place. spent an attachment thereOriginally posted by coolger03:go and let the advisor take a look...
cos there may be other unis who will take u in at ur score...
btw, which uni is it?
* oh... know it's mel uni liao...
Originally posted by bismarck:yah loh. love tht place. spent an attachment there
but...even if i get in...wont go melb uni. because they dont offer the course i like..
Originally posted by bismarck:uni melb is private ?
there are 2 things i dont have....money and brains
effectively no options
Hmm...don't feel bad about it.Originally posted by bismarck:![]()
i feel like an idiot saying this
why? i went there, waited for 30mins because that guy was mis-informed. (shld have taken it as a sign from the heavens)
anyway, he looked thru my grades and stuff and basically within 5mins, he gave me a NO and i didnt qualify for 3rd year. he was actually quite nice, i mean friendly and also like trying very hard to soften the blow to me.
when he came to a conclusion, he spent the next 10-15 minutes telling me i cant go in. he was nice to say, "oh melb uni is an old place, strict and not flexible admission............................................................maybe u can try monash"
he even tried to help me out by advising me on alternative choices, like going to other unis.
dunno whether he lying or not, says that the fact that i passed (though barely) my modules, gives me an unfair advantage over the year1,2 students if i get in.
ha, tried explaining to him it wouldnt work that way.
throughout the session, i feel as though, his forehead read " DONT WASTE MY TIME!"
shld have read from his body language, the shrugging of shoulders and raising of eyebrows, taking sips from his drink, glancing ard,etc....tells a "NO" to me liao.
damn, shld have just shook his hands and walked off, dun want to further waste his time. but he patiently awaited me to give up and go off, ha, nice guy.
after that i saw him buying takeaways from the CBTL outlet just beside the building and walking back to his office. ha, if not for me he would have taken his lunch earlier.
maybe i shld send an email to him and say sorry for wasting his time and delaying his lunch. ha.
after some course conselling by 3 senior lecturers in sch( i took up hell of time ) they suggested that i dont register for this year 2005-06 and wait for the next year while i 'shop' ard as 1 lecturer put it, because it will give me sometime to look ard..not stressed so much and make rash decisions.Originally posted by parn:Hmm...don't feel bad about it.
Try RMIT University instead? It's quite near to Melbourne Univ...at least it is still in the city though.Make sure you enrol in their city campus...they have another campus in the outskirts of Melbourne.
Monash is also not bad at all...depending on what course you intend to take.
Good luck.There are other universities that will not be so stuck up, and I hope you will find them soon.
i tried...Originally posted by FeowFeow:Melb Uni was wonderful! U shd try : )
FeowFeow
take it from top ?Originally posted by ChristinaTeh:I know it's a long shot, but would it help for you to take it from the top again?