25 Jul, 03:17PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Aunt Agony

hgih bp

Subscribe to hgih bp 38 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    504 posts since Apr '06
    • a question: CAN A PERSON STOP TAKING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE MEDICATION IF THE HB IS UNDER CONTROL?
      I am so scared being labelled high bp but gonna hv check up soon. and as bp is always 140/90 and 150/90 now doc say take antelol that i am scared to take. but as i read an article just now, i am just wandering if high blood can be ok or not. like after taking and all under control can stop taking or not, some say can some say cannot, don't know who is true?

they say high blood no symptom, but i 've been having giddy headache since 10yrs ago or 15yrs ago since young. don't know why.

i really hate all of this. i just want to be fine & good health. any survivor of high bp

1,084 posts since Mar '05
    • is your high BP genetically inherited? If your family members have, hig chance you will have it, but you can minimise the likelyhood by maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

same old advice from what your doc says "less oily, fried, more steamed, veg and fruits. exercise regularly"

You can keep yr bp under control by taking medication, and it can be stop, as long as your 2-3 visit to the doc shows it is under control. Your doc will advise you on this matter, and its not for any tom dick harry to say when you can or not.

High bp can leads to sever diseases, like cardiac arrest, diabetes to less life threatening like dizzness, lumps,

basically, you rem, high BP, means your heart has to pump extra hard to send blood to all your organs in the body, and in worst scenario, the arteries get clot, and blood has difficulty passing through..and if it lies in your major organ, you know the rest...

Dont always think of when you can stop medication, but instead, think of how you can minimise the recurrence of the disease.
      Good luck Wink

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    156,635 posts since Dec '99
    • jus now PM said singaporeans must take care of health
      if doc say eat med u must med, if doc say no char kway tiao u cannot eat char kway tiao

504 posts since Apr '06
    • i really don't understand why why am i always the unlucky ones. my stepmum is so fat and she eats all sorts of food so so much never stop eating, and she is always in temper always love to pick up a fight, very quarrelsome, very very bad temper and yet she is fine, i never seen her taking any medication or high blood kind of thing, by right she should hv it cos she eat and eat and so fat.

why me, i am 30+ and hv so much problem in life, don't know why. i just want to be healthy, full of spirit and life, so i can take care of my kids, now 1 after another disease make me so so discourgaged and really losing hope, until i got no mood to really give full care in my life, always thinking of disease after one another. hate htis terrrible much. and why some other ppl stay strong and healhty it always me me me.i am not angry person, i am always cool , giving pppl way, never argue, always quiet and listen that all i do, even i kena scold, shouted hurt by so so m any human being ia m still ok what i never get angry. why me hgih blood. so far no familiy memeber got it maybe me.

i am not eating too much salt or don't know lah.

anyway i don't feel too well nowadays. but i got so much things to do, i got dream to be businesswoman (but don't know where and how to start), i am learning driivng, i wanna be a good mum , wife that is super n now see lah got this stupid sickening hateful high bp.where and now to start?any survivoirs there????? how u cope with high bp. i think medication got side effect right?

• Phoenix Fudge
    15,823 posts since Jan '04
    • No offence, but I think I can see why you have high bp - you're giving yourself too much undue pressure.

If the doctor tells you that you need to take the medication to control your BP, then you need to listen to him on this. Just because your BP is under control is no reason for you to stop taking your medication. If you are given medications, you must complete the course unless the doctor says otherwise.

In the first place, I fail to see why you should consider yourself 'unlucky' to have high BP. It's true that people with high BP are at higher risk of heart diseases, but it can be controlled with proper medication, diet, exercise, and stress management.

If you want to know, I have somewhat high BP as well - 134/110. My systolic (maximum) BP is slightly elevated, but my diastolic (minimum) BP of 110 is cause for concern. In other words, even when I'm resting, my blood pressure's high.

So far I've been taking steps to help control the situation, like regular exercise and proper stress management. You can control your situation too, if you want to make the effort to do so.

504 posts since Apr '06
    • IS IT TRUE THEY SAY ONCE U GOT HIGH BP THEN WILL BE FOLLOWED BY DIABETES, AND HEART PROBLEM COME ALL THIS ARE GANGS., IS IT TRUE.IS IT TTRUE HIGH BP CAN LEAD TO GOING TO BE HOSPITALISED? BEFORE MY RELATIVES MOST OF THEM GET ADMITTED TO HOSPITLA AND ASK WHY THEY SAY GOT HIGH BP. WOW I AM SO SCARED. I DON’T WANT THAT COS I CONSIDERED 30+ IS YOUNG TO HAVE. NORMALLY OLD LIKE 60 + GOT IT, WHY

199 posts since Sep '05
    • i think you should consult your doc on this, including the medicine.. coz if you really no need to take or take short period of time enough liao, he sure say mah Wink dun worry bout it

there also other impt thing such as diet etc.. which needs medical professional advice hehe

Edited by ChenW33 21 Aug `06, 12:08AM
    5,766 posts since Sep '02
    • I have mild hypertension which is high blood pressure. My maternal side has history of high blood pressure and my paternal side has history of diabetes. So being fat, i have a very high chance of diabetes at young age like all my uncles and my dad. With High BP, it makes it easier. So currently, i am taking the medicine u mentioned, athenolol. Take it as your doctor prescribed, dun joke and act on his advice, like for me, to reduce my weight. for my case, i have to be on medication even if the BP shows up normal…becos only when i truly reduce my weight and manage it and have a healthy lifestyle, its dangerous for me to go off the medication

214 posts since Apr '06
    • some people inherit high/low blood pressure...
      when there's nothing to do with old age/stroke.. bla bla.. illness
      then there's a high probability there's no syntom...

37,895 posts since May '00
    • Originally posted by alba:
      IS IT TRUE THEY SAY ONCE U GOT HIGH BP THEN WILL BE FOLLOWED BY DIABETES, AND HEART PROBLEM COME ALL THIS ARE GANGS., IS IT TRUE.IS IT TTRUE HIGH BP CAN LEAD TO GOING TO BE HOSPITALISED? BEFORE MY RELATIVES MOST OF THEM GET ADMITTED TO HOSPITLA AND ASK WHY THEY SAY GOT HIGH BP. WOW I AM SO SCARED. I DON'T WANT THAT COS I CONSIDERED 30+ IS YOUNG TO HAVE. NORMALLY OLD LIKE 60 + GOT IT, WHY

You EXERCISE MORE and WORRY LESS...

And PLEASE TRY to KEEP your HIGH HP TOPICs to within a single thread... This is the don't-know-how-many-times you're posting on the SAME TOPIC...

You SHOULD LISTEN to YOUR DOCTOR... NOT LIKE you even BOTHER to listen to our PREVIOUS ADVICES ANYWAY...? If you're not listening why bother to ask OVER N OVER AGAIN... Question

15,228 posts since Aug '05
      IS IT TRUE THEY SAY ONCE U GOT HIGH BP THEN WILL BE FOLLOWED BY DIABETES, AND HEART PROBLEM COME ALL THIS ARE GANGS., IS IT TRUE.IS IT TTRUE HIGH BP CAN LEAD TO GOING TO BE HOSPITALISED? BEFORE MY RELATIVES MOST OF THEM GET ADMITTED TO HOSPITLA AND ASK WHY THEY SAY GOT HIGH BP. WOW I AM SO SCARED. I DON'T WANT THAT COS I CONSIDERED 30+ IS YOUNG TO HAVE. NORMALLY OLD LIKE 60 + GOT IT, WHY

wah ur pressure just shot to new record that u had to use CAPS Laughing

203 posts since Jun '06
    2,154 posts since May '04
    • It is best to take medication until your doc says u are ok.

Also continue to go for regular checkup every 3- 6 mths. to test your blood & urine. Make an effort to eat healthy meals & do exercise.

504 posts since Apr '06
    • i did my echo threadmill last year in June 05, and all come out fine. my problem is my high bp and checked my sugar level cholersterol last year all ok.

now my leg is aching like crazy so pain and whole body is so upset, having terrible backaching and really i am down now.hope leg nothing to do with bp,.

i did my echo threadmill last year in June 05, and all come out fine. my problem is my high bp and checked my sugar level cholersterol last year all ok.

now my leg is aching like crazy so pain and whole body is so upset, having terrible backaching and really i am down now.hope leg nothing to do with bp,.

You're worrying but you're not doing the right things...

It's just like a jobless person complaining that he's hungry with no food, no water and no income but refuses to move himself away from the chair he's sitting on...?

504 posts since Apr '06
    • Hi help, i am using the 24hr bp test, and what is the meaning, ok every 30mins it will measure my bp all along from this afternoon around2pm to 7.30pm my measurement of bp all ok ranging from 120/70.,122/80, 109/77, 135/80 all along fine, suddenly at 9.30pm it hits 140/90 wow i panic, then from there onwards unitl now 10.30pm it hit around 150/90. so so scary, i am so scared being labeled hypertension, but from afternoon till 7.330pm it is all ok well fine, only these 2 - 3 reading higher, is it conseridered very bad. pls help.

I really panic after the 9.30pm showed 140/90 then i keep on pressing every 15mins and worse still. those 2 reading showed higher than earlier.

any idea? am i ok or not.I am panicking now, can't even sleep, mybrain is all in that machine

5,766 posts since Sep '02
    • Hi dun panic. Did you take any salty food 1 or 2 hours before you took your BP? If yes, naturally your BP will be high. Dun need to take your BP every 30 minutes. Just do it a few times a day will do if you are really that worried. And dun take your BP so soon after you take salty food, even a few strands of fries made my BP shoot up to 160 so dun worry unnecessary, it does u no good. Take your medication, that should keep your BP consistent daily.

37,982 posts since Jan '05
  • Phoenix Fudge
    15,823 posts since Jan '04
      Hi help, i am using the 24hr bp test, and what is the meaning, ok every 30mins it will measure my bp all along from this afternoon around2pm to 7.30pm my measurement of bp all ok ranging from 120/70.,122/80, 109/77, 135/80 all along fine, suddenly at 9.30pm it hits 140/90 wow i panic, then from there onwards unitl now 10.30pm it hit around 150/90. so so scary, i am so scared being labeled hypertension, but from afternoon till 7.330pm it is all ok well fine, only these 2 - 3 reading higher, is it conseridered very bad. pls help.

I really panic after the 9.30pm showed 140/90 then i keep on pressing every 15mins and worse still. those 2 reading showed higher than earlier.

any idea? am i ok or not.I am panicking now, can't even sleep, mybrain is all in that machine

Refer to the words I highlighted in red. That's the source of your problem: you are panicking too much and giving yourself too much pressure.

Maybe you don't realise it; but I see a vicious cycle here:

1. You get high blood pressure.
      2. You panic as a result.
      3. Your panicking increases your blood pressure.
      4. You panic even more because of the increased blood pressure.
      And then it goes back to step 1.

Instead of confining yourself to testing with that device, why don't you follow the advice we've been dishing out to you? Take your medication regularly, follow a well-balanced diet, and exercise regularly. Worrying only worsens your blood pressure. On the other hand, stepping out of your house and jogging a couple of klicks will help you feel a whole lot better.

Trust me on this. That's what I do when I'm under a lot of pressure: I go jogging.

Edited by fudgester 23 Aug `06, 12:39PM
    2,601 posts since Jun '04
    • Originally posted by fudgester:

That's the source of your problem: you are panicking too much and giving yourself too much pressure.

spot on !

2,601 posts since Jun '04

listen to facts not rumours lah...

there are some facts in the statement u made but there are also lots of factors to be considered

901 posts since May '04
    • Hi there..

Dun get so upset over this matter.. Majority of us,singaporean are being diagnosed with hypertension (High BP) / Diabetes / Both.. You are not alone..

It isn tat u couldn live a normal lifestyle when u're diagnosed with hypertension.. In wat way do you feel tat u can't?

The onli setback is that you have to be on constant medications.. You reali shld continue your medications, till the doctor deems it fit to stop..

A fact is that.. Hypertension, same as diabetes, is a lifelong "commitment". Taking medications will help keep your pressure in the normal range..

In hypertension, our bld are being pumped at a higher pressure, as explained by many of our fellow forumers out here.. Imagine our bld vessel as a rubber band.. As it expands & expands to withstand the tremendous pumping pressure, eventually one dae, it'll weaken & burst..

When this happens, stroke strikes in.. It's beta to take precaution than regret when it happens.. Think, how much more worst a stoke can cause disruption to ur life, as compared to the daily taking of medication..

I noe of someone.. He feels fine.. He refused to take his medication.. Suddenly.. One dae, he fainted @ his workplace.. Send to the hosp.. He was diagnosed with partial stroke tat left him weak on 1 side of his body..
      He was filled with regrets..

I guess you are unsure, thus worried about your condition..

Taking ur regular supply of medicaions, u need to go to the doc occassionaly to monitor ur progress, get new supply of medications.. Tak the chance & ask ur doc.. To clear ur doubts.. He / she would be the best person to consult..

Type online search.. High blood pressure / hypertension..

You will find alot of information tat might be useful to you..

Of coz.. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle.. Eat wisely.. Less salt.. Exercises.. Etc..

Wish u all the best.. Cheer up! Wink

• Originally posted by pqr:
      listen to facts not rumours lah...

there are some facts in the statement u made but there are also lots of factors to be considered

Forget it. This woman would rather listen to people like us when she could be listening to her professional doctor about her medical condition instead...?

Oh... Wait... She's not even listening to us... Hmm... Okie...

It's getting rather 'insightful' here... Wanna post a thread here in AA to tell us about how the forumites in here are not letting you make your own decisions and trusting your judgements...?

Hmm... Rolling Eyes

504 posts since Apr '06
    • Originally posted by ahkico:
      Hi there..

Dun get so upset over this matter.. Majority of us,singaporean are being diagnosed with hypertension (High BP) / Diabetes / Both.. You are not alone..

It isn tat u couldn live a normal lifestyle when u're diagnosed with hypertension.. In wat way do you feel tat u can't?

The onli setback is that you have to be on constant medications.. You reali shld continue your medications, till the doctor deems it fit to stop..

A fact is that.. Hypertension, same as diabetes, is a lifelong "commitment". Taking medications will help keep your pressure in the normal range..

In hypertension, our bld are being pumped at a higher pressure, as explained by many of our fellow forumers out here.. Imagine our bld vessel as a rubber band.. As it expands & expands to withstand the tremendous pumping pressure, eventually one dae, it'll weaken & burst..

thank you so much, i just need info and help, u r so helpful thanks! i will wait and see what the result of my 24hr bp test and see how is it, and see what doc advice, i do not want to take the medication first because i am schedule to go for the 24hr test first, if confirm high bp then i take, if not no point.

u r right, it is scary, vvery scary. that is why i am so scared about.

l

When this happens, stroke strikes in.. It's beta to take precaution than regret when it happens.. Think, how much more worst a stoke can cause disruption to ur life, as compared to the daily taking of medication..

I noe of someone.. He feels fine.. He refused to take his medication.. Suddenly.. One dae, he fainted @ his workplace.. Send to the hosp.. He was diagnosed with partial stroke tat left him weak on 1 side of his body..
      He was filled with regrets..

I guess you are unsure, thus worried about your condition..

Taking ur regular supply of medicaions, u need to go to the doc occassionaly to monitor ur progress, get new supply of medications.. Tak the chance & ask ur doc.. To clear ur doubts.. He / she would be the best person to consult..

Type online search.. High blood pressure / hypertension..

You will find alot of information tat might be useful to you..

Of coz.. Maintaining a healthy lifestyle.. Eat wisely.. Less salt.. Exercises.. Etc..

Wish u all the best.. Cheer up! Wink
    713 posts since Jul '04
      a question: CAN A PERSON STOP TAKING HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE MEDICATION IF THE HB IS UNDER CONTROL?

Can, if you wish to leave your physical body

Please Login or Signup to reply.